MENU
The page content begins here

Fields of Research

Conducting seismological research is one of the core duties fulfilled by the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich, and most of its staff play a role in this work. Many projects necessitate close cooperation with other groups of researchers at ETH Zurich and abroad.

The main aim of research conducted at the SED is to gain a clearer understanding of earthquakes and their consequences and thereby contribute towards improving the response to such natural hazards, which pose a threat worldwide. At the same time, we seek novel ways of using seismological methods to find out more about fundamental processes that shape the Earth. How are the Alps formed? How stable are slopes? How do glaciers move? How can earthquakes induced by geothermal power projects be curbed? What kind of a threat do faults pose to permanent waste repositories? How strongly does the ground shake during an earthquake? How can we forecast earthquakes (more accurately)?

The fields of research listed here highlight domains in which the SED is particularly active and afford an insight into its wide range of activities.

Fields of Research

Earthquake Early Warning

Earthquake Early Warning

Earthquake Early Warning (EEW) is the attempt to warn vulnerable infrastructures and the general public of imminent strong ground shaking after an earthquake has occurred or while the earthquake rupture is still ongoing. It is possible because electromagnetic waves travel much faster than seismic waves and, therefore, information from seismic sensors close to the epicentre can be received at further distant sites before the seismic waves arrive.

Learn more

Realtime Monitoring

Realtime Monitoring

The dense Swiss seismic network provides realtime information on ground shaking across Switzerland. The realtime monitoring group operate the automatic software that finds and characterises earthquakes within 10’s of seconds after they occur, and provides alerts to relevant authorities and the public. Other seismological tools we provide include ShakeMaps that show how ground shaking was produced across the country. The group also actively researches earthquake early warning tools.

Learn more

Engineering Seismology

Engineering Seismology

Engineering seismology lays the bases for calculating seismic hazard, and includes producing  catalogues of historical and instrumental earthquakes, reliable ground motion mitigation models and high-definition geological underground models and interpreting historical accounts. Engineering seismologists produce local seismic hazard maps (microzonation) and link the results to data on building vulnerability so that dependable risk assessments can be carried out.

Learn more

Statistical Seismology

Statistical Seismology

Rather than examining individual earthquakes, we (the statistical seismology group) study earthquake sequences and, more generally, seismicity—the distribution of earthquakes in space, time, and magnitude. We are interested in how earthquakes cluster and how they interact with each other. We want to know the expected size of the largest earthquake in a region in a given period, and we want to understand how seismicity will affect residents.

Learn more

Numerical Modeling

Numerical Modeling

Earthquakes are modeled when there are no instrumental recordings, i.e. particularly for large, damaging earthquakes and sites close to seismic sources. One way of doing this is to calibrate site-specific ground motion attenuation models. Another is to use deterministic modeling of the rupture process and of wave propagation for scenario earthquakes. However, local geological properties must always be properly factored in.

Learn more

Seismicity in Switzerland

Seismicity in Switzerland

The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) pinpoints the location of between 500 and 800 earthquakes every year, but very few of them are strong enough to be felt by the local population. The vast majority of earthquakes recorded in Switzerland occur in the Swiss Alps, especially in the cantons of Valais and Grisons, and as a first approximation, they can be said to result from collisions between the European and African lithospheric plates.

Learn more

Historical Seismology & Palaeoseismology

Historical Seismology & Palaeoseismology

Data on earlier earthquakes provide important information for anticipatory mitigation measures and enable us to pinpoint where events occurred and estimate their magnitude. Damaging powerful earthquakes are relatively rare in Switzerland, so no instrumental data on them are available yet. Consequently, we have to draw on chronicles from the past, analyse this information using historical methods, and use palaeoseismological methods to interpret geological traces of major earthquakes.

Learn more

Strong Motion Seismology & Site-Specific Effects

Strong Motion Seismology & Site-Specific Effects

In a bid to improve the analysis of the seismic hazard facing Switzerland, by 2019 the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) aims to have renewed its Swiss National Strong Motion Network (SSMNet). Each station will take geophysical and geotechnical measurements to determine the properties of the local geological underground, enabling us to interpret any features captured on earthquake recordings. To this end, we developed special measurement procedures, some of which are based on analysing seismic noise.

Learn more

Earthquake-induced phenomena

Earthquake-induced phenomena

Earthquakes are not the only events that cause damage to buildings and infrastructure: secondary earthquake-induced phenomena can wreak havoc as well, for example through soil liquefaction, landslides and tsunamis triggered by undersea landslides. Accordingly, one aim of our earthquake research is to characterise such phenomena with a view to seismic hazard analysis and the recognition of early indications of mass wasting (ground movements) based on giveaway seismic signals. Other phenomena to watch for are short-term foreshocks prompted by processes in the Earth's crust, which can produce characteristic electromagnetic and geochemical signals.

Learn more

Induced Seismicity

Man-made earthquakes are referred to as induced seismicity. In general these are tiny rupture processes (microearthquakes) that occur in all kind of geotechnical operations, and can only be detected by highly sensitive instruments. Occasionally, however, induced earthquakes are strong enough to be felt or even to cause damage in their epicentral areas. This is why induced seismicity has to be considered a non-negligible risk in larger-scale geotechnical operations, especially in densely populated countries like Switzerland. The processes and conditions underpinning induced seismicity are still not sufficiently well understood to make useful predictions as to the likely seismic response of the underground to these geotechnical operations. The SED's research group on induced seismicity tries to close this knowledge gap by addressing the problem form various angles.

Learn more

 

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonic studies the relationship between earthquakes, faults, and tectonic processes. It incorporates information from various disciplines including seismology, geodesy, and geology. The analysis of seismological data provides information on the geometry and the sense of motion of earthquake ruptures. The joint interpretation of many earthquakes allows conclusions on the tectonic stress regime, which is, in combination with information on fault orientations, fundamental for providing estimates on the seismic hazard of a region.

Learn more

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Forschungsfelder

Die seismologische Forschung ist eine der Kernaufgaben des Schweizerischen Erdbebendienstes (SED) an der ETH Zürich. Die Mehrheit der Mitarbeitenden engagiert sich in diesem Bereich. Viele Projekte erfordern eine rege Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Forschungsgruppen an der ETH Zürich und im internationalen Umfeld.

Ziel der Forschung beim SED ist es primär, Erdbeben und ihre Auswirkungen besser zu verstehen und damit einen Beitrag zum Umgang mit dieser Naturgefahr zu leisten, die weltweit eine Bedrohung darstellt. Gleichzeitig suchen wir innovative Wege, um mit seismologische Methoden mehr über fundamentale Prozesse der Erde zu erfahren: Wie entstehen die Alpen? Wie stabil ist ein Hang? Wie bewegen sich Gletscher? Wie kann man induzierte Erdbeben in der Geothermie begrenzen? Wie gefährlich sind Verwerfungen für ein Endlager? Wie stark wird der Boden an einem bestimmten Ort während eines Bebens erschüttert? Wie können wir Erdbeben (besser) vorhersagen?

Die aufgeführten Forschungsfelder beleuchten, in welchen Bereichen der SED besonders aktiv ist und geben einen Einblick in die verschiedenen Tätigkeiten.

Fields of Research

Erdbebenfrühwarnung

Erdbebenfrühwarnung

Erdbebenfrühwarnung ist der Versuch, Betreiber anfälliger Infrastrukturanlagen und die Bevölkerung während oder nach einem Erdbeben vor bevorstehenden starken Bodenerschütterungen zu warnen. Dies ist möglich, weil sich elektromagnetische Wellen viel schneller fortbewegen als seismische Wellen und daher Informationen von seismischen Sensoren, die sich nahe am Epizentrum eines Erdbebens befinden, an weiter entfernten Orten empfangen werden können, bevor die seismischen Wellen eintreffen.

Mehr erfahren

 

Echtzeitüberwachung

Echtzeitüberwachung

Das dichte seismische Netzwerk der Schweiz liefert Echtzeitinformationen über Bodenerschütterungen in der gesamten Schweiz. Die Gruppe für Echtzeitüberwachung nutzt die automatische Software, die Erdbeben binnen Zehntelsekunden, nachdem sie sich ereignen, misst, charakterisiert und Alarmmeldungen für die zuständigen Behörden und die Bevölkerung auslöst. Zu den weiteren von uns bereitgestellten seismologischen Tools gehören ShakeMaps, welche die landesweit ausgelösten Bodenerschütterungen zeigen. Die Gruppe erforscht überdies aktiv Erdbebenfrühwarnsysteme.

Mehr erfahren

Ingenieurseismologie

Ingenieurseismologie

Die Grundlagen zur seismischen Gefährdung liegen in der Ingenieurseismologie; sie beinhalten Erdbebenkataloge für historische und instrumentelle Erdbeben, zuverlässige Bodenbewegungs-Abminderungsmodelle, hochauflösende geologische Untergrundmodelle sowie die Interpretation historischer Beobachtungen. Die Ingenieurseismologie erarbeitet lokale Gefährdungskarten (Mikrozonierungen) und verknüpft die Ergebnisse mit Daten zur Gebäudeverletzbarkeit, um zuverlässige Risikostudien durchführen zu können.

Mehr erfahren

Statistische Seismologie

Statistische Seismologie

Wir untersuchen eher Erdbebensequenzen und ganz allgemein Seismizität – die Verteilung von Erdbeben nach Raum, Zeit und Stärke – als einzelne Erdbeben. Wir interessieren uns dafür, wie Erdbeben sich häufen und wie sie miteinander interagieren. Wir möchten in der Lage sein, die zu Stärke des grösstmöglichen Erdbebens, das in einer Region in einem gegebenen Zeitraum auftreten kann, vorherzusagen und zu verstehen, wie sich die Seismizität auf die Bewohner auswirken wird.

Mehr erfahren

Numerische Modellierung

Numerische Modellierung

Modellierungen von Erdbeben werden dort eingesetzt, wo Registrierungen fehlen, d.h. insbesondere für grosse Schadensbeben und für Standorte im Nahfeld seismischer Quellen. Hierfür können einerseits standortspezifische Bodenbewegungs-Abminderungsmodelle kalibriert werden. Andererseits können auch deterministische Modellierungen des Bruchvorgangs und der Wellenausbreitung für Szenario-Erdbeben verwendet werden. Unablässig hierfür ist eine genaue Einbeziehung der lokalen geologischen Eigenschaften.

Mehr erfahren

Seismizität in der Schweiz

Seismizität in der Schweiz

Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst (SED) lokalisiert im Schnitt etwa 500 bis 800 Erdbeben pro Jahr. Allerdings werden nur die wenigsten dieser Beben von der Bevölkerung verspürt. Der Grossteil der registrierten Beben ereignet sich in den Schweizer Alpen, vor allem im Wallis und in Graubünden. Die Erdbeben, die wir in der Schweiz beobachten, sind in erster Näherung die Folge des Aufeinanderprallens der europäischen und der afrikanischen Lithosphärenplatten.

Mehr erfahren

Historische Seismologie & Paläoseismologie

Historische Seismologie & Paläoseismologie

Die Erkenntnisse über frühere Erdbeben liefern wichtige Hinweise für die Erdbebenvorsorge, und ermöglichen uns, die Beben zu lokalisieren und ihre Stärke abzuschätzen. In der Schweiz treten starke Schadenbeben relativ selten auf, daher sind instrumentelle Daten noch nicht verfügbar. Wir müssen deshalb auf historische Dokumente zurückgreifen und mit geschichtswissenschaftlichen Methoden analysieren, und mit paläoseismologischen Methoden die geologischen Spuren grosser Erdbeben interpretieren.

Mehr erfahren

Starkbebenseismologie & Standorteinflüsse

Starkbebenseismologie & Standorteinflüsse

Um die seismische Gefährdungsanalyse in der Schweiz zu verbessern, erneuert und erweitert der SED bis 2019 das Starkbebenmessnetz. Mittels geophysikalischer und geotechnischer Messungen werden die Eigenschaften des lokalen Untergrundes jeder Station bestimmt, was es uns erlaubt, die beobachteten Erdbebenaufzeichnungen zu interpretieren. Für diese Messungen wurden spezielle Verfahren entwickelt, u.a. basierend auf der Analyse der seismischen Bodenunruhe.

Mehr erfahren

Erdbebeninduzierte Phänomene

Erdbebeninduzierte Phänomene

Nicht nur Erdbeben haben schadhafte Auswirkungen auf Gebäude und Infrastruktureinrichtungen, sondern diese können auch durch sekundäre Erdbeben-induzierte Phänomene verursacht werden wie z.B. durch Bodenverflüssigung, Hangrutsche sowie durch Tsunamis in Seen aufgrund von unterseeischen Rutschungen. Ein Ziel besteht in der Charakterisierung solcher Phänomene für die seismische Gefährdungsanalyse sowie die frühzeitige Erkennung von Massenbewegungen aufgrund typischer seismischer Signale. Ein weiterer Aspekt bilden kurzfristige Erdbebenvorläufer, die durch Prozesse in der Erdkruste entstehen, und elektromagnetische und geochemische Signale erzeugen können.

Mehr erfahren

Induzierte Seismizität

Vom Menschen herbeigeführte Erdbeben werden als induzierte Seismizität bezeichnet. In der Regel handelt es sich hierbei um sehr kleine Bruchprozesse (Mikroerdbeben), die bei geotechnischen Tätigkeiten aller Art auftreten und nur von hochempfindlichen Instrumenten gemessen werden können. Gelegentlich sind induzierte Erdbeben jedoch so stark, dass man sie spürt oder sie im Gebiet des Epizentrums sogar Schäden verursachen. Daher muss induzierte Seismizität als nicht zu vernachlässigendes Risiko bei umfangreichen geotechnischen Tätigkeiten betrachtet werden, insbesondere in dicht besiedelten Ländern wie der Schweiz. Die Prozesse und Bedingungen, die der induzierten Seismizität zugrunde liegen, sind noch nicht ausreichend erforscht, um nützliche Vorhersagen über die wahrscheinliche seismische Reaktion des Untergrundes auf die geotechnischen Tätigkeiten machen zu können. Die SED-Forschungsgruppe für induzierte Seismizität (INDU@SED) arbeitet intensiv daran, diese Wissenslücke zu schliessen, indem sie das Problem aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln angeht.

Mehr erfahren

 

Seismotektonik

Seismotektonik

Die Seismotektonik untersucht die Zusammenhänge zwischen Erdbeben, Verwerfungen und tektonischen Prozessen. Sie verwertet Informationen aus mehreren Disziplinen, darunter Seismologie, Geodäsie und Geologie. Die Analyse seismologischer Daten liefert Informationen über die Geometrie und die Bewegungsrichtung von Erdbebenbrüchen. Die kombinierte Deutung zahlreicher Erdbeben erlaubt Rückschlüsse auf das tektonische Beanspruchungsregime, das in Verbindung mit Informationen über die Ausrichtung von Verwerfungen für die Berechnung der Erdbebengefährdung eines Gebietes von grundlegender Bedeutung ist.

Mehr erfahren