MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Insurance

Earthquake Insurance

No, as a rule, earthquake damage is insured only to a small extent in Switzerland. In the event of a major earthquake, most house and apartment owners would not be reimbursed for the cost of any possible damage, or would be reimbursed only partially. The specific rules vary from canton to canton. Parliament is currently discussing whether to extend the obligatory fire and natural hazards insurance to cover earthquake damage.

Swiss Insurance Association

Buildings in 19 Swiss cantons are currently insured against fire and natural hazards by a state-owned monopoly insurer (Aargau, Appenzell Ausser Rhoden, Basel-Country, Basel-City, Bern, Fribourg, Glarus, Grisons, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchâtel, Nidwalden, St. Gallen, Solothurn, Thurgau, Schaffhausen, Vaud, Zug, and Zurich) and in 7 cantons by private building insurers (Appenzell Inner Roden, Geneva, Obwalden, Schwyz, Ticino, Uri, and Valais). At present, the earthquake risk cannot be insured within the context of this obligatory building insurance.

In 1978, 18 cantonal building insurers came together to form the Swiss Pool for Earthquake Insurance, which in the event of an earthquake will provide benefits on a voluntary basis. The cover provided by the earthquake pool currently amounts to CHF 2 billion; a further CHF 2 billion is available for a second earthquake in the same year. The building insurer of the canton of Bern (GVB) quit the pool on January 1, 2013. Since then, future earthquake damage in the canton of Bern can no longer be covered by the pool.

The building insurer of the Canton of Zurich (GVZ) covers earthquake damage with resources from an in-house fund, providing cover of up to CHF 1 billion. The same sum would be available in the event of a second earthquake occurring in the same calendar year.

In the cantons of Appenzell Inner Rhoden, Geneva, Obwalden, Schwyz, Ticino, Uri, and Valais, private building insurers provide fire and natural hazard insurance. In these cantons, no financial resources are available for voluntary compensation following an earthquake.

Private insurers offer voluntary earthquake insurance solutions. At the present time, these products represent the only solution for the contractual coverage of earthquake damage in Switzerland.

Source: Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), 17.02.2015

The benefits of an earthquake insurance policy are dependent upon many factors. The following factors are important: the vulnerability of a building, local subsoil, the likelihood of a damaging earthquake, and the insurance terms and conditions. For this reason, it is not possible to provide a universal recommendation. An insurance policy represents one means of reducing the personal (financial) risk, and is an element of integrated risk management.

Only to a limited extent. The corresponding standards from the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects (SIA) were first published in 1989. Since the introduction of the latest generation of SIA structural standards in 2003, earthquake-resistant building design is being implemented more systematically, although only a few cantons actually implement the standards. The following cantons have explicitly anchored adherence to the applicable SIA standards in their statutory regulations, and/or impose earthquake-specific conditions within the context of planning permission procedures:

  • Aargau
  • Basel City
  • Fribourg
  • Jura
  • Lucerne
  • Nidwalden
  • Valais

In all other cantons, the legal obligation regarding the implementation of the SIA structural standards is not explicitly clarified and does not cover earthquake-resistant building design in planning permission procedures.

Source: Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), 17.02.2015

Earthquake-resistant construction aims to:

  • protect people from collapsing structures;
  • minimise structural damage;
  • preserve the functionality of key structures in the event of an incident;
  • limit consequential damage from earthquakes (e.g. due to fire, loss of production).

Detailed information about constructing new buildings to withstand earthquakes, or corresponding reinforcements for conversions or renovations, is available from the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN).

The last major earthquake to cause substantial damage occurred in 1946 in Valais. However, the earthquakes of February 17, and March 14, 1964 in the canton of Obwalden also caused significant damage. A major damage-causing earthquake with a magnitude of approximately 6 is likely to occur at a location somewhere in Switzerland every 50 to 150 years.

The likelihood of a large earthquake occuring near to where you live can be estimated from the magnitudes maps. The effects maps indicate how often specific consequences of an earthquake could occur where you live.

Although such damaging earthquakes are relatively infrequent, earthquakes represent the natural hazard with the greatest potential to cause damage in Switzerland. The reasons for this are twofold. Switzerland has densely populated settlements as well as relatively high building and infrastructure vulnerability. Also, while catastrophic earthquakes occur rarely, they can cause extensive damage over substantial areas. For example, a repeat of the Basel earthquake of 1356, which had a magnitude of 6.6, would cause damage in excess of CHF 100 billion.

An insurance solution represents a key aspect of integrated risk management. The Swiss Seismological Service favors a nation-wide solution – one that boosts protection from the consequences of an earthquake across Switzerland. Politicians will need to decide how a solution of this nature is to be realized (e.g. in the form of comprehensive insurance protection, or another collective solution).

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Erdbebenversicherung

Earthquake Insurance

Nein, in der Schweiz sind Erdbebenschäden in der Regel nur zu einem kleinen Teil versichert. Die meisten Haus- und Stockwerkeigentümer würden im Falle eines grösseren Erdbebens die Kosten für allfällige Schäden nicht oder nur teilweise zurückerstattet erhalten. Die spezifischen Regelungen variieren von Kanton zu Kanton. Eine Ausdehnung der obligatorischen Feuer- und Elementarschadenversicherungen auf die Deckung von Erdbebenschäden ist derzeit im Parlament in Abklärung.

Schweizerischer Versicherungsverband

In 19 Kantonen der Schweiz werden die Gebäude derzeit durch einen öffentlich-rechtlichen Monopolversicherer gegen Feuer und Elementargefahren versichert (Aargau, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Basel-Land, Basel-Stadt, Bern, Freiburg, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Luzern, Neuenburg, Nidwalden, St. Gallen, Solothurn, Thurgau, Schaffhausen, Waadt, Zug, Zürich) und in 7 Kantonen durch private Gebäudeversicherer (Appenzell Innerroden, Genf, Obwalden, Schwyz, Tessin, Uri, Wallis). Aktuell ist das Erdbebenrisiko im Rahmen dieser obligatorischen Gebäudeversicherung nicht versicherbar.

18 kantonale Gebäudeversicherungen haben sich 1978 zum schweizerischen Pool für Erdbebenversicherung zusammengeschlossen, der im Fall eines Erdbebens freiwillige Leistungen erbringt. Zurzeit beträgt die Deckung des Erdbebenpools 2 Milliarden Franken; für ein zweites Erdbeben im gleichen Jahr stehen weitere 2 Milliarden Franken zur Verfügung. Die Gebäudeversicherung Bern GVB ist per 1.1.2013 aus dem Pool ausgetreten. Zukünftige Erdbebenschäden im Kanton Bern können seither nicht mehr aus dem Pool gedeckt werden.

Die Gebäudeversicherung Kanton Zürich GVZ deckt Erdbebenschäden aus den Mitteln eines eigenen Fonds mit einer Deckung von maximal einer Milliarde Franken. Bei einem zweiten Beben im gleichen Kalenderjahr steht diese Summe nochmals zur Verfügung.

In den Kantonen Appenzell Innerrhoden, Genf, Obwalden, Schwyz, Tessin, Uri und Wallis übernehmen private Gebäudeversicherer die Feuer- und Elementarschadendeckung. Hier stehen keine Mittel für freiwillige Entschädigungen nach einem Erdbeben bereit.

Private Versicherungen bieten freiwillige Erdbebenversicherungslösungen an. Diese Produkte stellen heute die einzige Lösung für eine vertragliche Deckung der Erdbebenschäden in der Schweiz dar.

Quelle: Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU), 17.02.2015

Der Nutzen einer Erdbebenversicherung hängt von vielen Faktoren ab, wichtig sind: die Verletzbarkeit eines Gebäudes, der lokale Untergrund, die Wahrscheinlichkeit für ein Schadensbeben und die Versicherungsbedingungen. Es ist daher nicht möglich, eine pauschale Empfehlung abzugeben. Eine Versicherung stellt eine Möglichkeit dar, um das persönliche (finanzielle) Risiko zu mindern und ist ein Baustein des integralen Risikomanagements.

Nur bedingt. Moderne und ausreichende Erdbebenvorschriften wurden erst 1989 in den Tragwerksnormen des Schweizerischen Ingenieur und Architektenvereins (SIA) publiziert. Diese wurden aber in der Praxis, wie die ersten rudimentären Vorschriften von 1970, sehr oft ignoriert. Seit der Einführung der letzten Generation der Tragwerksnormen des SIA in 2003 wird das erdbebengerechte Bauen immer systematischer umgesetzt. In vielen Kantonen ist die Umsetzung dieser Vorschriften nun durch die kantonale Baugesetzgebung explizit geregelt. Darüber hinaus machen folgende Kantone erdbebenspezifische Auflagen im Rahmen der Baubewilligungsverfahren:

  • Aargau
  • Basel Stadt
  • Freiburg
  • Jura
  • Luzern
  • Nidwalden
  • Wallis

Quelle: Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU), 17.02.2015

Erdbebengerechtes Bauen heisst

  • Menschen vor einstürzenden Bauwerken schützen
  • Schäden an Bauwerken begrenzen
  • Funktionstüchtigkeit wichtiger Bauwerke im Ereignisfall aufrechterhalten
  • Folgeschäden von Erdbeben (z. B. durch Feuer, Produktionsausfall etc.) begrenzen

Detaillierte Informationen zu einer erdbebengerechten Bauweise von Neubauten oder entsprechende Ertüchtigungen bei Umbauten oder Instandsetzungen finden Sie beim Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU).

Das letzte grössere Schadensbeben ereignete sich 1946 im Wallis. Aber auch die Erdbeben vom 17. Februar und vom 14. März 1964 im Kanton Obwalden haben substantielle Schäden hinterlassen. Mit einem grösseren Schadensbeben mit einer Magnitude von etwa 6 ist alle 50 bis 150 Jahre an irgendeinem Standort in der Schweiz zu rechnen.

Wie hoch die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Erdbebens an Ihrem Wohnort ist, zeigen die Karten der Magnituden. Wie oft bestimmte Folgen eines Erdbebens an Ihrem Wohnort auftreten können, bilden die Karten der Auswirkungen ab.

Obwohl sich solche Schadensbeben eher selten ereignen, stellen Erdbeben die Naturgefahr mit dem grössten Schadenspotential in der Schweiz dar. Grund dafür ist einerseits die dichte Besiedlung sowie die relativ hohe Verletzbarkeit von Gebäuden und Infrastrukturen hierzulande. Anderseits sind katastrophale Erdbeben zwar selten, können aber weiträumig Schäden anrichten. Eine Wiederholung des Basel Erdbebens von 1356 mit einer Magnitude von 6.6 würde zum Beispiel mehr als 100 Milliarden Schweizer Franken kosten.

Eine Versicherungslösung stellt einen wesentlichen Aspekt des integralen Risikomanagements dar. Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst befürwortet eine schweizweite Lösung, die den Schutz vor den Auswirkungen eines Erdbebens erhöht. Wie eine solche Lösung ausgestaltet ist (z. B. in Form eines umfassenden Versicherungsschutzes oder einen anderen Solidarlösung), gilt es politisch festzulegen.