The page content begins here


Close collaboration between the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich and a wide variety of national and international partners ensures that the SED is capable of discharging its public duties efficiently and conducting research to high standards. The SED's closest partners are listed below, along with a brief description of the type of cooperation involved.

ETH Zurich

The SED was attached to ETH Zurich in 1957. Since 2009 it has been a non-departmental entity reporting to the Vice-President for Research and Economic Relations. ETH Zurich provides a perfect environment for combining the SED's public duties as the federal agency responsible for monitoring seismic activity in Switzerland with leading-edge seismological research. A steering committee guarantees close cooperation and support within the ETH.

The SED works closely alongside the Institute of Geophysics and the Department of Earth Sciences. SED Director Stefan Wiemer is also a professor of seismology in that department. Many SED staff members teach at ETH Zurich and supervise students, including PhD candidates.

Other universities

The SED conducts joint research with other university-level institutions within the framework of many different national, European and international projects. This guarantees an ongoing exchange of information across national borders.

Federal agencies responsible for monitoring natural hazards

Federal authorities issue warnings on natural hazards to the public, the media and cantonal and/or municipal authorities. The federal agencies responsible for monitoring natural hazards are coordinated by the Steering Committee Intervention in Natural Hazards (LAINAT) and work closely together at all levels.

Steering Committee Intervention in Natural Hazards (LAINAT)

The Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Federal Office of Meterology and Climatology (MeteoSwiss), the Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP), the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) with the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research (SLF) and the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) have joined forces in the Steering Committee Intervention in Natural Hazards (LAINAT). The secretariat for the Common Information Platform for Natural Hazards (GIN) is attached to the LAINAT secretariat.

Swiss Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP)

The FOCP is responsible for the protection of the population in cases of catastrophes and emergencies. The National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC) runs the federal Reporting and Situation Centre (MLZ) when major natural hazards occur. As a

Federal Office of Meterology and Climatology (MeteoSwiss)

MeteoSwiss is the national weather and climate service for the Swiss public, for government, industry and science. With its public service it ensures the basic supply of weather and climate information in Switzerland and thereby makes a substantial contribution to the well-being and the safety of the population. Surface observation systems, weather radars, satellites, radio sounding and other remote sensing instruments monitor the weather. Using the collected data, the weather services of MeteoSwiss generate forecasts and warn authorities and the public of imminent severe weather. Furthermore, these data are exploited by our teams of experts who analyze climate change and extreme weather events and develop scenarios for climate development in Switzerland.

Federal Office of the Environment (FOEN)

The mission of the FOEN is to ensure the sustainable use of natural re-sources, including soil, water, air and forests. It is responsible for minimising natural hazards, reducing risks to the environment and human health from excessive pollution, conserving biodiversity and representing Switzerland in international environmental policy arenas. With respect to natural hazards, the FOEN is responsible for hydrological forecasts and flood warnings, associated mass movements and risks of forest fires.

WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research (SLF)

The SLF is an interdisciplinary research and service centre working in the fields of snow, avalanches, permafrost and mountain ecological systems. It forms part of the WSL – the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research – and thus belongs to the ETH Domain. The SLF assesses the avalanche danger in the Swiss Alps and issues daily avalanche bulletins in the winter. The SLF's operational snow-hydrological service (OSHD) continuously analyses the distribution of snow water resources and assists the flood warning service of the National Environmental Agency (BAFU).

Other federal offices

In the event of earthquakes that cause major damage worldwide, the SED informs the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit (SHA), which is run by the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA).

The SED monitors various energy projects and shares the gathered information with the authorities running them, the Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSI) or the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE).

Cantonal and municipal authorities

If an event occurs, the SED immediately passes on all the available information to the cantonal and municipal authorities. In training exercises, together with representatives from various authorities the SED runs through the procedures to be followed.

International organisations

In 1996, the UN member states agreed to adopt a Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (NTBT), so an International Monitoring System (IMS) was set up to verify compliance with this treaty. The IMS comprises seismological, hydroacoustic, infrasound and radionuclide measuring stations, fitted with the necessary communications equipment, and is supported by the International Data Centre (IDC) and the Provisional Technical Secretariat (PTS). The SED contributes by sending the responsible authority in Vienna, the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organisation (CTBTO), data recorded by the specially established seismic station in the Davos region.

In addition, the SED is a member of a number of international seismological organisations – the International Seismological Centre (ISC), the International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks (FDSN), the Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology (ORFEUS), the European-Mediterranean Seismological Centre (EMSC) and the European Seismological Commission (ESC) – and is a partner in the Global Earthquake Model (GEM).


The SED provides seismic monitoring and consultancy services to large-scale construction or energy projects. Such services can only be provided to industry if they don't impinge on the SED's independence (see Independence and Transparency).


The Swiss Seismological Service is an active participant in the organizations and bodies listed below, where it is represented by the following named employees (list valid in January 2016):

  • SCNAT Landeskomitee, International Seismological Centre ISC
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer
  • European-Mediterranean Seismological Centre EMSC
    Dr. Florian Haslinger, Dr. John Clinton
  • GEOFON Advisory Committee
    Dr. Florian Haslinger
  • Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology ORFEUS
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer, Dr. John Clinton
  • Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Erdbebeningenieurwesen und Baudynamik
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • Geologische Gesellschaft Zürich
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organisation, Working Group B
    Dr. Urs Kradolfer
  • Interdepartementale Arbeitsgruppe zur Koordination der Schweizerischen Haltung bei den Verhandlungen der 'Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organisation' in Wien
    Dr. Urs Kradolfer
  • Group of CTBT NDCs
    Dr. Urs Kradolfer
  • Begleitausschuss Single Official Voice (SOV)
    Dr. Florian Haslinger
  • Scientific Council of the Scientific Advisory Board of the SEISM Institute
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • EIDA Management Board
    Dr. John Clinton
  • Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)
    Dr. John Clinton, Dr. Florian Haslinger
  • IASPEI correspondent at SNC-IUGG
    Dr. John Clinton
  • Leitungsgremium
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer
  • International Partnership for Geothermal Technology (IPGT), WG Induced Seismicity
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer
  • Swiss representative, European Seismological Commission (ESC)
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • GEO Geohazards Supersites and National Laboratories, Scientific Advisory Committee
    Dr. Florian Haslinger

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Kooperationen

Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit einer Vielzahl von nationalen und internationalen Partnern stellt sicher, dass der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst (SED) an der ETH Zürich seine öffentlichen Aufgaben sowie seine Forschungsaktivitäten in hoher Qualität wahrnehmen kann. Die Partner, mit denen der SED besonders eng zusammenarbeitet, sind nachfolgend aufgeführt und die Art der Kooperation in wenigen Worten erläutert.

ETH Zürich

Im Jahr 1957 wurde der SED der ETH Zürich angegliedert. Seit 2009 untersteht er in seiner heutigen Form als ausserdepartementale Einheit dem Vizepräsidenten für Forschung und Wirtschaftsbeziehungen. Die ETH Zürich bietet optimale Rahmenbedingungen, um die öffentlichen Aufgaben der Erdbebenfachstelle des Bundes mit hochkarätiger Forschung im Bereich Seismologie zu verknüpfen. Als Garant und unterstützendes Element für eine enge Kooperation innerhalb der ETH wurde ein Lenkungsausschuss geschaffen.

Der Erdbebendienst arbeitet eng mit dem Institut für Geophysik und dem Departement Erdwissenschaften zusammen. Der Direktor des SED ist gleichzeitig Professor für Seismologie am Departement Erdwissenschaften. Zahlreiche Mitarbeitende des SED übernehmen Lehrtätigkeiten an der ETH Zürich und betreuen Studierende sowie Doktorierende.

Andere Hochschulen

Der SED forscht gemeinsam mit anderen universitären Institutionen an einer Vielzahl nationaler, europäischer und internationaler Projekte. Dies garantiert einen regen fachlichen Austausch über die Landesgrenzen hinaus.

Naturgefahrenfachstellen des Bundes

Der Bund informiert und warnt Bevölkerung, Medien und Behörden vor drohenden Naturgefahren. Die beteiligten Naturgefahrenfachstellen des Bundes koordinieren sich im Lenkungsausschuss Intervention Naturgefahren LAINAT und arbeiten in allen Lagen eng zusammen.

Lenkungsausschuss Intervention Naturgefahren (LAINAT)

Der LAINAT fördert die Vorsorge bei aussergewöhnlichen Naturereignissen und koordiniert die Aufträge aus dem Bundesratsbeschluss zur „Optimierung der Warnung und Alarmierung“ (OWARNA). Im LAINAT haben sich das Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU), das Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie (MeteoSchweiz), das Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz (BABS), die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft (WSL) mit dem WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung (SLF) und der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst (SED) zusammengeschlossen. Der Geschäftsstelle LAINAT ist die Geschäftsstelle „Gemeinsame Informationsplattform Naturgefahren“ (GIN) angeschlossen.

Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz (BABS)

Das BABS ist auf Bundesebene zuständig für den Schutz der Schweizer Bevölkerung vor Katastrophen und Notlagen. Die Nationale Alarmzentrale im BABS betreibt bei grossen Naturereignissen das Melde-und Lagezentrum MLZ. Das MLZ sammelt Informationen, verdichtet diese und stellt sie den Partnern des Bevölkerungsschutzes zur Verfügung.

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie (MeteoSchweiz)

MeteoSchweiz stellt als der nationale Wetter- und Klimadienst die Grundversorgung mit Wetter- und Klimainformationen in der Schweiz sicher und leistet so einen wesentlichen Beitrag für Gesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Bodenmessstationen, Wetterradars, Satelliten, Radiosonden und andere Instrumente erfassen das Wetter. MeteoSchweiz überwacht das Wettergeschehen, erstellt Wetterprognosen und warnt Behörden und Bevölkerung vor Unwettern. Ausserdem analysiert MeteoSchweiz Daten, die Rückschlüsse auf Klimawandel und extreme Wetterereignisse zulassen und als Grundlage für Klimaentwicklungsszenarien in der Schweiz dienen.

Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU)

Das BAFU hat den Auftrag, die nachhaltige Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen wie Boden, Wasser, Luft und Wald sicherzustellen. Es ist verantwortlich für den Schutz vor Naturgefahren, bewahrt die Umwelt und die Gesundheit der Menschen vor übermässigen Belastungen, sorgt für die Erhaltung der Biodiversität und ist zuständig für die internationale Umweltpolitik. Im Bereich der Naturgefahren ist das BAFU verantwortlich für die hydrologischen Vorhersagen sowie die Warnung der Bevölkerung vor Hochwasser, damit verbundenen Massenbewegungen und Waldbrandgefahr.

WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung (SLF)

Das SLF ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungs- und Dienstleistungszentrum in den Bereichen Schnee, Lawinen, Permafrost und Gebirgsökosysteme. Es gehört zur Eidg. Forschungsanstalt WSL und damit zum ETH-Bereich. Das SLF beurteilt die Lawinengefahr in den Schweizer Alpen und gibt im Winter täglich das Lawinenbulletin heraus. Der operationelle schneehydrologische Dienst (OSHD) am SLF analysiert laufend die Verteilung von Schneewasserressourcen und unterstützt das BAFU bei der Warnung vor Hochwasser.

Andere Bundesämter

Bei grossen Schadensbeben weltweit informiert der SED das Schweizerische Korps für humanitäre Hilfe (SKH), welches dem Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) angehört.

Der SED überwacht verschiedene Energieprojekte und stellt die gewonnenen Informationen den behördlichen Betreibern, dem Eidgenössischen Nuklearsicherheitsinspektorat oder dem Bundesamt für Energie zu Verfügung.

Kantonale und kommunale Behörden

Im Ereignisfall übermittelt der SED umgehend alle verfügbaren Informationen an die kantonalen und kommunalen Behörden. Im Rahmen von Übungen spielt der SED in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Behördenvertretern das Verhalten im Ereignisfall durch.

Internationale Organisationen

Im Jahr 1996 haben sich die Staaten der UNO darauf geeinigt, einen Vertrag zum Verbot von Atomwaffensprengungen aufzulegen. Um die Einhaltung dieses Vertrages zu überprüfen, wurde ein internationales Überwachungssystem eingerichtet. Das Überwachungssystem (IMS) umfasst seismologische, hydroakustische, Infraschall und Radionukleid Messstationen, mit den jeweiligen Kommunikationsmitteln, und wird durch das internationale Datenzentrum (IDC) und das technische Sekretariat gestützt. Der SED leistet einen Beitrag, indem er die zuständige Behörde in Wien, die CTBTO, mit Daten beliefert, welche die eigens dafür errichtete seismische Station in der Region von Davos aufzeichnet.

Der SED ist zudem Mitglied verschiedener internationaler Organisationen der Seismologie (ISC, FDSN, ORFEUS, EMSC, ESC) und beteiligt sich am Global Earthquake Model (GEM).

Industrie

Für grössere Bau- oder Energieprojekte bietet der SED Dienstleistungen im Bereich seismischer Überwachung und Beratung an. Dienstleistungen für die Industrie werden nur dann übernommen, wenn sie die Unabhängigkeit des SED nicht einschränken (siehe Unabhängigkeit und Transparenz).

Mitgliedschaften

Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst engagiert sich in folgenden Organisationen und Gremien, vertreten durch die aufgeführten Mitarbeitenden (Stand Januar 2016):

  • SCNAT Landeskomitee, International Seismological Centre ISC
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer
  • European-Mediterranean Seismological Centre EMSC
    Dr. Florian Haslinger, Dr. John Clinton
  • GEOFON Advisory Committee
    Dr. Florian Haslinger
  • Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology ORFEUS
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer, Dr. John Clinton
  • Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Erdbebeningenieurwesen und Baudynamik
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • Geologische Gesellschaft Zürich
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organisation, Working Group B
    Dr. Urs Kradolfer
  • Interdepartementale Arbeitsgruppe zur Koordination der Schweizerischen Haltung bei den Verhandlungen der 'Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organisation' in Wien
    Dr. Urs Kradolfer
  • Group of CTBT NDCs
    Dr. Urs Kradolfer
  • Begleitausschuss Single Official Voice (SOV)
    Dr. Florian Haslinger
  • Scientific Council of the Scientific Advisory Board of the SEISM Institute
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • EIDA Management Board
    Dr. John Clinton
  • Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)
    Dr. John Clinton, Dr. Florian Haslinger
  • IASPEI correspondent at SNC-IUGG
    Dr. John Clinton
  • geothermie.ch Leitungsgremium
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer
  • International Partnership for Geothermal Technology (IPGT), WG Induced Seismicity
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wiemer
  • Swiss representative, European Seismological Commission (ESC)
    Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh
  • GEO Geohazards Supersites and National Laboratories, Scientific Advisory Committee
    Dr. Florian Haslinger