MENU
The page content begins here

Alerting

Alerting

Earthquakes can neither be predicted nor prevented. However, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) monitors ground shaking around the clock. Within approximately 90 seconds of an earthquake, details about the time, location, magnitude, and possible effects appear on the SED website.

The SED automatically reports any noticeable earthquakes to the authorities and the media. At the same time, this information is transmitted to the SED’s 24-hour on-call service by pager, e-mail, and SMS. This service is also available to the authorities and the media for further information about current earthquakes, and writes background information that is published on the SED website.

As part of the Swiss Rescue Chain, the SED also informs the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit (SHA) about any earthquakes that cause major damage worldwide. The SHA then conducts further investigations and the decides whether or not to dispatch a rescue team with search dogs to the disaster area.

The SED is currently testing an earthquake early warning system. Monitoring stations close to an earthquake immediately register the seismic waves it generates and trigger a warning for areas further away. Such warnings can be issued because the measurements are transmitted at the speed of light, i.e. faster than the speed at which seismic waves are propagated (around 3.5 km per second). However, since earthquake early warnings can only be given at a certain distance from the epicentre and are only useful for more powerful earthquakes, their practical use for Switzerland remains to be determined. Click here for more information about research into earthquake early warnings (EEWs).

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Alarmierung

Alerting

Erdbeben lassen sich weder vorhersagen noch verhindern. Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst (SED) zeichnet die Erschütterungen des Bodens jedoch kontinuierlich auf. Innert ungefähr 90 Sekunden nach einem Erdbeben erscheinen auf der Webseite des SED Angaben zum Zeitpunkt, zum Ort, zur Stärke und zu den möglichen Auswirkungen.

Möglicherweise spürbare Erdbeben meldet der SED automatisch an Behörden und Medien. Gleichzeitig werden diese Informationen dem 24-Stunden Pikettdienst des SED via Pager, E-Mail und SMS übermittelt. Dieser steht Behörden und Medien für weiterführende Auskünfte zu aktuellen Erdbeben zur Verfügung und erarbeitet Hintergrundinformationen, die auf der Webseite veröffentlicht werden.

Bei grossen Schadensbeben weltweit informiert der SED als Teil der Rettungskette Schweiz zusätzlich das Schweizerische Korps für humanitäre Hilfe (SKH). Dieses führt in der Folge weitere Abklärungen durch und entscheidet über einen allfälligen Einsatz eines Rettungsteams mit Suchhunden im Katastrophengebiet.

Derzeit testet der SED ein System für Erdbebenfrühwarnungen. Messstationen, die in der Nähe eines Bebens liegen, registrieren dessen seismische Wellen umgehend und lösen eine Warnung für weiter entfernte Gebiete aus. Möglich ist dies, weil die Messdaten mit Lichtgeschwindigkeit übertragen werden und sich damit schneller fortbewegen als seismische Wellen (ca. 3.5 km/s). Da Erdbebenfrühwarnungen erst ab einer gewissen Entfernung vom Epizentrum möglich und nur für stärkere Beben sinnvoll sind, ist ihr praktischer Nutzen für die Schweiz noch abzuklären. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über das Forschungsfeld „Erdbebenfrühwarnung“.