MENU
The page content begins here

Impacts of Earthquakes

How clearly an earthquake is felt depends not only on its strength, but also on the depth of its seismic focus (hypocentre) and on the local subsoil.

Earthquakes in soft ground (e.g. in valley sediments, lake deposits) are felt more than earthquakes in rocky subsoil. The type of subsoil in the locality also affects the resulting damage: earthquake waves in sediment-filled valleys (like the Rhone Valley) are 10 times stronger than in solid bedrock and cause correspondingly greater damage. As a rule, the more solid the subsoil beneath a building is, the less damage earthquake waves can cause.

Watch the video to see how the waves in a simulated earthquake in the Rhone Valley spread and how long they remain 'trapped' in the valley floor.

In principle, near the epicentre, earthquakes with a magnitude of 2.5 or above can be felt. Only rarely do we receive earthquake notifications for events with a magnitude of just under 2. Earthquakes with magnitudes of 3 or higher are felt by large numbers of people; at magnitudes of between 4 and 5 they can be felt within a radius of up to 200 kilometres; and at magnitudes of 5 or more they can be felt up to several hundred kilometres away under some circumstances.

These increasing radii are due to the fact that the energy released by an earthquake increases by a factor of 30 per level of magnitude, making a magnitude 5 earthquake 30 times stronger than a magnitude 4 earthquake.

You can see how the energy released increases exponentially in the video.

How strong does an earthquake have to be to make itself felt?

The impact of an earthquake on the surface (i.e. on buildings, people, the environment and infrastructure) is described according to a 12-level intensity scale (see EMS-98 below).

Damage to buildings can be expected starting from an intensity of around VI, which corresponds to a magnitude of approximately 5. Destructive damage is to be expected after an earthquake with an intensity of IX or above. Minor cracks or damage caused by falling objects can even occur at lower intensities.

The table on the Federal Authorities' National Hazards Portal shows the anticipated impact of earthquakes of various sizes in Switzerland.

What consequences can earthquakes of various strengths be expected to cause?

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Auswirkungen von Erdbeben

Wie gut ein Erdbeben verspürt wird und welche Auswirkungen es hat, hängt neben seiner Stärke von der Tiefe des Erdbebenherds (Hypozentrum) sowie dem jeweiligen Untergrund ab.

Auf einem weichen Boden (z. B. Talfüllungen, Seeablagerungen) werden Erdbeben deutlicher verspürt als auf felsigem Untergrund. Der lokale Untergrund wirkt sich auch auf die Schäden aus: Erdbebenwellen erfahren in sedimentgefüllten Tälern (z. B. Rhonetal) verglichen mit festem Felsuntergrund eine 10-fache Verstärkung und richten im Talboden entsprechend grössere Schäden an. Generell gilt, je solider der Untergrund eines Gebäudes, desto weniger Schaden können Erdbebenwellen anrichten.

Schauen Sie im Video, wie sich die Wellen eines simulierten Erdbebens im Rhonetal ausbreiten und wie lange sie im Talboden «gefangen» bleiben würden.

In der Nähe des Epizentrums sind Erdbeben in der Regel ab einer Magnitude von 2.5 zu verspüren. Nur in sehr seltenen Fällen erhalten wir Erdbebenmeldungen für Ereignisse mit einer Magnitude unter 2. Ab Magnitude 3 werden Beben verbreitet verspürt. Erdbeben mit Magnituden zwischen 4 und 5 können in einem Umkreis von bis zu 200 km wahrgenommen werden. Ab Magnitude 5 sind es unter Umständen mehrere 100 km.

Die zunehmenden Distanzen erklären sich dadurch, dass die durch ein Erdbeben freigesetzte Energie pro Magnitudenstufe um einen Faktor von 30 zunimmt. Ein Erdbeben der Magnitude 5 ist demnach 30-mal stärker als eines der Magnitude 4.

Beobachten Sie im Video, wie die freigesetzte Energie exponentiell zunimmt.

Ab wann sind Erdbeben spürbar?

Die Auswirkungen eines Erdbebens an der Oberfläche (auf Gebäude, Personen, die Umwelt und Infrastrukturen) werden mit einer zwölfstufigen Intensitätsskala (siehe EMS-98 unten) beschrieben.

Schäden an Gebäuden sind ab einer Intensität von etwa VI zu erwarten. Dies entspricht in etwa einer Magnitude von 5. Zerstörerische Schäden sind ab einer Intensität von IX zu erwarten. Zu kleineren Rissen oder Schäden aufgrund herunterfallender Objekte kann es bereits bei kleineren Intensitäten kommen.

Die Tabelle auf dem Naturgefahrenportal des Bundes zeigt, mit welchen Auswirkungen bei Erdbeben verschiedener Grössen in der Schweiz zu rechnen ist.

Welche Auswirkungen sind bei Erdbeben verschiedener Stärken zu erwarten?