MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquakes in the Data Mountain

Seismologists are keen collectors of data. Their networks of seismometers allow them to map ground movements during earthquakes all over the world and amass huge amounts of data. The Swiss Seismological Service alone accumulates two to three terabytes of data on recorded earthquakes every year, which comes to more than 3,000 gigabytes.

More Seismometers, More Earthquakes

The denser the network and the better the measuring devices are, the smaller the earthquakes that can be reliably recorded. Every day, the Swiss Seismological Service records multiple earthquakes that are too weak to be felt. The recording quality in highly seismically active areas such as California and Japan is as good or better, but there are still earthquakes that go undiscovered under the world’s oceans that would be strong enough to cause minor damage if they took place in a city.

If enough seismometers could be distributed around the world to record all of the earthquakes with a magnitude of 2 or higher, there would be around one and a half million earthquakes a year, with one happening every 20 seconds on average. Recording all of these earthquakes reliably would require at least four stations in close enough proximity to each individual earthquake.

As soon as the seismic stations are able to record the ground movements for an earthquake, information about the waveforms can be used to determine the location and strength of the earthquake. All recorded earthquakes are incorporated into local, regional, or global earthquake catalogs. These catalogs contain lists of the times, the places, and the magnitudes of all recorded earthquakes (see ECOS-09).

In Switzerland and its neighbouring countries, the Swiss Seismological Service has recorded just under 100 earthquakes with a magnitude of 2 or higher (noticeable in the immediate vicinity) every year, while in California there have been more than 5,000. Here, too, there are actually more earthquakes occurring, but they are too weak to be recorded by the seismic network. Only extremely sensitive, local networks installed, for example, as part of industrial projects, are able to record and determine the location of even tiny ruptures.

The size of earthquakes is normally described in terms of magnitude. But what does this mean?

Magnitude is a measure of the energy released by an earthquake. Each increase in the unit of magnitude is equivalent to a 30-fold increase in energy. As a result, the energy of the Tohoku earthquake (magnitude of 9.0) is around 1,000 times that of the Haiti earthquake (magnitude of 7.1). You can see how the energy released increases exponentially in the video.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Erdbeben im Datenberg

Seismologen sind fleissige Datensammler: mit ihren Netzwerken von Seismometern zeichnen sie Bodenbewegungen von Erdbeben rund um die Welt auf und häufen damit riesige Datenberge an. Allein der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst füllt so jährlich zwei bis drei Terabyte mit Informationen über registrierte Erschütterungen. Das entspricht mehr als 3‘000 Gigabytes.

Mehr Seismometer, mehr Beben

Je dichter ein Netzwerk und je besser die Messgeräte, desto kleinere Beben können zuverlässig registriert werden. Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst zeichnet daher täglich mehrere Beben auf, die zu schwach sind, um verspürt zu werden. Eine ähnlich gute oder bessere Aufzeichnungsqualität findet man in seismisch sehr aktiven Gebieten wie Kalifornien und Japan. Unter den Weltmeeren bleiben aber heute noch Beben unentdeckt, die stark genug wären, um unter einer Stadt kleinere Schäden anzurichten.

Könnte man flächendeckend genügend Seismometer auf der Welt verteilen, um überall Magnitude 2 und grössere Beben aufzuzeichnen, wären das circa anderthalb Millionen Beben pro Jahr, im Schnitt ereignet sich alle 20 Sekunden eines. Wollte man alle diese Beben zuverlässig aufzeichnen, bräuchte es jeweils mindestens vier Stationen, die genug nah am Beben platziert wären.

Sobald die seismischen Stationen in der Lage sind, die Bodenbewegungen eines Erdbebens aufzuzeichnen, lassen sich aus den Wellenformen der Ort und die Stärke des Bebens ermitteln. Alle registrierten Beben fliessen in lokale, regionale oder weltweite Erdbebenkataloge ein. Diese bestehen aus Listen, in denen die Zeit, der Ort und die Stärke aller registrierten Beben festgehalten sind (siehe ECOS-09).

In der Schweiz und im grenznahen Ausland zeichnet der Erdbebendienst jedes Jahr knapp 100 Beben mit einer Magnitude von 2 oder grösser auf (in direkter Nähe spürbar), in Kalifornien sind es über 5‘000. Auch hierzulande ereignen sich in Tat und Wahrheit mehr Beben, die jedoch zu schwach sind, um vom seismischen Netzwerk erfasst zu werden. Einzig extrem sensible, lokale Netzwerke, die beispielsweise im Rahmen von Industrieprojekten installiert werden, vermögen auch winzige Brüche aufzeichnen und zu lokalisieren. 

Die Grösse von Erdbeben wird üblicherweise in Magnitude angegeben. Doch was bedeuten diese Zahlen?

Die Magnitude ist ein Mass für die Energie, die ein Erdbeben freisetzt. Jede Erhöhung um eine Magnitudeneinheit bedeutet eine 30-fache Zunahme der Energie. Die Energie eines Tohoku Bebens (M9.0) weist demzufolge in etwa die Energie von 1‘000 Haiti Beben (M7.1) auf. Beobachten Sie im Video, wie die freigesetzte Energie exponentiell zunimmt.