MENU
The page content begins here

Lake Tsunamis

Tsunamis do not only occur in the sea. In rare instances large seismic waves also occur in (Swiss) lakes.

Causes

Tsunamis at sea occur when an earthquake abruptly raises or lowers the ocean floor (if the sea floor only shifts horizontally, this has little impact on the mass of water above it) and / or when a submarine landslide takes place.

The height and speed of tsunami waves depend on the parameters that triggered the quake and on the depth of the water. As a rule, waves propagated in deep water do not pose a danger and are recorded only by measurement buoys (if noticed at all). But as soon as they reach shallower waters, the mass of water towers high and can flood entire stretches of coastline, depending on the vertical displacement of the ground.

Since tsunami waves move more slowly than the P waves of an earthquake (see frequently asked question: "What are P, S, Love and Rayleigh waves?"), endangered areas can be given several minutes' or even several hours' warning of an impending tsunami.

Lake tsunamis are usually caused by rock avalanches or sliding sediment, either above or below water, which are in turn often, though not always, triggered by earthquakes. The height of a tsunami wave caused by a submarine landslide depends mainly on the volume of sediment displaced and the speed of the landslide.

Flash floods in Switzerland

Evidence of rock avalanches and landslides that triggered flash floods in Switzerland's history and prehistory has been found in many Swiss lakes, taking the form of chaotically mixed deposits that differ markedly from normal sediments. Since their age can be ascertained, they can be retrospectively attributed to a seismic event. The height of the flash flood wave can be calculated by numerical models and then compared with historical reports.

The following flash floods in Swiss lakes have been historically documented:

  • In 563 A.D., a rock avalanche in the Rhone Valley triggered a submarine landslide in the river's delta. This slide in turn generated a wave up to 13 m high, which swept over the bank of Lake Geneva, flooding the old city of Geneva (Kremer et al., 2012).
  • In 1584, an earthquake near Aigle destroyed villages and caused rockslides. A tsunami in Lake Geneva was observed (Fritsche et al., 2012).
  • On 16 September 1601, an earthquake with a magnitude of 5.9 caused submarine landslides in Lake Lucerne, triggering a 4-m-high tsunami wave that engulfed the city of Lucerne (Schnellmann et al., 2002; Siegenthaler et al., 1987).
  • On 23 September 1687, parts of the Muota delta slid into Lake Lucerne, triggering a wave 5 m high (Hilbe and Anselmetti, 2014).
  • On 2 September 1806, the village of Goldau was destroyed by a rock avalanche that caused a 10-m-high tsunami wave in Lake Lauerz (Bussmann and Anselmetti, 2010).
  • In 1996, the remains of a human body between 190 and 290 years old were found in Lake Brienz, freed from the mud by a smallish landslide in the Aare delta that triggered a wave 1 m high. This unusual movement of water was observed by employees of the company Aarekies (Girardclos et al., 2007).

These historical examples show how different the causes of lake tsunamis can be and suggest that the possibility of future flash floods in Swiss lakes cannot be ruled out. However, there is no way of predicting where or when these phenomena may occur or what form they might take.

 

Sources:
Bussmann, F., Anselmetti, F., 2010. Rossberg landslide history and flood chronology as recorded in Lake Lauerz sediments (Central Switzerland). Swiss J. Geosci. 103, 43-59.
Fritsche, S., Fäh, D., Schwarz-Zanetti, G., 2012. Historical intensity VIII earthquakes along the Rhone valley (Valais, Switzerland): primary and secondary effects. Swiss J. Geosci. 105, 1-18.
Girardclos, S., Schmidt, O.T., Sturm, M., Ariztegui, D., Pugin, A., Anselmetti, F.S., 2007. The 1996 AD delta collapse and large turbidite in Lake Brienz. Marine Geology 241, 137-154.
Hilbe, M., Anselmetti, F.S., 2014. Signatures of slope failures and river-delta collapses in a perialpine lake (Lake Lucerne, Switzerland). Sedimentology 61, 1883-1907.
Kremer, K., Simpson, G., Girardclos, S., 2012. Giant Lake Geneva tsunami in AD 563. Nat. Geosci. 5, 756-757.
Schnellmann, M., Anselmetti, F.S., Giardini, D., McKenzie, J.A., Ward, S.N., 2002. Prehistoric earthquake history revealed by lacustrine slump deposits. Geology 30, 1131-1134.
Siegenthaler, C., Finger, W., Kelts, K., Wang, S., 1987. Earthquake and seiche deposits in Lake Lucerne, Switzerland. Eclogae Geologicae Helvetiae 80, 241-260.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

See-Tsunamis

Tsunamis kommen nicht nur im Meer vor. In seltenen Fällen treten auch in (Schweizer) Seen grössere Flutwellen auf.

Ursachen

In Ozeanen entsteht ein Tsunami, wenn sich der Meeresboden aufgrund eines Bebens abrupt hebt oder senkt (wenn der Meeresgrund lediglich in der Horizontalen verschoben wird, hat das keinen grossen Einfluss auf die darüber liegenden Wassermassen) und / oder durch submarine Rutschungen.

Solange sich die Wellen im tiefen Wasser fortbewegen, stellen sie in der Regel keine Gefahr dar und sind höchstens durch Messbojen wahrnehmbar. Sobald sie aber seichtere Gewässer erreichen, türmen sich die Wassermengen auf und überfluten, je nachdem wie stark sich der Grund in der Vertikalen bewegt hat, ganze Küstenabschnitte.

Da Tsunamiwellen langsamer laufen als die P-Wellen eines Erdbebens (siehe häufig gestellte Frage: „Was sind P-, S-, Love- und Rayleigh-Wellen?“), ist es möglich, gefährdete Gebiete wenige Minuten bis mehrere Stunden vor dem Eintreffen eines Tsunamis zu warnen.

In Seen entstehen Tsunamis vor allem durch Bergstürze und Über- oder Unterwasserrutschungen, die oft aber nicht zwingend durch ein Erdbeben ausgelöst wurden. Bei Unterwasserrutschungen hängt die resultierende Wellenhöhe eines Tsunami vor allem vom Sedimentvolumen und der Geschwindigkeit der Rutschung ab.

Flutwellen in der Schweiz

Hinweise auf historische und prähistorische Bergstürze und Rutschungen, die Flutwellen ausgelöst haben, wurden in den Sedimenten zahlreicher Schweizer Seen gefunden. Dabei handelt es sich um chaotisch durchmischte Ablagerungen, die sich von normalen Sedimenten unterscheiden. Dank der Möglichkeit, ihr Alter zu bestimmen, können sie im Nachhinein einem Ereignis zugeordnet werden. Die Höhe einer Flutwelle kann durch numerische Modelle berechnet und mit historischen Berichten verglichen werden.

Folgende Flutwellen in Schweizer Seen sind historisch dokumentiert:

  • 563 n. Chr. löste ein Bergsturz im Rhonetal eine Unterwasserrutschung im Rhonedelta aus. Diese Rutschung löste eine bis zu 13 Meter hohe Flutwelle aus, die dazu führte, dass die Ufer des Genfersees überschwemmt wurden und Wasser in die Altstadt eindrang (Kremer et al., 2012).
  • Das Erdbeben in der Nähe von Aigle 1584 zerstörte Dörfer und verursachte Felsstürze. Es wurde auch ein Tsunami im Genfersee beobachtet (Fritsche et al., 2012) .
  • Am 16. September 1601 verursachte ein Erdbeben der Stärke 5.9 Unterwasserrutschungen im Vierwaldstättersee. Diese Rutschungen lösten einen 4 m hohen Tsunami aus, der die Stadt Luzern überschwemmte (Schnellmann et al., 2002; Siegenthaler et al., 1987).
  • Am 23. September 1687 rutschen Teile des Muotadeltas im Vierwaldstättersee und lösten eine Welle mit einer Höhe von 5 m aus (Hilbe and Anselmetti, 2014).
  • Am 2. September 1806 wurde das Dorf Goldau durch einen Bergsturz am Rossberg zerstört. Dieser Bergsturz verursachte einen über 10 Meter hohen Tsunami im Lauerzersee (Bussmann and Anselmetti, 2010).
  • 1996 wurde eine 190 bis 290 Jahre alte Leiche im Brienzersee gefunden. Die „Brienzi“ Leiche wurde durch eine kleinere Rutschung im Aaredelta freigegeben. Diese Rutschung löste eine Welle von einem Meter Höhe aus. Diese ungewöhnliche Wasserbewegung wurde von Arbeitern der Aarekies AG beobachtet (Girardclos et al., 2007).

Die historischen Beispiele zeigen, wie unterschiedlich die Ursachen für Tsunamis in Seen sind und dass wir in Zukunft Flutwellen in Schweizer See nicht ausschliessen können. Aber wann, wo und in welcher Form diese auftreten, lässt sich nicht vorhersagen.

 

Quellen:
Bussmann, F., Anselmetti, F., 2010. Rossberg landslide history and flood chronology as recorded in Lake Lauerz sediments (Central Switzerland). Swiss J. Geosci. 103, 43-59.
Fritsche, S., Fäh, D., Schwarz-Zanetti, G., 2012. Historical intensity VIII earthquakes along the Rhone valley (Valais, Switzerland): primary and secondary effects. Swiss J. Geosci. 105, 1-18.
Girardclos, S., Schmidt, O.T., Sturm, M., Ariztegui, D., Pugin, A., Anselmetti, F.S., 2007. The 1996 AD delta collapse and large turbidite in Lake Brienz. Marine Geology 241, 137-154.
Hilbe, M., Anselmetti, F.S., 2014. Signatures of slope failures and river-delta collapses in a perialpine lake (Lake Lucerne, Switzerland). Sedimentology 61, 1883-1907.
Kremer, K., Simpson, G., Girardclos, S., 2012. Giant Lake Geneva tsunami in AD 563. Nat. Geosci. 5, 756-757.
Schnellmann, M., Anselmetti, F.S., Giardini, D., McKenzie, J.A., Ward, S.N., 2002. Prehistoric earthquake history revealed by lacustrine slump deposits. Geology 30, 1131-1134.
Siegenthaler, C., Finger, W., Kelts, K., Wang, S., 1987. Earthquake and seiche deposits in Lake Lucerne, Switzerland. Eclogae Geologicae Helvetiae 80, 241-260.