MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquakes in Grisons

An earthquake causing at least minor damage to buildings occurs in the Canton of Grisons on average every 30 to 40 years. The main areas of heightened activity are Lower Engadine, the Val Müstair and central Grisons. By comparison, western Grisons experiences fairly low levels of seismic activity.

The strongest known earthquake in Grisons happened in 1295 in the Churwalden area (intensity VIII). If a similar earthquake were to happen today, it would cause around CHF 12 billion worth of damage across the canton. The most recent damaging quake occurred near Vaz in 1991, causing minor damage to buildings.

 

The region stretches from the Val Mesolcina and Vorderrhein (Anterior Rhine) valley in the west to the upper Vinschgau valley in the east, and from the Valtellina in the south to Bad Ragaz and Samnaun in the north. It therefore encompasses adjacent parts of Ticino to the south-west, of Glarus and St. Gallen to the north-west and of Italy and Austria to the south and east.

Seismic activity in Grisons

Over the past 40 years, 55 earthquakes with a magnitude of 3 or greater have occurred in Grisons and its immediate surroundings. All were felt by local residents. Eleven attained a magnitude of more than 4 and were felt over a wider area. The strongest earthquake in this period took place on 20 November 1991 in the region of Vaz. In the epicentral area around Vaz/Obervaz and Muldain, it caused cracks in the facades of several buildings. The main quake was followed by over 80 aftershocks, lasting until the spring of 1992.

Magnitude Number
ML ≥ 2.0 646
ML ≥ 2.5 182
ML ≥ 3.0 55
ML ≥ 4.0 11
Table: Magnitude frequency in and around Grisons between 1975 and 2014. ML is the local magnitude on the Richter scale.

All earthquakes of magnitude 3 and above, and some between 2.5 and 3, were felt by local residents.

Date Magnitude Location
17.07.1976 4.2 Filisur
31.07.1983 4.3 Val Venosta (I)
31.08.1983 4.0 S-Charl
08.06.1984 4.2 S-Charl
16.05.1990 4.0 Piz Tasna
20.11.1991 5.0 Vaz
29.12.1999 4.9 Bormio (I)
31.12.1999 4.4 Bormio (I)
06.04.2000 4.3 Bormio (I)
01.10.2001 4.3 Bormio (I)
21.01.2008 4.0 Paspels

Although the first seismographs in Switzerland began operating in the early 20th century, a uniform national seismic monitoring network has only existed since 1975. This has been continually expanded and adapted in line with the latest technological developments. As a result, its sensitivity has increased and its location accuracy has improved over time. The epicentres of instrumentally recorded earthquakes in and around Grisons between 1975 and 2014 differ significantly in their distribution (see epicentre map 1975 - 2014).

Historical records are the only information we have about earthquakes in times past. The strength of these quakes can be reconstructed based on the documented damage and quantified in the form of intensities. Although in principle it is possible to estimate a magnitude based on the observed intensities, this would be subject to considerable uncertainty.

In Grisons and surrounding areas, seven earthquakes with intensities between VI and VIII are known to have occurred since the end of the 13th century. All of these quakes caused minor to severe damage to buildings and in some cases injuries and fatalities. Nine earthquakes with intensities of at least VIII are known to have occurred in Switzerland from historical records. One of these happened in Grisons, namely the 1295 earthquake in Churwalden; this is the oldest historically recorded earthquake in Switzerland. While each individual historical information source for this event is only partly reliable on its own, taken together they paint a coherent picture of the location and date of the quake and of its effects. Thus, recorded damage to churches, monasteries and castles in the epicentral area can be attributed to this earthquake, but we can also conclude from a number of information sources that its impact extended to southern Germany, Austria and Italy. If the Churwalden earthquake were to occur today with the same strength, it would cause estimated building damage of around CHF 5 billion and total damage of around CHF 12 billion within Grisons.

List of known earthquakes with intensity = VI in and around Grisons

Date Intensity Location
03.09.1295 VIII Churwalden
03.08.1622 VII Ftan
27.08.1857 VI Tarasp
25.12.1905 VII Domat Ems
26.12.1905 VI Tamins
09.12.1917 VI Silvaplana
20.11.1991 VI Vaz

In the list of historically known damaging earthquakes in Grisons, it is striking that only two events are recorded between the late 13th and mid-19th centuries, while five such events have occurred in the last 160 or so years. This uneven distribution reflects the patchiness of data from earlier centuries. It is therefore difficult, on the basis of historically known earthquakes alone, to draw statistically reliable conclusions about the incidence of damaging earthquakes in Grisons. Nevertheless, if we assume that the last 200 or so years are more or less representative, an earthquake causing at least minor damage to buildings can be expected to occur in Grisons every 30 to 40 years. An earthquake causing major damage (intensity VIII) – such as can be expected in the Valais once every 100 years on average – has only occurred once in Grisons in the past 700 years.

Another notable thing about the list of damaging earthquakes is that the two quakes in December 1905, with intensities of VII and VI, occurred within a period of just 24 hours. The distance between the stated epicentres of these two earthquakes (Domat-Ems and Tamins) is only around 10 km, which is less than the margin of uncertainty regarding locations. The short time interval and distance between the two earthquakes and other smaller tremors that occurred before and afterwards in the same area suggest that these two events were part of a protracted swarm.

Figure: Epicentre map of historically known earthquakes in and around Grisons since 1200 with intensity >= VI (damaging earthquakes).

Earthquakes in Grisons often occur as a series of events which show up on earthquake maps as a cluster of epicentres. The duration of these series can vary considerably, with some lasting just a few days while others, such as the Bormio series, continue for several years. Typically, such series involve a large number of earthquakes in a localised area over an extended period of time, without a clear sequence of foreshocks, main quake and aftershocks. This is also known as an earthquake swarm. Swarm activity usually ends after a few weeks or months, but occasionally the quakes increase in strength and number over time. If the location of the individual foci in such swarms can be calculated with sufficient accuracy, it always defines one or more surface areas that correspond to the fracture surfaces activated by the earthquakes in the subsurface.

The Bormio earthquake series

A notable example is the Bormio earthquake series, which included four events with local magnitudes greater than 4. The epicentre of this swarm was in Italy, on the border with Val Mora, around 10 km south of the Ofen Pass. The main quake, with a local magnitude of 4.9, occurred on 29 December 1999. This was preceded by a magnitude 2.3 quake on 15 April and a magnitude 2.4 quake on 28 December. A total of almost 200 events were recorded in this swarm, lasting until the autumn of 2002.

The Paspels earthquake series

A particularly well-investigated example of such earthquake swarms in Grisons is the series of quakes that occurred in Paspels between 2007 and 2009. It began in early August 2007 and peaked on 21 January 2008 with a magnitude 4.0 quake. A total of 37 quakes assignable to this swarm were recorded through to late 2009. The seismic foci were located at a depth of approximately 8 km on a fracture surface running almost east-west with a horizontal length of at least 700 m and a vertical extent of around 500 m.

Essentially, earthquakes are caused by the sudden release of stresses in the earth's crust. These stresses are brought about by large-scale continental movements. If they are stronger than the rock, a sudden rupture occurs along existing areas of weakness in the subsurface, triggering the seismic waves felt on the earth's surface. Modern seismology uses seismic observations to draw conclusions about the causative stresses and so deduce regional differences in the stress field.

Grisons's predominant geological structures are huge stacks of superimposed rock strata testifying to the compression that formed the Alps. By contrast, most present-day earthquakes in Grisons are triggered by lateral spreading: this results from a superposition of stresses from the ongoing collision between Africa and Europe and of compensatory stresses caused by the topography of the Alps and their roots. Obviously, stresses in the earth's crust have changed over the course of millions of years.

Much of the Canton of Grisons faces a moderate seismic hazard, less than the Valais but greater than Ticino and the Swiss plateau. Earthquake-resistant residential or office buildings in Switzerland are designed to withstand shaking that is expected to occur where the building is situated once every 500 years on average. This is illustrated on the seismic zone map. The central and eastern part of the canton falls within zone Z2. In this zone, shaking with a maximum intensity of VII-VIII (moderate to severe building damage) is expected to occur once in 500 years. The western part of the canton, comprising the Hinterrhein valley and upper Vorderrhein valley, lies in zone Z1, where shaking with a maximum intensity of VI-VII (minor to moderate building damage) is expected to occur once in 500 years.

Amplification of seismic shaking by local subsoils

As well as the magnitude and epicentral distance, the local subsoil type has a major impact on the amount of damage caused by an earthquake. For example, unconsolidated river and lake deposits can strengthen seismic waves, meaning that the ground motion intensity on a valley floor may be up to 10 times greater than in the rocky substrate of the valley sides. In the Canton of Grisons, the impact of such site effects is particularly significant in the Rhine Valley between Chur and the municipalities of the Bündner Herrschaft.

Secondary natural hazards triggered by earthquakes

The impact of earthquakes is not limited to shaking and direct damage to buildings. Additional damage is often caused by other natural hazards triggered by earthquakes. The unstable slopes commonly found in mountainous regions may be suddenly weakened by earthquake-induced shaking, causing rockfalls or landslides into the valley below. These may destroy transport links and energy and communications infrastructure. The same is true of avalanches in winter. Studies of past earthquakes show that Grisons, with its steep mountainsides, is exposed to these additional earthquake-induced natural hazards. This must be taken into account when assessing the earthquake risk.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Erdbeben in Graubünden

Im Kanton Graubünden ereignet sich durchschnittlich alle dreissig bis vierzig Jahre ein Erdbeben, welches mindestens leichte Gebäudeschäden verursacht. Eine erhöhte Aktivität ist vor allem im Unterengadin, im Münstertal und in Mittelbünden zu verzeichnen. Im Vergleich dazu ist das westliche Graubünden seismisch eher ruhig.

Das stärkste bekannte Beben in Graubünden ereignete sich im Jahr 1295 im Raum Churwalden (Intensität VIII). Sollte es sich wiederholen, wären innerhalb des Kantons Gesamtschäden von rund 12 Milliarden CHF zu erwarten. Das letzte schadensbringende Beben ereignete sich 1991 bei Vaz und verursachte leichte Gebäudeschäden.

 

Die Region erstreckt vom Misox und Vorderrheintal im Westen bis zum oberen Vinschgau im Osten sowie vom Veltlin im Süden bis Bad Ragaz und Samnaun im Norden. Es umfasst also auch die angrenzenden Gebiete des Tessins im Südwesten, von Glarus und Sankt Gallen im Nordwesten sowie von Italien und Österreich im Süden und Osten.

Erdbebenaktivität in Graubünden

In den vergangenen vierzig Jahre ereigneten sich in Graubünden und seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung 55 Beben mit einer Magnitude von 3 oder grösser. Alle wurden von der lokalen Bevölkerung wahrgenommen. Elf davon erreichten eine Magnitude von mehr als 4 und wurden über ein grösseres Gebiet verspürt. Das stärkste Beben in diesem Zeitraum ist das Beben vom 20. November 1991 in der Gegend von Vaz. Im Epizentralgebiet von Vaz/Obervaz und Muldain verursachte es Risse in den Fassaden von mehreren Gebäuden. Auf das Hauptbeben folgten mehr als 80 Nachbeben, die bis im Frühjahr 1992 andauerten.

Magnitude Nummer
ML ≥ 2.0 646
ML ≥ 2.5 182
ML ≥ 3.0 55
ML ≥ 4.0 11

 

Tabelle: Magnitudenhäufigkeit in Graubünden und Umgebung zwischen 1975 und 2014. ML ist die Lokalmagnitude auf der sogenannten Richter-Skala.

Von der Bevölkerung verspürt wurden alle Beben ab Magnitude 3 sowie einige mit einer Magnitude zwischen 2.5 und 3.

Datum Magnitude Ort
17.07.1976 4.2 Filisur
31.07.1983 4.3 Val Venosta (I)
31.08.1983 4.0 S-Charl
08.06.1984 4.2 S-Charl
16.05.1990 4.0 Piz Tasna
20.11.1991 5.0 Vaz
29.12.1999 4.9 Bormio (I)
31.12.1999 4.4 Bormio (I)
06.04.2000 4.3 Bormio (I)
01.10.2001 4.3 Bormio (I)
21.01.2008 4.0 Paspels

Obwohl bereits Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts erste Seismographen in der Schweiz betrieben wurden, besteht erst seit 1975 ein einheitliches nationales seismisches Beobachtungsnetz. Dieses wurde laufend verdichtet und dem technologischen Fortschritt angepasst. Entsprechend hat sich mit der Zeit auch die Empfindlichkeit erhöht und die Lokalisiergenauigkeit verbessert. Die Verteilung der Epizentren der zwischen 1975 und 2014 instrumentell aufgezeichneten Erdbeben im Graubünden und Umgebung ist recht unterschiedlich (siehe Epizenterkarte 1975 - 2014).

Historische Überlieferungen sind die einzigen Informationen, die wir über Erdbeben in früheren Zeiten haben. Wie stark diese Beben waren, lässt sich aufgrund der dokumentierten Schäden rekonstruieren und in Form von Intensitäten beziffern. Obwohl es prinzipiell möglich ist, aus den beobachteten Intensitäten eine Magnitude abzuschätzen, ist letztere mit grossen Unsicherheiten behaftet.

In Graubünden und seiner Umgebung sind seit Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts sieben Erdbeben mit Intensitäten zwischen VI und VIII bekannt. Alle diese Beben haben leichte bis schwere Gebäudeschäden verursacht sowie zum Teil Verletzte und Todesopfer gefordert. Aus historischen Aufzeichnungen sind in der Schweiz insgesamt neun Erdbeben mit Intensitäten von mindestens VIII bekannt. Eines davon, nämlich das Erdbeben von 1295 bei Churwalden, hat sich in Graubünden ereignet; es ist das älteste historisch nachgewiesene Beben der Schweiz. Obwohl jede einzelne historische Informationsquelle zu diesem Ereignis für sich alleine nur bedingt zuverlässig ist, ergeben sie alle zusammengenommen ein schlüssiges Bild sowohl des Ortes und des Datums als auch der Auswirkungen. So lassen sich nicht nur überlieferte Schäden an Kirchen, Klöstern und Burgen im Epizentralgebiet auf dieses Beben zurückführen; es gibt mehrere Informationsquellen aus denen man schliessen muss, dass es auch in Süddeutschland, Österreich und Italien Auswirkungen hatte. Würde sich heute das Erdbeben von Churwalden mit der gleichen Stärke wie damals ereignen, entstünden innerhalb von Graubünden Gebäudeschäden von schätzungsweise rund 5 Milliarden Franken und Gesamtschäden von rund 12 Milliarden CHF.

Liste der bekannten Beben mit Intensität = VI im Graubünden und Umgebung

Datum Intensität Ort
03.09.1295 VIII Churwalden
03.08.1622 VII Ftan
27.08.1857 VI Tarasp
25.12.1905 VII Domat Ems
26.12.1905 VI Tamins
09.12.1917 VI Silvaplana
20.11.1991 VI Vaz

In der Liste der historisch bekannten Schadensbeben in Graubünden fällt auf, dass zwischen Ende des 13. und Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts nur zwei Ereignisse aufgeführt sind, während in den letzten rund 160 Jahren fünf solche Ereignisse aufgetreten sind. Diese ungleichmässige Verteilung ist ein Abbild der lückenhaften Datenlage früherer Jahrhunderte. So ist es schwierig, allein auf Grund der historisch bekannten Beben statistisch zuverlässige Aussagen über die Auftretenshäufigkeit von Schadensbeben in Graubünden zu machen. Nimmt man trotzdem an, dass die letzten rund 200 Jahre mehr oder weniger representativ sind, dann ist in Graubünden alle 30 bis 40 Jahre mit einem Beben zu rechnen, das mindestens leichte Gebäudeschäden verursacht. Ein Erdbeben das grosse Schäden verursacht (Intensität VIII), so wie es im Wallis im Durchschnitt alle 100 Jahre zu erwarten ist, hat sich in Graubünden in den vergangenen 700 Jahren nur einmal ereignet.

In der Liste der Schadensbeben ist auch bemerkenswert, dass die zwei Beben vom Dezember 1905 mit Intensitäten von VII und VI innerhalb von nur 24 Stunden aufgetreten sind. Die Entfernung zwischen den angegebenen Epizentren dieser zwei Beben (Domat-Ems und Tamins) beträgt nur rund 10 km, was weniger als die Unsicherheit der Lokalisierungen ist. Der kurze Zeitabstand und die geringe Entfernung zwischen den zwei Erdbeben sowie weitere kleinere Beben, die vorher und nachher in der gleichen Gegend aufgetreten sind, lassen darauf schliessen, dass diese zwei Ereignisse Teil eines länger andauernden Schwarmes waren.

Abbildung: Epizenterkarte der für Graubünden und Umgebung seit 1200 mit historisch bekannten Beben mit Intensität >= VI (Schadensbeben).

Häufig treten Erdbeben im Graubünden als Serien von Ereignissen auf, die in den Erdbebenkarten als punktuelle Konzentration von Erdbebenepizentren ersichtlich sind. Die Dauer solcher Serien kann sehr unterschiedlich sein: Einige sind nach wenigen Tagen vorbei, andere, wie die Serie von Bormio, dauern mehrere Jahre. Charakteristisch für viele solche Bebenserien ist, dass über einen längeren Zeitraum lokal begrenzt zahlreiche Beben auftreten, ohne dass eine klare Abfolge von Vor-, Haupt- und Nachbeben besteht. Man spricht in solchen Fällen auch von einem Erdbebenschwarm. Meistens endet die Schwarmaktivität nach einigen Wochen oder Monaten, in seltenen Fällen nehmen die Beben mit der Zeit in Stärke und Anzahl zu. Falls die Lage der einzelnen Herde in solchen Schwärmen mit genügender Präzision berechnet werden kann, definiert sie immer eine oder mehrere Flächen, welche der durch die Beben aktivierten Bruchflächen im Untergrund entsprechen.

Die Erdbebenserie von Bormio

Auffallend ist die Bebenserie von Bormio mit vier Ereignissen, welche Lokalmagnituden von mehr als 4 aufweisen. Das Epizentrum dieses Schwarmes lag auf italienischem Gebiet, an der Grenze zur Val Mora, rund 10 km südlich vom Ofenpass. Das Hauptbeben mit einer Lokalmagnitude von 4.9 ereignete sich am 29. Dezember 1999. Ihm vorausgegangen war ein Magnitude 2.3 Beben am 15. April und ein Magnitude 2.4 Beben am 28. Dezember. Bis im Herbst 2002 wurden insgesamt beinahe 200 Ereignisse registriert, die Teil dieses Schwarmes sind.

Erdbebenserie von Paspels

Ein besonders gut erforschtes Beispiel solcher Erbebenschwärme in Graubünden ist die Bebenserie von 2007 bis 2009 bei Paspels. Sie begann Anfang August 2007 und erreichte ihren Höhepunkt am 21. Januar 2008 mit einem Beben der Magnitude 4.0. Bis Ende 2009 wurden insgesamt 37 Beben registriert, die diesem Schwarm zugeordnet werden konnten. Die Erdbebenherde lagen in rund 8 km Tiefe auf einer fast Ost-West verlaufenden Bruchfläche mit einer horizontalen Länge von mindestens 700 m und einer senkrechten Ausdehnung von rund 500 m.

Grundsätzlich werden Erdbeben durch den plötzlichen Abbau von Spannungen in der Erdkruste verursacht. Diese Spannungen werden durch grossräumige Kontinentalbewegungen hervorgerufen. Wenn sie die Festigkeit des Gesteins überschreiten, kommt es entlang vorhandener Schwächezonen im Untergrund zu einem plötzlichen Bruch, der die an der Erdoberfläche wahrgenommenen Erdbebenwellen auslöst. Die moderne Seismologie erlaubt es, Rückschlüsse über die verursachenden Spannungen aus den Erdbebenbeobachtungen zu ziehen und somit regionale Unterschiede des Spannungsfeldes abzuleiten.

Die in Graubünden vorherrschenden geologischen Strukturen, bestehend aus riesigen Stapeln von übereinander geschobenen Gesteinsschichten, zeugen von einer die Alpen bildenden Stauchung. Im Gegensatz dazu sind die heutigen Erdbeben in Graubünden meist Folge einer Dehnung: Sie ist das Resultat einer Überlagerung von Spannungen, die der andauernden Kollision zwischen Afrika und Europa entsprechen, und von Ausgleichsspannungen, die durch die Topographie der Alpen und ihrer Wurzel bedingt sind. Offensichtlich haben sich die Spannungsverhältnisse in der Erdkruste über die Jahrmillionen geändert.

Weite Teile des Kantons Graubünden weisen eine mittlere Erdbebengefährdung auf: Sie ist geringer als im Wallis, aber grösser als im Tessin und im Schweizer Mittelland. Erdbebengerecht gebaute Wohn- und Geschäftsgebäude werden in der Schweiz für Erschütterungen ausgelegt, die an ihrem Standort durchschnittlich einmal innerhalb von 500 Jahren zu erwarten sind. Die Erdbebenzonenkarte bildet diesen Aspekt ab. Der zentrale und östliche Teil des Kantons gehören zur Zone Z2. In dieser werden innerhalb von 500 Jahren Erschütterungen erwartet, die maximal eine Intensität von VII-VIII erreichen (mittlere bis schwere Gebäudeschäden). Der westliche Teil des Kantons, also das Hinterrheintal sowie das obere Vorderrheintal, liegt in der Zone Z1, in welcher innerhalb von 500 Jahren Erschütterungen mit einer maximalen Intensität von VI-VII erwartet werden (leichte bis mittlere Gebäudeschäden).

Verstärkung der seismischen Erschütterungen durch den lokalen Untergrund

Neben Magnitude und Epizentraldistanz hat die Beschaffenheit des lokalen Untergrunds einen grossen Einfluss auf das Schadensausmass bei einem Erdbeben. So können beispielsweise lockere Fluss- und Seeablagerungen die Erdbebenwellen verstärken und dadurch zu einer bis zu zehnmal höheren Intensität der Bodenbewegung im Talboden gegenüber einem felsigen Untergrund der Talflanken führen. Im Kanton Graubünden sind die Auswirkungen dieser sogenannten Standorteffekte besonders im Rheintal zwischen Chur und den Gemeinden der Bündner Herrschaft zu berücksichtigen.

Sekundäre, durch Erdbeben ausgelöste Naturgefahren

Die Auswirkungen von Erdbeben beschränken sich nicht auf Erschütterungen, welche direkt Gebäudeschäden verursachen. Häufig werden zusätzliche Schäden durch Naturgefahren verursacht, die von Erdbeben ausgelöst werden. In gebirgigen Regionen sind häufig labile Hänge vorhanden: Durch Erdbeben verursachte Erschütterungen können diese ihre Festigkeit plötzlich verlieren und als Steinschlag oder Rutschungen zu Tal stürzen und so insbesondere Verkehrsverbindungen sowie Energie- und Kommunikationsinfrastruktur zerstören. Im Winter gilt das gleiche für Lawinen. Wie Untersuchungen vergangener Erdbeben zeigen, ist Grabünden mit den steilen Gebirgsflanken diesen zusätzlichen durch Erdbeben ausgelösten Naturgefahren ausgesetzt. Bei der Beurteilung des Erdbebenrisikos ist dies zu berücksichtigen.