MENU
The page content begins here

Induced Earthquakes

The subsoil is in constant motion, which is why minor and major quakes shake the earth every day. However, not all of these vibrations are of natural origin – some are triggered by human activity. In such cases, science speaks of “induced earthquakes” or “induced seismicity.” This is often caused by major technological activity in the subsoil. With few exceptions, these earthquakes are very small and hardly noticeable on the surface.

In Switzerland, man-made quakes are mainly related to geothermal energy projects. In 2006, an earthquake with a magnitude of 3.4 was triggered in Basel by water being injected at high pressure into the ground, and an earthquake with a magnitude of 3.5 was also triggered near St. Gallen in 2013.

But earthquakes are also triggered when the subsoil is breached for other reasons, such as the injection of CO2 or wastewater, for the conventional and unconventional extraction of crude oil and natural gas through fracking, or in mining and tunneling. Furthermore, man-made alterations to the earth’s surface can also trigger earthquakes. An example of this is the filling of reservoirs with water for the first time.

Explore the causes of man-made earthquakes by clicking on the black circles:

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Induzierte Erdbeben

Der Erduntergrund ist in ständiger Bewegung, weshalb kleinere und grössere Beben die Erde täglich erschüttern. Doch nicht alle dieser Erschütterungen sind natürlichen Ursprungs, manche werden von Menschen ausgelöst. Die Wissenschaft spricht in diesem Fall von „induzierten Erdbeben“ bzw. „induzierter Seismizität“. Diese wird oftmals durch grössere technische Eingriffe im Untergrund verursacht. Mit wenigen Ausnahmen sind diese Erdbeben sehr klein und an der Oberfläche kaum spürbar.

In der Schweiz sind menschgemachte Beben hauptsächlich im Zusammenhang mit Geothermieprojekten bekannt. In Basel löste unter hohem Druck in den Untergrund eingepresstes Wasser im Jahr 2006 ein Erdbeben mit einer Magnitude von 3.4 aus. 2013 ereignete sich bei St. Gallen ein Magnitude 3.5 Beben.

Aber auch bei anderen Untergrundnutzungen werden Erdbeben ausgelöst. So zum Beispiel beim Einpressen von CO2 oder Abwässern, bei der konventionellen und unkonventionellen Förderung von Erdöl / Erdgas mittels Fracking oder im Berg- und Tunnelbau. Aber auch menschgemachte Veränderungen an der Erdoberfläche können Erdbeben auslösen, beispielsweise wenn sich Stauseen das erste Mal mit Wasser füllen.

Erkundigen Sie die Ursachen für menschgemachte Erdbeben durch Klicken in die schwarzen Kreise: