MENU
The page content begins here

The ten strongest earthquakes in Switzerland

The strongest earthquake in recorded history occurring north of the Alps occurred in Basel in 1356. The following table and map show the ten strongest earthquakes that occurred in Switzerland during the last millennium:

The Ten Strongest Earthquakes in Switzerland
Date Location Magnitude Intensity
18.10.1356 Basel (BS) 6.6 IX
03.09.1295 Churwalden (GR) 6.2 VIII
25.07.1855 Stalden-Visp (VS) 6.2 VIII
11.03.1584 Aigle (VD) 5.9 VIII
18.09.1601 Unterwalden (NW) 5.9 VIII
??.04.1524 Ardon (VS) 5.8 VII
25.01.1946 Sierre (VS) 5.8 VIII
09.12.1755 Brig-Naters (VS) 5.7 VIII
10.09.1774 Altdorf (UR) 5.7 VII
03.08.1622 Ftan (GR) 5.4 VII

Seismographs and later seismometers have been recording earthquake data since the end of the 19th century. The collected data enable quakes to be pinpointed and assigned a magnitude. However, only data obtained since the installation of a network of modern measuring devices in Switzerland in the 1970s can be deemed reliable.

Researchers interested in the consequences of older events have to rely on historical accounts from previous centuries. These accounts are evaluated and attributed a value along the European macroseismic scale (EMS-98) with a view to estimating earthquake parameters (location, strength, depth) with the help of statistical procedures. All reports that are examined are subjected to a critical historical analysis so as to arrive at the best possible interpretation or reconstruction of events. This method has successfully traced back some earthquakes to the first millennium, since some chronicles from the early Middle Ages reported individual events of this kind.

'Natural archives' provide valuable information for periods stretching even further back in time. Examples of such natural archives are lake-bed sediments that document soil slippage resulting from earthquakes, broken stalactites and stalagmites in caves and archaeological findings. However, these paleo-seismological methods are not entirely reliable.

The ECOS-02 catalogue and its update, ECOS-09, is the first historically qualified catalogue of earthquakes in Switzerland available online. It covers the period extending from 250 A.D. to the end of 2008 in varying detail, due to the limited data surviving.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Die zehn stärksten Erdbeben in der Schweiz

Das stärkste historisch überlieferte Erdbeben nördlich der Alpen ereignete sich 1356 in Basel. Folgende Karte zeigt die zehn stärksten Erdbeben des letzten Jahrtausends in der Schweiz (ohne starke Nachbeben) sowie die Epizentren aller instrumentell aufgezeichneten Erdbeben von 1975 bis 2017 mit einer Magnitude von 2 oder grösser:

Die zehn stärksten
Datum Ort Magnitude Intensität
18.10.1356 Basel (BS)
mit starken Nachbeben
6.6 IX
03.09.1295 Churwalden (GR) 6.2 VIII
25.07.1855 Stalden-Visp (VS)
mit starken Nachbeben
6.2 VIII
11.03.1584 Aigle (VD)
mit starken Nachbeben
5.9 VIII
18.09.1601 Unterwalden (NW) 5.9 VIII
??.04.1524 Ardon (VS) 5.8 VII
25.01.1946 Sierre (VS)
mit starken Nachbeben
5.8 VIII
09.12.1755 Brig-Naters (VS) 5.7 VIII
10.09.1774 Altdorf (UR) 5.7 VII
03.08.1622 Ftan (GR) 5.4 VII

 

Seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts werden Erdbeben durch Seismographen und später Seismometer aufgezeichnet. Diese Aufzeichnungen ermöglichen die Lokalisierung von Beben und die Bestimmung deren Magnituden – diese gelten in der Schweiz allerdings erst seit der Installation eines modernen Messnetzes in den 1970er-Jahren als verlässlich.

Um die Auswirkungen älterer Ereignisse nachzuweisen, ist die Forschung auf historische Berichte aus allen Jahrhunderten angewiesen. Diese wertet sie aus und skaliert sie mittels der europäischen makroseismischen Intensitätsskala (EMS-98), um anhand statistischer Verfahren die Erdbebenparameter abzuschätzen (Ort, Stärke, Tiefe). Alle gesichteten Berichte werden historisch-kritisch analysiert, um eine möglichst korrekte Interpretation bzw. Rekonstruktion zu erzielen. Mit diesem Verfahren gelang es, einige Erdbeben bis ins erste Jahrtausend zurückzuverfolgen, da etwa bereits frühmittelalterliche Jahrbücher Berichte über einzelne Ereignisse enthalten.

Für weiter zurückliegende Zeitperioden geben «natürliche Archive» wichtige Aufschlüsse. So etwa Seesedimente, die von Erschütterungen ausgelöste Rutschungen dokumentieren, abgebrochene Tropfsteine in Höhlen oder archäologische Befunde. Allerdings sind diese paläoseismologischen Methoden mit beträchtlichen Unsicherheiten behaftet.

Mit ECOS-02 und der überarbeiteten Version ECOS-09 wurde zum ersten Mal ein historisch qualifizierter Katalog der Schweizer Erdbeben zusammengestellt und online verfügbar gemacht. Er umfasst – überlieferungsbedingt in unterschiedlicher Vollständigkeit – den Zeitraum zwischen 250 n. Chr. bis Ende 2008.