MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Simulator

Switzerland has two simulators where minor and more major earthquakes can be experienced in complete safety.

CPSS

The focusTerra museum in Zurich

The earthquake simulator in the focusTerra museum in Zurich, weighs more than 3 tonnes and can simulate the ground motion of earthquakes up to a magnitude of almost 8. Set up as a kind of container room, it is furnished with tables and other movable objects and can accommodate up to 10 people at one time.

Earthquake simulation is not only intended to raise public awareness of Switzerland's vulnerability to seismic activity, but also to show people how to react in the event that they experience an earthquake.

The development and construction of the simulator was commissioned in 2006 by the Federal Office for the Environment (BAFU), supported by the public building insurance company of the canton of Freiburg and the Swiss Foundation for Structural Dynamics and Earthquake Engineering.

Note: The earthquake simulator is only accessible as part of a one-hour guided tour given on Sundays at 11:00, 13:00, and 15:00. Group tours can also be booked during the week.

See the focusTerra museum website for further details.

The CPPS Centre in Sitten

Acknowledging a need to raise public and young people's awareness of the dangers posed by earthquakes in the Valais region and to prepare them to deal with any related hazards, the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland (HES-SO Valais-Wallis) teamed up with the canton's Education and Safety Department and the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) to develop an innovative prevention concept, entailing the realistic simulation of earthquakes and their impact. The Pedagogical Centre for Earthquake Prevention (CPPS) in Sitten was officially inaugurated on 18 March 2016. It comprises a platform measuring 5 by 6 m capable of simulating earthquakes with a magnitude of up to 7 on the Richter scale. It can accommodate a total of 30 people and also be used to test the capabilities of certain machines and equipment to withstand earthquakes.

To find out more, visit the CPPS website.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Erdbebensimulator

In der Schweiz haben Sie an zwei Orten die Möglichkeit, in einem Erdbebensimulator gefahrlos zu erfahren, wie sich kleinere und grössere Erdbeben anfühlen.

CPSS

Museum focusTerra in Zürich

Mit dem über drei Tonnen schweren Erdbebensimulator im Museum focusTerra in Zürich lassen sich die Bodenbewegungen von Erdbeben bis fast Magnitude 8 simulieren. Der Simulator ist eine Art Containerraum, der mit Tischen und anderen beweglichen Gegenständen eingerichtet ist, und in dem bis zu 10 Personen gleichzeitig Platz finden.

Die Erdbebensimulation soll nicht nur ein Bewusstsein dafür schaffen, dass die Schweiz durch Erdbeben gefährdet ist, sondern auch zeigen, wie man sich bei einem Erdbeben richtig verhält.

Im Jahr 2006 hat das Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) mit der Unterstützung der kantonalen Gebäudeversicherung Freiburg und der Stiftung für Baudynamik und Erdbebeningenieurwesen den Simulator entwickeln und bauen lassen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Der Erdbebensimulator ist nur im Rahmen einer einstündigen Führung zugänglich. Diese findet jeden Sonntag jeweils um 11 Uhr, 13 Uhr und 15 Uhr statt. Es können auch Gruppenführungen unter der Woche gebucht werden.

Besuchen Sie die Webseite des Museums focusTerra für weiterführende Informationen.

Zentrum CPPS in Sitten

Um die Walliser Jugend und Bevölkerung auf die Gefahr eines Erdbebens aufmerksam zu machen und vorzubereiten, hat die HES-SO Valais-Wallis in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Departement für Bildung und Sicherheit des Kantons Wallis und dem Schweizerischen Erdbebendienst ein innovatives Präventionskonzept entwickelt, mit dem Erdbeben und deren Auswirkungen wirklichkeitsgetreu nachgestellt werden können. Am 18. März 2016 fand die Einweihung des Pädagogischen Zentrums für Erdbebenprävention (CPPS, Centre Pédagogique de Prévention des Séismes) in Sion statt. Eine 5 x 6 m grosse Plattform ermöglicht die Simulation von Erdbeben bis zu einer Magnitude von 7 auf der Richterskala. Insgesamt 30 Personen haben darauf Platz. Der Simulator kann auch die Erdbebensicherheit von gewissen Maschinen und Ausrüstungen prüfen.

Besuchen Sie die Webseite des CPPS, um mehr darüber zu erfahren.