MENU
The page content begins here

Portrait

The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich is the federal agency responsible for monitoring earthquakes in Switzerland and its neighboring countries and for assessing Switzerland’s seismic hazard. When an earthquake happens, the SED informs the public, authorities, and the media about the earthquake’s location, magnitude, and possible consequences. The activities of the SED are integrated in the federal action plan for earthquake precaution.

The SED is a nondepartmental unit of ETH Zurich and reports to the Vice President for Research and Economic Relations. It works in close collaboration with the Institute of Geophysics and the Department of Earth Sciences. The director of the SED, Stefan Wiemer is also a professor of seismology at the Department of Earth Sciences.

There are currently approximately 70 people employed by the SED in various capacities, among them around 20 PhD students. The budget for the core business amounts to 5 million Swiss Francs, 3 million of which are provided by the federal government and 2 million are provided by third parties.

SED Logo

The Swiss Seismological Service’s wide range of duties and activities are the result of statutory mandates that are mostly set out in Federal Council rulings. Its main tasks include:

  • Monitoring of seismic activity in Switzerland and its neighbouring countries
  • Assessment of seismic hazard in Switzerland
  • Warning and informing the authorities, the public, and the media
  • Research and teaching
  • Swiss involvement in the international monitoring of the nuclear test ban treaty

In addition to these main tasks the SED provides scientific services and runs research programs on relevant subjects, does public relations and contributes to teaching at ETH Zurich. Knowledge gained by our research efforts and the methods developed in the process are in turn influencing the services offered by the SED.

The Swiss Seismological Service at the ETH is closely associated with the Institute of Geophysics and the Department of Earth Science at ETH Zurich, but operates as an off-department entity under direct control of the Vice President for Research and Economic Relations. A steering committee was created to guarantee close cooperation within the ETH.

The activities of the Swiss Seismological Service are divided into four sections:

Earthquake Monitoring

The Earthquake Monitoring section includes the installation, operation and maintenance of the Swiss seismological network and the earthquake characterization and alerting procedures. Additionally this section is responsible for the deployment of temporary networks, for example for monitoring of geothermal projects, and for organizing international waveform and parameter data sharing.

Earthquake Analysis

The Earthquake Analysis section covers the analysis and interpretation of recorded wave forms and seisms. Data recorded by the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) and its counterparts elsewhere form the basis for numerous research and service projects. For example, such data are essential for analysing the structure and composition of the Alps and their foothills, characterising fault properties, understanding the physics of earthquakes and seismological statistics, improving earthquake predictability or for distinguishing natural from induced earthquakes and those caused by nuclear explosions.

Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment

The activities of the Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment section are focused on the goal of defining the earthquake hazard and risk in Switzerland. This understanding helps to guide the design of building codes that reduce earthquake related damages.

Support and Special Projects

The Support and Special Projects section acts as the support unit for the other activities. It covers a wide range of activities fields of communication, administration and technical tasks.

In addition the SED has several teaching engagements and staff supervises master students and doctorial candidates.

The remit of ETH Zurich's Swiss Seismological Service (SED) is laid down in the following laws, Federal Council decrees and ordinances:

2015 On 21 January 2015, the Swiss Federal Council approved the application for Switzerland's participation in the second GEM Working Programme.
2013 Federal council resolution of January, 30, 2013, concerning earthquake precaution measures taken by the federal government for the period 2013 – 2016.
2010 Regulation of October 20, 2010, concerning the organization of ABC- and natural disaster operations.
2010 Regulation of August 18, 2010, concerning warnings and alerts.
2010 Federal council resolution of May 26, 2010, concerning participation in the international research project “Global Earthquake Model (GEM)“
2009 Federal council resolution of February 18th, 2009, concerning the renewal and financing of the Swiss strong-motion monitoring network.
2009 Federal council resolution of April 1, 2009, concerning earthquake precaution measures taken by the federal government for the period 2009 – 2012.
1996 Federal council resolution of September 16, 1996, concerning the verification of the Nuclear Test Ban Treaty and cooperation with the CTBTO.
1990 Federal council resolution of August 29, 1990, concerning the establishment of two national earthquake monitoring networks.
1956 Federal law (SR 414.113) of December 7, 1956, which established the SED at ETH Zurich and tasked it with monitoring earthquake activity in Switzerland, conducting and publishing research on earthquakes and contributing to international seismological projects.
1914 Federal council resolution of July 8, 1914, concerning the salary of staff working at the seismological service.
1913 Federal law of December 19, 1913, concerning the extension of duties of the Swiss Meteorological Service (Meteorologische Zentralanstalt)

 

On the basis of these laws and resolutions an agreement between the ETH Zurich, the Department of Earth Sciences, and the SED has been reached. This agreement specifies the structure and financing of the SED within the ETH Zurich framework.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Porträt

Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst (SED) an der ETH Zürich ist die Fachstelle des Bundes für Erdbeben. In dessen Auftrag überwacht er die Erdbebenaktivität in der Schweiz sowie im grenznahen Ausland und beurteilt die Erdbebengefährdung in der Schweiz. Im Falle eines Erdbebens informiert der SED Öffentlichkeit, Behörden und Medien über den Ort, die Stärke und mögliche Auswirkungen. Die Aktivitäten des SED sind in das  eidgenössische Massnahmenprogramm Erdbebenvorsorge eingebunden.

Der SED ist eine ausserdepartementale Einheit an der ETH Zürich und untersteht dem Vizepräsidenten für Forschung und Wirtschaftsbeziehungen. Der Erdbebendienst arbeitet eng mit dem Institut für Geophysik und dem Departement Erdwissenschaften zusammen. Der Direktor des SED, Stefan Wiemer, ist gleichzeitig Professor für Seismologie am Departement Erdwissenschaften.

Der SED beschäftigt rund 70 Mitarbeitende, darunter sind 8 bis 12 Doktorierende. Für sein Kerngeschäft beträgt das Budget ca. 5 Mio. Franken, wovon 3 Mio. der Bund zur Verfügung stellt und knapp 2 Mio. als Drittmittel eingeworben werden.

Portrait

Die vielfältigen Aufgaben und Aktivitäten des Erdbebendienstes ergeben sich aus gesetzlichen Aufträgen, die grossteils in Bundesratsbeschlüssen festgeschrieben sind. Die Hauptaufgaben umfassen:

  • Überwachung der seismischen Aktivität in der Schweiz und im grenznahen Ausland
  • Beurteilung der Erdbebengefährdung in der Schweiz
  • Warnung und Information von Behörden, Öffentlichkeit und Medien
  • Forschung und Lehre
  • Schweizer Beteiligung an der internationalen Atomteststoppüberwachung

Daneben erbringt der SED wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungen und betreibt Forschungsprogramme, leistet Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und beteiligt sich an der Lehre an der ETH Zürich sowie vereinzelten weiteren Hochschulen. Aus der Forschung gewonnene Erkenntnisse und Methoden fliessen wiederum direkt in den Dienstleistungsbetrieb des SED ein.

Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst an der ETH Zürich ist mit dem Institut für Geophysik und dem Departement Erdwissenschaften assoziiert, organisatorisch aber als ausserdepartementale Einheit direkt dem Vizepräsidenten für Forschung und Wirtschaftsbeziehungen unterstellt. Als Garant und unterstützendes Element für eine enge Kooperation innerhalb der ETH wurde ein Lenkungsausschuss geschaffen.

Die Aktivitäten des Schweizerischen Erdbebendienstes lassen sich in vier Sektionen unterteilen:

Erdbebenüberwachung

Die Sektion „Erdbebenüberwachung“ umfasst die Installation, den Betrieb und die Wartung des seismischen Netzwerks der Schweiz sowie die sofortige Alarmierung im Falle eines Erdbebens. Hinzu kommen mobile und temporäre Netzwerke beispielsweise im Rahmen von tiefen Geothermieprojekten sowie die Koordination des internationalen Datenaustausches.

Erdbebenanalyse

Die Sektion „Erdbebenanalyse“ beschäftigt sich mit der Analyse und Interpretation der aufgezeichneten Wellenformen und Erdbeben. Die vom SED und anderen seismologischen Diensten aufgezeichneten Daten dienen zahlreichen Forschungs- und Dienstleistungsprojekten als Ausgangspunkt. Zum Beispiel sind diese Daten wesentlich, um die Struktur und den Aufbau der Alpen und des alpinen Vorlandes zu analysieren, Verwerfungen zu charakterisieren, die Physik und Statistik von Erdbeben zu verstehen, oder um die Vorhersagefähigkeit von Erdbeben zu verbessern, aber auch für die Unterscheidung von natürlichen und induzierten Erdbeben oder solche infolge nuklearer Explosionen.

Erdbebengefährdung und Risikobewertung

Die Tätigkeitend der Sektion „Erdbebengefährdung und Risikobeurteilung" haben zum Ziel, die Erdbebengefährdung und das Erdbebenrisiko in der Schweiz zu bestimmen. Die ermittelten Erkenntnisse dienen mitunter dazu, Normen für eine erdbebengerechte Bauweise auszugestalten. 

Unterstützung und Spezialprojekte

Die Sektion „Unterstützung und Spezialprojekte" leistet grundlegende Unterstützungsdienste für die anderen drei und umfasst ein breites Spektrum an Aktivitäten in den Bereichen Kommunikation, Administration und Technik.

Weiter engagiert sich der SED im Bereich Lehre, indem er Vorlesungen hält sowie Studierende und Doktorierende betreut.

Der Auftrag des Schweizerischen Erdbebendienstes (SED) an der ETH Zürich ist in folgenden Gesetzen, Beschlüssen des Bundesrates und Verordnungen geregelt:

2015 Der Bundesrat genehmigte am 21. Januar 2015 den Antrag zur Teilnahme der Schweiz am zweiten Arbeitsprogramm GEM.
2013 Bundesratsbeschluss vom 30. Januar 2013 über die „Erdbebenvorsorge. Massnahmen des Bundes für den Zeitraum 2013 – 2016“
2010 Verordnung vom 20. Oktober 2010 über die „Organisation von Einsätzen bei ABC- und Naturereignissen (ABCN-Einsatzverordnung)“
2010 Verordnung vom 18. August 2010 über die „Warnung und Alarmierung (Alarmierungsverordnung AV)“
2010 Bundesratsbeschluss vom 26. Mai 2010 über die „Teilnahme am internationalen Forschungsprojekt „Global Earthquake Model"
2009 Bundesratsbeschluss vom 18. Februar 2009 über die „Ausgestaltung und Finanzierung eines neuen Starkbebennetzwerkes“
2009 Bundesratsbeschluss vom 1. April 2009 über die „Erdbebenvorsorge. Massnahmen des Bundes für den Zeitraum 2009 – 2012“
1996 Bundesratsbeschluss vom 16. September 1996 über die Verifikation des Atomteststoppvertrags und Mitwirken bei der CTBTO
1990 Bundesratsbeschluss vom 21. Juni 1990 über den „Betrieb von zwei nationalen Erdbebenmessnetzen“
1956 Bundesgesetz vom 7. Dezember 1956 (SR 414.113), das den Erdbebendienst an der ETHZ etabliert und beauftragt, die Erdbebentätigkeit in der Schweiz zu erfassen, Erdbebenforschung zu betreiben, sich an internationalen seismologischen Projekten zu beteiligen und die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse zu veröffentlichen.
1914 Bundesratsbeschluss vom 8. Juli 1914 über die „Besoldung“ der Mitarbeitenden des Erdbebendienstes
1913 Bundesgesetz vom 19. Dezember 1913 zur „Erweiterung der Aufgabe der schweizerischen meteorologischen Zentralanstalt“

 
Auf der Basis dieser Gesetze und Beschlüsse wurde eine Vereinbarung zwischen der ETH Zürich, dem Departement Erdwissenschaften und dem SED getroffen, in der Struktur und Finanzierung des SED innerhalb der ETH Zürich geregelt sind.