MENU
The page content begins here

Verification seismology

The CTBTO's seismic network consists of 170 seismometers in 76 countries. Around the clock, 50 of these seismometers feed information on seismic events (earthquakes or explosions) to the data centre in Vienna. The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) oversees one of these seismometers, the DAVOX station.

Verification means confirming whether or not something is true. Where major tremors are concerned, verification entails experts telling the authorities and general public whether detected phenomena are of natural origin or were caused by a nuclear explosion. Seismic verification thus involves differentiating between an earthquake and a nuclear explosion (typically an underground nuclear explosion) based on signals measured using a seismometer.

Construction of the DAVOX Station

January 2002 Building permit application for Dischmatal and Strelapass
March 2002 Decision in favour of the site in Dischmatal
April 2002 Building permit issued
June 2002 Construction work begins: concrete vault, pile foundation, telephone line
July 2002 Installation of technical devices; start of operation and data transmission to the SED in Zurich
August 2002 Installation of the satellite link to Vienna
Sept. 2002 CTBTO computer starts up and transmits data to Vienna
July 2003 Configuration of the last devices completed

 

Certification and Inauguration of the DAVOX Station

Inspectors from the CTBTO visited DAVOX on 14 and 15 July 2003 to verify the station's technical compliance with the Station Operations Manual (CTBT/WGB/TL-11/21, 9 January 2003).

On 22 August 2003, the DAVOX station was certified as the ninth of 120 auxiliary seismic stations comprising the International monitoring system (IMS). DAVOX was integrated into the IDC's operational network on 23 September 2003 and officially inaugurated on 2 October 2003.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Verifikationsseismologie

Das seismische Netzwerk der CTBTO fügt sich aus 170 Seismometern in 76 Ländern zusammen. 50 dieser Seismometer beliefern das Datenzentrum in Wien rund um die Uhr mit Informationen zu seismischen Ereignissen (Erdbeben oder Explosionen). Eine davon, die Station DAVOX, betreut der  Schweizerische Erdbebendienst.

Der Begriff «Verifikation» bedeutet «überprüfen oder bestätigen, dass etwas ‚wahr‘ ist». Im Fall von nuklearen Explosionen bedeutet Verifikation, dass Fachleute den Behörden und der Öffentlichkeit mitteilen sollen, ob ein entdecktes Phänomen eine natürliche Ursache hatte oder von einer nuklearen Explosion hervorgerufen wurde. «Seismische Verifikation» bedeutet, dass die Unterscheidung zwischen Erdbeben und nuklearer Explosion (in der Regel eine unterirdische Nuklearexplosion) auf der Grundlage seismischer Signale erfolgt (die mit einem Seismometer gemessen werden).

Bau Station DAVOX

Januar 2002 Baubewilligungsantrag für Dischmatal und Strelapass
März 2002 Entscheidung für den Standort Dischmatal
April 2002 Baubewilligung
Juni 2002 Bauarbeiten: Gewölbe, Pfahlgründung, Telefonleitung
Juli 2002 Installation der technischen Einrichtungen; Aufnahme des Betriebs und der Datenübertragung an den SED in Zürich
August 2002 Einrichtung der Satellitenverbindung nach Wien
Sept. 2002 Hochfahren des CTBTO-Computers und Aufnahme der Datenübertragung nach Wien
Juli 2003 Abschluss der definitiven Gerätekonfiguration

 

Zertifikation und Eröffnung Station DAVOX

Inspektoren der CTBTO besuchten DAVOX vom 14. bis 15. Juli 2003, um zu überprüfen, ob alle technischen Aspekte der Station die Anforderungen des Betriebshandbuchs für Stationen (Station Operations Manual, CTBT/WGB/TL-11/21, 9. Januar 2003) erfüllten.

Am 22. August 2003 wurde die Station DAVOX als neunte von 120 seismischen Hilfsstationen des internationalen Überwachungssystems (IMS) zertifiziert. Die Aufnahme in den operativen Bestand des IDC erfolgte am 23. September 2003. Am 2. Oktober 2003 fand die offizielle Einweihung von DAVOX statt.