MENU

Measures to Control Induced Seismicity

Various measures are applied with a view to monitoring and controlling induced seismicity in the context of deep geothermal energy projects in the best possible way.

A central element of the counteractive measures is to ensure the best possible knowledge of the subsoil. This knowledge is generally not available in advance and has to be acquired for a specific area, with the level of knowledge subsequently increasing over the course of a project. Seismic 3-D modeling of an area, for example, provides valuable information about a potential location. This can only be used to portray the larger structures, however, whereas the smaller structures, the stress levels of faults and the permeability of the rock cannot be portrayed reliably using these geophysical methods. A more accurate picture therefore only emerges once the first drilling is carried out and feedback is received from the subsoil following interventions.

Seismic risk assessments carried out in advance of geothermal energy projects should highlight the following points:

Natural seismicity in the region

The naturally occurring seismicity in a given region is an essential element of a risk assessment. In principle, the seismic risk is lower in geothermal energy projects in regions with lower natural seismicity over long periods.

Earthquake scenarios for the affected region

Earthquakes cannot be predicted. Historical data, however, enable a range of scenarios to be developed that portray various future seismicity rates.

Inclusion of local microzonation, identification of fault zones within a radius of 5 kilometers

The impact of an earthquake depends not only on its magnitude but also on the depth of focus, the distance to the epicenter and the local subsoil. Microzonation records the local geological and geotechnical properties of the subsoil in order to assess whether it weakens or strengthens the vibrations caused by an earthquake. The same information should also be taken into account in connection with risk assessments for geothermal energy projects.

Project-specific, probabilistic risk and hazard analysis

Due to varying local conditions and specific project designs, every geothermal energy project needs its own probabilistic risk and hazard analysis.

Monitoring and intervention concepts

The precise way in which the traffic light system should work must be defined in advance, and responsibilities allocated among those involved. In addition to these preliminary clarifications and the ongoing analysis of new information about the subsoil, a “traffic light system” is generally used as a measure to control induced seismicity.

Traffic light systems aim to avoid the negative effects of induced seismicity, or to control them as far as possible. The traditional traffic light system is based on the close monitoring of induced seismicity and involves various measures depending on the seismic activity registered. A traditional system of this kind was applied in Basel in 2006 and subsequently found to be unsatisfactory, while an extended, adaptive traffic light system was used for the geothermal energy project in St. Gallen in 2013 based on the experience gained. The observed seismicity serves as an indicator of the necessary measures, and predictions are also made as to its possible course. This is based on the anticipated impact of planned pumping procedures, the permeability of the rock and other factors. The example in St. Gallen, however, also highlighted the limits of this adaptive system. Although a yellow alarm was triggered, which would have required immediate termination of pumping work, the work had to be continued due to rising gas.

A great deal of research and development will be required in this area over the coming years, and the findings will need to be tested in future demonstration and pilot systems. Based on the current state of science and technology, it is difficult to assess the extent to which we will be in a position to prevent (or control) induced earthquakes.

MENU

Massnahmen zur Eindämmung induzierter Seismizität

Um die im Rahmen von Tiefengeothermieprojekten induzierte Seismizität bestmöglich zu überwachen und zu kontrollieren, werden verschiedene Massnahmen angewendet.

Ein zentrales Element der Gegenmassnahmen sind möglichst genaue Kenntnisse des Untergrunds. Diese liegen in der Regel nicht vor und müssen für ein spezifisches Gebiet erst erworben werden, wobei der Kenntnisstand im Laufe eines Projekts stets ansteigt. Beispielsweise ergeben seismische 3D-Modellierungen eines Gebiets wichtige Hinweise auf einen potentiellen Standort. Allerdings kann man damit nur die grösseren Strukturen abbilden. Kleinere Strukturen, der Spannungszustand von Verwerfungen oder die Durchlässigkeit des Gesteins lassen sich mit diesen geophysikalischen Methoden nicht verlässlich abbilden. Ein genaueres Bild entsteht daher erst im Zuge der ersten Bohrungen sowie aufgrund der Rückmeldungen des Untergrunds infolge vorgenommener Eingriffe.

Seismische Risikostudien, die im Vorfeld von Geothermieprojekten erstellt werden, sollten folgende Punkte beleuchten:

Die natürlich auftretende Seismizität in einer Region ist ein wesentliches Element der Risikoabschätzung. Grundsätzlich besteht ein kleineres seimisches Risiko bei Geothermieprojekten in Regionen mit geringerer natürlicher Seismizität über lange Zeiträume.

Erdbeben lassen sich nicht vorhersagen. Aufgrund historischer Daten lassen sich aber verschiedene Szenarien entwickeln, die unterschiedliche, künftige Seismizitätsraten abbilden.

Die Auswirkungen eines Erdbebens hängen nicht nur von dessen Stärke ab, sondern auch von der Herdtiefe, der Distanz zum Epizentrum und des lokalen Untergrunds. Eine Mikrozonierung erfasst die lokalen geologischen und geotechnischen Eigenschaften des Untergrunds, um abzuschätzen, ob dieser die durch das Erdbeben ausgelösten Erschütterungen abschwächt oder verstärkt. Entsprechende Kenntnisse gilt es auch im Rahmen von Risikostudien für Geothermieprojekte zu berücksichtigen.

Aufgrund unterschiedlicher lokaler Gegebenheiten sowie spezifischer Projektausgestaltungen bedarf es für jedes Geothermieprojekt einer eigenständigen, probabilistischen Risiko- und Gefährdungsanalyse.

Die genaue Funktionsweise des Ampelsystems muss im Vorfeld festgelegt und die Verantwortlichkeiten zwischen den Beteiligten definiert werden. Neben diesen Vorabklärungen und der steten Analyse neuer Kenntnisse über den Untergrund wird in der Regel ein sogenanntes „Ampelsystem“ als Massnahme zur Eindämmung der induzierten Seismizität angewendet.

Ampelsysteme haben zum Ziel, negative Auswirkungen induzierter Seismizität zu vermeiden oder weit möglichst einzudämmen. Das traditionelle Ampelsystem basiert auf einer engmaschigen Überwachung der induzierten Seismizität und sieht abhängig von der registrierten seismischen Aktivität unterschiedliche Massnahmen vor. Ein solches traditionelles System wurde in Basel, 2006 angewendet und im Nachgang als ungenügend bewertet. Beim Geothermieprojekt in St. Gallen, 2013 wurde basierend auf den gewonnenen Erfahrung ein erweitertes, adaptives Ampelsystem eingesetzt. Dabei dient nicht nur die beobachtete Seismizität als Massnahmenindikator, sondern es werden auch Vorhersagen über deren möglichen Verlauf gemacht. Dies basierend auf den prognostizierten Auswirkungen von vorgesehenen Pumpvorgängen, der Durchlässigkeit des Gesteins und weiteren Faktoren. Das Beispiel St. Gallen zeigte jedoch auch die Grenzen dieses adaptiven Systems auf. Obwohl ein gelber Alarm ausgelöst wurde, der ein unverzüglicher Stopp der Pumparbeiten verlangt hätte, mussten diese aufgrund aufsteigenden Gas aufrechterhalten werden.

In den nächsten Jahren wird in diesem Bereich weiterhin viel Forschung und Entwicklung notwendig sein, dessen Erkenntnisse in zukünftigen Demonstrations- und Pilotanlagen getestet werden kann. Wie weit man in der Lage sein wird, induzierte Beben zu vermeiden beziehungsweise, zu steuern ist aufgrund des heutigen Stands von Wissenschaft und Technik nicht einfach abzuschätzen.