The page content begins here

Sarnen 1964

What Happened in Sarnen in 1964?

Over several months starting in February 1964, hundreds of earthquakes occurred in the Sarnen region. The two largest quakes, with magnitudes of 4.8 and 5.3 respectively, hit the region on 17 February and 14 March. The damage caused totalled around CHF 16 million at present value.

The earthquakes caused most damage in the municipalities of Sarnen and Kerns, where hardly any houses were left unscathed. The reason for this is that the geological substratum around Sarnen consists of marine and alluvial deposits and the subsoil around Kerns comprises sediment. These types of substrata tend to amplify seismic waves.

Although no fatalities or serious casualties resulted, there was real fear of an even stronger earthquake and several schools and churches were closed as a precautionary measure. However, after a few months the earthquake swarm petered out without any further major earthquakes occurring.

The Earthquake History of Central Switzerland

Looking at the past shows that Central Switzerland has experienced more than its fair share of earthquakes. Numerous historical events, including some high-intensity earthquakes, are well documented and have been investigated. One particular feature of the region is that phases of high earthquake activity alternate with longer quiet periods.

Noteworthy events include the series of 10 earthquakes occurring in the Altfdorf region in 1774, 11 verified earthquake events in the Sarnen region in 1777, and 19 felt and verified earthquakes occurring again in the main Obwalden Valley in 1917. Thus, the lack of seismic activity in the area since the earthquake swarm in 1964 constitutes a quiet period in the region's history.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Sarnen 1964

Was ereignete sich in Sarnen 1964?

In der Region Sarnen ereigneten sich ab Februar 1964 während mehrerer Monate hunderte von Erdbeben. Die zwei grössten erschütterten die Region am 17. Februar mit einer Magnitude von 4.8 und am 14. März mit einer Magnitude von 5.3. Die Schadenssumme würde nach heutigem Wert 16 Millionen CHF betragen.

Die meisten Schäden richteten die Beben in den Gemeinden Sarnen und Kerns an, wo kaum ein Haus verschont blieb. Dies liegt daran, dass der geologische Untergrund bei Sarnen aus See- und Flussablagerungen und bei Kerns aus Sedimenten besteht. Diese Untergrundtypen neigen dazu, seismische Wellen zu verstärken.

Obwohl keine Todesfälle oder Schwerverletzten zu beklagen waren, war die Angst vor einem noch stärkeren Erdbeben omnipräsent. Als Vorsichtsmassnahmen wurden mehrere Schulen und Kirchen geschlossen. Nach einigen Monaten endete der Erdbebenschwarm, ohne dass sich weitere, grosse Beben ereignet hätten.

Erdbebengeschichte der Zentralschweiz

Ein Blick in die Vergangenheit zeigt, dass die Zentralschweiz eine beachtliche Erdbebengeschichte aufweist. Zahlreiche historische Ereignisse sind bekannt und untersucht worden. Unter diesen finden sich einige von hoher Intensität. Ein besonderes Charakteristikum der Region ist es, dass sich Phasen mit hoher Erdbebenaktivität mit längeren ruhigen Phasen abwechseln.

Erwähnenswert sind die Erdbebenserien von 1774 in der Region Altdorf mit zehn, jene von 1777 in der Region Sarnen mit elf verifizierten Ereignissen und jene von 1917, ebenfalls in der Region des Obwaldner Haupttales, mit 19 verspürten und überprüften Erdbeben. Die Zeitspanne zwischen dem Erdbebenschwarm 1964 und der Gegenwart zeigt hingegen Merkmale einer ruhigen Phase.