MENU
The page content begins here

Basel 1356

What Happened in Basel in 1356?

Following at least one foreshock on the afternoon of 18 October 1356, at around 10.00 p.m. an earthquake with a magnitude of 6.6 shook the city of Basel. This is the largest documented earthquake in Swiss history.

Shakemap_Scenario_EN
Expected ShakeMap if an earthquake with a magnitude of 6.6 was to strike Basel today (based on Seismo 12 scenario). A ShakeMap depicts the ground shaking triggered by an earthquake at every point in Switzerland.

Numerous houses collapsed, causing several fires that took a long time to extinguish (due to the prevalence of shingle or straw roofs and open fireplaces or heated ovens at the time). Considering the strength of the earthquake and the destruction caused, relatively few people were killed because most had remained outside after the foreshock.

A relatively comprehensive picture of the disaster can be pieced together from the 20 or so documents drawn up shortly after the earthquake that have survived to this day. Further numerical data and descriptions of the event stem from 1,356 documents written in the 15th, 16th, 17th or even 18th centuries. Indeed, this period was characterised by a very large number of writings about the earthquake, amounting to a veritable 'Basel seismophilia'.

The main reason for strong earthquakes in the area is the geological structure of the Rhine Plain, the southern end of which lies in the Basel region. After Valais, the area around Basel the second highest seismic hazard zone in Switzerland. There has been evidence of earthquakes in the history of Basel and its immediate surroundings since the 14th century. There may have even been a major earthquake near the Roman settlement of Augusta Raurica in around 250 A.D.

In May 2012, the federal government and cantons assessed how well prepared they were for the repercussions of a strong earthquake in Switzerland. The Seismo 12 exercise was based on the scenario of a magnitude 6.6 earthquake near Basel.

According to this scenario, the potential impact of such an earthquake in Basel today would be as follows:

  • Between 1,000 and 6,000 fatalities
  • 60,000 people seriously or slightly injured
  • 1,600,000 people homeless in the short term
  • 50% of buildings damaged
  • Property damage totalling between CHF 50 billion and 100 billion

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Basel 1356

Was geschah 1356 in Basel?

Nach mindestens einem Vorbeben am Abend des 18. Oktober 1356 erschütterte um etwa 22 Uhr ein Beben mit einer Magnitude von 6.6 die Stadt Basel. Es handelt sich um das grösste in der Schweiz historisch dokumentierte Erdbeben.

Shakemap_Scenario_DE
Zu erwartende ShakeMap bei einem erneuten Beben bei Basel mit einer Magnitude von 6.6 (Grundlage Szenario Seismo12). Eine ShakeMap bildet die durch ein Erdbeben ausgelösten Bodenerschütterungen an jedem Punkt der Schweiz ab.

Zahlreiche Häuser stürzten ein und in der Folge brachen an mehreren Stellen Brände aus, die lange nicht zu löschen waren (aufgrund der Schindel- und Strohbedachungen sowie offener Herdstellen und geheizter Öfen). In Anbetracht der Stärke und der Zerstörung fielen dem Beben verhältnismässig wenige Menschen zum Opfer, da sich viele aufgrund des Vorbebens bereits im Freien aufhielten.

Dieses einigermassen umfassende Bild der Katastrophe kann anhand von ungefähr zwanzig Dokumenten, die kurz nach dem Erdbeben erstellt wurden und bis heute überliefert sind, gezeichnet werden. Weitere Zahlen und Beschreibungen zum Unglück von 1356 entstammen Dokumenten, die im 15., 16., 17. oder gar erst 18. Jahrhundert erstellt wurden. Für diese Zeit kann von einer eigentlichen „Basel Seismophilie“ gesprochen werden, das heisst, es wurde sehr oft über das Erdbeben geschrieben.

Verantwortlich für die starken Beben bei Basel ist hauptsächlich die geologische Struktur des Rheingrabens, dessen südliches Ende in der Region liegt. Die Gegend um Basel ist dadurch nach dem Wallis die Region in der Schweiz mit der höchsten Erdbebengefährdung. Erdbeben in der Geschichte von Basel und seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung sind seit dem 14. Jahrhundert dokumentiert. Bereits um 250 hat sich möglicherweise bei der römischen Siedlung Augusta Raurica ein grosses Beben ereignet.

Im Mai 2012 prüften Bund und Kantone, wie gut sie vorbereitet sind, um die Folgen eines starken Erdbebens in der Schweiz zu bewältigen. Der Übung Seismo12 lag als Szenario ein Erdbeben bei Basel mit einer Magnitude von 6.6 zugrunde.

Mögliche Auswirkungen eines Erdbebens der Stärke 6.6 in Basel heutzutage wären gemäss diesem Szenario:

  • 1000 - 6000 Tote
  • 60'000 Schwer- und Leichtverletzte
  • 1'600'000 kurzfristig Obdachlose
  • 50% der Gebäude beschädigt
  • 50 bis 100 Mia. CHF Sachschäden