MENU
The page content begins here

Media

Whenever an earthquake occurs in Switzerland, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) immediately informs the authorities, the general public and the media.

Please feel free to submit media queries by e-mail at any time of the day or night, sending them along with your contact details to medien@sed.ethz.ch. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Alternatively, contact Michèle Marti, our Head of Communication.

On request, journalists can receive e-mail announcements of any earthquakes with a magnitude of 3 or above in Switzerland and on its neighbours. These announcements contain information on the place, time and strength of quakes and their potential impact.

These automatically generated earthquake announcements will generally be available within a few minutes. The SED seismologists on duty check the accuracy of each announcement after it has been sent out automatically and will, on rare occasions, make minor corrections. With any automatic system, unfortunately the possibility of false alarms cannot be ruled out altogether.

If interested in receiving these announcements, please send an e-mail to medien@sed.ethz.ch and we will include you on our distribution list.

On this page you will find an archive of all previous earthquake announcements sent out by the SED.

 

Follow us on Twitter and receive an immediate notification when an earthquake with a magnitude of 2.5 or greater has occurred in Switzerland or neighbouring countries.

@seismoCH_E

@seismoCH_D

@seismoCH_F

@seismoCH_I

On our website you can find automatically generated detailed information on current earthquakes in Switzerland and abroad within around 90 seconds of an earthquake, as well as a range of background information about all aspects of earthquakes.

Should any widely felt earthquakes or other major seismic events occur, we produce background reports containing more information as quickly as we can.

The MeteoSwiss-App and Federal Natural Hazards Portal automatically report all earthquakes with an intensity of III or above on the European Macroseismic Scale (EMS-98).

Background information

Earthquakes can neither be accurately predicted nor prevented. Nevertheless, a lot can be learned about them. The Swiss Seismological Service provides a variety of basic materials to learn more about this natural phenomenon.

Research results

Of the approximately 60 employees at the SED, about 40 are active researchers. Their scientific findings form the basis for various information products.

Event analyses

Event analyses are closely linked with information about current research results. In the wake of larger or especially significant earthquakes, scientists at the SED further evaluate the collected data and make the knowledge gained available.

Public events

In order to personally provide a wide audience with knowledge about earthquakes, the SED regularly participates in information and education events, works closely together with the focusTerra museum, or opens its own doors to the public.

Internal communication

All the employees of the SED contribute to the wide range of communication activities. To make sure that we are all talking about the same thing, we seek a lively internal exchange of information. In addition to countless e-mails, regular meetings, and a few events, our internal newsletter – which is published monthly – plays a large role in this regard.

Select the various icons and learn more about the different communication activities by the SED.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Medien

Wenn in der Schweiz die Erde bebt, informiert der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst an der ETH Zürich (SED) umgehend Behörden, Bevölkerung und Medien.

Gerne nehmen wir Ihre Medienanfrage per E-Mail rund um die Uhr entgegen. Bitte senden Sie uns Ihre Anfrage sowie Ihre Kontaktdaten an medien@sed.ethz.ch. Wir kontaktieren Sie sobald als möglich.

Während den regulären Bürozeiten können Sie sich alternativ direkt an Michèle Marti wenden, Leiterin Kommunikation.

Journalistinnen und Journalisten erhalten auf Wunsch alle Meldungen über Erdbeben mit einer Magnitude von 3 oder grösser in der Schweiz und im grenznahen Ausland per E-Mail zugestellt. Sie enthalten Informationen zum Ort, zum Zeitpunkt, zur Stärke und zu den möglichen Auswirkungen des Bebens.

Diese automatisch generierten Erdbebenmeldungen sind in der Regel innert wenigen Minuten verfügbar. Die diensthabenden Seismologen des Erdbebendienstes prüfen jede dieser Meldungen nach dem automatischen Versand auf ihre Richtigkeit und nehmen in seltenen Fällen kleinere Korrekturen vor. Auch Fehlalarme sind in einem automatischen System leider nicht ganz auszuschliessen.

Bitte senden Sie uns bei Interesse an diesen Erdbebenmeldungen eine Nachricht an medien@sed.ethz.ch. Gerne nehmen wir Sie in den Verteiler auf.

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie ein Archiv aller bisher versendeten Erdbebenmeldungen des SED.

Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter und erfahren Sie umgehend, wenn sich in der Schweiz oder im grenznahen Ausland ein Erdbeben mit einer Magnitude von 2.5 oder grösser ereignet hat.

@seismoCH_D

@seismoCH_F

@seismoCH_I

@seismoCH_E

Auf unserer Webseite finden Sie innert ca. 90 Sekunden nach einen Erdbeben automatisch erstellte Detailangaben zu aktuellen Erdbeben im In- und Ausland sowie eine Vielzahl an Hintergrundinformationen rund um das Thema Erdbeben.

Im Falle von weiträumig verspürten Erdbeben oder anderen wichtigen seismischen Vorkommnissen erstellen wir möglichst zeitnahe Hintergrundberichte mit weiterführenden Informationen.

Auf der MeteoSchweiz-App und dem Naturgefahrenportal des Bundes werden automatisch alle Erdbeben ab einer Intensität von III auf der Europäischen Makroseismischen Skala dargestellt.

Hintergrundinformationen

Erdbeben lassen sich weder genau vorhersagen noch verhindern. Dennoch lässt sich einiges über sie in Erfahrung bringen. Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst bietet eine Vielzahl von Grundlagenmaterialien an, um mehr über dieses Naturphänomen zu erfahren.

Forschungsergebnisse

Von den ungefähr 60 Mitarbeitenden des SED sind etwa 40 in der Forschung tätig. Ihre wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse bilden die Grundlage für verschiedene Informationsprodukte.

Ereignisanalysen

Eng verknüpft mit Informationsangeboten zu aktuellen Forschungsergebnissen sind Ereignisanalysen. Im Nachgang an grössere oder besonders bedeutsame Beben werten die Forschenden am SED die gewonnenen Daten weiter aus und stellen die so gewonnenen Erkenntnisse zur Verfügung.

Öffentliche Veranstaltungen

Um alles Wissenswerte über Erdbeben einem grossen Publikum auf eine persönliche Weise näher zu bringen, beteiligt sich der SED des Öfteren an Informationsveranstaltungen, arbeitet eng mit dem Museum focusTerra zusammen oder öffnet selber seine Türen.

Interne Kommunikation

Die Mitarbeitenden des SED tragen alle zu den vielfältigen Kommunikationsaktivitäten bei. Damit wir jeweils vom selben sprechen, bemühen wir uns um einen regen internen Austausch. Neben unzähligen Mails, regelmässigen Treffen und einigen Anlässen trägt dazu massgeblich ein interner Newsletter bei, der monatlich erscheint.

Wählen Sie die verschiedenen Icons an und erfahren Sie mehr über die einzelnen Kommunikationsaktivitäten des SED.