MENU
The page content begins here

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonics studies the relationship between earthquakes, faults, and tectonic processes. It incorporates information from various disciplines including seismology, geodesy, and geology. The analysis of seismological data provides information on the geometry and the sense of motion of earthquake ruptures. The joint interpretation of many earthquakes allows conclusions on the tectonic stress regime, which is, in combination with information on fault orientations, fundamental for providing estimates on the seismic hazard of a region.

Illustration: Depth profile of high-precision hypocenter locations of an earthquake sequence close to Winterthur in April 2014. The focal mechanism (beach-ball symbol) of the ML 2.0 event of April 17th indicates a westward dipping normal fault in the crystalline basement.

What is Seismotectonics?

The seismotectonics group at the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) studies the relationship between earthquakes, individual faults, and tectonic processes in Switzerland and other tectonically active regions in the world. Seismotectonics mainly incorporate information from precise earthquake locations, focal mechanisms, structure and properties of the lithosphere imaged by passive and active seismic data, geodesy, and geology. The primary goal of seismotectonics analysis at the SED is the determination of focal mechanisms of earthquakes from seismic records (seismograms). The focal mechanism provides information on the geometry and the sense of motion of the rupture associated with individual earthquakes. The unambiguous identification of the active rupture plane, however, requires the joint interpretation of the focal mechanism and high-precision hypocenter locations of fore- and aftershocks of the earthquake. In some cases, the identified rupture plane can also be associated with faults known from geological or seismic reflection surveys.

What can we learn from Seismotectonics?

Identified rupture planes in combination with the associated sense of motion allow conclusions on the tectonic regime of a region. Although the mechanisms of single earthquakes contain mainly information on the deformation and are often biased by preexisting structures, the joint interpretation of many earthquakes is representative of the tectonic stress regime of a region. In Switzerland, various different tectonic stress regimes have been identified in the past years, which are mainly driven by large-scale plate tectonic processes such as the collision between the European and African plate and dynamic processes in the Earth’s mantle beneath the Alps. While large parts of the northern Alpine foreland of Switzerland and the northern parts of the Swiss Alps are dominated by compression oriented more or less perpendicular to the strike of the Alps, extension is the dominating tectonic regime in the regions south of the Rhône Valley in the Valais and in parts of Graubünden.

Finally, the provided information on the stress regime in combination with identified faults and fault orientations is fundamental for estimating the seismic hazard.

Seismotectonic
Map showing horizontal tectonic stress components in Switzerland derived from the analysis of earthquake mechanisms [Kastrup et al. 2004, Journal Geophysical Research; Marschall et al. 2013, Swiss Journal of Geoscience]

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Seismotektonik

Seismotektonik

Die Seismotektonik untersucht die Zusammenhänge zwischen Erdbeben, Verwerfungen und tektonischen Prozessen. Sie verwertet Informationen aus mehreren Disziplinen, darunter Seismologie, Geodäsie und Geologie. Die Analyse seismologischer Daten liefert Informationen über die Geometrie und die Bewegungsrichtung von Erdbebenbrüchen. Die kombinierte Deutung zahlreicher Erdbeben erlaubt Rückschlüsse auf das tektonische Beanspruchungsregime, das in Verbindung mit Informationen über die Ausrichtung von Verwerfungen für die Berechnung der Erdbebengefährdung eines Gebietes von grundlegender Bedeutung ist.

Bild: Tiefenprofil hochgenauer Lokalisierungen des Hypozentrums einer Erdbebensequenz nahe Winterthur im April 2014. Der Herdmechanismus (Wasserball-Symbol) des Bebens mit ML 2.0 vom 17. April zeigt eine nach Westen abfallende normale Verwerfung im kristallinen Grundgebirge.

Was ist Seismotektonik?

Die Gruppe Seismotektonik beim Schweizerischen Erdbebendienst (SED) untersucht die Zusammenhänge zwischen Erdbeben, einzelnen Verwerfungen und tektonischen Prozessen in der Schweiz und anderen tektonisch aktiven Regionen der Welt. Die Seismotektonik verwertet vorwiegend Informationen aus genauen Erdbebenlokalisierungen, Herdvorgängen, der Struktur und den Eigenschaften der Lithosphäre, die durch passive und aktive seismische Daten dargestellt werden, sowie aus Geodäsie und Geologie. Das Hauptziel der seismotektonischen Analysen beim SED ist die Bestimmung der Herdvorgänge von Erdbeben aus seismischen Aufzeichnungen (Seismogramme). Herdvorgänge liefern Informationen über die Geometrie und die Bewegungsrichtung von Erdbebenbrüchen bei einzelnen Erdbeben. Die eindeutige Identifizierung der aktiven Bruchfläche erfordert jedoch die kombinierte Deutung des Herdvorgangs und die präzise Lokalisierung des jeweiligen Hypozentrums bei den Vor- und Nachbeben. In manchen Fällen kann die identifizierte Bruchfläche auch mit Verwerfungen, die aus geologischen oder reflexionsseismischen Messprogrammen bekannt sind, in Zusammenhang gesetzt werden.

Was können wir von der Seismotektonik lernen?

Identifizierte Bruchflächen ermöglichen in Verbindung mit der jeweiligen Bewegungsrichtung, Rückschlüsse auf das tektonische Regime einer Region zu ziehen. Obwohl die Vorgänge bei einzelnen Erdbeben hauptsächlich Verformungsdaten enthalten und häufig durch gegebene Strukturen verzerrt werden, ist die kombinierte Interpretation zahlreicher Erdbeben für das tektonische Beanspruchungsregime einer Region repräsentativ. In der Schweiz wurden in den vergangenen Jahren verschiedene Beanspruchungsregime identifiziert, die hauptsächlich durch riesige plattentektonische Prozesse wie z. B. die Kollision der Europäischen und der Afrikanischen Platte oder durch dynamische Prozesse im Erdmantel unter den Alpen bedingt sind. Während weite Teile des nördlichen Alpenvorlandes der Schweiz und die nördlichen Teile der Schweizer Alpen durch eine Kompression dominiert werden, die mehr oder weniger senkrecht zur Streichrichtung der Alpen verläuft, ist in den Regionen südlich des Rhône-Tals im Wallis und in Teilen von Graubünden die Extension das vorherrschende tektonische Regime.

Letztendlich sind die Daten, die über das Beanspruchungsregime in Verbindung mit den identifizierten Verwerfungen und deren Ausrichtungen bereitgestellt werden, für die Berechnung der seismischen Gefährdung von wesentlicher Bedeutung.

Seismotektonik
Die Karte zeigt Komponenten horizontaler tektonischer Beanspruchung in der Schweiz abgeleitet aus Analysen von Erdbebenvorgängen [Kastrup et al. 2004, Journal Geophysical Research; Marschall et al. 2013, Swiss Journal of Geoscience].