MENU
The page content begins here

Fields of Research

Conducting seismological research is one of the core duties fulfilled by the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich, and most of its staff play a role in this work. Many projects necessitate close cooperation with other groups of researchers at ETH Zurich and abroad.

The main aim of research conducted at the SED is to gain a clearer understanding of earthquakes and their consequences and thereby contribute towards improving the response to such natural hazards, which pose a threat worldwide. At the same time, we seek novel ways of using seismological methods to find out more about fundamental processes that shape the Earth. How are the Alps formed? How stable are slopes? How do glaciers move? How can earthquakes induced by geothermal power projects be curbed? What kind of a threat do faults pose to permanent waste repositories? How strongly does the ground shake during an earthquake? How can we forecast earthquakes (more accurately)?

The fields of research listed here highlight domains in which the SED is particularly active and afford an insight into its wide range of activities.

Fields of Research

Earthquake Early Warning

Earthquake Early Warning

Earthquake Early Warning (EEW) is the attempt to warn vulnerable infrastructures and the general public of imminent strong ground shaking after an earthquake has occurred or while the earthquake rupture is still ongoing. It is possible because electromagnetic waves travel much faster than seismic waves and, therefore, information from seismic sensors close to the epicentre can be received at further distant sites before the seismic waves arrive.

Learn more

Realtime Monitoring

Realtime Monitoring

The dense Swiss seismic network provides realtime information on ground shaking across Switzerland. The realtime monitoring group operate the automatic software that finds and characterises earthquakes within 10’s of seconds after they occur, and provides alerts to relevant authorities and the public. Other seismological tools we provide include ShakeMaps that show how ground shaking was produced across the country. The group also actively researches earthquake early warning tools.

Learn more

Engineering Seismology

Engineering Seismology

Engineering seismology lays the bases for calculating seismic hazard, and includes producing  catalogues of historical and instrumental earthquakes, reliable ground motion mitigation models and high-definition geological underground models and interpreting historical accounts. Engineering seismologists produce local seismic hazard maps (microzonation) and link the results to data on building vulnerability so that dependable risk assessments can be carried out.

Learn more

Statistical Seismology

Statistical Seismology

Rather than examining individual earthquakes, we (the statistical seismology group) study earthquake sequences and, more generally, seismicity—the distribution of earthquakes in space, time, and magnitude. We are interested in how earthquakes cluster and how they interact with each other. We want to know the expected size of the largest earthquake in a region in a given period, and we want to understand how seismicity will affect residents.

Learn more

Numerical Modeling

Numerical Modeling

Earthquakes are modeled when there are no instrumental recordings, i.e. particularly for large, damaging earthquakes and sites close to seismic sources. One way of doing this is to calibrate site-specific ground motion attenuation models. Another is to use deterministic modeling of the rupture process and of wave propagation for scenario earthquakes. However, local geological properties must always be properly factored in.

Learn more

Seismicity in Switzerland

Seismicity in Switzerland

The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) pinpoints the location of between 500 and 800 earthquakes every year, but very few of them are strong enough to be felt by the local population. The vast majority of earthquakes recorded in Switzerland occur in the Swiss Alps, especially in the cantons of Valais and Grisons, and as a first approximation, they can be said to result from collisions between the European and African lithospheric plates.

Learn more

Historical Seismology & Palaeoseismology

Historical Seismology & Palaeoseismology

Data on earlier earthquakes provide important information for anticipatory mitigation measures and enable us to pinpoint where events occurred and estimate their magnitude. Damaging powerful earthquakes are relatively rare in Switzerland, so no instrumental data on them are available yet. Consequently, we have to draw on chronicles from the past, analyse this information using historical methods, and use palaeoseismological methods to interpret geological traces of major earthquakes.

Learn more

Strong Motion Seismology & Site-Specific Effects

Strong Motion Seismology & Site-Specific Effects

In a bid to improve the analysis of the seismic hazard facing Switzerland, by 2019 the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) aims to have renewed its Swiss National Strong Motion Network (SSMNet). Each station will take geophysical and geotechnical measurements to determine the properties of the local geological underground, enabling us to interpret any features captured on earthquake recordings. To this end, we developed special measurement procedures, some of which are based on analysing seismic noise.

Learn more

Earthquake-induced phenomena

Earthquake-induced phenomena

Earthquakes are not the only events that cause damage to buildings and infrastructure: secondary earthquake-induced phenomena can wreak havoc as well, for example through soil liquefaction, landslides and tsunamis triggered by undersea landslides. Accordingly, one aim of our earthquake research is to characterise such phenomena with a view to seismic hazard analysis and the recognition of early indications of mass wasting (ground movements) based on giveaway seismic signals. Other phenomena to watch for are short-term foreshocks prompted by processes in the Earth's crust, which can produce characteristic electromagnetic and geochemical signals.

Learn more

Induced Seismicity

Man-made earthquakes are referred to as induced seismicity. In general these are tiny rupture processes (microearthquakes) that occur in all kind of geotechnical operations, and can only be detected by highly sensitive instruments. Occasionally, however, induced earthquakes are strong enough to be felt or even to cause damage in their epicentral areas. This is why induced seismicity has to be considered a non-negligible risk in larger-scale geotechnical operations, especially in densely populated countries like Switzerland. The processes and conditions underpinning induced seismicity are still not sufficiently well understood to make useful predictions as to the likely seismic response of the underground to these geotechnical operations. The SED's research group on induced seismicity tries to close this knowledge gap by addressing the problem form various angles.

Learn more

 

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonic studies the relationship between earthquakes, faults, and tectonic processes. It incorporates information from various disciplines including seismology, geodesy, and geology. The analysis of seismological data provides information on the geometry and the sense of motion of earthquake ruptures. The joint interpretation of many earthquakes allows conclusions on the tectonic stress regime, which is, in combination with information on fault orientations, fundamental for providing estimates on the seismic hazard of a region.

Learn more

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Domaines de recherche

La recherche sismologique est l’une des missions centrales du Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l’ETH Zurich. La majorité des collaborateurs est impliquée dans ce domaine. De nombreux projets demandent une collaboration active avec d’autres groupes de recherche à l’ETH Zurich et au niveau international.

L’objectif de nos recherches au SED est tout d’abord de mieux comprendre les tremblements de terre et leurs impacts, et ainsi de contribuer à gérer ce danger naturel qui représente une menace dans le monde entier. Simultanément, nous cherchons de nouvelles approches pour en apprendre plus, grâce aux méthodes sismiques, sur les processus fondamentaux de la Terre : Comment se forment les Alpes ? Quelle est la stabilité d’un versant ? Comment progressent les glaciers ? Comment limiter les séismes induits par la géothermie ? À quel point les failles sont-elles dangereuses pour un stockage de déchets nucléaires ? Dans quelle mesure le sol sera-t-il ébranlé à un endroit déterminé lors d’un séisme ? Comment peut-on (mieux) prévoir les tremblements de terre ?

Les champs de recherche présentés expliquent dans quels domaines le SED est particulièrement actif et donnent un aperçu des différentes activités.

Fields of Research

Alerte précoce de tremblement de terre

Alerte précoce de tremblement de terre

L’alerte précoce de tremblement de terre (Earthquake Early Warning, EEW en anglais) vise à avertir le grand public et les exploitants d’infrastructures vulnérables de la possibilité imminente de fortes secousses du sol pendant ou après un séisme. Une alerte précoce est possible, car les signaux électromagnétiques se déplacent beaucoup plus rapidement que les ondes sismiques, de telle sorte que les informations des capteurs sismiques proches de l’épicentre du tremblement de terre peuvent être reçues à des points plus éloignés avant que les ondes sismiques ne les atteignent.

En savoir plus

Surveillance en temps réel

Surveillance en temps réel

Le dense réseau sismique suisse fournit des informations en temps réel sur les secousses du sol sur tout le territoire. Le groupe de surveillance en temps réel gère les logiciels automatiques qui identifient et caractérisent les séismes dans les dixièmes de secondes qui suivent, et qui envoient les alertes aux autorités concernées et au grand public. Les autres outils sismologiques que nous fournissons comprennent ShakeMaps qui cartographie l’intensité des secousses du sol dans le pays. Le groupe effectue également des recherches sur les outils d’alerte sismique précoce.

En savoir plus

Sismologie de l’ingénieur

Sismologie de l’ingénieur

Les bases de détermination de l'aléa sismique sont apportées par la sismologie de l’ingénieur ; elles comprennent des catalogues de séismes historiques ou mesurés par des instruments, des modèles fiables d’atténuation du mouvement du sol, des modèles de sous-sol à haute résolution ainsi que des interprétations d’observations historiques. La sismologie de l’ingénieur élabore des cartes de l'aléa local (microzonage) et combine les résultats avec des données de vulnérabilité des bâtiments, pour pouvoir effectuer des études de risques fiables.

En savoir plus

Sismologie statistique

Sismologie statistique

Plutôt que d’examiner des séismes individuels, nous étudions des séquences de tremblements de terre et, plus généralement, la sismicité — répartition des séismes dans l’espace, le temps, et l’échelle de magnitude. Nous sommes intéressés par la façon dont les séismes s’assemblent et comment ils interagissent les uns avec les autres. Nous voulons être capables de prévoir la magnitude du plus fort tremblement de terre dans une région pour une période donnée, et nous désirons comprendre comment la sismicité affectera les habitants.

En savoir plus

Modélisation numérique

Modélisation numérique

Les modélisations sismiques sont mises en œuvre là où les enregistrements manquent, c’est-à-dire en particulier pour les séismes provoquant de gros dommages et pour les sites à proximité des sources sismiques. Pour ceci, il est possible d’une part d’étalonner des modèles d’atténuation locale des mouvements du sol. D’autre part, il est possible également d’utiliser une modélisation déterministe du processus de rupture et de propagation des ondes pour différents scénarios de séisme. Il est indispensable pour cela de prendre en compte les caractéristiques géologiques locales.

En savoir plus

Sismicité en Suisse

Sismicité en Suisse

Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) localise en moyenne entre 500 et 800 tremblements de terre par an. Toutefois, très peu sont perçus par la population. Une grande partie des séismes enregistrés se produit dans les Alpes suisses, surtout dans le Valais et dans les Grisons. Les tremblements de terre que nous observons en Suisse sont en première approximation la conséquence de la collision des plaques lithosphériques européenne et africaine.

En savoir plus

Sismologie historique & paléosismologie

Sismologie historique & paléosismologie

Les connaissances acquises sur des séismes passés nous donnent des indications importantes pour la prévention, et nous permettent de localiser les tremblements de terre et d’évaluer leur intensité. En Suisse, les forts tremblements de terre sont relativement rares, c’est pourquoi nous ne disposons pas encore de données issues d’instruments de mesure. Nous devons donc nous référer à des documents historiques, les analyser par des méthodes scientifiques, et interpréter par des méthodes paléosismiques les traces géologiques des grands tremblements de terre.

En savoir plus

Mouvements forts et effets de site

Mouvements forts et effets de site

Pour améliorer l’analyse de l'aléa sismiques en Suisse, le SED rénove et étend le réseau de stations de mesure des forts tremblements de terre d’ici 2019. Grâce à des mesures géophysiques et géotechniques, les caractéristiques du sous-sol local de chaque station sont déterminées, ce qui nous permet d’interpréter les enregistrements sismiques obtenus. Pour ces mesures, des procédures spéciales ont été développées, basées entre autres sur l’analyse de l’agitation sismique du sol.

En savoir plus

Phénomènes induits par les séismes

Phénomènes induits par les séismes

Les tremblements de terre ne sont pas la cause unique des dommages sur les bâtiments et infrastructures : ceux-ci peuvent également être causés par des phénomènes secondaires induits, notamment liquéfaction du sol, glissements de terrain ou encore tsunamis lacustres déclenchés par des glissements immergés. Un des objectifs consiste à caractériser de tels phénomènes pour l’analyse sismique de l'aléa, ainsi que la détection précoce de mouvements de masse sur la base de signaux sismiques typiques. Un autre aspect est constitué par les précurseurs sismiques à court terme, provoqués par les processus au sein de la croûte terrestre qui peuvent émettre des signaux électromagnétiques et géochimiques.

En savoir plus

Sismicité induite

Les tremblements de terre déclenchés par l’homme sont qualifiés de sismicité induite. En général, il s’agit de minuscules processus de rupture (microséismes) qui surviennent lors de tous types d’opérations géotechniques et qui ne peuvent être détectés que par des instruments hautement sensibles. Parfois cependant, les séismes induits sont assez forts pour être perçus, voire pour provoquer des dommages à proximité de leur épicentre. Par conséquent, la sismicité induite doit être considérée comme un risque non négligeable lors d’opérations géotechniques de grande échelle, notamment dans les pays densément peuplés comme la Suisse. Les processus et conditions qui gèrent la sismicité induite ne sont pas encore suffisamment bien compris pour effectuer des prévisions efficaces de la réponse sismique probable du sous-sol pour de telles opérations géotechniques. Le groupe de recherche du SED sur la sismicité induite (INDU@SED) travaille activement à combler cette lacune de connaissances en abordant le problème sous des angles variés.

En savoir plus

 

Sismotectonique

Sismotectonique

La sismotectonique étudie les relations entre les séismes, les failles et les processus tectoniques. Elle comprend des informations en provenance de différentes disciplines, notamment la sismologie, la géodésie et la géologie. L’analyse de données sismologiques fournit des informations sur la géométrie et le sens du mouvement des failles. L’interprétation simultanée de plusieurs tremblements de terre permet de tirer des conclusions sur le régime de contraintes tectoniques qui, en combinaison avec les informations sur l’orientation des failles, est fondamental pour l’estimation de l'aléa sismique d’une région.

En savoir plus