MENU
The page content begins here

Sierre 1946

What Happened in Sierre in 1946?

On Friday evening, January 25 in 1946 it was already dark and there was snow on the ground in Sierre when at around 6.32 p.m. the ground shook for several seconds. People ran out into the streets, chimneys and tiles fell from the rooftops and the streets were strewn with rubble. There was a power cut, and for 10 minutes the city was plunged into complete darkness. Very soon, the telephone lines became so overburdened that for a number of hours great uncertainty and chaos ensued.

Only the next day did the full impact of the earthquake, which had a magnitude of 5.8, become clear: 3 fatalities and 3,500 severely damaged buildings. The total damage caused totalled around CHF 26 million in today's money.

What Would Happen If a Similar Earthquake Occurred in the Rhone Valley Today?

Because the area is more densely settled, the consequences of an earthquake of similar magnitude would be much more severe today.

Unlike in 1946, the floor of the Rhone Valley is now densely populated, as well as being home to some large-scale industrial plants. On top of this, the valley has an unfavourable substratum: so-called 'site effects' can increase the amplitude of earthquake shockwaves along the soft sediment of the valley floor by a factor of up to 10. This means the vibrations would be much stronger here than in rocky areas, resulting in greater damage to buildings and possibly causing houses to collapse. Since even many new buildings could probably not withstand a strong earthquake under these conditions, the death toll would probably be far higher than it was in 1946.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Sierre 1946

Qu’est-ce qui s’est passé à Sierre en 1946 ?

Vendredi soir, 25 janvier 1946 : la nuit était déjà tombée sur Sierre enneigée. À 18h32, le sol a été secoué pendant quelques secondes. Les habitants se sont rués dehors, cheminées et tuiles sont tombées des toits et les rues ont été parsemées de décombres. Une panne d'électricité a laissé la ville dans l'obscurité totale pendant dix minutes. Les lignes téléphoniques ont été immédiatement saturées. Des conditions chaotiques dans une incertitude totale ont régné pendant quelques heures.

Ce n'est que le lendemain que les conséquences du tremblement de terre, d'une magnitude de 5,8, sont apparues au grand jour : 3 morts, 3500 bâtiments fortement endommagés. En francs constants, le montant des dommages s'élèverait aujourd'hui à 26 millions de CHF.

Qu’arriverait-il aujourd’hui dans la vallée du Rhône, si un séisme comparable survenait ?

En raison de la densité plus importante des constructions, les conséquences d'un tremblement de terre de même force seraient aujourd'hui bien plus importantes.

Contrairement à 1946, le fond de la vallée du Rhône est désormais densément peuplé, et accueille d'importantes installations industrielles. De plus, le sous-sol est défavorable aux constructions à cause des effets de site. L’amplitude des ondes sismiques peut être dix fois plus grande dans les sédiments non consolidés. Autrement dit, les secousses sont ici bien plus importantes que sur sol rocheux, ce qui peut entraîner des dégâts plus lourds aux bâtiments, jusqu‘à l’effondrement. Comme de nombreux bâtiments ne résisteraient probablement pas à un fort séisme dans ces conditions, on attendrait beaucoup plus de victimes qu'en 1946.