MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquakes in Art

Not only scientists deal with earthquakes – all kinds of artists are fascinated and inspired by this natural phenomenon.

Listen to the sounds of earthquakes, look at pictures and photographs, or immerse yourself in the world of dance.

Art

The dance piece “Fault Lines” provides an intimate story of the life-changing consequences of a major earthquake, in which everybody involved knows exactly what they are saying or dancing. Each of the roughly 20 dancers lived through the earthquake in Szechuan (China) in 2008, which had a magnitude of 7.9 and caused 69,000 deaths. Sara Brodie (the choreographer of the piece) had a similar experience in the devastating earthquake in Christchurch (New Zealand) in 2010, which had a magnitude of 7.1.

Take a look at the video about the moving performance of “Fault Lines” (© Melbourne Festival).

As part of her bachelor’s thesis in visual communication at the Zurich University of the Arts, Ramona Tschuppert spent a day in the earthquake simulator at the SED. She implemented a series of experiments in which she used specially created exposure methods while the data of real earthquakes was played in the simulator. The different vibrations resulted in fascinating pictures.

© The rights for the images and the video in this item belong to Ramona Tschuppert.

Take a look at a brief part of Ramona Tschuppert’s work in the earthquake simulator (the container with the water and the stripe pattern is on the floor of the simulator).

Planet earth is a dynamic system in which small- and large-scale movements constantly occur. Some of these take place within seconds, some over millions of years. What would it be like if we could hear these movements? This is exactly what Wolfgang Loos (Berlin-based composer and sound engineer) and Frank Scherbaum (professor of geophysics at the University of Potsdam) are putting into practice. During long nights working in the recording studio, they transformed seismic data from earthquakes and volcanoes into the sonorous symphony "Inner Earth".

Listen to an original piece from the CD “Inner Earth” (© Traumton Records).

 

Frank Scherbaum:

The earth is constantly in motion. This takes place on timescales that we do not necessarily notice. The earth builds mountains over timescales of millions of years, while over timescales of seconds, it vibrates continuously due to wind and traffic. The earth is not at rest, but rather constantly in motion. [...] Everything that can vibrate can also make sounds.

Wolfgang Loos:

In the beginning, the results were quite disappointing. After transformation into the audible range, there was some crackling or a short plop, a brief noise. It was impossible to listen to with interest. [...] But after I worked on them a bit more, I found melodies – very large, long arcs. These seismic measurements were made over days, weeks, months. When I transform them into the audible range and also shorten them, I get material that is 10, 20, 30 seconds long. And then you can hear the structures that you would expect. You can hear a certain regularity in the overtone, but also interesting deviations. You could never simulate them with a synthesizer.

From a piece from the Radio SRF 2 Kultur; translation of some excerpts by the SED.

Over several years, Zurich-based artist Irene Weingartner has developed a system to produce seismographic recordings. The human body receives signals from its surroundings. The brain converts these signals and passes them on to the arms and hands, where they are placed on paper using a brush and ink. This results in works that give the impression of a confusion of lines at first glance. However, on looking more closely, one discovers numerous different patterns and details that invite a variety of subjective interpretations. Each seismographic recording shown in this gallery was created over several weeks of work in Weingartner’s studio in Zurich.

© The rights for the images in this item belong to Irene Weingartner.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Séismes dans l'art

Les scientifiques ne sont pas les seuls à s’intéresser aux tremblements de terre. Ce phénomène naturel fascine et inspire les artistes intervenant dans les domaines les plus divers.

Ecoutez les sons des séismes, contemplez des tableaux et des photos ou immergez-vous dans l’univers de la danse.

Art

Le spectacle de danse “Fault Lines” relate de façon intimiste les bouleversements provoqués par un grand tremblement de terre. Tous les participants savent de quoi ils parlent, ou plutôt «de quoi ils dansent»: en effet, chacun des vingt acteurs et actrices a vécu lui-même le tremblement de terre du Sichuan (Chine) en 2008, séisme d’une magnitude de 7.9 qui a fait 69’000 victimes. Sara Brodie (la chorégraphe du spectacle) a fait une expérience similaire en 2010 lors du terrible tremblement de terre de Christchurch (Nouvelle-Zélande), d’une magnitude de 7.1.

Regardez la vidéo sur l’émouvante performance “Fault Lines” (© Melbourne Festival).

Dans le cadre de son mémoire de licence en communication visuelle à la Haute Ecole d’Art de Zurich, Ramona Tschuppert a passé une journée dans le simulateur de séisme du SED. Elle a réalisé une série d’essais lors desquels elle a appliqué des méthodes d’éclairage créées pour l’occasion, tandis que les données enregistrées lors de tremblements de terre réels étaient lues par le simulateur. Les différentes secousses ont été à l’origine d’enregistrements fascinants.

© Les droits sur les photos et sur la vidéo de cette contribution sont détenus par Ramona Tschuppert.

Regardez un court extrait du travail de Ramona Tschuppert dans le simulateur de tremblements de terre (le récipient contenant l’eau et la grille se trouve sur le sol du simulateur).

La planète terre est un système dynamique agité en permanence par des mouvements à petite et à grande échelle. Ces derniers se produisent en l’espace de quelques secondes, mais aussi de millions d’années. Et si nous pouvions entendre ces mouvements? C’est exactement ce que proposent Wolfgang Loos (compositeur et ingénieur du son berlinois) et Frank Scherbaum (professeur de géophysique à l’université de Potsdam). Pendant des nuits entières, dans un studio d’enregistrement, ils ont transformé des données sismiques de tremblements de terre et de volcans pour créer la symphonie “Inner Earth“.

Ecoutez un morceau original du CD “Inner Earth” (© Traumton Records).

 

Frank Scherbaum:

La terre est en perpétuel mouvement. Cela se joue certes sur une échelle temporelle que nous ne percevons pas nécessairement. Sur une échelle de temps graduée en millions d’années, des montagnes se forment sur la terre; sur une échelle de temps graduée en secondes, la terre vibre en permanence en raison du vent et de la circulation. La terre n’est pas immobile, mais en perpétuel mouvement. (...) Tout ce qui vibre peut aussi produire un son.

Wolfgang Loos:

Au début, les résultats étaient absolument décevants. Quand on transformait ces données pour qu’elles deviennent du domaine de l’audible, cela grésillait ou faisait un bref «plop», un bruit bref. Ce n’était pas du tout de nature à susciter l’intérêt. (...) Mais ce que j’ai trouvé lors d’autres travaux, c’était des mélodies, de longues courbes mélodiques. De fait, ces mesures sismiques s’étendent sur des journées, des semaines, des mois entiers. Si je les transforme pour qu’elles deviennent du domaine de l’audible et que je raccourcis le tout, j’obtiens un matériel d’une durée de 10, 20 ou 30 secondes. Et là, on entend les structures auxquelles on s’attendait. On entend une certaine harmonique aiguë régulière, mais aussi des écarts intéressants par rapport à cette dernière. On ne pourrait jamais les reproduire à l’aide d’un synthétiseur.

Extrait d’une émission de Radio SRF 2 Kultur, traduction de certains extraits réalisée par le SED.

L’artiste zurichoise Irene Weingartner a développé sur plusieurs années un système permettant de générer des enregistrements sismographiques: le corps reçoit des signaux en provenance des alentours. Ces derniers sont ensuite transformés par le cerveau et transmis au bras et à la main, qui les appose sur le papier à l’aide d’un pinceau et d’encre de Chine. Les œuvres ainsi créées donnent au premier abord l’impression d’être un enchevêtrement de traits. Mais si on y regarde de plus près, on découvre différentes structures qui ouvrent la porte à des interprétations personnelles. Chacun des enregistrements sismographiques présentés dans cette galerie d’images est le résultat d’un processus de travail d’une durée de plusieurs semaines qui s’est déroulé à Zurich dans l’atelier de Weingartner.

© Les droits sur les photos de cette contribution sont détenus par Irene Weingartner.