MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquakes in Grisons

An earthquake causing at least minor damage to buildings occurs in the Canton of Grisons on average every 30 to 40 years. The main areas of heightened activity are Lower Engadine, the Val Müstair and central Grisons. By comparison, western Grisons experiences fairly low levels of seismic activity.

The strongest known earthquake in Grisons happened in 1295 in the Churwalden area (intensity VIII). If a similar earthquake were to happen today, it would cause around CHF 12 billion worth of damage across the canton. The most recent damaging quake occurred near Vaz in 1991, causing minor damage to buildings.

 

The region stretches from the Val Mesolcina and Vorderrhein (Anterior Rhine) valley in the west to the upper Vinschgau valley in the east, and from the Valtellina in the south to Bad Ragaz and Samnaun in the north. It therefore encompasses adjacent parts of Ticino to the south-west, of Glarus and St. Gallen to the north-west and of Italy and Austria to the south and east.

Seismic activity in Grisons

Over the past 40 years, 55 earthquakes with a magnitude of 3 or greater have occurred in Grisons and its immediate surroundings. All were felt by local residents. Eleven attained a magnitude of more than 4 and were felt over a wider area. The strongest earthquake in this period took place on 20 November 1991 in the region of Vaz. In the epicentral area around Vaz/Obervaz and Muldain, it caused cracks in the facades of several buildings. The main quake was followed by over 80 aftershocks, lasting until the spring of 1992.

Magnitude Number
ML ≥ 2.0 646
ML ≥ 2.5 182
ML ≥ 3.0 55
ML ≥ 4.0 11
Table: Magnitude frequency in and around Grisons between 1975 and 2014. ML is the local magnitude on the Richter scale.

All earthquakes of magnitude 3 and above, and some between 2.5 and 3, were felt by local residents.

Date Magnitude Location
17.07.1976 4.2 Filisur
31.07.1983 4.3 Val Venosta (I)
31.08.1983 4.0 S-Charl
08.06.1984 4.2 S-Charl
16.05.1990 4.0 Piz Tasna
20.11.1991 5.0 Vaz
29.12.1999 4.9 Bormio (I)
31.12.1999 4.4 Bormio (I)
06.04.2000 4.3 Bormio (I)
01.10.2001 4.3 Bormio (I)
21.01.2008 4.0 Paspels

Although the first seismographs in Switzerland began operating in the early 20th century, a uniform national seismic monitoring network has only existed since 1975. This has been continually expanded and adapted in line with the latest technological developments. As a result, its sensitivity has increased and its location accuracy has improved over time. The epicentres of instrumentally recorded earthquakes in and around Grisons between 1975 and 2014 differ significantly in their distribution (see epicentre map 1975 - 2014).

Historical records are the only information we have about earthquakes in times past. The strength of these quakes can be reconstructed based on the documented damage and quantified in the form of intensities. Although in principle it is possible to estimate a magnitude based on the observed intensities, this would be subject to considerable uncertainty.

In Grisons and surrounding areas, seven earthquakes with intensities between VI and VIII are known to have occurred since the end of the 13th century. All of these quakes caused minor to severe damage to buildings and in some cases injuries and fatalities. Nine earthquakes with intensities of at least VIII are known to have occurred in Switzerland from historical records. One of these happened in Grisons, namely the 1295 earthquake in Churwalden; this is the oldest historically recorded earthquake in Switzerland. While each individual historical information source for this event is only partly reliable on its own, taken together they paint a coherent picture of the location and date of the quake and of its effects. Thus, recorded damage to churches, monasteries and castles in the epicentral area can be attributed to this earthquake, but we can also conclude from a number of information sources that its impact extended to southern Germany, Austria and Italy. If the Churwalden earthquake were to occur today with the same strength, it would cause estimated building damage of around CHF 5 billion and total damage of around CHF 12 billion within Grisons.

List of known earthquakes with intensity = VI in and around Grisons

Date Intensity Location
03.09.1295 VIII Churwalden
03.08.1622 VII Ftan
27.08.1857 VI Tarasp
25.12.1905 VII Domat Ems
26.12.1905 VI Tamins
09.12.1917 VI Silvaplana
20.11.1991 VI Vaz

In the list of historically known damaging earthquakes in Grisons, it is striking that only two events are recorded between the late 13th and mid-19th centuries, while five such events have occurred in the last 160 or so years. This uneven distribution reflects the patchiness of data from earlier centuries. It is therefore difficult, on the basis of historically known earthquakes alone, to draw statistically reliable conclusions about the incidence of damaging earthquakes in Grisons. Nevertheless, if we assume that the last 200 or so years are more or less representative, an earthquake causing at least minor damage to buildings can be expected to occur in Grisons every 30 to 40 years. An earthquake causing major damage (intensity VIII) – such as can be expected in the Valais once every 100 years on average – has only occurred once in Grisons in the past 700 years.

Another notable thing about the list of damaging earthquakes is that the two quakes in December 1905, with intensities of VII and VI, occurred within a period of just 24 hours. The distance between the stated epicentres of these two earthquakes (Domat-Ems and Tamins) is only around 10 km, which is less than the margin of uncertainty regarding locations. The short time interval and distance between the two earthquakes and other smaller tremors that occurred before and afterwards in the same area suggest that these two events were part of a protracted swarm.

Figure: Epicentre map of historically known earthquakes in and around Grisons since 1200 with intensity >= VI (damaging earthquakes).

Earthquakes in Grisons often occur as a series of events which show up on earthquake maps as a cluster of epicentres. The duration of these series can vary considerably, with some lasting just a few days while others, such as the Bormio series, continue for several years. Typically, such series involve a large number of earthquakes in a localised area over an extended period of time, without a clear sequence of foreshocks, main quake and aftershocks. This is also known as an earthquake swarm. Swarm activity usually ends after a few weeks or months, but occasionally the quakes increase in strength and number over time. If the location of the individual foci in such swarms can be calculated with sufficient accuracy, it always defines one or more surface areas that correspond to the fracture surfaces activated by the earthquakes in the subsurface.

The Bormio earthquake series

A notable example is the Bormio earthquake series, which included four events with local magnitudes greater than 4. The epicentre of this swarm was in Italy, on the border with Val Mora, around 10 km south of the Ofen Pass. The main quake, with a local magnitude of 4.9, occurred on 29 December 1999. This was preceded by a magnitude 2.3 quake on 15 April and a magnitude 2.4 quake on 28 December. A total of almost 200 events were recorded in this swarm, lasting until the autumn of 2002.

The Paspels earthquake series

A particularly well-investigated example of such earthquake swarms in Grisons is the series of quakes that occurred in Paspels between 2007 and 2009. It began in early August 2007 and peaked on 21 January 2008 with a magnitude 4.0 quake. A total of 37 quakes assignable to this swarm were recorded through to late 2009. The seismic foci were located at a depth of approximately 8 km on a fracture surface running almost east-west with a horizontal length of at least 700 m and a vertical extent of around 500 m.

Essentially, earthquakes are caused by the sudden release of stresses in the earth's crust. These stresses are brought about by large-scale continental movements. If they are stronger than the rock, a sudden rupture occurs along existing areas of weakness in the subsurface, triggering the seismic waves felt on the earth's surface. Modern seismology uses seismic observations to draw conclusions about the causative stresses and so deduce regional differences in the stress field.

Grisons's predominant geological structures are huge stacks of superimposed rock strata testifying to the compression that formed the Alps. By contrast, most present-day earthquakes in Grisons are triggered by lateral spreading: this results from a superposition of stresses from the ongoing collision between Africa and Europe and of compensatory stresses caused by the topography of the Alps and their roots. Obviously, stresses in the earth's crust have changed over the course of millions of years.

Much of the Canton of Grisons faces a moderate seismic hazard, less than the Valais but greater than Ticino and the Swiss plateau. Earthquake-resistant residential or office buildings in Switzerland are designed to withstand shaking that is expected to occur where the building is situated once every 500 years on average. This is illustrated on the seismic zone map. The central and eastern part of the canton falls within zone Z2. In this zone, shaking with a maximum intensity of VII-VIII (moderate to severe building damage) is expected to occur once in 500 years. The western part of the canton, comprising the Hinterrhein valley and upper Vorderrhein valley, lies in zone Z1, where shaking with a maximum intensity of VI-VII (minor to moderate building damage) is expected to occur once in 500 years.

Amplification of seismic shaking by local subsoils

As well as the magnitude and epicentral distance, the local subsoil type has a major impact on the amount of damage caused by an earthquake. For example, unconsolidated river and lake deposits can strengthen seismic waves, meaning that the ground motion intensity on a valley floor may be up to 10 times greater than in the rocky substrate of the valley sides. In the Canton of Grisons, the impact of such site effects is particularly significant in the Rhine Valley between Chur and the municipalities of the Bündner Herrschaft.

Secondary natural hazards triggered by earthquakes

The impact of earthquakes is not limited to shaking and direct damage to buildings. Additional damage is often caused by other natural hazards triggered by earthquakes. The unstable slopes commonly found in mountainous regions may be suddenly weakened by earthquake-induced shaking, causing rockfalls or landslides into the valley below. These may destroy transport links and energy and communications infrastructure. The same is true of avalanches in winter. Studies of past earthquakes show that Grisons, with its steep mountainsides, is exposed to these additional earthquake-induced natural hazards. This must be taken into account when assessing the earthquake risk.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Tremblements de terre dans les Grisons

Dans le canton des Grisons, un tremblement de terre entraînant au minimum de légers dommages aux bâtiments se produit tous les trente ou quarante ans. On observe une activité plus importante surtout en Basse-Engadine, dans la vallée de Münster et dans le centre des Grisons. En comparaison, l’ouest des Grisons est plutôt tranquille sismiquement.

Le tremblement de terre le plus fort connu dans les Grisons s’est produit en 1295 dans la région de Churwalden (intensité VIII). S’il devait se reproduire, on pourrait attendre dans le canton des dommages à hauteur d’environ 12 milliards de francs. Le dernier séisme notoire est survenu en 1991 près de Vaz et a légèrement endommagé des bâtiments.

 

La région s’étend du Misox et de la vallée du Rhin antérieur à l’ouest, jusqu’au Val Venosta supérieur à l’est, ainsi que du Veltlin au sud jusqu’à Bad Ragaz et Samnaun au nord. Elle comprend donc également les zones limitrophes du Tessin au sud-ouest, de Glaris et Saint-Gall au nord-ouest ainsi que de l’Italie et de l’Autriche au sud et à l’est.

Activité sismique dans les Grisons

Au cours des quarante dernières années, 55 tremblements de terre de magnitude 3 ou supérieure se sont produits dans les Grisons et à proximité immédiate. Tous ont été ressentis par la population locale. Parmi ceux-ci, onze ont atteint une magnitude de plus de 4 et ont été ressentis sur une région plus étendue. Le tremblement de terre le plus important pendant cette période est celui du 20 novembre 1991 dans la région de Vaz. Dans la région de l’épicentre autour de Vaz/Obervaz et Muldain, il a provoqué des fissures dans les façades de quelques bâtiments. Le séisme principal a été suivi de plus de 80 répliques jusqu’au printemps 1992.

Magnitude Nombre
ML ≥ 2.0 646
ML ≥ 2.5 182
ML ≥ 3.0 55
ML ≥ 4.0 11
Tableau : Fréquence de magnitude dans les Grisons et régions environnantes entre 1975 et 2014. ML est la magnitude locale sur l’échelle de Richter

La population a ressenti tous les séismes de magnitude 3 ou plus, et certains de magnitude comprise entre 2.5 et 3.

Date Magnitude Localité
17.07.1976 4.2 Filisur
31.07.1983 4.3 Val Venosta (I)
31.08.1983 4.0 S-Charl
08.06.1984 4.2 S-Charl
16.05.1990 4.0 Piz Tasna
20.11.1991 5.0 Vaz
29.12.1999 4.9 Bormio (I)
31.12.1999 4.4 Bormio (I)
06.04.2000 4.3 Bormio (I)
01.10.2001 4.3 Bormio (I)
21.01.2008 4.0 Paspels

Bien que dès le début du xxe siècle, les premiers sismographes aient été mis en service en Suisse, ce n’est que depuis 1975 qu’un réseau d’observation sismique national unifié existe. Il a été densifié en permanence et adapté aux progrès technologiques. La sensibilité et la précision de localisation se sont donc améliorées en conséquence avec le temps. La répartition des épicentres des séismes enregistrés par des instruments entre 1975 et 2014 dans les Grisons et les environs est assez variable (voir carte des épicentres 1975 - 2014).

Les relations historiques sont les seules informations qui nous renseignent sur les tremblements de terre autrefois. La force de ces séismes peut être reconstruite à partir des dommages documentés, et chiffrés sous forme d’intensités. Bien qu’il soit possible en principe d’estimer une magnitude à partir des intensités observées, elle reste entachée d’une grande incertitude.

Dans les Grisons et ses environs, on connaît depuis la fin du xiiie siècle sept séismes d’intensités comprises entre VI et VIII. Tous ces séismes ont entraîné des dommages légers ou plus lourds sur les bâtiments, et parfois des blessés ou des morts. Les relations historiques signalent au total neuf séismes d’intensités supérieures à VIII en Suisse. L’un d’entre eux s’est produit en 1295 près de Churwalden : il s’agit du plus ancien séisme relaté historiquement en Suisse. Bien que chaque source d’information historique prise séparément ne soit que partiellement fiable pour cet évènement, toutes ensemble elles rendent une image concluante aussi bien du lieu et de la date que des effets. Les dommages relatés sur les églises, abbayes et châteaux dans la région de l’épicentre ne sont pas les seuls que l’on peut attribuer à ce séisme ; il existe plusieurs sources d’informations permettant de déduire qu’il a eu des effets également dans le sud de l’Allemagne, en Autriche et en Italie. Si le séisme de Churwalden se produisait aujourd’hui avec la même force, on constaterait vraisemblablement dans les Grisons des dommages aux bâtiments d’environ 5 milliards de francs, et des dommages totaux d’environ 12 milliards de francs.

Liste des séismes connus d’intensité = VI dans les Grisons et aux alentours

Date Intensité Localité
03.09.1295 VIII Churwalden
03.08.1622 VII Ftan
27.08.1857 VI Tarasp
25.12.1905 VII Domat Ems
26.12.1905 VI Tamins
09.12.1917 VI Silvaplana
20.11.1991 VI Vaz

On n’observe dans la liste des séismes historiques ayant provoqué des dommages dans les Grisons qu’entre fin xiiie et milieu xixe siècle que deux évènements, alors que cinq ont été notés au cours des 160 dernières années. Cette répartition irrégulière reflète les lacunes des données au cours des siècles précédents. Il est donc difficile de donner des informations statistiques fiables sur la fréquence d’occurrence des séismes provoquant des dommages dans les Grisons, uniquement sur la base des tremblements de terre connus historiquement. Si l’on suppose cependant que les deux derniers siècles sont plus ou moins représentatifs, il faut alors attendre dans les Grisons tous les 30 à 40 ans un séisme pouvant entraîner au minimum des dégâts légers sur les bâtiments. Un tremblement de terre provoquant de gros dommages (intensité VIII), comme on peut l’attendre dans le Valais en moyenne une fois par siècle, ne s’est produit qu’une seule fois dans les Grisons au cours des 700 dernières années.

Il faut également remarquer dans cette liste que les deux séismes de décembre 1905, avec des intensités de VII et VI se sont produits en seulement 24 heures. La distance entre les épicentres indiqués pour ces deux évènements (Domat-Ems et Tamins) n’atteint qu’une dizaine de km, ce qui est inférieur à l’incertitude de localisation. La courte période et la faible distance entre ces deux séismes, ainsi que d’autres petits tremblements de terre qui se sont produits avant et après dans la même région indiquent que ces deux évènements faisaient partie d’un essaim qui a duré plus longtemps.

Illustration : Carte d’épicentres pour les séismes connus dans les Grisons et aux alentours depuis 1200, d’intensité >= VI (avec des dommages).

Les tremblements de terre se produisent souvent dans les Grisons sous la forme de séries d’évènements, qui apparaissent sur les cartes sismiques comme une concentration ponctuelle d’épicentres. La durée de telles séries peut être très variable : certaines sont terminées après quelques jours, d’autres, comme la série de Bormio, se prolongent pendant plusieurs années. Ce qui est caractéristique de telles séries, c’est une succession de séismes localement limités sur une période assez longue, sans qu’on puisse distinguer de prémisses, séisme principal et répliques. On parle alors d’un essaim de tremblements de terre. La plupart du temps, l’activité de l’essaim s’éteint après quelques semaines ou quelques mois, mais dans de rares occasions, les séismes sont de plus en plus forts et de plus en plus nombreux avec le temps. Lorsqu’on peut calculer la situation des foyers individuels de tels essaims avec une précision suffisante, on peut toujours définir une ou plusieurs surfaces qui correspondent à une ou plusieurs failles activées par le séisme.

La série de séismes de Bormio

La série de séismes de Bormio attire l’attention avec quatre évènements de plus de 4 de magnitude locale. L’épicentre de cet essaim se trouvait sur le territoire italien, à la frontière avec le Val Mora, environ 10 km au sud du col dal Fuorn. Le séisme principal d’une magnitude locale de 4.9 s’est produit le 29 décembre 1999. Il avait été précédé par un séisme de magnitude 2.3 le 15 avril et un de magnitude 2.4 le 28 décembre. Au total, ce sont pratiquement 200 évènements qui ont été enregistrés pour cet essaim jusqu’à l’automne 2002.

Série de séismes de Paspels

Un exemple de tels essaims particulièrement bien étudié dans les Grisons est la série de tremblements de terre entre 2007 et 2009 à Paspels. Elle a commencé au début août 2007 et a atteint son point culminant le 21 janvier 2008 avec un séisme de magnitude 4.0. Jusqu’à la fin de 2009, 37 séismes pouvant être attribués à cet essaim ont été enregistrés. Les foyers étaient situés à environ 8 km de profondeur sur une surface de faille orientée pratiquement est-ouest, d’une longueur horizontale d’au moins 700 m et d’une extension verticale d’environ 500 m.

.

Par principe, les séismes sont engendrés par la relaxation subite des contraintes dans la croûte terrestre. Ces contraintes apparaissent à la suite de mouvements continentaux de grande ampleur. Lorsqu’elles dépassent la solidité de la roche, une rupture se produit le long de zones de faiblesse existantes dans le sol, et elle engendre des ondes sismiques qui sont ressenties à la surface de la Terre. La sismologie moderne permet de tirer des conclusions sur les contraintes d’origine à partir des observations sismiques, et donc d’en déduire les variations régionales du champ de contraintes.

Les structures géologiques présentes généralement dans les Grisons, constituées de gigantesques empilements de couches de roches charriées les unes sur les autres, sont témoins de la compression qui génère les Alpes. Par opposition, les séismes actuels dans les Grisons sont plutôt la conséquence d’un étirement : il résulte d’une superposition de contraintes, correspondant à la collision permanente entre l’Afrique et l’Europe, et de contraintes de compensation, découlant de la topographie des Alpes et de leurs racines. Il apparaît donc que les conditions de contraintes dans la croûte terrestre ont évolué au cours de ces millions d’années.

De grandes parties du canton des Grisons présentent un aléa sismique moyen : il est plus faible que dans le Valais, mais plus important que dans le Tessin et dans le Mittelland suisse. La construction parasismique des bâtiments d’habitation ou de bureaux est conçue en Suisse pour des secousses que l’on peut attendre sur leur site en moyenne une fois tous les 500 ans. La carte de zonage sismique reflète cet aspect. Les parties centrale et orientale du canton appartiennent à la zone Z2. Dans celle-ci, on attend tous les 500 ans des secousses atteignant au maximum une intensité de VII-VIII (dommages modérés à importants pour les bâtiments). La partie occidentale du canton, c’est-à-dire la vallée du Rhin postérieur ainsi que la vallée supérieure du Rhin antérieur, se trouve dans la zone Z1, dans laquelle on attend tous les 500 ans des secousses atteignant au maximum une intensité de VI-VII (dommages légers à modérés pour les bâtiments).

Renforcement des secousses sismiques par le sous-sol local

Parallèlement à la magnitude et à la distance à l’épicentre, la composition du sous-sol local a une influence importante sur l’ampleur des dommages provoqués par un séisme. C’est ainsi que des alluvions meubles déposées par les cours d’eau et au fond des lacs peuvent renforcer les secousses sismiques, et engendrer ainsi une intensité des mouvements du sol décuplée au fond d’une vallée par rapport au sous-sol rocheux des flancs de celle-ci. Dans le canton des Grisons, l’impact de ce qu’on appelle les effets locaux doit être pris en compte particulièrement dans la vallée du Rhin entre Coire et les communes de la Seigneurie grisonne.

Dangers naturels secondaires induits par les séismes

Les effets des tremblements de terre ne se limitent pas à des secousses qui peuvent endommager directement les bâtiments. Souvent, des dommages supplémentaires sont provoqués par des dangers naturels déclenchés par les séismes. Dans les régions montagneuses, on observe souvent des versants instables : les secousses sismiques peuvent leur faire perdre subitement toute solidité, et entraîner des glissements de terrain ou chutes de pierres pouvant détruire en vallée routes et chemins de fer, ou encore infrastructures de transport d’énergie ou de communication. En hiver, le même impact peut être attendu des avalanches. Comme le montrent les études des tremblements de terre passés, les Grisons sont exposés, de par leurs flancs de vallées abrupts, à ce type de dangers naturels. Ceci doit être pris en compte lors de l’évaluation du risque sismique.