MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Monitoring Software

The Earthquake Monitoring group at the SED operates SeisComP3 for seismic network monitoring, data acquisition, automatic and manual event processing, waveform data and earthquake catalogue archival. SeisComP3 was originally developed at GFZ Potsdam, and is currently maintained by GFZ Potsdam and gempa GmbH. The network migrated to SeisComP3 in October, 2012, following a long-term project to customise the previously global approach to earthquake monitoring to a local approach suitable for Switzerland, that included all the pre-existing features used at the SED. More information here.

Software developed in collaboration with GFZ Potsdam and gempa GmbH include Baer picker option in scautopick, Nonlinloc event locator screloc with 3D velocity model , local magnitude Mlh plugin based on horizontal components and Swiss magnitude relationship. These products are now part of the general release in SeisComP3, and documentation / source code can be found on the SeisComP3 webpages. Our modules are open source. All software we develop that is compatible with the SeisComP3 framework is licenced according to the SED Public Licence for SeisComP3 contributions. Open source code for SC3 in general and the SED developed application is available here. Other software developed more recently that is compatible with the SeisComP3 framework are described below.

scwfparam is a SeisComP3 module that rapidly provides automatic peak ground motion values from earthquakes, and provides input for ShakeMaps and the SED Strong-Motion Portal. scwfparam is also now widely used by other networks, and forms the basis of the ORFEUS RRSM.

A set of 3 modules are now part of the SC3 framework that can be used for Early Warning, implementing the magnitude relations of Virtual Seismologist method.

scenvelope generates real-time envelope values for horizontal and vertical acceleration, velocity and displacement from raw acceleration and velocity waveforms. It was implemented to handle the waveform pre-processing necessary for the scvsmag module. It provides in effect continuous real-time streams of PGA, PGV and PGD values which could also be used independently of scvsmag.

scvsmag listens to new origins from SeisComp (currently from scautoloc), and for a given origin it estimates single station magnitudes and a network magnitude based on the Virtual Seismologist envelope attenuation relationship and ground motion amplitude ratios.

scvsmaglog logs the VS magnitude messages received from scvsmag and, once an event has timed out, generates report files. These report files are saved to disk and can also be sent via email. It also implements an ActiveMQ interface which provides the possibility to send messages to the EEWD, see below.

More information here and here.

The EEWD is a client‐side end‐user software capable of supporting alerts generated by the main EEW algorithms used in Europe, starting with the Virtual Seismologist and the PRobabilistic and Evolutionary early warning SysTem (PRESTo). It is open source, and can be downloaded here. More information here.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Logiciels pour la surveillance des tremblements de terre

Le groupe de surveillance des tremblements de terre du SED exploite SeisComP3 pour le suivi du réseau sismique, l’acquisition des données, le traitement automatique et manuel des évènements, les données de forme d’ondes et l’archivage du catalogue sismique. SeisComP3 a été développé à l’origine au GFZ Potsdam et il est actuellement maintenu par le GFZ Potsdam et gempa GmbH. Le SED a migré vers SeisComP3 en octobre 2012, après un long projet visant à personnaliser l’approche globale initiale de suivi des tremblements de terre pour en faire une approche locale adaptée à la Suisse, ce qui impliquait d’y intégrer toutes les fonctionnalités pré-existantes utilisées au SED. Plus d’informations ici.

Les logiciels développés en collaboration avec le GFZ Potsdam et gempa GmbH comprennent l’option du picker Baer dans scautopick, le localisateur d’évènement NonLinLoc screloc avec modèle 3D de vélocité, et le plugin de magnitude locale Mlh plugin basé sur les relations entre les composantes horizontales et les magnitudes suisses. Ces produits font maintenant partie de la nouvelle version générale de SeisComP3, et la documentation ainsi que les codes sources peuvent être trouvés sur les pages web SeisComP3. Nos modules sont open source. Tous les logiciels que nous développons et qui sont compatibles dans le cadre SeisComP3 sont sous licence publique SED pour les contributions SeisComP3. Les codes open-source de SeisComP3 en général et des applications développées au SED sont disponibles ici. D’autres logiciels développés plus récemment et compatibles avec le cadre SeisComP3 sont décrits ci-après.

scwfparam est un module SeisComP3 qui fournit rapidement des valeurs automatiques de pics de mouvements du sol, afin d’alimenter ShakeMaps et le SED Strong-Motion Portal. scwfparam est également largement utilisé par d’autres réseaux et forme la base d’ORFEUS RRSM.

SeisComP3 comprend maintenant trois modules qui peuvent être utilisés pour l’alerte précoce, basée sur les relations de magnitude de la méthode du sismologue virtuel (VS).

scenvelope génère des valeurs d’enveloppe en temps réel pour les accélérations horizontales et verticales, la vitesse et le déplacement à partir des accélérations brutes et des formes d’onde de vitesse. Il a été utilisé pour le prétraitement des formes d’ondes nécessaires pour le module scvsmag car il fournit des flux continus en temps réel de valeurs de PGA, PGV et PGD, qui peuvent également être utilisées indépendamment de scvsmag.

scvsmag analyse les nouvelles origines issues de SeisComP3 (actuellement de scautoloc), et pour une origine donnée il estime les magnitudes à chaque station et une magnitude de réseau basée sur les relations d’atténuation d’enveloppe et rapports d’amplitude de mouvement du sol du Virtual Seismologist (sismologue virtuel.)

scvsmaglog liste les messages de magnitude VS reçus de scvsmag et, une fois qu’un évènement s’est éteint, génère des fichiers de rapport. Ces fichiers de rapport sont enregistrés sur disques et peuvent également être envoyés par courrier électronique. Il met également en œuvre une interface ActiveMQ qui permet d’envoyer des messages à l’EEWD (voir ci-après).

Plus d’informations ici et ici.

L’EEWD est un logiciel utilisateur client final capable de déclencher des alertes générées par les principaux algorithmes d’alerte précoce utilisés en Europe, notamment le Virtual Seismologist (Sismologue virtuel) et le PRobabilistic and Evolutionary early warning SysTem (PRESTo), (système d’alerte précoce probabiliste et évolutif). Il est open source et peut être téléchargé ici. Plus d’informations ici.