MENU
The page content begins here

Media

Whenever an earthquake occurs in Switzerland, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) immediately informs the authorities, the general public and the media.

Please feel free to submit media queries by e-mail at any time of the day or night, sending them along with your contact details to medien@sed.ethz.ch. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Alternatively, contact Michèle Marti, our Head of Communication.

On request, journalists can receive e-mail announcements of any earthquakes with a magnitude of 3 or above in Switzerland and on its neighbours. These announcements contain information on the place, time and strength of quakes and their potential impact.

These automatically generated earthquake announcements will generally be available within a few minutes. The SED seismologists on duty check the accuracy of each announcement after it has been sent out automatically and will, on rare occasions, make minor corrections. With any automatic system, unfortunately the possibility of false alarms cannot be ruled out altogether.

If interested in receiving these announcements, please send an e-mail to medien@sed.ethz.ch and we will include you on our distribution list.

On this page you will find an archive of all previous earthquake announcements sent out by the SED.

 

Follow us on Twitter and receive an immediate notification when an earthquake with a magnitude of 2.5 or greater has occurred in Switzerland or neighbouring countries.

@seismoCH_E

@seismoCH_D

@seismoCH_F

@seismoCH_I

On our website you can find automatically generated detailed information on current earthquakes in Switzerland and abroad within around 90 seconds of an earthquake, as well as a range of background information about all aspects of earthquakes.

Should any widely felt earthquakes or other major seismic events occur, we produce background reports containing more information as quickly as we can.

The MeteoSwiss-App and Federal Natural Hazards Portal automatically report all earthquakes with an intensity of III or above on the European Macroseismic Scale (EMS-98).

Background information

Earthquakes can neither be accurately predicted nor prevented. Nevertheless, a lot can be learned about them. The Swiss Seismological Service provides a variety of basic materials to learn more about this natural phenomenon.

Research results

Of the approximately 60 employees at the SED, about 40 are active researchers. Their scientific findings form the basis for various information products.

Event analyses

Event analyses are closely linked with information about current research results. In the wake of larger or especially significant earthquakes, scientists at the SED further evaluate the collected data and make the knowledge gained available.

Public events

In order to personally provide a wide audience with knowledge about earthquakes, the SED regularly participates in information and education events, works closely together with the focusTerra museum, or opens its own doors to the public.

Internal communication

All the employees of the SED contribute to the wide range of communication activities. To make sure that we are all talking about the same thing, we seek a lively internal exchange of information. In addition to countless e-mails, regular meetings, and a few events, our internal newsletter – which is published monthly – plays a large role in this regard.

Select the various icons and learn more about the different communication activities by the SED.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Médias

Lorsque la terre tremble en Suisse, Le Service sismologique suisse à l’ETH de Zurich (SED) informe immédiatement les autorités, la population et les médias.

Nous sommes à votre disposition 24/24 pour toute demande de presse par courrier électronique. Vous pouvez nous envoyer vos questions ainsi que vos coordonnées à medien@sed.ethz.ch. Nous vous contacterons aussi rapidement que possible.

Pendant les heures de bureau, vous pouvez également vous adresser directement à Michèle Marti, directrice de la communication.

Les journalistes qui le désirent peuvent recevoir par courrier électronique toutes les annonces des tremblements de terre d’une magnitude de 3 ou plus en Suisse et dans les régions limitrophes. Vous recevrez des informations sur le lieu, le moment, la force et les conséquences éventuelles du séisme.

En règle générale, les annonces de séisme générés automatiquement sont disponibles dans les quelques minutes. Les sismologues de permanence du Service Sismologique Suisse vérifient chacun de ces avis après l’envoi automatique et procèdent, dans de rares cas, à de petites corrections. Dans un système automatisé, le risque de fausse alerte ne peut malheureusement pas être totalement éliminé.

Si vous êtes intéressés par ces annonces de tremblements de terre, envoyez-nous un message à medien@sed.ethz.ch. Nous serons heureux de vous ajouter à la liste de distribution.

Sur cette page vous trouverez une archive de toutes les annonces du SED envoyées à ce jour.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter et soyez informé en direct de la survenue de tremblements de terre d’une magnitude supérieure ou égale à 2.5 en Suisse ou dans les régions limitrophes.

@seismoCH_F

@seismoCH_D

@seismoCH_I

@seismoCH_E

En l’espace de 90 secondes environ après un séisme, vous trouverez sur notre site Internet des données détaillées et établies automatiquement sur les séismes récemment survenus en Suisse et à l’étranger, ainsi que de nombreuses informations générales concernant le thème des séismes.

Dans le cas de tremblements de terre perçus à grande échelle, ou d’autres événements sismiques d’importance, nous rédigeons aussi rapidement que possible des rapports contextuels avec des informations supplémentaires.

Tous les séismes à partir d’une intensité de III sur l’Échelle macrosismique européenne sont automatiquement représentés sur l’app de MétéoSuisse et le portail des dangers naturels de la Confédération.

Informations générales

Il est impossible de prédire avec précision les séismes ou de les éviter. On peut néanmoins se renseigner à leur sujet. Le Service Sismologique Suisse propose un grand nombre de documents de référence pour mieux connaître ce phénomène naturel.

Résultats de la recherche

Sur près de 60 collaborateurs que compte le SED, environ 40 sont des chercheurs. Leurs connaissances scientifiques sont au fondement de nos différents documents d’information.

Analyses d’événements sismiques

Les analyses d’événements sismiques sont étroitement liées à notre offre d’informations autour des résultats de la recherche actuelle. Suite à des séismes de magnitude importante ou particulièrement significatifs, les chercheurs du SED exploitent les données récoltées et rendent accessibles les connaissances ainsi acquises.

Evénements publics

Pour présenter à un large public les connaissances tournant autour des séismes, le SED participe à de nombreux événements et à des formations, travaillant en étroite collaboration avec le musée focusTerra et ouvrant régulièrement ses portes.

Communication interne

Tous les collaborateurs du SED contribuent aux différentes activités de communication. Pour parler d’une seule voix, nous nous efforçons de cultiver un vif échange interne. A cette fin, nous échangeons d’innombrables mails, nous nous rencontrons régulièrement et nous organisons des manifestations. Surtout, nous disposons d’une newsletter interne mensuelle.

Sélectionnez les différentes icônes et apprenez-en plus sur les activités de communication du SED.