MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake-Resistant Construction

Earthquake-resistant construction offers the best protection against the consequences of serious seismic activity. Its prime objective is to prevent buildings from collapsing and thereby avoid injuries and fatalities. Furthermore, it seeks to help keep buildings working in the event of an earthquake and limit subsequent damage, caused by fire for example.

'Strong' earthquakes, with an intensity of around VI and above on the Mercalli scale can be expected to cause damage. The probability of such an event occurring within the next century in Switzerland is estimated at roughly 75%.

Many buildings in Switzerland are inadequately protected against earthquakes. The main reasons for this are a lack of regulations on earthquake mitigation at the time they were built and / or insufficient compliance with seismic safety requirements concerning construction. For new buildings, these requirements are set out in Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects (SIA) standards starting from number 261; converted or renovated buildings are covered by SIA Information Sheet 2018.

Construction in Switzerland is governed by cantonal legislation, with some building codes explicitly requiring compliance with applicable standards set by the SIA. In addition, some cantons impose earthquake-related requirements when granting planning permission.

Source: FOEN "Erdbebensichere Neubauten" (17.02.2015)

New constructions have to be designed as earthquake-resistant and planned and erected in close cooperation between architects and engineers working to applicable SIA standards.

Since the introduction in 2003 of the SIA's current structural design standards for new buildings (SIA 260 and subsequent standards), all building owners have been able to design and plan structural systems to comply with modern earthquake regulations and thereby guarantee  a high degree of safety. How well a building is designed, assessed, surveyed, engineered and constructed will largely determine its seismic safety and vulnerability to earthquake damage. If architects and structural engineers collaborate closely on these safety aspects of the building, the costs incurred to meet earthquake specifications will total less than 1% of the overall cost of construction.

Earthquake-Resistant Design

Close cooperation between architects and structural engineers in the early stages of a construction project is extremely important when planning an earthquake-resistant building, because it ensures an optimal combination of architectural considerations and seismic safety features. If a building is to withstand an earthquake, it must have a robust supporting framework to reduce horizontal earthquake loads. To this end, reinforcing structural components (such as walls or trusses) must extend over the full height of the building right down to the foundations, be as symmetrical as possible and be frictionally connected to its ceilings.

In addition to taking account of the building's load-bearing structure, an earthquake-resistant design must also consider the seismic safety of non-load-bearing components, installations and fittings like facades, partition walls, suspended ceilings, raised floors, heavy appliances and pipework.

Key parameters

The earthquake risk and importance of a building are determined according to three key parameters in the current standard SIA 261 (Actions on Structures).

  • Earthquake Zone

A region assumed to have a uniform hazard level. The relative influence on standards-compliant earthquake actions ranges from 1.0 (Zone 1) to 2.7 (Zone 3b).

  • Subsoil Category

The classification of local subsoil into one of six defined 6 categories, from A to F, based on its potential for amplifying earthquake effects.

  • Building Class

The categorisation of a building into one of three defined classes depending on their importance and damage potential. The relative influence on standards-compliant earthquake actions ranges from 1.0 (building class I) to 1.4 (building class III).

Links:
  • FOEN Fact Sheet "Erdbebengerechte Neubauten in der Schweiz - Worauf es ankommt – und warum"
  • FOEN Report "Seismic Conceptual Design of Buildings. Basic Principles for Engineers, Architects, Building Owners and Authorities"
Source: FOEN "Erdbebensichere Umbauten, Instandsetzungen" (17.02.2015)

Plans for conversion or renovation work provide an opportunity to ascertain whether the building's seismic safety needs to be verified. The checks this involves will determine if the building is sufficiently earthquake-resistant or whether seismic safety measures need to be incorporated into the construction work.

Many existing buildings in Switzerland are inadequately protected against earthquakes, compared with today's requirements applicable to new buildings. The main reason for this is a lack of regulations on earthquake mitigation at the time they were built and / or insufficient compliance with the seismic safety requirements concerning construction work. Such buildings could face the risk of collapsing and suffer considerable damage from even a relatively weak earthquake.

Consequently, whenever planning conversion or renovation work, a structural engineer should be brought in early on to check the building's earthquake resistance and recommend or impose any seismic safety measures. The relevant factors here are the type and extent of the planned work, any suspicion of low resistance to earthquakes, the sum of money being invested, the value of the building and its remaining useful life. A check should be performed in good time to ensure that any required measures can be properly incorporated into the planned (re)construction work.

Expert verification based on SIA Fact Sheet 2018 on the examination of existing buildings with regard to earthquakes will ascertain any design faults or structural defects and determine the so-called compliance factor αeff by performing the appropriate calculations. The compliance factor describes the extent to which the inspected building meets seismic safety requirements according to applicable standards on load-bearing structures. A factor of 1.0 indicates full compliance with the respective requirements. To guarantee personal safety, SIA Fact Sheet 2018 stipulates a minimum compliance factor of 0.25 (0.4 for class III buildings like acute care hospitals or fire brigade facilities).

  • A compliance factor of < 0.25 (or 0.4 for class III buildings) indicates inadequate earthquake-resistance.

This being the case, measures have to be taken to meet the minimum requirements for existing buildings, which is the case when the compliance factor reaches a value of 0.25 (or 0.4 for class III buildings).

  • A compliance factor of between 0.25 (or 0.4 for class III buildings) and 1.0 indicates deficient earthquake-resistance.

Here, further improvements should be made if a cost-benefit analysis demonstrates that the associated measures would represent a proportionate expense. In principle, an attempt should be made to meet the standards applicable to new buildings. Should this be unattainable, at least the furthest-reaching cost-effective measures should be implemented.

  • A compliance factor ≥ 1.0 indicates a level of earthquake-resistance that meets current standards.

In this scenario, no action is required because the requirements applicable to new buildings have been fully met.

If earthquake-resistance is deemed inadequate or deficient, appropriate seismic safety measures are to be drawn up and assessed for their cost-effectiveness. The expense associated with potential structural or operational measures will vary widely, depending on the situation in question. Synergies with planned construction will positively impact cost-effectiveness.

Links
  • FOEN Fact Sheet "Ist unser Gebäude genügend erdbebensicher? Wann eine Überprüfung und eine Verbesserung sinnvoll sind – und warum"
  • FOEN Report "Seismic Retrofitting of Structures - Strategies and Collection of Examples in Switzerland"
Source: FOEN "Erdbebengerechte nicht strukturelle Bauteile, Installationen und Einrichtungen" (17.02.2015)

Earthquakes can severely damage non-load-bearing components, installations and fittings. Consequently, it makes sense to ensure the seismic safety of such elements. However, if secondary components or fixed installations pose a threat to personal safety or endanger the building's supporting framework or the operation of key systems or facilities, the requirements of SIA standard 261 apply.

Non-load-bearing components, installations and fittings can often cause extensive damage in an earthquake. Whether or not they remain intact after a quake can play a decisive role in determining if a building can continue to function. Features such as partition walls, pipework, suspended ceilings, ventilation shafts, lighting, lift systems, façade components, tanks, emergency power supply facilities and furnishings are all particularly vulnerable.

The current version of SIA standard 261 stipulates that components and fittings that could jeopardise personal safety, damage the building's supporting framework or endanger the operation of key facilities should be targeted for special treatment. In practice, in many instances there are simple, inexpensive ways of attaching non-load-bearing components, installations and fittings in a way that affords better protection in the event of an earthquake.

Seismic Design

Seismic Conceptual Design of Buildings – Basic principles for engineers, architects, building owners, and authorities

Download Report

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Construction parasismique

La construction parasismique selon offre la meilleure protection face aux conséquences d’un tremblement de terre. Son objectif principal est d'éviter l'effondrement d'un bâtiment, et donc les victimes et les blessés. En outre, elle aide si possible à préserver les fonctionnalités du bâtiment en cas de tremblement de terre, et à limiter les dommages consécutifs, par exemple provoqués par les incendies.

À partir d'une intensité de VI, des dommages sont susceptibles de se produire sur les bâtiments. On peut attendre un tel évènement avec une probabilité d'environ 75 % en Suisse dans les cent prochaines années.

Pourtant, de nombreux bâtiments présentent en Suisse une sécurité insuffisante contre les tremblements de terre. La raison en est l'absence de directives à l'époque de la construction, ou bien une conformité insuffisante aux exigences parasismiques. En Suisse, les exigences de construction parasismique sont indiquées dans les normes SIA 261 et suivantes, et pour les transformations dans le cahier technique SIA 2018.

En Suisse, ce sont les législations cantonales qui règlent la construction de bâtiments. Certaines demandent explicitement le respect des normes de la Société suisse des ingénieurs et des architectes SIA en vigueur. En outre, quelques cantons imposent des règles parasismiques spécifiques dans le cadre de la procédure de permis de construire.

Source : OFEV « Nouvelles constructions parasismiques » (17.02.2015)

Les nouvelles constructions doivent être projetées, conçues et bâties, conformément aux prescriptions parasismiques des normes SIA en vigueur, et ceci en collaboration étroite entre l’architecte et l’ingénieur.

Depuis l'introduction, en 2003, des normes SIA 260 et suivantes sur les structures porteuses pour les nouvelles constructions, tous les maîtres d'ouvrages sont en mesure de concevoir et dimensionner des structures porteuses selon des prescriptions parasismiques modernes, leur conférant ainsi un haut niveau de sécurité. La conception, les calculs, le dimensionnement, les détails constructifs et la qualité de l'exécution déterminent la sécurité sismique et la vulnérabilité d'un ouvrage. Si ces aspects sont traités en étroite collaboration entre l'architecte et l'ingénieur civil, le respect des prescriptions parasismiques coûte moins de 1 pour cent du coût total de la construction.

Conception parasismique

Pour concevoir un ouvrage apte à résister aux tremblements de terre, il est essentiel que l'architecte et l'ingénieur civil collaborent étroitement d'emblée, afin de concilier au mieux les impératifs architecturaux et parasismiques. La tenue au séisme exige une structure porteuse robuste, à même de reprendre les sollicitations sismiques horizontales. Les éléments de contreventement prévus à cet effet (p. ex. parois de refend ou treillis) doivent être continus des fondations jusqu'au sommet du bâtiment et disposés le plus symétriquement possible. Ils sont à relier aux planchers de manière solidaire.

La conception parasismique inclut aussi la sécurisation des éléments de construction, installations et équipements qui ne font pas partie de la structure porteuse, comme les façades, les cloisons, les plafonds suspendus, les faux-planchers, les appareils lourds et les conduites.

Termes et paramètres importants des normes SIA

L'aléa sismique et l'importance d'un ouvrage sont déterminés par trois paramètres importants dans la norme SIA 261 actuellement en vigueur.

  • Zone sismique

Région dans laquelle le degré de l'aléa sismique est considéré comme homogène. L'influence de ce paramètre sur les sollicitations sismiques définies par la norme varie entre 1,0 (zone 1) et 2,7 (zone 3b). 

  • Classe de sol de fondation

Le sol de fondation local est associé à l’une des six classes A à F, selon sa propension à amplifier les sollicitations sismiques.

  • Classe d'ouvrage (CO)

L'ouvrage est associé à l’une des trois classes d'ouvrage en fonction de son importance et des dommages potentiels qu'il représente. L'influence de ce paramètre sur les sollicitations sismiques définies par la norme varie entre 1,0 (CO I) et 1,4 (CO III).

Liens
  • Fiche d'information OFEV « Construire parasismique en Suisse - pourquoi et comment ? »
  • Rapport OFEV « Conception parasismique des bâtiments - Principes de base à l'attention des ingénieurs, architectes, maîtres d'ouvrage et autorités.»

Source : OFEV « Transformations et réfections » (17.02.2015)

Une transformation ou une réfection planifiée donne l’occasion de clarifier s’il est opportun de faire une vérification de la sécurité sismique. Le but de cette vérification est de déterminer si la sécurité sismique de la construction concernée est suffisante ou si des mesures d’intervention doivent être étudiées.

Bien des bâtiments construits en Suisse ont une sécurité sismique insuffisante en regard des exigences imposées aux nouveaux ouvrages. Les raisons sont souvent l'inexistence ou la non-application des prescriptions au moment de la construction. Ces bâtiments risquent de s'effondrer ou de subir d'importants dommages déjà lors de séismes d'assez faible intensité.

Lorsqu'une transformation ou une réfection est planifiée, il faut établir suffisamment tôt avec un ingénieur civil s'il est judicieux, voire nécessaire, de vérifier la sécurité sismique de la construction concernée. Les facteurs déterminants sont notamment la nature et l'ampleur des travaux  envisagés, le soupçon d'une sécurité sismique faible, le montant de l'investissement prévu, la valeur du bâtiment et sa durée d'utilisation restante. La vérification de la sécurité sismique devrait être réalisée assez tôt pour que l'intervention éventuellement nécessaire puisse être intégrée à temps dans le projet.

Lors d'une vérification réalisée dans les règles de l'art, conformément au cahier technique SIA 2018 « Vérification de la sécurité parasismique des bâtiments existants », les défauts relatifs à la conception et à la construction qui  péjorent la sécurité sismique sont relevés et documentés. Puis le facteur αeff, dit ‘de conformité’, est déterminé au terme de la vérification de la sécurité structurale. Le facteur de conformité décrit dans quelle mesure le bâtiment examiné répond aux exigences de sécurité sismique des normes actuelles sur les structures porteuses. S'il atteint ou dépasse la valeur 1,0, elles sont entièrement satisfaites. D'après le cahier technique SIA 2018, la sécurité des personnes requiert un facteur de conformité au moins égal à 0,25 (0,40 pour les bâtiments de la classe d'ouvrage CO III, comme les hôpitaux accueillant les urgences ou les bâtiments de sapeurs-pompiers).

  • Si le facteur de conformité est inférieur à 0,25 (0,40 pour la CO III), la sécurité sismique est insuffisante.

Il faut impérativement prendre des mesures pour répondre aux exigences minimales imposées aux bâtiments existants. Elles sont satisfaites lorsque le facteur de conformité atteint une valeur de 0,25 (0,40 pour la CO III).

  • Si le facteur de conformité vaut entre 0,25 (0,40 pour la CO III) et 1,0, la sécurité sismique est déficiente.

La sécurité sismique doit être encore améliorée  si le rapport entre le coût et l'utilité de l'intervention montre qu'elle est proportionnée. Le but est d'atteindre le niveau imposé par les normes aux nouveaux bâtiments. Si cela n'est pas possible, il faut au moins réaliser l'intervention améliorant le plus la sécurité sismique tout en restant proportionnée.

  • Si le facteur de conformité est supérieur ou égal à 1,0, la sécurité sismique est suffisante d'après les normes en vigueur.

Les exigences imposées aux nouveaux bâtiments sont entièrement satisfaites. Aucune intervention n'est nécessaire.

Si la sécurité sismique est insuffisante ou déficiente, il faut proposer une intervention visant à l'améliorer, en s'assurant qu'elle soit proportionnée. Le coût des mesures portant sur la construction ou sur l'exploitation varie largement d'un cas à l'autre. Les synergies avec d'autres travaux  prévus  ont en général une incidence favorable sur la proportionnalité de l'intervention.

Liens
  • Fiche d'information OFEV « Notre bâtiment est-il suffisamment résistant aux séismes ? Vérifier et améliorer la sécurité parasismique : quand et pourquoi ? »
  • Rapport OFEV « Confortement parasismique de constructions - Stratégie et recueil d’exemples en Suisse »
Source : OFEV « Eléments non structuraux, installations et équipements parasismiques » (17.02.2015)

Les tremblements de terre sont susceptibles d’infliger d’importants dégâts aux éléments de construction, installations et équipements qui ne font pas partie de la structure porteuse. Il est donc nécessaire de les fixer de manière à ce qu’ils résistent aux secousses. Les prescriptions de la norme SIA 261 s’appliquent lorsque des éléments de construction secondaires ou des équipements fixes menacent des personnes, la structure porteuse d’un ouvrage ou le fonctionnement d’une installation importante.

De manière générale, les éléments de construction, les installations et les équipements qui ne font pas partie de la structure porteuse sont susceptibles de causer des dommages considérables lors d'un tremblement de terre. Le fonctionnement d'un bâtiment exige souvent qu'ils restent intacts à l'issue d'un séisme. Les cloisons, les conduites, les plafonds suspendus, les gaines de ventilation, les systèmes d'éclairage, les ascenseurs, les éléments de façade, les citernes, les composants de l'alimentation électrique de secours et le mobilier, entre autres, peuvent être facilement endommagés en cas de tremblement de terre.

Conformément à la norme SIA 261, il faut en particulier sécuriser les éléments de construction et les équipements fixes qui risquent de blesser des personnes, d'endommager la structure porteuse ou d'entraver le fonctionnement d'un dispositif important. Il existe pour beaucoup de cas pratiques des solutions simples et bon marché pour fixer ces composants non structuraux de manière à ce qu'ils soient bien assurés lors de secousses sismiques.