The page content begins here

Independence and Transparency

The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich is the federal agency for earthquakes. The SED is responsible for monitoring earthquakes in Switzerland and neighbouring countries and for assessing Switzerland’s seismic hazard. The role of the SED – to warn the population and inform the authorities – was defined in the context of both the Federal Council ruling on the optimization of early warning and alerting of natural hazards (OWARNA) and the revised ordinance on issuing warnings and raising the alarm (Alarm Ordinance).

In order to perform these fundamental national tasks, ETH Zurich receives financing via the federal financing contribution, pursuant to Article 34b of the FIT Act. The SED regularly applies for funding from promotion agencies such as the Swiss National Science Foundation or the EU framework programs in order to carry out scientific research projects. In addition to this, the SED also acts as a partner to various public bodies (federal offices, cantonal and local authorities) in conducting seismic risk analysis and monitoring projects that are partly regulated and financed by specific mandates. The SED’s expertise means it is also frequently requested to act as a partner on certain projects in the private economic sector.

The broad spectrum of the SED’s activities includes services to society, academic teaching and research, transfer of knowledge, and specialized advisory services for authorities and the private economic sector. This wide range of functions is based on both the SED’s role as the official federal agency responsible for monitoring earthquakes and as the leading research institute in this field, and is consistent with the tradition and aims of ETH Zurich. However, as well as advantages and synergies, this also involves the potential for conflicts of interest and accusations of bias. Both the SED and ETH Zurich have implemented the following measures in order to avoid any potential role conflicts wherever possible. These are aimed at defining and, where appropriate, limiting mandates clearly, presenting these transparently, and communicating them openly.


The SED provides information about all its mandates, and the understanding of its role in these mandates, in a transparent manner. All data acquired is made available for public access. The SED provides extensive information, proactively and without limitation, in the event of any potentially perceptible seismic event, and also provides background information.

Peer review

Relevant findings are published in scientific journals and as such are subject to a peer review process. This means that all statements made by the SED are based on published and scientifically accountable findings as far as possible.


The SED is a nondepartmental entity according to Article 61 of the Organization Ordinance of ETH Zurich (RSETHZ 201.021) and reports directly to the ETH Vice President Research and Corporate Relations (VPFW). An advisory board made up of carefully selected professors supports the VPFW in determining the strategic focus of the SED.

Mandate selection

The SED primarily gives support to the national, cantonal, and local supervisory authorities. Services are only provided to the industrial sector if these do not impact the independence of the SED in any way. If in doubt, the director of the SED will consult the VPFW and the SED advisory board. The director of the SED is an appointed full professor of ETH Zurich; the director and his/her employees are subject to the regulations of ETH Zurich regarding integrity and ethics in study and research – in particular, the Guidelines for Research Integrity and Good Scientific Practice at ETH Zurich (RSETHZ 414).

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Indépendance et transparence

Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l’ETH de Zurich est le service compétent de la Confédération en matière de tremblements de terre. Il surveille pour le compte de cette dernière l’activité sismique de la Suisse et des régions limitrophes et évalue l’aléa sismique en Suisse. Le rôle du SED consiste à avertir la population et à informer les autorités. Il a été défini dans le contexte de l’arrêté du Conseil fédéral sur l’optimisation de l’alerte et de la transmission de l’alarme en cas de danger naturel (OWARNA) et de la refonte de l’ordonnance sur l’alerte et l’alarme (ordonnance sur l’alarme).

Ces tâches fondamentales trouvent leur financement dans la contribution de la Confédération à l’ETH de Zurich (article 34b de la loi sur les EPF). Pour les projets de recherche scientifique, le SED est régulièrement candidat au financement des agences de promotion telles que le Fonds national suisse ou les programmes-cadre de l’UE. Parallèlement, le SED est également partenaire de différentes autorités publiques (offices fédéraux, autorités cantonales et locales) pour des projets d’évaluation des risques sismiques ainsi que de surveillance, lesquels sont en partie réglés et financés par des mandats spécifiques. Son expertise fait du SED un partenaire très sollicité pour différents projets ayant trait à l’économie privée.

Le large éventail d’activités du SED comprend le service à la société, l’enseignement et la recherche académiques, le transfert de connaissances ainsi que le conseil technique aux autorités et à l’économie privée. Cette diversité, qui se fonde sur le rôle du SED de service spécialisé de la Confédération et de premier institut de recherche dans le domaine des séismes, est cohérente avec la tradition et les objectifs de l’ETH de Zurich. En marge des avantages et des synergies, elle représente également un risque potentiel de conflits d’intérêts et d’accusations de partialité. Le SED et l’ETH de Zurich ont pris les mesures suivantes afin d’éviter autant que possible les conflits de rôles. Ils ont ainsi pour objectif de définir clairement les mandats, de les limiter le cas échéant, de les présenter de manière transparente et enfin de les communiquer de façon ouverte.

Transparence

C’est avec transparence que le SED fournit des informations sur ses mandats et la conception de son rôle à cet égard. Les données recueillies sont rendues accessibles au public. Le SED offre des informations sans restriction en cas d’événements sismiques potentiellement significatifs, et ce de façon proactive et détaillée. Il tient également à la disposition du public de nombreuses informations de fond.

Peer review

Les résultats pertinents sont publiés dans des revues scientifiques et sont par conséquent soumis à un processus de peer review. Les déclarations du SED reposent donc autant que possible sur des résultats publiés et scientifiquement compréhensibles.

Surveillance

Comme le veut l’article 61 de l’ordonnance d’organisation de l’ETH de Zurich (RSETHZ 201.021), le SED, en tant que unité extradépartementale, est directement subordonné au Vice-président pour la recherche et les relations économiques de l’ETH de Zurich (VPFW). Un conseil de professeurs sélectionnés soutient le VPFW dans la définition de l’orientation stratégique du SED.

Sélection du mandat

Le SED soutient en premier lieu les autorités de surveillance nationales, cantonales et locales. Les services à l’industrie ne sont pris en charge que s’ils ne portent pas atteinte l’indépendance du SED. En cas de doute, le directeur du SED consulte le VPFW ainsi que le conseil du SED. Le directeur du SED est un professeur ordinaire nommé de l’ETH de Zurich; ses collègues et lui sont tenus de respecter les règles de l’ETH sur l’intégrité et l’éthique dans le cadre de l’enseignement et de la recherche (particulièrement la «directive pour l’intégrité de la recherche et la bonne pratique scientifique à l’ETH de Zurich», RSETHZ 414).