MENU
The page content begins here

Swiss Seismological Service (SED)

The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich is the federal agency for earthquakes. Its activities are integrated in the federal action plan for earthquake precaution.

Felt Earthquakes in Switzerland

Local Time
Mag.
Location
Felt?
2019-01-19 04:01 2.6 Davos GR Slightly felt
2019-01-15 00:03 4.6 Northern Italy Widely felt
2019-01-10 19:42 2.9 Merano I Probably not felt
2018-12-29 09:29 2.9 Fribourg FR Felt

Latest Earthquakes

Local Time
Magnitude
Location
2019-01-23 04:11 0.4 Courmayeur I
2019-01-23 02:08 0.9 Courmayeur I
2019-01-22 22:02 0.3 Courmayeur I
2019-01-22 20:50 0.2 Sanetschpass VS

Swiss Earthquakes Counter

since 01.01.2019 
000

Recent earthquakes magnitude 4.5 or greater

Time (UTC)
Mag.
Region
2019-01-22 20:12:07 4.8 Dodecanese Islands, Greece
2019-01-20 15:49:50 4.9 Eastern Mediterranean Sea
2019-01-17 03:36:33 4.5 SOUTHERN GREECE
2019-01-16 22:44:10 4.8 NORWEGIAN SEA
2019-01-15 01:25:04 4.5 GREECE
2019-01-15 00:56:19 4.5 Iran-Iraq border region
2019-01-14 23:03:56 4.6 Northern Italy
2019-01-14 18:18:01 4.6 IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION
2019-01-10 18:24:41 4.8 CRETE, GREECE
2019-01-10 17:30:14 4.8 Ionian Sea
2019-01-06 14:15:15 4.8 IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION
2019-01-06 13:41:58 5.7 IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION
2019-01-04 19:27:38 4.8 Albania

Recent earthquakes magnitude 6 or greater

UTC Time
Magnitude
Location
2019-01-22 19:01:43 6.7 Prince Edward Islands, South Africa, region
2019-01-22 05:10:03 6.4 Sumba, Indonesia, region
2019-01-21 23:59:22 6.0 Sumba, Indonesia, region
2019-01-20 01:32:51 6.7 Near coast of central Chile
2019-01-18 16:40:42 6.0 Northern East Pacific Rise
2019-01-18 13:18:32 6.0 Vanuatu Islands
2019-01-17 15:06:35 6.2 Bismarck Sea
2019-01-15 18:06:34 6.6 Vanuatu Islands
NEWS

2019-01-17

Experiment investigates how faulted rock retains CO2

Experiment investigates how faulted rock retains CO2

In order to achieve the ambitious UN climate targets, it is not enough to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. As a complementary option, one can capture CO2 directly from industrial production or from the atmosphere and store it permanently in the deep underground. For enabling so-called negative emissions, sequestrated CO2 needs to be safely retained for centuries. Once injected into a reservoir, CO2 may escape again in two ways: through existing boreholes or through existing faults in the rock above the reservoir meant to seal it. Faults in this caprock may not only influence the long-term containment of CO2. They are also the place, where earthquakes may occur.

Currently, the physical and chemical parameters governing leakage through faults, and the effects of rock deformation and chemical interactions leading to induced seismicity, are not fully understood. There is further limited knowledge on Swiss-specific conditions, making it difficult to judge to what extent underground CO2 storage could be an option in this country. This is why scientists from the Swiss Seismological Service at ETH Zurich and the SCCER-SoE are conducting an experiment, in collaboration with the Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering and the Institute of Geophysics at ETH Zurich as well as Swisstopo and EPFL. The experiment is taking place at the Mont Terri rock laboratory and part of the ELEGANCY project funded by the European Commission and the Swiss Federal Office of Energy.

Scientists will investigate how CO2 migrates withing a rock with faults, under what circumstances induced seismicity may occur, and how such a storage should be monitored best. Therefore, they will inject small amounts of CO2-enriched saltwater into a borehole that cuts through a small fault zone. To study how the fault zone reacts to the CO2 injected, they will observe the stability of the rock and analyse the coupling between fault slip, pore pressure, and fluid migration. Active and passive seismic sensors will monitor the variations of seismic velocities around the injection and register possible micro-earthquakes with magnitudes below zero.

In contrast to a full-scale CO2 storage project, this experiment only investigates the relevant processes with small amounts of CO2-enriched saltwater. Nonetheless, its findings will contribute to a better understanding of the relevant processes influencing the migration of CO2 in faults. Thereby, the experiment will also contribute to an enhanced site characterization. Worldwide, about twenty CO2 storage projects are already in operation, each sequestering up to three million tons of CO2 per year, and numerous plants are in the planning. In Switzerland, there is currently no CO2 storage project planned. 

Learn more about the ELEGANCY project:

www.sintef.no/elegancy/

www.sccer-soe.ch/research/pilots-demos/elegancy/

2018-12-29

Weak Earthquake near Fribourg

Weak Earthquake near Fribourg

On 29 December 2018 at 9:30 a weak earthquake with a magnitude of 2.9 was observed between Fribourg and Düdingen. The event was mainly felt in these two municipalities, but the Swiss Seismological Service at ETH Zurich also received felt reports also from other places within a radius of roughly 15 km. Damages are not expected due to such an event.

The region of Fribourg is well known for weak and shallow earthquakes. In the past numerous similar events were detected every year. However they are typically too weak to be felt by the public.

2018-12-19

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

This year's Christmas wreath is decorated with red and orange berries. They show the location of the earthquakes with a magnitude of 2 or greater recorded by the national seismic network from January to November 2018.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

2018-11-26

InSight landed on Mars!

InSight landed on Mars!

On 26 November 2018 the time had come: InSight successfully landed on the Elysium plain. This was not an easy task. It was only possible thanks to technologies that had been tried and tested in earlier missions and played together perfectly. The InSight mission had to overcome additional difficulties: Compared to other Mars missions, it entered the atmosphere with a slower velocity, was heavier, landed at a higher point and at a meteorologically less favourable time due to a high risk of sandstorms. Beginning from the entry into the atmosphere, the entire landing took six minutes. By this time, the mission had already covered a distance of approximately 483 million kilometres and spent 205 days in space.

The successful landing is an important milestone in fulfilling the scientific objectives of the mission. We are particularly interested in the origin and development of Mars and its inner structure. We can therefore hardly wait until the seismometer is set down on the surface of Mars and the first measurement data arrives, which we will then immediately evaluate together with researchers from the Institute of Geophysics. InSight is thus also the start of a new era: For the first time, scientific data on the before-mentioned topics will be collected and the first results will be awaited with anticipation. First marsquake measurements are expected for early January if everything goes according to plan.

Have you missed it? Watch the landing here.

TOPICS

Earthquake

Help, the Earth Is Shaking!

Help, the Earth Is Shaking!

Earthquakes are inevitable, but the damage they may be expected to cause can be mitigated in relatively simple ways. Find out the recommended behaviour before, during and after a powerful earthquake.

Learn more

Knowledge

Earthquake Country Switzerland

Earthquake Country Switzerland

Switzerland experiences between 1'000 and 1'500 earthquakes a year. Swiss citizens actually feel somewhere between 10 and 20 quakes a year, usually those with a magnitude of 2.5 or above. Based on the long-term average, 23 quakes with a magnitude of 2.5 or above occur every year. Find out more about the natural hazards with the greatest damage-causing potential in Switzerland.

Learn more

Alerting

Always Informed

Always Informed

If you want to be kept informed at all times, here you will find an overview of the various information services provided by the Swiss Seismological Service (SED).

Learn more

Knowledge

Earthquake Hazard

Earthquake Hazard

In Switzerland, earthquakes are the natural hazard with the greatest potential for causing damage. They cannot currently be prevented or reliably predicted. But, thanks to extensive research, much is now known about how often and how intensely the earth could shake at a given location in the future. Consult a variety of different maps using our interactive web tool to find out how likely certain earthquakes are in Switzerland.

Learn more

Research & Teaching

Fields of Research

Fields of Research

We are often asked what staff at the SED do when no earthquakes are occurring. The answer is they conduct research in a variety of fields, constituting SED's main scientific activities described in our research field section.

Learn more

 

About Us

Swiss Seismological Service (SED)

Swiss Seismological Service (SED)

The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich is the federal agency responsible for monitoring earthquakes in Switzerland and its neighboring countries and for assessing Switzerland’s seismic hazard. When an earthquake happens, the SED informs the public, authorities, and the media about the earthquake’s location, magnitude, and possible consequences. The activities of the SED are integrated in the federal action plan for earthquake precaution.

Learn more

Earthquakes

Earthquake Monitoring

Earthquake Monitoring

Around 10 to 20 times a year you will hear or read about an earthquake occurring in Switzerland. However, the vast majority of quakes recorded by the SED go unnoticed by the general public because they fall below the threshold of human perception and can only be detected by sensitive measuring devices. The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) operates a network of more than 150 seismic stations across Switzerland.

Learn more

Research and Teaching

Products and Software

Products and Software

Go to our Products page for access to seismic data and various apps.

Learn more

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Service Sismologique Suisse (SED)

Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l'ETH de Zurich est l’institution fédérale compétente en matière de tremblements de terre. Ses activités sont intégrées dans le programme de mesures pour la mitigation des séismes de la Confédération.

Séismes ressentis en Suisse

Heure locale
Mag.
Localité
Ressenti?
2019-01-19 04:01 2.6 Davos GR Légèrement ressenti
2019-01-15 00:03 4.6 Northern Italy Largement ressenti
2019-01-10 19:42 2.9 Merano I Probablement pas ressenti
2018-12-29 09:29 2.9 Fribourg FR Ressenti

Séismes récents

Heure locale
Magnitude
Localité
2019-01-22 02:29 1.5 Chamonix F
2019-01-21 23:21 1.3 Courmayeur I
2019-01-21 14:43 0.8 Courmayeur I
2019-01-21 10:05 1.0 Courmayeur I

Compteur de séismes Suisse

depuis
01.01.2019 
000

Séismes récents magnitude 4.5 ou supérieure

Heure UTC
Magnitude
Localité
2019-01-20 15:49:50 4.9 Eastern Mediterranean Sea
2019-01-17 03:36:33 4.5 SOUTHERN GREECE
2019-01-16 22:44:10 4.8 NORWEGIAN SEA
2019-01-15 01:25:04 4.5 GREECE
2019-01-15 00:56:19 4.5 Iran-Iraq border region
2019-01-14 23:03:56 4.6 Northern Italy
2019-01-14 18:18:01 4.6 IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION
2019-01-10 18:24:41 4.8 CRETE, GREECE
2019-01-10 17:30:14 4.8 Ionian Sea
2019-01-06 14:15:15 4.8 IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION
2019-01-06 13:41:58 5.7 IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION
2019-01-04 19:27:38 4.8 Albania
2019-01-01 11:40:05 4.8 Crete, Greece

Séismes récents magnitude 6 ou supérieure

Heure UTC
Magnitude
Localité
2019-01-21 23:59:22 6.0 Sumba, Indonesia, region
2019-01-20 01:32:51 6.7 Near coast of central Chile
2019-01-18 16:40:42 6.0 Northern East Pacific Rise
2019-01-18 13:18:32 6.0 Vanuatu Islands
2019-01-17 15:06:35 6.2 Bismarck Sea
2019-01-15 18:06:34 6.6 Vanuatu Islands
2019-01-08 12:39:31 6.3 Kyushu, Japan
2019-01-06 17:27:20 6.6 Northern Molucca Sea
ACTUALITÉS

17/01/2019

Une expérience permet d’étudier l’efficacité de la séquestration du CO2 dans une roche faillée

Une expérience permet d’étudier l’efficacité de la séquestration du CO2 dans une roche faillée

Pour atteindre les objectifs ambitieux de l’ONU sur les changements climatiques, il ne suffit pas de diminuer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Une option complémentaire consiste à capturer le CO2 directement lors de la production industrielle ou dans l’atmosphère, et de le séquestrer durablement dans le sous-sol profond. Ces « émissions négatives » ne peuvent cependant être obtenues que si le CO2 capturé reste stocké pour des siècles. Une fois injecté dans le réservoir, le CO2 pourrait s’échapper de deux manières : le long d'une forage existante, ou à travers des zones faillées de la roche. Une couverture rocheuse supérieure intacte est importante pour étanchéifier le réservoir. Les zones faillées de la roche de couverture, pouvant être activées par l’injection, influencent non seulement l’efficacité à long terme de la séquestration du CO2, mais peuvent également être le siège de séismes.

Aujourd’hui, les processus physiques et chimiques qui jouent un rôle dans l’échappement du CO2 à travers les zones faillées ne sont pas totalement compris. L’influence des injections de CO2 sur les déformations de la roche et sur les interactions chimiques pouvant déclencher un séisme n’est pas non plus très claire. En outre, on ne sait que peu de choses sur les conditions spécifiques du sous-sol suisse. Cela rend actuellement difficile de juger dans quelle mesure la séquestration de CO2 dans le sous-sol pourrait être une option envisageable dans notre pays. Pour ces raisons, les scientifiques du Service Sismologique Suisse à l’ETH de Zurich et du SCCER-SoE mènent une expérience, en collaboration avec le Département de génie mécanique et des procédés et l’Institut de géophysique de l’ETH de Zurich, ainsi que Swisstopo et l’EFPL. Cette expérience, qui se déroule au laboratoire souterrain du Mont Terri, fait partie du projet ELEGANCY, financé par la Commission européenne et l’Office fédéral de l’énergie.

Les scientifiques étudient comment la roche faillée réagit à la migration de CO2, dans quelles conditions la sismicité induite apparaît et comment un tel réservoir peut être surveillé au mieux. Pour ceci, ils vont injecter de faibles quantités d’eau salée enrichie en CO2 dans un forage qui traverse une petite zone faillée. Pour déterminer comment la roche fissurée réagit au CO2 dans cette zone, ils vont observer la stabilité de la roche et étudier les relations entre les mouvements de cisaillement, la pression interstitielle et les chemins d’écoulement. Des capteurs sismiques actifs et passifs vont surveiller les modifications des vitesses sismiques à proximité de l’injection, et détecter d’éventuels microséismes avec des magnitudes inférieures à zéro.

Contrairement à un grand projet de stockage opérationnel de CO2, cette expérience étudie les processus en jeu avec seulement de petites quantités d’eau salée enrichie en CO2. Malgré cela, les résultats obtenus vont contribuer à mieux comprendre les processus qui impactent les mouvements du CO2 à travers les zones faillées. Ainsi, l’expérience apporte également une contribution à une meilleure caractérisation des sites. Dans le monde, une vingtaine de projets de séquestration de CO2 sont déjà exploités, chacun capturant jusqu’à trois millions de tonnes de CO2 par an. D’autres sont en projet. En Suisse, aucun projet de séquestration du CO2 n’est actuellement prévu.

En savoir sur le projet ELEGANCY :

www.sintef.no/elegancy/

www.sccer-soe.ch/research/pilots-demos/elegancy/

29/12/2018

Faible séisme près de Fribourg

Faible séisme près de Fribourg

Le 29 décembre à 9:30, un tremblement de terre de magnitude 2.9 s'est produit  entre Fribourg et Guin. L’événement a été bien ressenti dans ces deux municipalités, mais le Service Sismologique a aussi reçu des témoignages d’autres communes, dans un rayon de 15 km environ. Il ne faut pas s’attendre à des dégâts pour un séisme de cette magnitude.

La région de Fribourg est bien connue pour ses séismes faibles et superficiels. Plusieurs ont été enregistrés ces dernières années, la plupart trop faibles cependant pour être ressentis par la population locale.

19/12/2018

Joyeux Noël et une bonne Nouvelle Année!

Joyeux Noël et une bonne Nouvelle Année!

La couronne de Noël de cette année est décorée de baies rouges et oranges. Elles montrent la localisation des tremblements de terre de magnitude de 2 ou plus enregistrés par le réseau sismique national de janvier à novembre 2018.

Nous vous souhaitons un Joyeux Noël et une bonne Nouvelle Année!

26/11/2018

InSight a atterri sur Mars !

InSight a atterri sur Mars !

Le 26 novembre 2018 fut un grand jour : la sonde InSight s’est posée sans dommage dans la plaine Elysium. Ce n’était pas évident ! L’atterrissage n’a été possible que grâce à des technologies testées antérieurement, qui ont parfaitement interagi. Il faut noter qu’InSight, en comparaison avec des missions antérieures sur Mars, a dû affronter des difficultés supplémentaires : elle est entrée plus lentement dans l’atmosphère, en étant plus lourde, elle s’est posée à un point géographique plus élevé et à un moment plus défavorable, qui présentait un risque plus important de tempête de sable. L’opération d’atterrissage à partir de l’entrée dans l’atmosphère a duré six minutes. À ce moment, la sonde avait franchi 483 millions de kilomètres et passé 205 jours dans l’espace.

Cet atterrissage réussi est une étape importante pour atteindre les objectifs scientifiques de la mission. Nous nous intéressons avant tout à la formation et à l’évolution de Mars, et à sa structure interne. C’est pourquoi nous sommes très impatients que le sismomètre soit déposé sur la surface de la planète et que les premières mesures nous parviennent, afin que nous puissions les traiter immédiatement avec l’aide des chercheurs de l’Institut de géophysique. InSight représente également le début d’une nouvelle ère : c’est la première fois que des données scientifiques sur les thèmes mentionnés sont collectées, et les premiers résultats sont attendus fébrilement. Si tout fonctionne comme prévu, les premières données sismiques de Mars seront transmises au début du mois de janvier.

Vous l’avez manqué ? Vous pouvez assister à nouveau à l’atterrissage ici.

THÈMES

Séismes

Au secours, la terre tremble !

Au secours, la terre tremble !

Les séismes ne peuvent être évités. Cependant il est possible de limiter les dommages éventuels par des moyens relativement simples. Informez-vous du comportement à adopter, pendant et après un fort tremblement de terre.

En savoir plus

Savoir

La Suisse des tremblements de terre

La Suisse des tremblements de terre

En Suisse, il se produit entre 1'000 et 1'500 séismes par an. La population ne ressent effectivement que 10 à 20 séismes par an. Ces derniers présentent en général des magnitudes de 2.5 ou plus. En moyenne à long terme, on observe chaque année 23 séismes d’une magnitude égale ou supérieure à 2.5. Voulez-vous en savoir plus sur les dangers naturels présentant le plus grand potentiel de dommages en Suisse ?

En savoir plus

Alertes

Bien informé en continu

Bien informé en continu

Vous désirez être en permanence au courant ? Vous trouverez ici une vue d'ensemble de l'offre d'informations du Service Sismologique Suisse (SED).

En savoir plus

Savoir

Aléa sismique

Aléa sismique

Les séismes sont en Suisse le danger naturel pouvant provoquer le plus de dommages. Jusqu’à présent, il est impossible de les prédire de façon fiable et de les éviter. Grâce à des recherches intensives cependant, on connaît désormais la fréquence et l’intensité à laquelle la terre pourrait trembler à l’avenir à des endroits précis. Différentes cartes vous permettent de découvrir, par le biais de notre outil en ligne interactif, la probabilité de certains tremblements de terre en Suisse.

En savoir plus

Recherche et enseignement

Domaines de recherche

Domaines de recherche

On nous demande souvent ce que font les collaborateurs du SED lorsque la terre ne tremble pas. La réponse est simple : ils se consacrent à la recherche. On peut souligner différents domaines de recherche, qui décrivent succinctement les activités scientifiques centrales du SED.

En savoir plus

Qui sommes nous

Service Sismologique Suisse (SED)

Service Sismologique Suisse (SED)

Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l'ETH de Zurich est l’institution fédérale compétente en matière de tremblements de terre. Le SED est responsable de l’observation et de l’étude des tremblements de terre en Suisse et dans les régions limitrophes. En cas de tremblement de terre, le SED informe le public, les autorités et les médias sur la localisation, la magnitude et les effets possibles. Les activités du SED sont intégrées dans le programme de mesures pour la mitigation des séismes de la Confédération.

En savoir plus

Séismes

Surveillance des séismes

Surveillance des séismes

10 à 20 fois par an, on perçoit, on entend ou on lit que des séismes se produisent en Suisse. La plupart des tremblements de terre enregistrés par le Service Sismologique ne sont cependant pas ressentis par la population. Ils se situent sous la limite de perception et ne peuvent être détectés que par des instruments de mesure sensibles. Le Service Sismologique suisse exploite un réseau de stations de mesure avec plus de 150 stations sismiques réparties sur tout le territoire national.

En savoir plus

Recherche et enseignement

Produits et logiciels

Produits et logiciels

Vous pouvez accéder aux données sismiques et à différents logiciels dans la rubrique Produits.

En savoir plus