MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Insurance

Earthquake Insurance

No, as a rule, earthquake damage is insured only to a small extent in Switzerland. In the event of a major earthquake, most house and apartment owners would not be reimbursed for the cost of any possible damage, or would be reimbursed only partially. The specific rules vary from canton to canton. Parliament is currently discussing whether to extend the obligatory fire and natural hazards insurance to cover earthquake damage.

Swiss Insurance Association

Buildings in 19 Swiss cantons are currently insured against fire and natural hazards by a state-owned monopoly insurer (Aargau, Appenzell Ausser Rhoden, Basel-Country, Basel-City, Bern, Fribourg, Glarus, Grisons, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchâtel, Nidwalden, St. Gallen, Solothurn, Thurgau, Schaffhausen, Vaud, Zug, and Zurich) and in 7 cantons by private building insurers (Appenzell Inner Roden, Geneva, Obwalden, Schwyz, Ticino, Uri, and Valais). At present, the earthquake risk cannot be insured within the context of this obligatory building insurance.

In 1978, 18 cantonal building insurers came together to form the Swiss Pool for Earthquake Insurance, which in the event of an earthquake will provide benefits on a voluntary basis. The cover provided by the earthquake pool currently amounts to CHF 2 billion; a further CHF 2 billion is available for a second earthquake in the same year. The building insurer of the canton of Bern (GVB) quit the pool on January 1, 2013. Since then, future earthquake damage in the canton of Bern can no longer be covered by the pool.

The building insurer of the Canton of Zurich (GVZ) covers earthquake damage with resources from an in-house fund, providing cover of up to CHF 1 billion. The same sum would be available in the event of a second earthquake occurring in the same calendar year.

In the cantons of Appenzell Inner Rhoden, Geneva, Obwalden, Schwyz, Ticino, Uri, and Valais, private building insurers provide fire and natural hazard insurance. In these cantons, no financial resources are available for voluntary compensation following an earthquake.

Private insurers offer voluntary earthquake insurance solutions. At the present time, these products represent the only solution for the contractual coverage of earthquake damage in Switzerland.

Source: Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), 17.02.2015

The benefits of an earthquake insurance policy are dependent upon many factors. The following factors are important: the vulnerability of a building, local subsoil, the likelihood of a damaging earthquake, and the insurance terms and conditions. For this reason, it is not possible to provide a universal recommendation. An insurance policy represents one means of reducing the personal (financial) risk, and is an element of integrated risk management.

Only to a limited extent. The corresponding standards from the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects (SIA) were first published in 1989. Since the introduction of the latest generation of SIA structural standards in 2003, earthquake-resistant building design is being implemented more systematically, although only a few cantons actually implement the standards. The following cantons have explicitly anchored adherence to the applicable SIA standards in their statutory regulations, and/or impose earthquake-specific conditions within the context of planning permission procedures:

  • Aargau
  • Basel City
  • Fribourg
  • Jura
  • Lucerne
  • Nidwalden
  • Valais

In all other cantons, the legal obligation regarding the implementation of the SIA structural standards is not explicitly clarified and does not cover earthquake-resistant building design in planning permission procedures.

Source: Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), 17.02.2015

Earthquake-resistant construction aims to:

  • protect people from collapsing structures;
  • minimise structural damage;
  • preserve the functionality of key structures in the event of an incident;
  • limit consequential damage from earthquakes (e.g. due to fire, loss of production).

Detailed information about constructing new buildings to withstand earthquakes, or corresponding reinforcements for conversions or renovations, is available from the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN).

The last major earthquake to cause substantial damage occurred in 1946 in Valais. However, the earthquakes of February 17, and March 14, 1964 in the canton of Obwalden also caused significant damage. A major damage-causing earthquake with a magnitude of approximately 6 is likely to occur at a location somewhere in Switzerland every 50 to 150 years.

The likelihood of a large earthquake occuring near to where you live can be estimated from the magnitudes maps. The effects maps indicate how often specific consequences of an earthquake could occur where you live.

Although such damaging earthquakes are relatively infrequent, earthquakes represent the natural hazard with the greatest potential to cause damage in Switzerland. The reasons for this are twofold. Switzerland has densely populated settlements as well as relatively high building and infrastructure vulnerability. Also, while catastrophic earthquakes occur rarely, they can cause extensive damage over substantial areas. For example, a repeat of the Basel earthquake of 1356, which had a magnitude of 6.6, would cause damage in excess of CHF 100 billion.

An insurance solution represents a key aspect of integrated risk management. The Swiss Seismological Service favors a nation-wide solution – one that boosts protection from the consequences of an earthquake across Switzerland. Politicians will need to decide how a solution of this nature is to be realized (e.g. in the form of comprehensive insurance protection, or another collective solution).

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Assurance tremblements de terre

Earthquake Insurance

Non, seule une petite partie des dommages occasionnés par les séismes sont généralement assurés en Suisse. En cas de fort séisme, la plupart des propriétaires et des copropriétaires ne recevraient aucun remboursement ou se verraient rembourser seulement une partie des frais liés aux éventuels dommages occasionnés. Les réglementations spécifiques varient d’un canton à l’autre. Une extension des assurances obligatoires contre les dommages dus aux incendies et aux événements naturels aux dommages causés par les tremblements de terre est à l’étude au Parlement.

Association Suisse d’Assurances

Les bâtiments sont assurés contre les incendies et les événements naturels par des assurances de droit public au bénéfice d’un monopole dans 19 cantons (Argovie, Appenzell Rhodes-Extérieures, Bâle-Campagne, Bâle-Ville, Berne, Fribourg, Glaris, Grisons, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchâtel, Nidwald, Saint-Gall, Soleure, Thurgovie, Schaffhouse, Vaud, Zoug, Zurich) et par des assurances des bâtiments privées dans 7 cantons (Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures, Genève, Obwald, Schwytz, Tessin, Uri, Valais). A l’heure actuelle, le risque sismique ne peut pas être assuré dans le cadre de cette assurance des bâtiments obligatoire.

En 1978, 18 établissements cantonaux d’assurance des bâtiments se sont regroupés au sein du Pool suisse pour la couverture des dommages sismiques, qui fournit des prestations volontaires en cas de tremblement de terre. Ce pool garantit à ce jour une couverture de 2 milliards de francs suisses, plus 2 milliards supplémentaires en cas de second tremblement de terre survenant la même année. L’Assurance immobilière Berne (AIB) s’est retirée de ce pool le 1er janvier 2013. Depuis lors, les dommages qu’un séisme occasionnerait dans le canton de Berne ne seraient plus couverts par le pool.

L’établissement d’assurance des bâtiments du canton de Zurich (GVZ) couvre les dommages sismiques jusqu’à concurrence d’un milliard de francs suisses en puisant dans un fonds propre. Il dispose d’une somme équivalente si un autre séisme venait à se produire la même année civile.

Dans les cantons d’Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures, Genève, Obwald, Schwytz, Tessin, Uri et Valais, ce sont des assureurs des bâtiments privés qui couvrent les dommages dus aux incendies et aux événements naturels. Aucun fonds n’est prévu pour indemniser les dommages sismiques sur une base volontaire.

Certaines sociétés d’assurance privées offrent des possibilités d’assurer les bâtiments sur une base volontaire contre les dommages dus aux tremblements de terre. C’est actuellement la seule manière de couvrir ces dommages par contrat en Suisse.

Source: Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV), 17.02.2015

L’utilité d’une assurance tremblements de terre dépend de nombreux facteurs, dont les plus importants sont la vulnérabilité du bâtiment, la nature du sous-sol local, la probabilité qu’un séisme se produise et les conditions d’assurance. Il n’est donc pas possible d’émettre une recommandation qui s’applique à tous les cas de figure. La souscription d’une assurance constitue une possibilité de réduire le risque (financier) personnel et fait partie de la gestion des risques dans son ensemble.

En partie seulement. Des prescriptions parasismiques modernes et suffisantes n’ont été publiées qu’en 1989 dans les normes sur les structures porteuses de la Société suisse des ingénieurs et des architectes (SIA). Celles-ci, ainsi que les prescriptions rudimentaires de 1970 ont cependant été largement ignorées dans la pratique. Depuis l’introduction de la dernière génération de normes sur les structures porteuses de la SIA en 2003, la construction parasismique fait l’objet d’une mise en œuvre de plus en plus systématique. Dans beaucoup de cantons, l’application de ces prescriptions est maintenant réglée de manière explicite via la loi cantonale sur les constructions. De plus, les cantons suivants ont introduit des exigences spécifiques au domaine sismique dans leurs procédures d’autorisation de construire:

  • Canton d’Argovie
  • Bâle-Ville
  • Fribourg
  • Jura
  • Lucerne
  • Nidwald
  • Valais

Source: Office fédéral de l'environnement (OFEV), 17.02.2015

Une construction parasismique signifie

  • protéger les habitants contre l’écroulement des ouvrages
  • limiter les dommages sur les bâtiments
  • maintenir la fonctionnalité des bâtiments importants en cas d’évènement
  • limiter les conséquences des tremblements de terre (incendies, arrêts de production, etc.)

Vous trouverez des informations détaillées sur la conception parasismique des constructions neuves et les vérifications qui y sont associées lors de transformations et de réfections sur le site de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV).

Le dernier séisme destructeur a eu lieu en 1946 dans le Valais. Mais les séismes qui se sont produits le 17 février et le 14 mars 1964 dans le canton d’Obwald ont eux aussi provoqué des dommages substantiels. Il faut compter avec un fort séisme destructeur, de magnitude 6 environ, tous les 50 à 150 ans, lequel peut se produire n’importe où en Suisse.

Les cartes des magnitudes vous informent sur la probabilité qu’un tremblement de terre se produise là où vous habitez. Les cartes des effets indiquent la fréquence à laquelle certaines conséquences d’un séisme peuvent se présenter là où vous habitez.

Même si de tels séismes destructeurs sont plutôt rares en Suisse, les tremblements de terre y constituent le danger naturel pouvant provoquer le plus de dommages. Ceci s’explique par la forte densité des terrains bâtis et la relativement grande vulnérabilité des bâtiments et des infrastructures du pays. Des séismes désastreux se produisent certes rarement en Suisse, mais ils peuvent causer des dommages dans un vaste périmètre. Par exemple, si le scénario du tremblement de terre de Bâle survenu en 1356, de magnitude 6.6, venait à se répéter, il occasionnerait des dommages de plus de 100 milliards de francs suisses.

Une solution d’assurance constitue un aspect essentiel de la gestion des risques dans son ensemble. Le Service Sismologique Suisse préconise une solution au niveau national augmentant la protection contre les conséquences d’un séisme. La forme que cette solution doit revêtir (par exemple celle d’une couverture d’assurance globale ou d’une assurance de solidarité) doit être déterminée au niveau politique.