MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Simulator

Switzerland has two simulators where minor and more major earthquakes can be experienced in complete safety.

CPSS

The focusTerra museum in Zurich

The earthquake simulator in the focusTerra museum in Zurich, weighs more than 3 tonnes and can simulate the ground motion of earthquakes up to a magnitude of almost 8. Set up as a kind of container room, it is furnished with tables and other movable objects and can accommodate up to 10 people at one time.

Earthquake simulation is not only intended to raise public awareness of Switzerland's vulnerability to seismic activity, but also to show people how to react in the event that they experience an earthquake.

The development and construction of the simulator was commissioned in 2006 by the Federal Office for the Environment (BAFU), supported by the public building insurance company of the canton of Freiburg and the Swiss Foundation for Structural Dynamics and Earthquake Engineering.

Note: The earthquake simulator is only accessible as part of a one-hour guided tour given on Sundays at 11:00, 13:00, and 15:00. Group tours can also be booked during the week.

See the focusTerra museum website for further details.

The CPPS Centre in Sitten

Acknowledging a need to raise public and young people's awareness of the dangers posed by earthquakes in the Valais region and to prepare them to deal with any related hazards, the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland (HES-SO Valais-Wallis) teamed up with the canton's Education and Safety Department and the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) to develop an innovative prevention concept, entailing the realistic simulation of earthquakes and their impact. The Pedagogical Centre for Earthquake Prevention (CPPS) in Sitten was officially inaugurated on 18 March 2016. It comprises a platform measuring 5 by 6 m capable of simulating earthquakes with a magnitude of up to 7 on the Richter scale. It can accommodate a total of 30 people and also be used to test the capabilities of certain machines and equipment to withstand earthquakes.

To find out more, visit the CPPS website.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Simulateur de tremblement de terre

En Suisse, vous avez la possibilité en deux endroits d’expérimenter, sans aucun danger, un tremblement de terre léger ou important dans un simulateur de tremblement de terre.

CPSS

Musée focusTerra à Zurich

Avec le simulateur de tremblement de terre pesant plus de trois tonnes du musée focusTerra de Zurich, il est possible de simuler des mouvements du sol jusqu'à une magnitude de 8. Ce simulateur est une sorte de conteneur, meublé de tables et autres objets, dans lequel jusqu'à 10 personnes peuvent prendre place.

La simulation sismique ne sert pas uniquement à aider à prendre conscience que la Suisse peut être affectée par des tremblements de terre, mais aussi à montrer comment se comporter en cas de séisme.

En 2006, l'Office fédéral de l'environnement (OFEV) a fait concevoir et construire ce simulateur avec l'aide de l'’Etablissement cantonal d’assurance des bâtiments et la Fondation pour la dynamique des structures et le génie parasismique.

Attention : Le simulateur de tremblement de terre n'est accessible que dans le cadre d'une visite guidée d'une heure. Elle se déroule chaque dimanche à 11 h, 13 h et 15 h. Des visites de groupes peuvent être organisées en semaine sur réservation.

Visitez le site web du musée focusTerra pour des informations plus détaillées.

Centre CPPS à Sion

Afin de former et préparer efficacement les jeunes et la population à l’éventualité d’un tremblement de terre, la Haute Ecole d’Ingénierie de la HES-SO Valais-Wallis a développé, en collaboration avec le Département de la formation et de la sécurité du canton du Valais et le Service Sismologique Suisse, un concept de prévention novateur qui permettra de ressentir, d’éprouver et d’expérimenter les différents paramètres caractéristiques d’un séisme. Le 18 mars 2016, le Centre pédagogique pour la prévention des séismes (CPPS) de Sion a été inauguré. Une plate-forme de 5 x 6 m permet la simulation de séismes atteignant une magnitude de 7 sur l'échelle de Richter. Trente personnes peuvent y trouver place. Ce simulateur pourra également vérifier la résilience de certaines machines et équipements aux séismes.                                                                                                          

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter le site du CPPS.