MENU
The page content begins here

Waveform Data

The SED's seismic network records continuous data in real-time from over 150 permanent stations in Switzerland and an additional approximately 50 permanent stations in neighbouring regions, as well as from temporary stations set up for various projects. We also can retrieve data from a dozen dial-up strong motion stations that record only during strong earthquakes when in proximity to the epicenter, though this network is no longer actively maintained.

The majority of this huge dataset, which includes broadband, strong motion and short period seismic data, is openly available in near real-time to the public and the scientific community.

SED waveforms can be accessed through a variety of tools that are described below.

Images of recent ground shaking across Switzerland are available on regularly updated images. These display the ground motion velocity being recorded within seconds of real-time at selected CHNet seismic stations across Switzerland. The location of the stations shown can be seen in the network maps.

Various time periods are provided to see different time windows for recent ground shaking across Switzerland:

The entire waveform archive is accessible in raw mseed waveform format using fdsnws-dataselect.

More information is found on the FDSN Web Services section.

Swiss waveform data is available through various interactive portals. The SED offer access to all waveform data in our archives via:

  • SED WebDC3 Waveform Portal to access continuous raw waveform data in mseed format. Restricted data is also available on this portal, though a password is required. Email SED_data_access@sed.ethz.ch if you have reason to access these restricted datasets.
  • SED Strong-Motion Portal, where event-based data and strong motion parameters can be explored with selection on the level of event location and magnitude, seismic station or strong motion parameters. Data is made available on this site within minutes of the occurrence of an earthquake greater the M2.5. All processing is automated. For the strong motion portal, processed waveforms may be visualised before being downloaded, and data can either be downloaded in raw format (directed through the waveform portal) or in processed acceleration in both mseed, ascii and SAC format.

The SED is also part of ORFEUS EIDA, and acts as EIDA node gateway for all data collected by Swiss groups. Swiss data that is unrestricted is accessible on two similar EIDA portals:

  • EIDA Waveform Portal for raw continuous data
  • EIDA RRSM Portal for event-based data and strong motion parameters, can be explored and data retrieved. Although the RRSM and the SED Strong-Motion Portal are very similar, the RRSM (Raw Rapid Strong Motion ) portal is triggered by EMSC events greater than M3.5, while the SED portal uses the SED events greater than M2.5. The RRSM is a joint development between the SED and the ORFEUS Data Center.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Formes d’ondes

Le réseau sismique du SED enregistre en continu des données en temps réel de plus de 150 stations permanentes en Suisse (CHNet), d’une cinquantaine de stations permanentes dans les régions limitrophes, ainsi que de stations temporaires installées pour différents projets. Nous pouvons également collecter par téléphone des données d’une dizaine accéléromètres qui n’enregistrent que de forts tremblements de terre à proximité, mais ce réseau n’est plus entretenu activement.

La majorité de cet immense jeu de données, comprenant des enregistrements sismiques large bande, accélérométriques et courte période est accessible sans restriction au public et à la communauté scientifique quasiment en temps réel. Dans des cas exceptionnels, l’accès aux données de certaines stations peut être restreint à des utilisateurs autorisés.

Les formes d’ondes du SED sont disponibles à travers divers outils qui sont décrits ci-après.

Des instantanés des secousses récentes du sol dans toute la Suisse sont disponibles sous la forme d’images régulièrement actualisées. Elles affichent la vitesse des mouvements du sol enregistrée dans les quelques secondes qui suivent l’évènement sur une sélection de stations sismiques CHNet. L’emplacement des stations est indiqué dans les cartes du réseau.

Les images couvrent différentes fenêtres temporelles pour les secousses récentes dans toute la Suisse :

Toute l’archive des formes d’ondes est accessible en format brut mseed, grâce à fdsnws-dataselect.

Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la section FDSN Web Services.

Les formes d’ondes en Suisse sont disponibles sur différents portails interactifs. Le SED offre un accès à toutes les formes d’ondes de nos archives via :

  • Le SED WebDC3 Waveform Portal, pour les formes d’ondes brutes continues en format mseed. Des données à accès restreint sont également disponibles sur ce portail, mais un mot de passe est nécessaire. Envoyez un courrier électronique à SED_data_access@sed.ethz.ch  si vous avez une raison d’accéder à ces séries de données restreintes.
  • Le SED Strong-Motion Portal, permettant de parcourir les données de chaque évènement et les paramètres du mouvement sismique et de les sélectionner selon l’emplacement, la magnitude, la station sismique et les paramètres d’accélération. Les données sont disponibles sur ce site dans les minutes qui suivent l’occurrence d’un tremblement de terre de magnitude supérieure à 2.5. Tout le traitement est automatisé. Sur le portail des accéléromètres, les formes d’ondes traitées peuvent être visualisées avant d’être téléchargées, et les séries temporelles peuvent être soit téléchargées brutes, dans leur format d'origine mseed (directement sur le portail des formes d’ondes) ou traitées, en séries temporelles en accélération au format mseed, ASCII ou SAC.

Le SED fait également partie d’ORFEUS EIDA, et joue le rôle de nœud EIDA pour toutes les données collectées par les groupes suisses. Les données suisses non restreintes sont accessibles sur deux portails EIDA similaires :

  • EIDA Waveform Portal pour les données brutes continues
  • EIDA RRSM Portal pour les données par évènement et les paramètres du mouvement sismique. Bien que les portails RRSM et SED Strong-Motion soient très similaires, le portail RRSM (Raw Rapid Strong-Motion) propose des informations pour les évènements européens (source: EMSC) de magnitude supérieure à 3.5, tandis que le portail SED contient les évènements SED de magnitude supérieure à 2.5. Le RRSM est un développement conjoint du SED et du Centre de données ORFEUS.