MENU
The page content begins here

Alerting

Alerting

Earthquakes can neither be predicted nor prevented. However, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) monitors ground shaking around the clock. Within approximately 90 seconds of an earthquake, details about the time, location, magnitude, and possible effects appear on the SED website.

The SED automatically reports any noticeable earthquakes to the authorities and the media. At the same time, this information is transmitted to the SED’s 24-hour on-call service by pager, e-mail, and SMS. This service is also available to the authorities and the media for further information about current earthquakes, and writes background information that is published on the SED website.

As part of the Swiss Rescue Chain, the SED also informs the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit (SHA) about any earthquakes that cause major damage worldwide. The SHA then conducts further investigations and the decides whether or not to dispatch a rescue team with search dogs to the disaster area.

The SED is currently testing an earthquake early warning system. Monitoring stations close to an earthquake immediately register the seismic waves it generates and trigger a warning for areas further away. Such warnings can be issued because the measurements are transmitted at the speed of light, i.e. faster than the speed at which seismic waves are propagated (around 3.5 km per second). However, since earthquake early warnings can only be given at a certain distance from the epicentre and are only useful for more powerful earthquakes, their practical use for Switzerland remains to be determined. Click here for more information about research into earthquake early warnings (EEWs).

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Alertes

Alerting

Il est impossible de prédire ou d’éviter les séismes. Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) enregistre néanmoins les vibrations du sol 24 heures sur 24. En l’espace de 90 secondes environ après un séisme sont publiées sur le site Internet du SED des données relatives au moment, au lieu, à la magnitude et aux conséquences possibles.

Le SED signale automatiquement aux autorités et aux médias les séismes susceptibles d’être ressentis. Dans le même temps, ces informations sont transmises par pager, par e-mail et par SMS au service de piquet 24/7 du SED. Celui-ci se tient en outre en permanence à la disposition des autorités et des médias pour leur communiquer des informations complémentaires sur les séismes récents. Ce service rassemble des informations générales qui sont publiées sur le site Internet.

En cas d’importants dommages sismiques dans le monde, le SED informe également le Corps suisse d’aide humanitaire (CSA). Ce dernier discute alors de la situation et décide de l’envoi éventuel d’une équipe de sauvetage avec des chiens sur les lieux de la catastrophe.

Actuellement, le SED teste un système pour les alertes sismiques précoces. Les stations de mesure qui se trouvent à proximité d’un tremblement de terre enregistrent rapidement les ondes sismiques et déclenchent une alerte pour des régions plus éloignées. Ceci est possible, car les données de mesure sont transmises à la vitesse de la lumière, et donc plus rapidement que les ondes sismiques (env. 3.5 km/s). Les alertes sismiques précoces ne sont possibles qu’à partir d’une certaine distance de l’épicentre, et judicieuses uniquement pour des tremblements de terre importants, leur utilité pratique en Suisse est encore à vérifier. Pour en savoir plus sur le domaine de recherches « Alerte précoce de tremblement de terre ».