MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Monitoring

The Earthquake Monitoring section is responsible for a number of core operational tasks. The section is led by Dr. John Clinton.

Together with the ELAB team (which installs and maintains field and communications infrastructure), the Earthquake Monitoring Group manages Switzerland's national seismic infrastructure (CHNet), which comprises the main monitoring network (SDSNet, originally comprising stations with broadband and short-period sensors, but now being upgraded to feature co-located broadband and strong-motion stations) and the predominantly urban strong-motion network (SSMNet). All stations operate high-dynamic-range sensors with wide frequency bandwidths and are digitised on modern 24 or 26-bit data loggers, which stream data in real time, targeting minimum latency. The Earthquake Monitoring team is responsible for guaranteeing the real-time communications of these roughly 150 stations; managing and processing any data that arrives in Zurich; and assessing quality to ensure that the data are ready to use to produce an Earthquake Catalogue and in downstream research. Stefan Heimers and Roman Racine are the main team members responsible for these tasks.

Real-time monitoring of the seismic network infrastructure is one of the group's key functions. Our core task is to monitor Switzerland's seismicity using the monitoring stations belonging to our dense national networks, complemented by temporary stations and equivalent facilities operated by partners in neighbouring countries. We are responsible for all real-time processing of earthquake data in Switzerland. The main software we use for this purpose is SeisComP3, a very popular and widely used open-source solution for monitoring seismicity, which we are continually enhancing. Our active research team manages the system's operational configuration and evaluates new methods for detecting and improving characterisations of seismicity (Dr. Tobias Diehl). We also develop novel approaches to earthquake early warnings and rapid source characterisation (Dr Maren Böse and Dr Frédérick Massin); estimating strong ground motions and their impacts (Dr Carlo Cauzzi); and monitoring induced seismicity (Luca Scarabello). A key concern of our group is to transform these approaches into operational software. We also monitor the network's state of health and, helped by the ELAB team, try to optimise its performance.

Although our main focus is on Switzerland, we also develop techniques that can be applied elsewhere, teaming up with agencies around the world to develop and install EEW and monitoring systems California, Central America and Chile, for example. The open-source EEW software modules we develop, including an EEW Display tool, are compatible with SeisComP3 and can thus be readily adopted by many seismic networks across the globe.

Earthquake catalogue and alerting – In addition to operating real-time monitoring infrastructure, our group also leads SED's team of on-duty seismologists who react to detected significant events, providing rapid manual verification. This team also creates and curates the national earthquake catalogue, which is updated within hours to a few days. Enrico Ballarin and Philipp Kästli from the IT team develop and operate the earthquake alert software that immediately notifies the media, authorities, the public, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) and interested scientists of seismic events that may be of significance to Switzerland. We also notify the Swiss authorities of large-scale teleseismic events that could have a significant local or regional impact.

The Seismic Network team also works with SED colleagues to manage the instruments pool that can be used for both research and emergency purposes. The instrument pool consists of over 50 broadband stations and is coordinated by Dr Irene Molinari. Recent major projects include deployments in Bhutan, Greenland, Greece and Central America. Most of the instruments are currently being deployed across various Alpine nations as part of the AlpArray project. Other projects involve stations monitoring on Swiss glaciers and the sites of major landslides. The aftershock pool consists of around ten readily available high-quality infrastructure that can be deployed across Switzerland within hours of a significant earthquake, under the leadership of Dr Toni Kraft. The majority of stations in the instrument pool are equipped with real-time cellular communications and are seamlessly integrated into our monitoring system.

NASA's InSight mission will land a science payload including a broadband seismometer package (SEIS) on Mars in November 2018. Building on our expertise and infrastructure for earthquake monitoring and seismic data processing on Earth, the Earthquake Monitoring group is assuming the lead role in the Marsquake Service that will build a catalogue of seismic events from the data recorded by SEIS. Dr John Clinton, Co-Investigator on the InSight project, will coordinate this service, assisted by Dr Maren BöseDr Savas Ceylan and Dr Fabian Euchner. The Marsquake Service will include both automatic and reviewed event detection and the characterisation of local seismicity and teleseismic events, as well as meteor impacts. The goal of this service is to create a comprehensive high-quality event catalogue for Mars, itself a critical target for the InSight mission, and provide key input for the development of Martian crustal and deep-structure models. We are adapting advanced single-seismometer analytic techniques developed for applications on Earth to make them suitable for characterising Martian seismicity. The Marsquake Service will be a joint effort by the SED and the SEG groups at the ETH Zurich, led by InSight Co-Investigator Professor Domenico Giardini, Dr Martin van Driel and Dr Amir Khan. The service is also part of a broader SEIS Science and Service initiative coordinated by Professor Philippe Lognonné at the Paris Institute of Earth Physics (IPGP).

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Surveillance des séismes

La section « Surveillance des séismes » est responsable d’un certain nombre de tâches opérationnelles centrales. La section est conduite par le Dr John Clinton.

En collaboration avec l’équipe ELAB (qui installe et entretient les infrastructures de terrain et de communication), le Groupe de surveillance des séismes gère l’infrastructure sismique nationale suisse (CHNet), qui comprend le principal réseau de surveillance (SDSNet, incluant à l’origine les stations avec des capteurs large bande et courte période, mais désormais mis à jour pour intégrer des stations accélérométriques large bande situées aux mêmes points) et le réseau accélérométrique (SSMNet) essentiellement urbain. Toutes les stations fonctionnent avec des capteurs haute dynamique avec des largeurs de bande haute fréquence, dont les données sont numérisées sur des enregistreurs de données modernes 24 ou 26 bits, qui les retransmettent en temps réel, en visant une latence minimale. L’équipe Surveillance des séismes est responsable des communications en temps réel de ces quelque 150 stations ; de gérer et traiter toutes les données qui arrivent à Zurich ; et d’évaluer la qualité pour s’assurer que les données sont prêtes à être utilisées dans la production d’un catalogue de séismes et dans la recherche en aval. Stefan Heimers et Roman Racine sont les principaux membres de l’équipe responsables de ces tâches.

Le suivi en temps réel de l’infrastructure du réseau sismique est l’une des fonctions clés du groupe. Notre tâche centrale est de suivre la sismicité suisse grâce aux stations de surveillance de nos réseaux nationaux denses, complétés par des stations temporaires et des installations équivalentes exploitées par nos partenaires dans les pays limitrophes. Nous sommes responsables de l’ensemble du traitement temps réel des données sismiques en Suisse. Le logiciel principal utilisé à cet effet est SeisComP3, une solution open source très appréciée et largement utilisée pour le suivi de la sismicité, que nous améliorons en permanence. Notre équipe active de recherche gère la configuration opérationnelle du système, et évalue de nouvelles méthodes pour détecter et améliorer la caractérisation de la sismicité (Dr Tobias Diehl). Nous développons également de nouvelles approches pour l’alarme précoce et la caractérisation rapide de la source (Dr Maren Böse et Dr Frédérick Massin) ; pour l’estimation des forts mouvements du sol et de leurs impacts (Dr Carlo Cauzzi) ; et pour la surveillance de la sismicité induite (Luca Scarabello). Un des objectifs clés de notre groupe est de transformer ces procédures en logiciels opérationnels. Nous surveillons également l’état de santé du réseau et, aidés par l’équipe ELAB, nous essayons d’optimiser ses performances.

Bien que notre centre d’intérêt principal soit la Suisse, nous développons également des techniques qui peuvent s’appliquer ailleurs, en partenariat avec des agences du monde entier, pour développer et installer des systèmes d’alerte précoce et de surveillance Californie, Amérique centrale et Chili, par exemple. Les modules logiciels open source d’alerte précoce que nous développons, accompagnés d’outils d’affichage, sont compatibles avec SeisComP3 et sont donc prêts à être adoptés par de nombreux réseaux sismiques autour du monde.

Catalogue de séismes et alerte - Pour compléter l’exploitation de l’infrastructure de surveillance en temps réel, notre groupe dirige également l’équipe de sismologues de service du SED. Ceux-ci réagissent aux phénomènes importants détectés et fournissent une vérification manuelle rapide. Cette équipe crée et maintient le catalogue sismique national, qui est mis à jour dans les heures ou les jours qui suivent un évènement. Enrico Ballarin et Philipp Kästli de l’équipe informatique développent et exploitent le logiciel d’alerte sismique qui notifie immédiatement les médias, les autorités, le public, le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) et les scientifiques intéressés des évènements sismiques notoires pour la Suisse. Nous avertissons également les autorités suisses des évènements télésismiques à grande échelle qui pourraient avoir un impact local ou régional important.

L’équipe Réseau sismique travaille également avec des collègues du SED pour gérer le pool d’instruments pouvant être utilisé aussi bien pour des objectifs de recherche que d’urgence. Le pool est composé de 50 stations large bande, et il est coordonné par le Dr Irene Molinari. Parmi les projets récents importants, on peut citer le Bhoutan, le Groenland, la Grèce et l’Amérique centrale. La plupart des instruments sont actuellement déployés à travers différentes nations alpines, dans le cadre du projet AlpArray. D’autres projets concernent la surveillance des stations sur les glaciers suisses et sur les sites de glissements de terrain importants. Le pool Répliques consiste en une dizaine d’infrastructures de haute qualité pouvant être déployées à travers la Suisse en quelques heures après un séisme important. Il est dirigé par le Dr Toni Kraft. La majorité des stations du pool d’instruments sont équipées de communications cellulaires en temps réel pour être intégrées directement dans notre système de surveillance.

La mission InSight de la NASA va faire atterrir sur Mars en novembre 2018 une charge utile scientifique comprenant un ensemble sismométrique large bande (SEIS). En s’appuyant sur son expertise et son infrastructure de suivi des séismes et de traitement des données sismiques sur Terre, le groupe Surveillance sismique assure le rôle de leader du Service Tremblements de Mars, qui construira un catalogue des évènements sismiques à partir des données enregistrées par SEIS. Dr John Clinton, co-investigateur du projet InSight, coordonnera ce service, assisté par le Dr Maren Böse, le Dr Savas Ceylan et le Dr Fabian Euchner. Le service Tremblements de mars permettra la détection, aussi bien automatique que contrôlée et la caractérisation de la sismicité locale ou distante, ainsi que des impacts de météorites. Ce service doit créer un catalogue complet de haute qualité des évènements sur Mars, en soi déjà un objectif critique pour la mission InSight, et alimenter par des données essentielles le développement de modèles de croûte et de structure interne martiennes. Les techniques analytiques mono-sismomètre qui ont été développées pour la Terre sont adaptées pour caractériser la sismicité martienne. Le service Tremblements de Mars sera assuré conjointement par le SED et les groupes SEG de l’ETH Zurich, dirigé par le professeur Domenico Giardini, co-investigateur InSight, le Dr Martin van Driel et le Dr Amir Khan. Le service fait également partie d’une initiative Science et Service plus large, coordonnée par le professeur Philippe Lognonné de l’Institut de physique du globe de Paris (IPGP).