MENU
The page content begins here

Geothermal Energy in brief

Geothermal energy is energy stored in the form of heat below the surface of the earth. There is a significant quantity of heat stored in the earth’s interior, and it originates primarily from the decay energy of naturally radioactive isotopes, which can be found in the earth’s crust and mantle.

In principle, the deeper you go into the earth, the warmer it becomes. On average, the temperature rises by approximately 3°C for every 100 meters further away from the surface toward the center of the earth. This corresponds to a normal geothermal gradient (Geology Portal "Geothermal energy in Switzerland"). What is more, heat conduction is an extremely slow process: just 50 to 100 meters below the earth’s surface comes the start of the region in which climatic changes above the surface no longer have an influence on the temperature of the subsoil (SFOE Brochure "Nutzung der Erdwärme" (not available in English)). At a depth of 5'000 meters in Switzerland, temperatures reach between 150°C and 200°C (SFOE "Geothermal energy"). According to current understanding, temperatures are assumed to reach over 6'000°C in the earth’s core and 1'400°C in its upper crust.

Introduction geothermal energy & earthquakes 1

There are, however, many thermal anomalies – i.e. regions with significantly higher temperature gradients – particularly in volcanic areas. This applies for example to Iceland, Italy, Indonesia, and New Zealand. At various points in these countries, nature itself provides the necessary circulatory system for driving heat to the surface (hot springs and geysers, for example). Anywhere else, drilling must be carried out using feed pumps or geothermal probes with circulation pumps in order to make use of the heat. Various technologies are available for this purpose. A distinction is made between shallow geothermal energy (up to approximately 400 meters) and deep geothermal energy.

Geothermal Energy and Earthquakes 2

Within the framework of the GEOBEST-CH project supported by SwissEnergy, the SED therefore offers competent and project-based seismological consulting and monitoring services for national, cantonal, and local supervisory authorities. Services are only provided to the industrial sector if these do not impact the independence of the SED in any way.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Géothermie en bref

On entend par énergie géothermique, également appelée chaleur de la Terre, l’énergie emmagasinée sous la surface terrestre sous forme de chaleur. Les quantités d’énergie qui résident sous la surface terrestre sont importantes. Cette énergie provient en majorité de la désintégration d’isotopes naturellement radioactifs que l’on trouve dans la croûte et dans le manteau terrestre.

Règle de base: plus on progresse dans les profondeurs de la Terre, plus il y fait chaud. En moyenne, la température augmente de 3° C tous les 100 mètres de profondeur à partir de la surface terrestre. Cela correspond au gradient géothermique normal (Portail Géologique). La conduction thermique est, de plus, un processus très long: entre 50 et 100 mètres de profondeur commence la zone à partir de laquelle les modifications climatiques à la surface de la Terre n’ont plus de conséquence sur la température du sous-sol (OFEN, Utilisation de la chaleur terrestre). A 5'000 mètres de profondeur, les températures sur le territoire de la Suisse sont comprises entre 150 et 200° C (OFEN, Géothermie). Compte tenu des connaissances actuelles, on estime que la température du noyau terrestre dépasse 6'000 °C et que celle du manteau supérieur s’élève à 1'400° C.

Introduction géothermie et séismes 1

A plusieurs endroits de la planète, dans les zones volcaniques en particulier, on constate néanmoins des anomalies thermiques: des zones qui présentent un gradient géothermique bien plus élevé. C’est par exemple le cas en Islande, en Italie, en Indonésie ou en Nouvelle-Zélande. Dans certains lieux de ces pays, la nature fournit elle-même le système de circulation nécessaire pour capter et faire remonter cette chaleur (sous la forme de sources chaudes, de geysers, etc.) Ailleurs, exploiter l’énergie géothermique requiert des forages et la mise en place de pompes à chaleurs, ou des sondes géothermiques couplées à des pompes de circulation pour pouvoir utiliser la chaleur. Plusieurs technologies sont disponibles pour cela. On distingue la géothermie peu profonde (jusqu’à environ 400 mètres) et la géothermie profonde.

Géothermie et séismes 2

Dans le cadre du projet GEOBEST-CH soutenu par SuisseEnergie, le SED leur propose ainsi une surveillance de la sismicité et un conseil compétent pour les projets de géothermie profonde.