The page content begins here

Sarnen 1964

What Happened in Sarnen in 1964?

Over several months starting in February 1964, hundreds of earthquakes occurred in the Sarnen region. The two largest quakes, with magnitudes of 4.8 and 5.3 respectively, hit the region on 17 February and 14 March. The damage caused totalled around CHF 16 million at present value.

The earthquakes caused most damage in the municipalities of Sarnen and Kerns, where hardly any houses were left unscathed. The reason for this is that the geological substratum around Sarnen consists of marine and alluvial deposits and the subsoil around Kerns comprises sediment. These types of substrata tend to amplify seismic waves.

Although no fatalities or serious casualties resulted, there was real fear of an even stronger earthquake and several schools and churches were closed as a precautionary measure. However, after a few months the earthquake swarm petered out without any further major earthquakes occurring.

The Earthquake History of Central Switzerland

Looking at the past shows that Central Switzerland has experienced more than its fair share of earthquakes. Numerous historical events, including some high-intensity earthquakes, are well documented and have been investigated. One particular feature of the region is that phases of high earthquake activity alternate with longer quiet periods.

Noteworthy events include the series of 10 earthquakes occurring in the Altfdorf region in 1774, 11 verified earthquake events in the Sarnen region in 1777, and 19 felt and verified earthquakes occurring again in the main Obwalden Valley in 1917. Thus, the lack of seismic activity in the area since the earthquake swarm in 1964 constitutes a quiet period in the region's history.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Sarnen 1964

Qu'est-ce qui s'est passé à Sarnen ?

Dès février 1964, la région de Sarnen fut frappée, pendant plusieurs mois, par des centaines de tremblements de terre. Les deux séismes les plus importants ayant secoué la région sont datés du 17 février avec une magnitude de 4.8 et du 14 mars avec une magnitude de 5.3. Actuellement, les dégâts seraient évalués à 16 millions de CHF.

La plupart des dégâts des séismes ont été localisés dans les communes de Sarnen et Kerns. Un grand nombre de maisons ont été endommagées. Cela s'explique par le fait que le sous-sol est constitué de dépôts lacustres et fluviaux à Sarnen, et de sédiments à Kerns. Ces types de sous-sols ont tendance à amplifier les ondes sismiques.

Aucun mort, aucun blessé grave ne fut à déplorer, cependant la peur d’un séisme important fut omniprésente dans la vie de la population pendant plusieurs mois. Par mesure de prudence, on ferma plusieurs écoles et églises. Après quelques mois, l’essaim de séismes se termina, sans que d’autres tremblements de terre de magnitude importante ne soient survenus.

Histoire sismique de la Suisse centrale

Un coup d'œil dans le passé indique que la Suisse centrale présente une histoire sismique notable. De nombreux évènements historiques sont connus et ont été étudiés. Parmi ceux-ci, certains avaient une intensité élevée. Une caractéristique spécifique de la région est l'alternance de phases de grande activité sismique et de longues phases calmes.

On peut citer la série de 10 tremblements de terre de 1774 dans la région d'Altdorf, les onze tremblements de terre vérifiés de 1777 dans la région de Sarnen, et les 19 tremblements de terre ressentis et vérifiés en 1917, également dans la région de la vallée principale de l'Obwald. La période qui s’est écoulée depuis l'essaim de tremblements de terre de 1964 présente par contre toutes les caractéristiques d'une phase calme.