MENU
The page content begins here

The ten strongest earthquakes in Switzerland

The strongest earthquake in recorded history occurring north of the Alps occurred in Basel in 1356. The following table and map show the ten strongest earthquakes that occurred in Switzerland during the last millennium:

The Ten Strongest Earthquakes in Switzerland
Date Location Magnitude Intensity
18.10.1356 Basel (BS) 6.6 IX
03.09.1295 Churwalden (GR) 6.2 VIII
25.07.1855 Stalden-Visp (VS) 6.2 VIII
11.03.1584 Aigle (VD) 5.9 VIII
18.09.1601 Unterwalden (NW) 5.9 VIII
??.04.1524 Ardon (VS) 5.8 VII
25.01.1946 Sierre (VS) 5.8 VIII
09.12.1755 Brig-Naters (VS) 5.7 VIII
10.09.1774 Altdorf (UR) 5.7 VII
03.08.1622 Ftan (GR) 5.4 VII

Seismographs and later seismometers have been recording earthquake data since the end of the 19th century. The collected data enable quakes to be pinpointed and assigned a magnitude. However, only data obtained since the installation of a network of modern measuring devices in Switzerland in the 1970s can be deemed reliable.

Researchers interested in the consequences of older events have to rely on historical accounts from previous centuries. These accounts are evaluated and attributed a value along the European macroseismic scale (EMS-98) with a view to estimating earthquake parameters (location, strength, depth) with the help of statistical procedures. All reports that are examined are subjected to a critical historical analysis so as to arrive at the best possible interpretation or reconstruction of events. This method has successfully traced back some earthquakes to the first millennium, since some chronicles from the early Middle Ages reported individual events of this kind.

'Natural archives' provide valuable information for periods stretching even further back in time. Examples of such natural archives are lake-bed sediments that document soil slippage resulting from earthquakes, broken stalactites and stalagmites in caves and archaeological findings. However, these paleo-seismological methods are not entirely reliable.

The ECOS-02 catalogue and its update, ECOS-09, is the first historically qualified catalogue of earthquakes in Switzerland available online. It covers the period extending from 250 A.D. to the end of 2008 in varying detail, due to the limited data surviving.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Les dix tremblements de terre les plus puissants en Suisse

Le tremblement de terre historique le plus puissant au nord des Alpes s'est produit en 1356 à Bâle. La carte ci-dessous présente les dix tremblements de terre les plus puissants du dernier millénaire en Suisse (sans fortes répliques) et les épicentres de tous les séismes de magnitude supérieure à 2 enregistrés par les instruments du SED entre 1975 et 2017:

Die zehn stärksten
Date Lieux Magnitude Intensité
18.10.1356 Bâle (BS)
avec de fortes répliques
6.6 IX
03.09.1295 Churwalden (GR) 6.2 VIII
25.07.1855 Stalden-Visp (VS)
avec de fortes répliques
6.2 VIII
11.03.1584 Aigle (VD)
avec de fortes répliques
5.9 VIII
18.09.1601 Unterwalden (NW) 5.9 VIII
??.04.1524 Ardon (VS) 5.8 VII
25.01.1946 Sierre (VS)
avec de fortes répliques
5.8 VIII
09.12.1755 Brig-Naters (VS) 5.7 VIII
10.09.1774 Altdorf (UR) 5.7 VII
03.08.1622 Ftan (GR) 5.4 VII

 

Depuis la fin du xixe siècle, les tremblements de terre sont enregistrés par des sismographes, et plus tard par des sismomètres. Ces enregistrements permettent la localisation des séismes et la détermination de leur magnitude - ils ne sont cependant considérés comme fiables en Suisse que depuis l'installation d'un réseau de mesure moderne dans les années 1970.

Pour démontrer les impacts d'évènements plus anciens, la recherche doit se baser sur les relations historiques des siècles passés. Ces dernières sont dépouillées et les résultats traduits dans l'échelle macrosismique européenne (EMS-98), afin d'évaluer par des procédés statistiques les paramètres des tremblements de terre (lieu, force, profondeur). Toutes les relations étudiées sont analysées d'un point de vue historique et critique, pour obtenir une interprétation ou reconstruction la plus correcte possible. Ce procédé a permis de retrouver quelques tremblements de terre jusqu'au premier millénaire, car à cette époque déjà, des journaux du début du Moyen-Age ont décrit certains évènements.

Pour les temps plus anciens, les « archives naturelles » nous fournissent des renseignements importants. Ainsi les sédiments lacustres et les stalactites cassées dans des grottes documentent des éboulements déclenchés par des secousses sismiques en ces temps. Ces méthodes dites paléo-sismiques restent cependant chargées d’incertitudes.

C'est avec ECOS-02 et sa version retravaillée ECOS-09 que pour la première fois en Suisse, un catalogue des tremblements de terre a été compilé et publié en ligne. Il comprend, plus ou moins complet suivant les relations retrouvées, la période comprise entre 250 de notre ère et fin 2008.