MENU
The page content begins here

Portrait

The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich is the federal agency responsible for monitoring earthquakes in Switzerland and its neighboring countries and for assessing Switzerland’s seismic hazard. When an earthquake happens, the SED informs the public, authorities, and the media about the earthquake’s location, magnitude, and possible consequences. The activities of the SED are integrated in the federal action plan for earthquake precaution.

The SED is a nondepartmental unit of ETH Zurich and reports to the Vice President for Research and Economic Relations. It works in close collaboration with the Institute of Geophysics and the Department of Earth Sciences. The director of the SED, Stefan Wiemer is also a professor of seismology at the Department of Earth Sciences.

There are currently approximately 70 people employed by the SED in various capacities, among them around 20 PhD students. The budget for the core business amounts to 5 million Swiss Francs, 3 million of which are provided by the federal government and 2 million are provided by third parties.

SED Logo

The Swiss Seismological Service’s wide range of duties and activities are the result of statutory mandates that are mostly set out in Federal Council rulings. Its main tasks include:

  • Monitoring of seismic activity in Switzerland and its neighbouring countries
  • Assessment of seismic hazard in Switzerland
  • Warning and informing the authorities, the public, and the media
  • Research and teaching
  • Swiss involvement in the international monitoring of the nuclear test ban treaty

In addition to these main tasks the SED provides scientific services and runs research programs on relevant subjects, does public relations and contributes to teaching at ETH Zurich. Knowledge gained by our research efforts and the methods developed in the process are in turn influencing the services offered by the SED.

The Swiss Seismological Service at the ETH is closely associated with the Institute of Geophysics and the Department of Earth Science at ETH Zurich, but operates as an off-department entity under direct control of the Vice President for Research and Economic Relations. A steering committee was created to guarantee close cooperation within the ETH.

The activities of the Swiss Seismological Service are divided into four sections:

Earthquake Monitoring

The Earthquake Monitoring section includes the installation, operation and maintenance of the Swiss seismological network and the earthquake characterization and alerting procedures. Additionally this section is responsible for the deployment of temporary networks, for example for monitoring of geothermal projects, and for organizing international waveform and parameter data sharing.

Earthquake Analysis

The Earthquake Analysis section covers the analysis and interpretation of recorded wave forms and seisms. Data recorded by the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) and its counterparts elsewhere form the basis for numerous research and service projects. For example, such data are essential for analysing the structure and composition of the Alps and their foothills, characterising fault properties, understanding the physics of earthquakes and seismological statistics, improving earthquake predictability or for distinguishing natural from induced earthquakes and those caused by nuclear explosions.

Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment

The activities of the Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment section are focused on the goal of defining the earthquake hazard and risk in Switzerland. This understanding helps to guide the design of building codes that reduce earthquake related damages.

Support and Special Projects

The Support and Special Projects section acts as the support unit for the other activities. It covers a wide range of activities fields of communication, administration and technical tasks.

In addition the SED has several teaching engagements and staff supervises master students and doctorial candidates.

The remit of ETH Zurich's Swiss Seismological Service (SED) is laid down in the following laws, Federal Council decrees and ordinances:

2015 On 21 January 2015, the Swiss Federal Council approved the application for Switzerland's participation in the second GEM Working Programme.
2013 Federal council resolution of January, 30, 2013, concerning earthquake precaution measures taken by the federal government for the period 2013 – 2016.
2010 Regulation of October 20, 2010, concerning the organization of ABC- and natural disaster operations.
2010 Regulation of August 18, 2010, concerning warnings and alerts.
2010 Federal council resolution of May 26, 2010, concerning participation in the international research project “Global Earthquake Model (GEM)“
2009 Federal council resolution of February 18th, 2009, concerning the renewal and financing of the Swiss strong-motion monitoring network.
2009 Federal council resolution of April 1, 2009, concerning earthquake precaution measures taken by the federal government for the period 2009 – 2012.
1996 Federal council resolution of September 16, 1996, concerning the verification of the Nuclear Test Ban Treaty and cooperation with the CTBTO.
1990 Federal council resolution of August 29, 1990, concerning the establishment of two national earthquake monitoring networks.
1956 Federal law (SR 414.113) of December 7, 1956, which established the SED at ETH Zurich and tasked it with monitoring earthquake activity in Switzerland, conducting and publishing research on earthquakes and contributing to international seismological projects.
1914 Federal council resolution of July 8, 1914, concerning the salary of staff working at the seismological service.
1913 Federal law of December 19, 1913, concerning the extension of duties of the Swiss Meteorological Service (Meteorologische Zentralanstalt)

 

On the basis of these laws and resolutions an agreement between the ETH Zurich, the Department of Earth Sciences, and the SED has been reached. This agreement specifies the structure and financing of the SED within the ETH Zurich framework.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Portrait

Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l'ETH de Zurich est l’institution fédérale compétente en matière de tremblements de terre. Le SED est responsable de l’observation et de l’étude des tremblements de terre en Suisse et dans les régions limitrophes. En cas de tremblement de terre, le SED informe le public, les autorités et les médias sur la localisation, la magnitude et les effets possibles. Les activités du SED sont intégrées dans le programme national de mesures pour la mitigation des séismes.

Le SED est une unité extradépartementale de l’ETH Zurich et il est sous l’autorité du vice-président pour la recherche et les relations scientifiques. Le Service Sismologique Suisse travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’Institut de géophysique et le département Sciences de la Terre. Le directeur du SED, Stefan Wiemer, est également professeur de sismologie au département Sciences de la Terre.

Le SED compte environ 70 employés, dont 20 doctorants. Pour son activité de base, le budget s’élève à environ 5 millions de francs ; 3 millions proviennent du gouvernement fédéral et les 2 millions restants de financements externes.

Portrait

Les différentes missions et activités du Service Sismologique découlent des exigences légales fixées en grande partie par les arrêtés du Conseil fédéral. Les missions principales comprennent :

  • La surveillance de l’activité sismique en Suisse et dans les pays limitrophes.
  • L’estimation de l’aléa sismique en Suisse
  • Les informations aux autorités, à la population et aux médias
  • La recherche et l’enseignement
  • La participation de la Suisse à la surveillance internationale de l’interdiction des essais nucléaires.

En outre, le SED offre des services scientifiques, conduit des programmes de recherche dans les domaines concernés et les relations publiques, et pour finir, participe à l’enseignement à l’ETH de Zurich. Les méthodes et les résultats issus de la recherche sont directement appliqués au service des prestations du SED.

Le Service Sismologique à l’ETH Zürich est associé de manière organisationnelle à l’Institut de Géophysique et au Département de Sciences de la Terre mais établi en unité indépendante d’un département directement auprès du Vice-président pour la Recherche et les Relations Economiques. Un comité de pilotage a été formé pour garantir et soutenir une coopération étroite au sein de l’EPF.

Les activités du Service Sismologique Suisse peuvent être divisées en quatre parties:

Surveillance des séismes

La section « Surveillance des séismes » regroupe l’installation, l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau sismique suisse ainsi que l’alerte en cas de tremblement de terre. En outre viennent s’ajouter des réseaux mobiles et temporaires déployés par exemple dans le cadre de projets de géothermie profonde. Elle comprend également la coordination de l’échange international de données.

Analyse des séismes

La section « Analyse des séismes » se penche sur l’analyse et l’interprétation des formes d’onde et séismes enregistrés. Les données enregistrées par le SED et d’autres services sismologiques servent de base à de nombreux projets de recherches et d’applications. Ces données sont par exemple essentielles pour analyser la structure des Alpes et de l’avant-pays alpin, pour caractériser les failles, comprendre la physique des séismes et en effectuer la statistique, ou encore améliorer la prévisibilité des tremblements de terre, mais aussi pour faire la distinction entre les séismes naturels et induits même que les explosions nucléaires.

Évaluation de l'aléa et du risque sismique

Les activités dans la section « Évaluation de l'aléa et du risque sismique » ont pour objectif d’estimer l’aléa et le risque sismique en Suisse. Les résultats de ces recherches participent à l’élaboration des normes de construction parasismique. 

Assistance et projets spéciaux

La section « Assistance et projets spéciaux » apporte les services de soutien aux trois autres parties et comprend un large spectre d’activités dans le secteur de la communication, l’administration et la technique.

En outre, le SED s’engage dans le domaine de l’enseignement, en particulier les cours et l’encadrement d’étudiants et de doctorants.

La mission du Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l’ETH Zurich est déterminée par les lois, arrêtés du Conseil fédéral et ordonnances suivantes :

2015 Le Conseil fédéral a autorisé le 21 janvier 2015 la demande de participation de la Suisse au deuxième programme de travail GEM.
2013 Décision du Conseil fédéral du 20 Janvier 2013 sur la « Mitigation des séismes – Mesures de la Confédération » Point de la situation et propositions de mesures pour la période 2013 à 2016
2010 Ordonnance du 20 Octobre 2010 sur l'organisation des interventions en cas d'événement ABC et d'événement naturel (Ordonnance sur les interventions ABCN)
2010 Ordonnance du 18 Août 2010 sur l'alerte et l'alarme (Ordonnance sur l'alarme, OAL)
2010 Décision du Conseil fédéral du 26 Mai 2010 sur la Participation au projet international de recherche sismique « Global Earthquake Model (GEM) »
2009 Décision du Conseil fédéral du 18 Février 2009 sur le Renouvellement du réseau accélérométrique suisse
2009 Décision du Conseil fédéral du 13 Janvier 2009 sur les mesures de mitigation des séismes prises par le Comité fédéral 2009 - 2012
1996 Décision du Conseil fédéral du 16 Septembre 1996 sur la Vérification du Traité d'interdiction complète des des essais nucléaires et de la participation à l'OTICE/CTBTO
1990 Décision du Conseil fédéral du 29 Août 1990 pour l’établissement des réseaux nationaux de surveillance pour la détection des tremblements de terre
1956 Loi fédérale du 7 Décembre 1956 (RS 414.113), qui a établit le SED à l'ETH avec pour tâche d'identifier et de surveiller l'activité sismique en Suisse, de développer la recherche en sismologie, ainsi que de participer à des projet international de recherche sur les séismes
1914 Décision du Conseil fédéral du 8 Juillet 1914 sur le traitement des collaborateurs du Service Sismologique
1913 Loi fédérale du 19 Décembre 1913 sur l’extension du domaine de compétence du Bureau Central Suisse de Météorologie (Meteorologische Zentralanstalt)

 

Sur la base de ces décisions, un accord a été passé entre l'ETH, le Département des sciences de la Terre et le SED, concernant la structure et le financement du SED au sein de l'ETH.