MENU
The page content begins here

Impacts of Earthquakes

How clearly an earthquake is felt depends not only on its strength, but also on the depth of its seismic focus (hypocentre) and on the local subsoil.

Earthquakes in soft ground (e.g. in valley sediments, lake deposits) are felt more than earthquakes in rocky subsoil. The type of subsoil in the locality also affects the resulting damage: earthquake waves in sediment-filled valleys (like the Rhone Valley) are 10 times stronger than in solid bedrock and cause correspondingly greater damage. As a rule, the more solid the subsoil beneath a building is, the less damage earthquake waves can cause.

Watch the video to see how the waves in a simulated earthquake in the Rhone Valley spread and how long they remain 'trapped' in the valley floor.

In principle, near the epicentre, earthquakes with a magnitude of 2.5 or above can be felt. Only rarely do we receive earthquake notifications for events with a magnitude of just under 2. Earthquakes with magnitudes of 3 or higher are felt by large numbers of people; at magnitudes of between 4 and 5 they can be felt within a radius of up to 200 kilometres; and at magnitudes of 5 or more they can be felt up to several hundred kilometres away under some circumstances.

These increasing radii are due to the fact that the energy released by an earthquake increases by a factor of 30 per level of magnitude, making a magnitude 5 earthquake 30 times stronger than a magnitude 4 earthquake.

You can see how the energy released increases exponentially in the video.

How strong does an earthquake have to be to make itself felt?

The impact of an earthquake on the surface (i.e. on buildings, people, the environment and infrastructure) is described according to a 12-level intensity scale (see EMS-98 below).

Damage to buildings can be expected starting from an intensity of around VI, which corresponds to a magnitude of approximately 5. Destructive damage is to be expected after an earthquake with an intensity of IX or above. Minor cracks or damage caused by falling objects can even occur at lower intensities.

The table on the Federal Authorities' National Hazards Portal shows the anticipated impact of earthquakes of various sizes in Switzerland.

What consequences can earthquakes of various strengths be expected to cause?

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Effets des séismes

L’intensité avec laquelle un tremblement de terre est ressenti va dépendre de sa magnitude, de la profondeur de son foyer (hypocentre) et du sous-sol concerné.

Les tremblements de terre sont ressentis plus fortement sur un sol mou (par exemple sédiments fluviatiles et dépôts lacustres) que sur un sous-sol rocheux. Le sous-sol local produit également un effet sur la répartition des dommages : dans les vallées sédimentaires (par exemple la vallée du Rhône), les ondes sismiques subissent une amplification d’un facteur pouvant atteindre 10 en comparaison avec un sous-sol rocheux et causent d’importants dégâts en fond de vallée. En règle générale, plus le sol sous un bâtiment est solide, moins les ondes sismiques seront destructrices.

Sur la vidéo, vous pouvez voir comment les ondes d'un séisme simulé se propagent dans la vallée du Rhône, et notamment combien de temps elles restent "piégées" en fond de vallée.

Aux abords de l’épicentre, les séismes peuvent en principe être ressentis à partir d’une magnitude 2.5. Nous ne recevons que très rarement des témoignages en cas d’événements dont la magnitude est inférieure à 2. Les secousses sont ressenties à grande échelle à partir d’une magnitude de 3. Les séismes de magnitude comprise entre 4 et 5 peuvent être perçus dans un rayon pouvant atteindre 200 kilomètres, et plusieurs centaines de kilomètres à partir d’une magnitude de 5.

Les distances croissantes s’expliquent par le fait que l’énergie libérée par un séisme augmente d’un facteur 30 pour une unité de magnitude. Il en résulte qu’un séisme de magnitude 5 est 30 fois plus fort qu’un événement de magnitude 4.

Regardez sur la vidéo l’augmentation exponentielle de l’énergie libérée.

A partir de quand un séisme est-il perceptible ?

Les effets produits en surface par un tremblement de terre (sur les bâtiments, les personnes, l’environnement et les infrastructures) sont décrits au moyen d’une échelle d’intensité à 12 degrés (voir EMS-98 ci-dessous).

Des dommages aux bâtiments peuvent se produire à partir d’une intensité de VI, ce qui correspond environ à une magnitude de 5. Il faut s’attendre à des dégâts destructeurs à partir d’une intensité IX. De plus faibles intensités peuvent provoquer des fissures fines ou des dégâts en raison de chutes d’objets.

Le tableau sur le portail des dangers naturels de la Confédération indique les impacts attendus pour des séismes de différentes magnitudes en Suisse.

Quels sont les conséquences envisagées pour des séismes de différentes magnitudes ?