MENU
The page content begins here

Induced Earthquakes

The subsoil is in constant motion, which is why minor and major quakes shake the earth every day. However, not all of these vibrations are of natural origin – some are triggered by human activity. In such cases, science speaks of “induced earthquakes” or “induced seismicity.” This is often caused by major technological activity in the subsoil. With few exceptions, these earthquakes are very small and hardly noticeable on the surface.

In Switzerland, man-made quakes are mainly related to geothermal energy projects. In 2006, an earthquake with a magnitude of 3.4 was triggered in Basel by water being injected at high pressure into the ground, and an earthquake with a magnitude of 3.5 was also triggered near St. Gallen in 2013.

But earthquakes are also triggered when the subsoil is breached for other reasons, such as the injection of CO2 or wastewater, for the conventional and unconventional extraction of crude oil and natural gas through fracking, or in mining and tunneling. Furthermore, man-made alterations to the earth’s surface can also trigger earthquakes. An example of this is the filling of reservoirs with water for the first time.

Explore the causes of man-made earthquakes by clicking on the black circles:

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Tremblements de terre induits

Le sous-sol terrestre est en mouvement constant, en conséquence de quoi la terre subit au quotidien des milliers de tremblements de terre d’intensité variable. Néanmoins, toutes ces secousses ne sont pas d’origine naturelle, certaines sont déclenchées par l’homme. La science parle dans ce cas de «tremblements de terre induits» ou de «sismicité induite». Cette dernière est souvent provoquée par des interventions techniques d’envergure menées dans le sous-sol. A de rares exceptions près, ces séismes sont très faibles et à peine perceptibles en surface.

En Suisse, les tremblements de terre d’origine humaine sont connus essentiellement en lien avec des projets de géothermie. A Bâle, de l’eau injectée à haute pression dans le sous-sol a provoqué en 2006 un séisme d’une magnitude de 3.4. En 2013, un séisme de magnitude 3.5 s’est produit à Saint-Gall.

Mais d’autres utilisations du sous-sol provoquent elles aussi des tremblements de terre. C’est le cas par exemple lors de l’injection de CO2 ou d’eaux usées, de l’extraction, conventionnelle ou non, de pétrole ou de gaz naturel par fracturation hydraulique («fracking») ou bien dans les projets miniers et la construction de tunnels. Les modifications de la surface terrestre induites par l’homme peuvent également déclencher des séismes, par exemple lorsque des lacs de retenue se remplissent d’eau pour la première fois.

Découvrez les causes des séismes d’origine humaine en cliquant sur les cercles noirs: