MENU
The page content begins here

Verification seismology

The CTBTO's seismic network consists of 170 seismometers in 76 countries. Around the clock, 50 of these seismometers feed information on seismic events (earthquakes or explosions) to the data centre in Vienna. The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) oversees one of these seismometers, the DAVOX station.

Verification means confirming whether or not something is true. Where major tremors are concerned, verification entails experts telling the authorities and general public whether detected phenomena are of natural origin or were caused by a nuclear explosion. Seismic verification thus involves differentiating between an earthquake and a nuclear explosion (typically an underground nuclear explosion) based on signals measured using a seismometer.

Construction of the DAVOX Station

January 2002 Building permit application for Dischmatal and Strelapass
March 2002 Decision in favour of the site in Dischmatal
April 2002 Building permit issued
June 2002 Construction work begins: concrete vault, pile foundation, telephone line
July 2002 Installation of technical devices; start of operation and data transmission to the SED in Zurich
August 2002 Installation of the satellite link to Vienna
Sept. 2002 CTBTO computer starts up and transmits data to Vienna
July 2003 Configuration of the last devices completed

 

Certification and Inauguration of the DAVOX Station

Inspectors from the CTBTO visited DAVOX on 14 and 15 July 2003 to verify the station's technical compliance with the Station Operations Manual (CTBT/WGB/TL-11/21, 9 January 2003).

On 22 August 2003, the DAVOX station was certified as the ninth of 120 auxiliary seismic stations comprising the International monitoring system (IMS). DAVOX was integrated into the IDC's operational network on 23 September 2003 and officially inaugurated on 2 October 2003.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Sismologie de vérification

Le réseau sismique de l’OTICE est constitué de 170 sismomètres dans 76 pays. Parmi ces sismomètres, 50 alimentent 24/24 le Centre de données de Vienne en informations sur les événements sismiques (tremblements de terre ou explosions). L’une d’entre elles, la station DAVOX, est exploitée par le Service Sismologique Suisse.

« Vérification »  est l’action de confirmer si quelque chose est vrai ou non. Dans le cas de secousses majeures, la vérification signifie que les experts doivent indiquer aux autorités et au grand public si les phénomènes détectés ont une origine naturelle ou sont le signe d’une explosion nucléaire. « Vérification sismique » signifie donc discrimination entre un séisme et une explosion nucléaire (en général une explosion nucléaire souterraine) sur la base des signaux reçus (mesurés avec un sismomètre).

Construction de la station DAVOX

Janvier 2002 Dépose du permis de construire pour la vallée de la Dischma et le col de la Strela
Mars 2002 Décision pour le site de la vallée de la Dischma
Avril 2002 Permis de construire délivré
Juin 2002 Début du chantier : voûte béton, fondation des piliers, ligne téléphonique
Juillet 2002 Installation des appareils techniques ; début de l’exploitation et transmission des données au SED à Zurich
Août 2002 Installation de la liaison satellite avec Vienne
Sept. 2002 Mise en route de l’ordinateur OTICE et transmission des données à Vienne
Juillet 2003 Fin de la configuration des derniers appareils

 

Certification et ouverture de la station DAVOX

Les inspecteurs de l’OTICE ont visité DAVOX les 14 et 15 juillet 2003 pour vérifier la conformité technique de la station au Manuel d’exploitation de la station (CTBT/WGB/TL-11/21, 9 janvier 2003).

Le 22 août 2003, la station DAVOX a été certifiée en tant que neuvième station parmi 120 stations du réseau auxiliaire de surveillance sismologique du Système de surveillance international (SSI). DAVOX est entrée dans le réseau opérationnel du CID le 23 septembre 2003 et a été officiellement inaugurée le 2 octobre 2003.