MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquakes in the Valais

More earthquakes occur in the Valais than anywhere else in Switzerland. The region therefore has the country's highest seismic hazard, although Switzerland's strongest known quake occurred in Basel (Basel 1356).

Over the past 10 years, the SED has recorded an average of around 270 earthquakes per year in the Valais and its immediate surroundings, of which only two or three a year were felt by local residents. In statistical terms, an earthquake with a magnitude of around 6 occurs in the Valais approximately every 100 years on average. This equates to a probability of occurrence of roughly 1% per year for such a quake.

Historical records confirm that a damaging earthquake has occurred almost once every century for the past 500 years. The last such quake hit the area around Sion in January 1946, claiming three lives and causing millions of francs' worth of damage. Today, with denser settlement and vulnerable infrastructure, the damage from an earthquake of this magnitude would be many times greater.

 

Seismic activity in the Valais

Over the past 40 years, 62 earthquakes with a magnitude of 3 or greater have occurred in the Valais and its immediate surroundings. All were felt by local residents. Six attained a magnitude of more than 4 and were felt over a wider area. The strongest earthquake in this period took place in Vallorcine, on the French border between Martigny and Chamonix. That occurred on 8 September 2005 and had a Richter magnitude of 4.9 and an epicentral intensity of V. The latter means that it caused damage to multiple buildings, such as cracks in masonry, and triggered a number of small rock slides and landslides along roadside embankments. Smaller, imperceptible earthquakes had occurred in the same epicentral area in the preceding years. The main Vallorcine quake was followed by a prolonged series of several hundred aftershocks; a magnitude 3.2 earthquake was recorded there as late as 2014.

Magnitude Number
ML ≥ 2.0 632
ML ≥ 2.5 176
ML ≥ 3.0 62
ML ≥ 4.0 6
Table: Magnitude frequency in and around the Valais between 1975 and 2014. ML is the local magnitude on the Richter scale.
Date Magnitude Location
05.03.1977 4.1 Iffigenalp
30.09.1989 4.1 Wildhorn
14.02.1990 4.2 Bonneveaux
14.06.1993 4.2 Domodossola
31.03.1996 4.2 Valpelline
08.09.2005 4.9 Vallorcine
Table: Earthquakes with a magnitude (ML) greater than 4 in and around the Valais between 1975 and 2014.

Although the first seismographs in Switzerland began operating in the early 20th century, a uniform national seismic monitoring network has only existed since 1975. This has been continually expanded and adapted in line with the latest technological developments. As a result, its sensitivity and location accuracy have improved significantly over time.

The epicentres of instrumentally recorded earthquakes in and around the Valais between 1975 and 2014 differ significantly in their distribution (see epicentre map 1975 - 2014): while the seismic foci south of the Rhone Valley are rather diffuse, with the odd cluster here and there, seismic activity north of the Rhone Valley is concentrated in an elongated area running west-south-west (WSW) to east-north-east (ENE) more or less parallel to the valley itself. There is also a conspicuous cluster of quakes towards Chamonix on the French border (Vallorcine) and east of Zermatt (Cima di Jazzi). It is worth pointing out that the Rhone Valley itself has virtually no seismic foci, despite being a fault zone that separates two different regional tectonic units and must have been seismically active in the geological past.

Historical records are the only information we have about earthquakes in times past. The strength of these quakes can be reconstructed based on the documented damage and quantified in the form of intensities. Although in principle it is possible to estimate a magnitude based on the observed intensities, this would be subject to considerable uncertainty.

In the Valais and surrounding areas, 30 earthquakes with intensities between VI and VIII are known to have occurred since the start of the 16th century. All of these quakes caused minor to severe damage to buildings and in some cases injuries and fatalities. Of these 30 quakes, eight are part of a series that occurred south of Visp in 1855 and five are part of a series north of Sierre in 1946. Nine earthquakes with intensities of at least VIII are known to have occurred in Switzerland from historical records; five of these took place in the Valais.

List of known earthquakes with intensity = VIII in and around the Valais:

Date Intensity Location
??.04.1524 VII Ardon
11.03.1584 VIII Aigle
09.12.1755 VIII Brig / Naters
25.07.1855 VIII Stalden / Visp
25.01.1946 VIII Sierre / Ayant

Over the past 500 years, an earthquake causing major damage to buildings in the Valais has occurred in the middle of each century. Information becomes patchier the further back in time you go. However, it is safe to assume that earthquakes with the potential to cause major damage to buildings also occurred in the Valais prior to 1500. The most recent damaging earthquake in the Valais took place near Brig on 23 March 1960. It had an intensity of VII. Things have been relatively quiet since then, with no earthquake exceeding an intensity of V.

Visp 1855

For the earthquake in Visp on 25 July 1855, with an estimated magnitude of 6.2, it has been possible to accurately reconstruct the extent of the damage. This applies to both the geographical extent of the damage area and the scale of the damage within the directly affected localities. The earthquake reached its maximum intensity of VIII in the Vispertal valley, where it destroyed large parts of the settlements of Visp, Stalden, Törbel, Grächen and St. Niklaus. It killed one person and left dozens injured. Hundreds of boulders were dislodged while entire hillsides gave way and slid into the valley, burying roads and causing existing springs to dry up and new ones to emerge. The earthquake produced intensity VI effects (minor damage to buildings) in Geneva, Basel, Zurich and Schaffhausen, and could be felt as far away as Paris, Lyon, Genoa, Ingolstadt and Mainz. Hundreds of aftershocks were felt for years afterwards, including eight intensity VI to VIII quakes which caused further damage to buildings up to the end of 1855.

Sierre 1946

The earthquake in Sierre on 25 January 1946 was Switzerland's most powerful quake of the 20th century. From a few seismograms recorded abroad, it was possible to calculate the moment magnitude as 5.8, which corresponds to a Richter magnitude of approximately 6.1. The earthquake claimed three lives and caused severe damage to around 3,500 buildings in Sierre, Sion and surrounding areas. Over 500 aftershocks were felt up to the end of 1946 alone, including four with intensities of VI and VII. A particularly noteworthy aftershock occurred on 30 May 1946. This triggered a massive rock avalanche on the Rawilhorn, whose traces can still be seen in the landscape today. Earthquakes had been repeatedly documented in the wider epicentral area of the 1946 quake prior to that event and it is also possible that the cluster of epicentres north of Sion and Sierre, which can still be seen today on maps of instrumentally recorded events, is linked to the 1946 earthquake.

The Sierre earthquake today

The damage caused by the 1946 earthquake would be valued at around CHF 26 million in today's money. As the area is now more built-up, the consequences of an equally powerful quake today would be much greater. Unlike in 1946, the floor of the Rhone Valley is now densely populated and home to large industrial facilities. The subsoil is also unfavourable since the soft sediments of the valley floor amplify seismic waves by up to 10 times compared with a hard subsurface. In other words, shaking here would be much more intense than in places with a rocky substrate. This would lead to greater structural damage and potentially even the collapse of buildings. As even many new buildings would probably not withstand a powerful earthquake under these conditions, the number of victims would likely be much higher than in 1946.

Earthquakes in the Valais often occur as a series of events, corresponding to the aforementioned cluster of epicentres. The duration of these series can vary considerably, with some lasting just a few days while others, such as the Vallorcine series, continue for several years. Typically, such series involve a large number of earthquakes in a localised area over an extended period of time, without a clear sequence of foreshocks, main quake and aftershocks. This is also known as an earthquake swarm. Swarm activity usually ends after a few weeks or months, but occasionally the quakes increase in strength and number over time. If the location of the individual foci in such swarms can be calculated with sufficient accuracy, it always defines one or more surface areas that correspond to the fracture surfaces activated by the earthquakes in the subsurface. Two well-investigated examples of such earthquake swarms in the Valais are the series of quakes that occurred around Martigny in 2001 and around Sierre in 2011.

The Martigny earthquake series

The Martigny earthquake series

Between 8 January and 24 October 2001, 27 events with magnitudes between 1.1 and 3.6 were recorded in the vicinity of Martigny. Ten of these occurred between 23 and 28 February, including two quakes with magnitudes of 3.6 and 3.5. Oriented south-west to north-east (SW-NE), the vertical fracture surface activated by this series lies at a depth of around 6 km and extends for a length of almost 2 km.

Figure: Precise locations of the Martigny 2001 earthquake series showing the shear fracture directions.

The Sierre earthquake series

A swarm of 31 earthquakes began near Sierre on 8 January 2011. Sixteen of these earthquakes occurred in the first five hours, including two with magnitudes of 3.3 and 3.2. A further nine events followed in the next two weeks and the remaining six over the rest of the year. The individual seismic foci were located at depths of 6 to 7 km on two vertical, slightly staggered fracture segments running west to east (W-E), with a total surface area of approximately 800 x 400 m.

The Sierre earthquake series
Figure: Precise locations of the Sierre 2011 earthquake series (left: epicentre map, right: depth section) showing the shear fracture directions.

Val d’Illiez: an earthquake series induced by the filling of Lac de Salanfe

In the winter of 1953/54, 12 earthquakes with estimated magnitudes between 3 and 4 occurred in the municipality of Val d’Illiez, west of Saint Maurice. Given that on average only one or two quakes with magnitudes greater than 3 occur in the whole of the Valais each year, this series was exceptional. The previous summer, the Lac de Salanfe reservoir, located around 7 km to the south-south-east, had been filled for the first time. In the same winter, a new thermal spring appeared in the Buchelieule area of the municipality. It is still in use as a spa today. A link between the filling of the reservoir and the emergence of thermal water in the neighbouring valley is plausible, given the position of the local rock strata.

Increased seismic activity caused by reservoirs is a well-known phenomenon worldwide, as damming a reservoir inevitably increases the underground water pressure. This weakens the rock, which can cause the stresses in the rock to suddenly discharge in the form of earthquakes. The change in pressure and the earthquake-induced rupture processes in the rock very likely opened new flow paths in the subsurface, resulting in the emergence of the new thermal spring.

The Salanfe reservoir remained below its maximum water level for years due to the seepage of large quantities of water into the subsoil. Following extensive construction work to seal the basin, the water rose to a previously unseen level in the autumn of 1995. The following winter, unusually high seismic activity was again detected in the area between Lac de Salanfe and Val d’Illiez. Although there were no magnitude 3 quakes this time, over 30 events with magnitudes greater than 1 were recorded in the space of half a year – an exceptional number compared with the annual average of around eight events per year. The Val d’Illiez/Lac de Salanfe case is thus a classic example of induced earthquakes triggered by disruptions to hydraulic conditions in the subsurface as the result of human intervention.

Essentially, earthquakes are caused by the sudden release of stresses in the earth's crust. These stresses are brought about by large-scale continental movements. If they are stronger than the rock, a sudden rupture occurs along existing areas of weakness in the subsurface, triggering the seismic waves felt on the earth's surface. Modern seismology uses seismic observations to draw conclusions about the causative stresses and so deduce regional differences in the stress field.

In the northern Valais, as in the northern Alpine foothills, the stresses in question are those caused by the opening of the Atlantic and the collision between Africa and Europe, which are also responsible for the formation of the Alps. In the southern Valais Alps, however, most earthquakes are evidence of lateral spreading: this results from a superposition of stresses from the ongoing collision between Africa and Europe and of compensatory stresses caused by the topography of the Alps and their roots. Obviously, stresses in the earth's crust have changed over the course of millions of years.

Causes of earthquakes in the Valais
Figure: Map detail showing directions of tectonic stresses

The Valais has Switzerland's highest seismic hazard, along with the Basel region. Earthquake-resistant residential or office buildings in Switzerland are designed to withstand shaking that is expected to occur where the building is situated once every 500 years on average. This is illustrated on the seismic zone map. Most of the Valais, including the Rhone Valley, belongs to zone Z3b. In this zone, shaking with a maximum intensity of VIII-IX (severe to destructive building damage) is expected to occur once in 500 years. The far west and far east of the Valais and the adjoining northern slopes fall into zone Z3a. In this zone, shaking with a maximum intensity of VII-VIII (moderate to severe building damage) is expected to occur once in 500 years.

Amplification of seismic waves in the Rhone Valley

As well as the magnitude and epicentral distance, the local subsoil type has a major impact on the amount of damage caused by an earthquake. In the Rhone Valley, for example, unconsolidated river and lake deposits can strengthen seismic waves, meaning that the ground motion intensity on a valley floor may be up to 10 times greater than in the rocky substrate of the valley sides. To understand the impact of these site effects during past and future earthquakes, the propagation of seismic waves is computer-simulated and compared with recordings from seismic instruments.

Secondary natural hazards triggered by earthquakes

The impact of earthquakes is not limited to shaking and direct damage to buildings. Additional damage is often caused by other natural hazards triggered by earthquakes. Shaking can cause waterlogged loose sediments to liquefy and lose their solidity, leading to the complete collapse of buildings whose foundations are not site-appropriate. The unstable slopes commonly found in mountainous regions may be suddenly weakened by earthquake-induced shaking, causing rockfalls or landslides into the valley below. These may destroy transport links and energy and communications infrastructure. The same is true of avalanches in winter. Also, embankments and the sides of lake basins formed of unconsolidated sediments may start to slip. These can trigger massive water waves that travel across a lake as a tsunami, causing devastating floods. Studies of past earthquakes show that the Valais, with its soft valley floors and steep mountainsides, and the adjoining areas around Lake Geneva are exposed to these additional earthquake-induced natural hazards. This must definitely be taken into account when assessing the earthquake risk.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Les séismes dans le Valais

En Suisse, c’est le Valais qui est le plus fréquemment le siège de séismes. La région présente donc l’aléa sismique le plus élevé de Suisse, même si le plus gros tremblement de terre historiquement connu s’est produit à Bâle (Bâle 1356).

Dans le Valais et son environnement immédiat, le SED a enregistré en moyenne au cours des 10 dernières années environ 270 tremblements de terre par an, dont seulement deux ou trois sont ressentis chaque année par la population. En moyenne statistique, il se produit pratiquement une fois par siècle dans le Valais un tremblement de terre avec une magnitude de 6 environ. Cela correspond à une probabilité d’environ 1 % par an pour un séisme de ce type.

Comme le confirme un regard dans le passé, il s’est produit au cours des 500 dernières années pratiquement chaque siècle un séisme ayant entraîné des dommages. Le dernier de ce type a secoué en janvier 1946 les environs de Sion, avec trois victimes, et a créé des dommages à hauteur de plusieurs millions. Aujourd’hui, les dommages d’un tremblement de terre de cette magnitude seraient bien plus importants en raison de la grande densité de population et des infrastructures vulnérables.

 

Activité sismique dans le Valais

Au cours des quarante années écoulées, 62 tremblements de terre d’une magnitude supérieure ou égale à 3 se sont produits dans le Valais et à proximité immédiate. Tous ont été ressentis par la population locale. Six d’entre eux ont dépassé une magnitude de 4 et ont été ressentis sur une zone plus large. Le séisme le plus important pendant cette période est celui de Vallorcine, à la frontière française entre Martigny et Chamonix. Il s’est produit le 8 septembre 2005 et a atteint une magnitude de 4.9 sur l’échelle de Richter, ainsi qu’une intensité à l’épicentre de V. Cette valeur signifie qu’il a provoqué des dommages de type fissures en maçonnerie sur plusieurs bâtiments, ainsi que quelques chutes de pierre et glissements de terrain le long des talus routiers. Dans la même zone d’épicentre, des petits séismes qui n’ont pas été ressentis s’étaient produits au cours des années précédentes. Une longue série de plusieurs centaines de répliques a suivi le tremblement de terre principal de Vallorcine ; en 2014 on y a encore enregistré un séisme de magnitude 3.2.

Magnitude Nombre
ML ≥ 2.0 632
ML ≥ 2.5 176
ML ≥ 3.0 62
ML ≥ 4.0 6
Tableau : Fréquence de magnitude dans le Valais et les alentours entre 1975 et 2014. ML est la magnitude locale sur l’échelle de Richter
Date Magnitude Localité
05.03.1977 4.1 Iffigenalp
30.09.1989 4.1 Wildhorn
14.02.1990 4.2 Bonneveaux
14.06.1993 4.2 Domodossola
31.03.1996 4.2 Valpelline
08.09.2005 4.9 Vallorcine
Tableau : Séismes d’une magnitude (ML) supérieure à 4 dans le Valais et les environs entre 1975 et 2014.

Bien que dès le début du xxe siècle, les premiers sismographes aient été mis en service en Suisse, ce n’est que depuis 1975 qu’un réseau d’observation sismique national unifié existe. Il a été densifié en permanence et adapté aux progrès technologiques. Sa sensibilité a été notoirement améliorée avec le temps, de même que sa précision de localisation.

La répartition des épicentres des séismes enregistrés par des instruments entre 1975 et 2014 dans le Valais et les environs est assez variable (voir Carte des épicentres 1975 - 2014) : alors que les foyers sismiques au sud de la vallée du Rhône sont plutôt répartis de manière diffuse, avec quelques accumulations ponctuelles, au nord de celle-ci l’activité sismique se concentre le long d’une zone orientée ouest-sud-ouest à est-nord-est, plus ou moins parallèle à la vallée. En outre, une accumulation remarquable de tremblement de terre a été observée en direction de Chamonix à la frontière française (Vallorcine), ainsi qu’à l’est de Zermatt (Cima di Jazzi). Il est important de noter que la vallée du Rhône elle-même ne présente pratiquement pas de foyers sismiques, alors qu’elle correspond à une zone de perturbation séparant deux unités tectoniques régionales, et qu’elle a dû être sismiquement active dans le passé géologique.

Les relations historiques sont les seules informations qui nous renseignent sur les tremblements de terre autrefois. La force de ces séismes peut être reconstruite à partir des dommages documentés, et chiffrés sous forme d’intensités. Bien qu’il soit possible en principe d’estimer une magnitude à partir des intensités observées, elle reste entachée d’une grande incertitude.

Dans le Valais et ses environs, on connaît depuis la fin du xvie siècle trente séismes d’intensités comprises entre VI et VIII. Tous ces séismes ont entraîné des dommages légers ou plus lourds sur les bâtiments, et parfois des blessés ou des morts. Parmi ces trente séismes, huit font partie de la série de séismes de 1855 au sud de Visp et cinq de la série de 1946 au nord de Sierre. Les relations historiques signalent au total neuf séismes d’intensités supérieures à VIII en Suisse ; cinq d’entre eux se sont produits dans le Valais.

Liste des séismes connus d’intensité = VIII dans le Valais et aux alentours:

Date Intensité Localité
??.04.1524 VII Ardon
11.03.1584 VIII Aigle
09.12.1755 VIII Brig / Naters
25.07.1855 VIII Stalden / Visp
25.01.1946 VIII Sierre / Ayant

Au cours des dernières 500 années, un séisme ayant provoqué des dommages importants sur les bâtiments s’est produit en moyenne une fois par siècle. Plus on remonte loin dans le temps, plus les informations sont incomplètes. On suppose cependant que des séismes se sont produits dans le Valais également avant 1500, avec un potentiel de gros dommages. Le dernier séisme ayant provoqué des dommages dans le Valais est celui du 23 mars 1960 près de Brig, dont l’intensité a atteint une intensité de VII. Depuis, le calme a été relatif, aucun tremblement de terre n’a dépassé une intensité de V.

Visp 1855

Il a été possible de reconstruire précisément l’ampleur des dommages du séisme de Visp, le 25 juillet 1855, d’une magnitude estimée de 6.2, et ceci aussi bien pour l’extension géographique de la région touchée, que pour le périmètre des dommages au sein des localités directement concernées. Dans la vallée de Viège, le séisme a atteint une intensité maximale de VIII et a détruit une grande partie des localités de Viège, Stalden, Törbel, Grächen et Saint Nicolas. On a déploré des douzaines de blessés et un mort. Des centaines de rochers se sont décrochés, des versants entiers ont glissé et enseveli les routes, fait disparaître des sources existantes et apparaître de nouvelles. À Genève, Bâle, Zurich et Schaffhouse, les conséquences du séisme ont atteint une intensité VI, avec donc des dommages légers aux bâtiments. Le séisme a été ressenti jusqu’à Paris, Lyon, Gènes, Ingolstadt et Mayence. Une série de centaines de répliques perceptibles s’est prolongée au cours des années suivantes, dont huit séismes d’intensité entre VI et VIII qui ont provoqué de nouveaux dommages jusqu’à fin 1855.

 

Sierre 1946

Le séisme de Sierre le 25 janvier 1946 est le plus fort en Suisse au cours du xxe siècle. Quelques sismogrammes enregistrés à l’extérieur des frontières ont permis de calculer une magnitude de moment de 5.8, ce qui correspond à peu près à 6.1 sur l’échelle de Richter. Le séisme a tué trois personnes et entraîné de lourds dommages sur près de 3500 bâtiments à Sierre, Sion et environs. Dès la fin 1946, on avait déjà ressenti plus de 500 répliques, dont 4 d’intensité VI et VII. La réplique du 30 mai 1946 doit être mentionnée, car elle a provoqué un gigantesque éboulement sur le Rawilhorn, dont les traces sont encore visibles aujourd’hui dans le paysage. Dans la zone de l’épicentre du séisme de 1946, des tremblements de terre répétés avaient déjà été documentés, et il est possible que la concentration d’épicentres au nord de Sion et Sierre, encore visible aujourd’hui sur les cartes des évènements enregistrés, soit reliée au séisme de 1946.

Le tremblement de terre de Sierre aujourd’hui

Le montant des dommages du séisme de 1946 s’élève, à la valeur actualisée, à environ 26 millions de francs. En raison de la densité de construction, les conséquences d’un tremblement de terre de même force seraient aujourd’hui bien plus importantes. Contrairement à 1946, le fond de la vallée du Rhône est désormais densément peuplé, et siège d’importantes installations industrielles. De plus, le sous-sol est ici défavorable : dans les sédiments meubles du fond de vallée, l’amplitude des ondes sismiques est jusqu’à dix fois plus forte que sur un sol dur. Cela signifie que les secousses sont bien plus importantes que sur un sol rocheux, ce qui peut entraîner des dommages importants aux bâtiments, voire leur effondrement. Comme de nombreux bâtiments ne résisteraient probablement pas à un fort séisme dans ces conditions, on attendrait beaucoup plus de victimes qu’en 1946.

Souvent, les séismes se produisent dans le Valais sous la forme de séries d’évènements, qui correspondent à la concentration ponctuelle d’épicentres déjà mentionnée. La durée de telles séries peut être très variable : certaines sont terminées après quelques jours, d’autres, comme la série de Vallorcine, durent plusieurs années. Ce qui est caractéristique de telles séries, c’est une succession de séismes localement limités sur une période assez longue, sans qu’on puisse distinguer de prémisses, séisme principal et répliques. On parle alors d’un essaim de tremblements de terre. La plupart du temps, l’activité de l’essaim s’éteint après quelques semaines ou quelques mois, mais dans de rares occasions, les séismes sont de plus en plus forts et de plus en plus nombreux avec le temps. Lorsqu’on peut calculer la situation des foyers individuels de tels essaims avec une précision suffisante, on peut toujours définir une ou plusieurs surfaces qui correspondent à une ou plusieurs failles activées par le séisme. Deux exemples bien étudiés de tels essaims dans le Valais sont les séries de 2001 près de Martigny et de 2011 près de Sierre.

Série de séismes de Martigny

Série de séismes de Martigny

Entre le 8 janvier et le 24 octobre 2001, 27 évènements d’une magnitude comprise entre 1.1 et 3.6 ont été enregistrés à proximité de Martigny. Dix séismes se sont produits entre le 23 et le 28 février, dont deux de magnitude 3.6 et 3.5. La surface de faille activée par cette série de séismes, orientée sud-ouest/nord-est, est verticale et se situe à environ 6 km de profondeur, sur une longueur de presque 2 km.

Illustration : Localisation précise de la série de tremblements de terre à Martigny en 2001 avec indication des directions de la rupture de cisaillement
Série de séismes de Sierre

Un essaim de 31 séismes a débuté le 8 janvier 2011 près de Sierre. Parmi ceux-ci, 16 se sont produits dans les cinq premières heures, dont deux d’une magnitude de 3.3 et 3.2. Neuf évènements supplémentaires se sont produits dans les deux semaines qui ont suivi, et les six restants au cours de l’année. Les différents foyers se trouvaient à 6 ou 7 km de profondeur, sur deux segments de faille verticaux orientés ouest-est, légèrement décalés l’un de l’autre, d’une surface totale d’environ 800 x 400 m.

Série de séismes de Sierre
Illustration : Localisation précise de la série de séismes de Sierre 2011 (liens carte d’épicentres, à droite coupe verticale) avec indication des directions de la faille cisaillante.

La série de séismes induits du Val d’Illiez, conséquence de la mise en eau du Lac de Salanfe

Douze séismes de magnitudes estimées entre 3 et 4 se sont produits pendant l’hiver 1953/54 dans la région de la commune de Val d’Illiez, à l’ouest de Saint Maurice. En comparaison avec la moyenne annuelle d’un ou deux séismes avec une magnitude supérieure à 3 dans l’ensemble du Valais, cette série était exceptionnelle. Au cours de l’été précédent, le lac de retenue de Salanfe, situé à 7 kilomètres au sud-sud-est, a été rempli pour la première fois. Lors du même hiver, une nouvelle source thermale est apparue dans le hameau de Buchelieule : elle est toujours utilisée aujourd’hui pour des bains thermaux. Une liaison entre la mise en eau du barrage et l’apparition de cette source thermale dans la vallée adjacente est plausible en raison de la disposition des couches rocheuses.

L’augmentation de l’activité sismique en raison des lacs de retenue est un phénomène connu dans le monde entier, car leur mise en eau conduit toujours à une augmentation de la pression de l’eau dans le sol. La solidité de la roche est alors diminuée, et les contraintes déjà présentes peuvent se relâcher sous la forme de séismes. L’évolution des conditions de pression, ainsi que les ruptures provoquées par le séisme dans les roches ont très vraisemblablement ouvert de nouveaux chemins d’écoulement dans le sol, ce qui a conduit à l’apparition de cette nouvelle source.

Dans le réservoir de Salanfe, des débits importants se sont infiltrés dans le sol, et la cote maximale de remplissage n’a pas pu être atteinte pendant des années. Seules des mesures coûteuses pour rendre le bassin étanche ont permis d’atteindre une cote supérieure pendant l’été 1995. Pendant l’hiver suivant, une nouvelle augmentation notoire de l’activité sismique a été observée dans la région située entre le Lac de Salanfe et Val d’Illiez. Bien que cette fois-ci, aucun des séismes n’ait atteint la magnitude 3, le nombre de 30 séismes de magnitude supérieure à 1 en un semestre a été exceptionnel, en comparaison avec la moyenne annuelle d’environ 8 évènements. Le cas de Val d’Illiez/Lac de Salanfe est ainsi un exemple classique de séismes induits, déclenchés par des perturbations des conditions hydrauliques dans le sol à la suite d’interventions humaines.

Par principe, les séismes sont engendrés par la relaxation subite des contraintes dans la croûte terrestre. Ces contraintes apparaissent à la suite de mouvements continentaux de grande ampleur. Lorsqu’elles dépassent la solidité de la roche, une rupture se produit le long de zones de faiblesse existantes dans le sol, et elle engendre des ondes sismiques qui sont ressenties à la surface de la Terre. La sismologie moderne permet de tirer des conclusions sur les contraintes d’origine à partir des observations sismiques, et donc d’en déduire les variations régionales du champ de contraintes.

Dans le nord du Valais ainsi que dans la partie nord de l’avant-pays alpin, ces contraintes correspondent à celles que l’on attend et qui découlent de l’ouverture de l’Atlantique et de la collision entre l’Afrique et l’Europe, et qui sont également responsables de la surrection des Alpes. Par contre, dans le sud des Alpes valaisannes, les séismes traduisent généralement une extension : il résulte d’une superposition de contraintes, correspondant à la collision permanente entre l’Afrique et l’Europe, et de contraintes de compensation, découlant de la topographie des Alpes et de leurs racines. Il apparaît donc que les conditions de contraintes dans la croûte terrestre ont évolué au cours de ces millions d’années.

Causes des tremblements de terre dans le Valais
Illustration : Extrait de carte avec les directions des contraintes tectoniques

Avec la région de Bâle, le Valais présente l’aléa sismique le plus élevé en Suisse. La construction parasismique des bâtiments d’habitation ou de bureaux est conçue en Suisse pour des secousses que l’on peut attendre sur leur site en moyenne une fois tous les 500 ans. La carte de zonage sismique reflète cet aspect. La plus grande partie du Valais, notamment la vallée du Rhône, appartient à la zone Z3b. Dans celle-ci, on attend tous les 500 ans des secousses atteignant au maximum une intensité de VIII-IX (dommages importants à destructeurs pour les bâtiments). Les parties occidentales et orientales du Valais, ainsi que la région nord adjacente appartiennent à la zone Z3a. Dans celle-ci, on attend tous les 500 ans des secousses atteignant au maximum une intensité de VII-VIII (dommages modérés à importants pour les bâtiments).

Renforcement des ondes sismiques dans la vallée du Rhône.

Conjointement à la magnitude et à la distance à l’épicentre, la composition du sous-sol local a une influence importante sur l’ampleur des dommages provoqués par un séisme. C’est ainsi que dans la vallée du Rhône, des alluvions meubles déposés par les cours d’eau et au fond des lacs peuvent renforcer les secousses sismiques, et engendrer ainsi une intensité des mouvements du sol décuplée au fond d’une vallée par rapport au sous-sol rocheux des flancs de celle-ci. Pour comprendre les effets de ce qu’on appelle effets locaux pour les tremblements de terre historiques et futurs, la propagation des ondes sismiques est simulée numériquement, et comparée avec les enregistrements des instruments de mesure.

Dangers naturels secondaires induits par les séismes

Les effets des tremblements de terre ne se limitent pas à des secousses qui peuvent endommager directement les bâtiments. Souvent, des dommages supplémentaires sont provoqués par des dangers naturels déclenchés par les séismes. Les sédiments meubles saturés d’eau peuvent se liquéfier sous l’effet des secousses, perdre alors toute solidité et conduire à l’effondrement total de bâtiments n’ayant pas de fondations adaptées au site. Dans les régions montagneuses, on observe souvent des versants instables : les secousses sismiques peuvent leur faire perdre subitement toute solidité, et entraîner des glissements de terrain ou chutes de pierres capables de détruire en vallée routes et chemins de fer, ou encore infrastructures de transport d’énergie ou de communication. En hiver, le même impact peut être attendu des avalanches. Par ailleurs, les talus des rives, ou encore les sédiments meubles des flancs des bassins lacustres peuvent se mettre à glisser. Ceci provoque des vagues gigantesques, qui se propagent comme un tsunami sur un lac et provoquent des inondations destructrices. Comme le montrent les études des tremblements de terre passés, le Valais avec ses fonds de vallée meubles et ses versants abrupts, ainsi que les régions limitrophes avec le lac Léman, sont exposés à ces dangers naturels supplémentaires déclenchés par les séismes. Ceci doit absolument être pris en compte lors de l’évaluation du risque sismique.