MENU
The page content begins here

Special Projects & International Collaboration

Seismology and the observation of earthquakes is one of those scientific disciplines that from its very beginning embraced international collaboration and the free sharing of data and ideas across academic groups and national boundaries. As one of Europe’s leading seismological services, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich has a long history of promoting and engaging in various national and international initiatives. We also collaborate actively with European and international organisations in Seismology. Many SED staff members contribute to the governance of these organizations and take over community duties. The SED, with support from ETH, hosts a number of offices for various international organizations, or acts as their national focal point.

The CTBTO is an international organisation based in Vienna that monitors compliance with the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) by everyone and everywhere. To make sure that no nuclear explosion goes undetected, the CTBTO collects and analyses data from a global network of monitoring stations, looking for signs of such explosions like seismic waves. The Swiss contribution to this global network is the DAVOX seismic station, which is run by the SED on behalf of the Federal Department of Home Affairs and the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs. The SED also acts as National Data Center for the CTBTO for all waveform data, and sends scientific experts to the technical working groups of the CTBTO. Our collaboration with the CTBTO is described in the topic «nuclear-test-ban monitoring». Learn more about CTBTO here.

The European-Mediterranean Seismological Centre (EMSC) is a non-governmental institution that was founded in 1975, following a recommendation from the European Seismological Commission (ESC). Its members are seismological observatories and earthquake services from the wider European-Mediterranean region. The EMSC operates a system for rapid collection and dissemination of earthquake information, and provides services to the public as well as to the scientific community. The SED is a member of the EMSC since the beginning, and actively engages in the governance of EMSC. All our earthquake location results for events recorded in Switzerland are shared with the EMSC in real-time and contribute to the common products. Learn more about the EMSC here.

The European Plate Observing System (EPOS) is a European Research Infrastructure that facilitates integrated use of data, data products, and services from academic institutions and national services active in solid Earth science in Europe. After more than 10 years of planning and preparatory work, it was established as European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) in 2018. Switzerland is one of the founding members of EPOS (with observer status). The SED was heavily engaged in the build-up of EPOS, and coordinates the Thematic Core Service for Seismology within EPOS. As part of the EPOS Seismology waveform services, the SED operates a primary node of the European Integrated Data Archive (EIDA) within ORFEUS. The dense multi-parameter earthquake observation network that the SED operates in the Valais is one of EPOS’s Near Fault Observatories. Learn more about EPOS here.

ORFEUS (Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology) is a non-profit foundation that promotes seismology in the Euro-Mediterranean area through the collection, archival and distribution of seismic waveform (meta)data and closely related products. The data and services are collected and developed at national level by more than 60 seismological agencies and further developed, integrated, standardized, homogenized and promoted through ORFEUS.

The core ORFEUS services are:

  1. the European Integrated waveform Data Archive (EIDA);
  2. and the European Strong-Motion databases (SM).

ORFEUS currently provides access to ~10,000 stations, including dense temporary experiments. Contributing to ORFEUS data archives means long-term archival, state-of-the-art quality control, improved access and increased usage. Federated web services are used to ensure optimal data access. Particular attention is paid to adopting clear policies and acknowledging the crucial role played by data providers, who are part of the ORFEUS community.

ORFEUS data and services are assessed and improved through the feedback of a User Advisory Group (UAG), comprised of European Earth scientists with expertise encompassing a broad range of disciplines. All ORFEUS services are developed in coordination with EPOS and are EPOS compliant. ORFEUS is one of the founding parties and fundamental pillars of EPOS Seismology.

Since 2018, the ORFEUS Secretariat is located at the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich. The Secretary General, Dr. Carlo Cauzzi, is the general coordinator of all the activities of the Foundation, as detailed in the ORFEUS Bylaws.

Learn more about ORFEUS here.

European Facilities of Earthquake Hazard and Risk (EFEHR) is a non-profit network of European academic institutions, established in October 2010. EFEHR brings together researchers from earth science, seismology, engineering, computer science and social science and aims at advancing the scientific knowledge of seismic related hazards and risks.

EFEHR research alliance is built upon the legacy of past EU-founded projects i.e. NERA, NERIES, LESSLOSS, SYNER-G and SHARE, and SERA. EFEHR is not replacing national or local efforts; it is supporting and enriching them in the European-Mediterranean region. The core research activities focus on the advance of scientific knowledge and innovative framework in seismic hazard and risk assessment. The EFEHR consortium coordinates and maintains the access of seismic hazard and risk models, data, tools and products via its federated web-services and standalone web-platform. EFEHR constitutes one of the three service domains in the Thematic Core Service (TCS) Seismology within the European Plate Observatory System (EPOS). The two others are ORFEUS (waveform services) and CSEM-EMSC (seismological products services). New synergies and integrations with key EPOS services are foreseen as a transition of seismic hazard and risk models towards geoscience datasets. EFEHR will maintain the collaboration with Global Earthquake Model (GEM) to develop and adopt open-standards and open-software for seismic hazard and risk calculation.

For any additional information, please visit www.efehr.org.

The Energy Strategy 2050 established by the Swiss federal Office of Energy (SFOE) foresees deep geothermal energy to be an important component of Switzerland's future energy portfolio. The experiences of the Basel (2006) and St. Gallen (2012) geothermal projects in Switzerland, but also of international projects in Pohang (South Korea) or Strasbourg (France), illustrate that in order to successfully exploit deep geothermal energy for heat use or electricity generation, adequate risk governance of potentially induced seismicity is critically important for establishing safe and economically viable projects. Achieving this goal primarily involves providing state-of-the-art seismological advice for decision-making to cantonal authorities, and enabling an adequate, independent, and transparent seismic monitoring for deep geothermal projects. These measures will also promote the public acceptance of the technology on the long run.

The GEOBEST project, funded by the Swiss Federal office of Energy (SFOE), enables the Swiss Seismological Service at ETH Zurich to support cantonal authorities in handling issues related to induced seismicity during all development phases of a deep geothermal project (preliminary investigation, approval, construction, and operation).

The Underground Labs group led by Dr. Katrin Plenkers covers the monitoring and analysis of seismological data recorded in research projects in underground rock laboratories (URL).

The Swiss Seismological Service conducts underground experiments to study for example earthquake nucleation, geothermal heat exploration or rock damage. Underground rock laboratories provide the possibility to study the rock response under semi-natural conditions while designing controlled experiments and providing accessibility for high-resolution monitoring. Seismic events recorded in underground rock laboratories have very small magnitudes from approximately magnitude -6 to magnitude 0 (pico-seismicity) and correspond to (micro-) fractures on the millimetre to meter scale.

The group performs research in the field of pico-seismicity, including temporal-spatial evolution, source analysis and statistical seismology. In addition, the group develops infrastructure for underground experiments, especially improved high-frequency sensors. The characterization of sensor and monitoring systems and the comparison to alternative measuring systems such as fibre optics plays an important role. In addition, the group develops efficient software for the automatic processing of events recorded underground.

The group plays a role in the seismic hazard and risk analysis before and during the start of underground experiments.

The group is working in close collaboration with the Swiss Competence Centre for Energy Research-Supply of Electricity (SCCER-SoE), the Induced Seismicity group and the Laboratory Seismology group.

Learn more about the Underground research projects at ETH Zurich: The Bedretto Laboratory for Geoenergies and the Grimsel In-Situ Experiment.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Projets spéciaux & collaboration internationale

Dès leurs débuts, la sismologie et l’observation des tremblements de terre sont des disciplines scientifiques qui ont fait appel à la collaboration internationale et au libre partage des données et des idées entre les groupes universitaires. Le Service sismologique suisse (SED) de l’ETH Zurich, l’un des principaux services sismologiques européens, a une longue histoire de participation à des initiatives nationales et internationales, qu’il a souvent encouragées. Il collabore également activement avec des organisations européennes et internationales dans le domaine de la sismologie. Des collaboratrices et collaborateurs nombreux du SED contribuent à la gestion de ces organisations et assument des fonctions communautaires. Le SED, avec le soutien de l’ETH, accueille un certain nombre de bureaux ou secrétariats pour diverses organisations internationales, ou fait office d’interlocuteur national.

L’OTICE est une organisation internationale basée à Vienne qui veille au respect du Traité d’interdiction complète des essais nucléaires (TICE) par tous et partout. Pour s’assurer qu’aucune explosion nucléaire ne passe inaperçue, l’OTICE recueille et analyse les données d’un réseau mondial de stations de surveillance de signatures de telles explosions, notamment les ondes sismiques. La contribution suisse à ce réseau mondial est la station sismique DAVOX, exploitée par le SED sur mandat du Département fédéral de l’intérieur et du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères. Le SED fait également office de Centre national de données pour l’OTICE pour tout ce qui est relatif aux formes d’onde, et met à disposition des experts scientifiques pour les groupes de travail techniques de l’OTICE. La collaboration avec l’OTICE est décrite dans la rubrique « Surveillance de l’interdiction des essais nucléaires ». Pour en savoir plus sur l’OTICE, cliquez ici.

Le Centre sismologique euro-méditerranéen (CSEM) est une institution non gouvernementale fondée en 1975, suite à une recommandation de la Commission sismologique européenne (ESC). Ses membres sont des observatoires sismologiques et des services sismiques de la région euro-méditerranéenne au sens large. Le CSEM exploite un système de collecte et de diffusion rapide d’informations sur les tremblements de terre et fournit des services au public ainsi qu’à la communauté scientifique. Le SED est membre du CSEM depuis le début, et s’engage activement dans sa gestion. Tous les résultats de localisation des tremblements de terre enregistrés en Suisse sont partagés avec le CSEM en temps réel et contribuent aux produits communs. Pour en savoir plus sur le CSEM, cliquez ici.

L’European Plate Observing System (EPOS) est une infrastructure de recherche européenne qui facilite l’utilisation intégrée des données, des produits et des services des institutions universitaires et des services nationaux actifs dans le domaine des sciences de la terre en Europe. Après plus de 10 ans de planification et de travaux préparatoires, il a été créé en 2018 sous forme d’un Consortium européen pour une infrastructure de recherche (ERIC). La Suisse est l’un des membres fondateurs d’EPOS (avec statut d’observateur). Le SED s’est fortement engagé dans la mise en place d’EPOS, et coordonne le Service de base thématique pour la sismologie au sein du consortium. Dans le cadre des services de formes d’ondes sismologiques EPOS, le SED exploite un nœud primaire de l’archive européenne de données intégrées (EIDA) au sein d’ORFEUS. Le réseau dense d’observation des tremblements de terre multiparamétriques que le SED exploite dans le Valais est l’un des observatoires de failles d’EPOS. Pour en savoir plus sur EPOS, cliquez ici.

ORFEUS (Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology) est une fondation à but non lucratif qui apporte une assistance à la sismologie dans la région euro-méditerranéenne grâce à la collecte, l’archivage et la distribution de (méta) données de formes d’ondes sismiques et de produits étroitement liés. Les données sont collectées et les services élaborés au niveau national par plus de 60 agences sismologiques et sont ensuite développés, intégrés, normalisés, homogénéisés et promus par ORFEUS.

Les principaux services d’ORFEUS sont les suivants :

  1. archives européennes intégrées de données sur les formes d’ondes (EIDA) ;
  2. et les bases de données européennes « Strong-Motion » (SM).

ORFEUS offre actuellement un accès à environ 10 000 stations, dont certaines installées pour des expérimentations temporaires de réseaux denses. Contribuer aux archives de données d’ORFEUS demande un archivage à long terme, un contrôle de qualité de pointe, un accès amélioré et une utilisation accrue. Des services web fédérés sont utilisés pour garantir un accès optimal aux données. Une attention particulière est accordée à l’adoption de politiques claires et à la reconnaissance du rôle crucial joué par les fournisseurs de données faisant partie de la communauté ORFEUS.

Les données et les services d’ORFEUS sont évalués et améliorés grâce au retour d’information d’un groupe consultatif d’utilisateurs (User Advisory Group, UAG), composé de spécialistes européens des sciences de la terre dont l’expertise couvre un large éventail de disciplines. Tous les services d’ORFEUS sont développés en coordination avec EPOS et sont conformes à ses exigences. ORFEUS est l’une des parties fondatrices et des piliers de la sismologie EPOS.

Depuis 2018, le secrétariat d’ORFEUS est situé au Service sismologique suisse (SED) à l’ETH de Zurich. Dr. Carlo Cauzzi, secrétaire général, est le coordinateur général de toutes les activités de la Fondation, comme indiqué dans les statuts d’ORFEUS.

Pour en savoir plus sur ORFEUS, cliquez ici.

L’European Facilities of Earthquake Hazard and Risk (EFEHR) est un réseau à but non lucratif d’institutions universitaires européennes, créé en octobre 2010. L’EFEHR rassemble des chercheurs en sciences de la terre, sismologie, ingénierie, informatique et sciences sociales et vise à faire progresser les connaissances scientifiques sur l’aléa et le risque liés aux séismes.

L’alliance de recherche de l’EFEHR s’appuie sur l’héritage de projets antérieurs financés par l’UE, à savoir NERA, NERIES, LESSLOSS, SYNER-G et SHARE, ainsi que SERA. L’EFEHR ne se substitue pas aux initiatives nationales ou locales ; il les soutient et les enrichit dans la région euro-méditerranéenne. Ses recherches se concentrent sur l’acquisition de connaissances scientifiques et sur un cadre novateur en matière d’évaluation de l’aléa et du risque sismiques. Le consortium EFEHR coordonne et assure la maintenance pour l’accès aux modèles, données, outils et produits relatifs à l’aléa et au risque sismiques par le biais de ses services web fédérés et de sa plate-forme web autonome. L’EFEHR constitue l’un des trois domaines du service thématique de base (TCS) Sismologie au sein de l’European Plate Observatory System (EPOS). Les deux autres sont ORFEUS (services de forme d’onde) et CSEM-EMSC (services de produits sismologiques). De nouvelles synergies et intégrations avec les principaux services EPOS sont prévues dans le cadre de la transition des modèles d’aléas et de risques sismiques vers des jeux de données géoscientifiques. L’EFEHR maintiendra sa collaboration avec le Global Earthquake Model (GEM) afin de développer et d’adopter des normes et des logiciels ouverts pour le calcul de l’aléa et du risque sismiques.

Pour toute information complémentaire, veuillez consulter le site www.efehr.org.

La Stratégie énergétique 2050 établie par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie (OFEN) prévoit que la géothermie profonde soit une composante importante du futur portefeuille énergétique de la Suisse. Les retours d’expériences des projets géothermiques de Bâle (2006) et de Saint-Gall (2012) en Suisse, mais aussi des projets de Pohang (en Corée du Sud) ou de Strasbourg (en France), montrent que pour exploiter avec succès la géothermie profonde pour l'utilisation de la chaleur ou la production d'électricité, une gouvernance adéquate des risques de sismicité induite est d'une importance capitale pour établir des projets sûrs et économiquement viables. Pour atteindre cet objectif, il faut avant tout fournir aux autorités cantonales un conseil sismologique de pointe pour la prise de décision, et permettre une surveillance sismique adéquate, indépendante et transparente des projets de géothermie profonde. À long terme, ces mesures favoriseront également l'acceptation de la technologie par le public.

Le projet GEOBEST, financé par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie (OFEN), permet au Service sismologique suisse de l'ETH de Zurich d'aider les autorités cantonales à traiter les questions liées à la sismicité induite pendant toutes les phases de développement d'un projet de géothermie profonde (étude préliminaire, demande de permis, construction et exploitation).

Le groupe « Laboratoires souterrains », dirigé par Katrin Plenkers, s’occupe de la surveillance et de l’analyse des données sismologiques enregistrées dans les projets de recherche des laboratoires souterrains (URL).

Le Service Sismologique Suisse mène des expériences souterraines pour étudier entre autres la nucléation des tremblements de terre, l’exploration géothermique ou les dommages causés aux roches. Les laboratoires souterrains permettent d’étudier la réponse des roches dans des conditions semi-naturelles grâce à la conception d’expériences contrôlées et à une bonne accessibilité à une surveillance à haute résolution. Les phénomènes sismiques enregistrés dans les laboratoires souterrains ont de très petites magnitudes allant d’environ -6 à 0 (picosismicité) et correspondent à des (micro-) fractures à l’échelle millimétrique ou métrique.

Le groupe effectue des recherches dans le domaine de la picosismicité : évolution spatio-temporelle, analyse des sources et sismologie statistique. En outre, le groupe développe des équipements pour les expériences souterraines, notamment des capteurs haute fréquence améliorés. La caractérisation des systèmes de capteurs et de surveillance et la comparaison avec d’autres systèmes de mesure tels que la fibre optique jouent un rôle important. En outre, le groupe développe des logiciels efficaces pour le traitement automatique des phénomènes enregistrés en sous-sol.

Le groupe joue un rôle dans l’analyse de l’aléa et du risque sismiques avant et pendant le début des expériences souterraines.

Le groupe travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Competence Centre for Energy Research-Supply of Electricity (SCCER-SoE), le groupe « Séismes induite » et le groupe « Sismologie de laboratoire ».

En savoir plus sur les projets de recherche souterraine de l’ETH Zurich : Le laboratoire de Bedretto pour les géoénergies et l’expérience in situ du Grimsel.