MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake-Induced Phenomena

Earthquake-Induced Phenomena

Earthquakes are not the only events that cause damage to buildings and infrastructure: secondary earthquake-induced phenomena can wreak havoc as well, for example through soil liquefaction, landslides and tsunamis triggered by undersea landslides. Accordingly, one aim of our earthquake research is to characterise such phenomena with a view to seismic hazard analysis and the recognition of early indications of mass wasting (ground movements) based on giveaway seismic signals. Other phenomena to watch for are short-term foreshocks prompted by processes in the Earth's crust, which can produce characteristic electromagnetic and geochemical signals.

Illustration: Installing the borehole measuring station in Visp, which was fitted with strong motion sensors, pressure sensors and a 'shape array'.

Soil liquefaction

Earthquake motions tend to trigger a non-linear reaction in water-saturated silts and sands, which in extreme cases will liquefy, thereby losing their load-bearing capacity. The Swiss Seismological Service (SED) pinpoints such locations by taking extensive geophysical measurements, and - where possible - installs permanent borehole sensors on site to determine amplification effects and measure how material behaves in the linear and non-linear domains (project "Site Characterization Group"). The findings can then be compared with model-based predictions (field of research "Numerical Modeling". The results constitute one of the most important bases for realistically assessing the risks of the consequences of soil liquefaction and relative ground motions deep below the surface.

Landslides and Rockfalls

Earthquake-induced landslides can cause tremendous damage. Currently, slope instability is assessed using pseudo-statistical methods, though this approach only takes limited account of dynamic processes. Seismic measurements derived through procedures based on observations of natural seismic tremors and small earthquakes can make an important contribution in this connection. The goal of our scientific research is to develop and deploy inexpensive methods of assessing unstable areas, determine the extent of their instability and characterise their dynamic behaviour. A trial monitoring system on the Alpe di Roscioro near Preonzo in Ticino enables the dynamics of local instability to be tracked around the clock.

Automatic Recognition of Mass Wasting

Evaluating seismic data is a valuable alternative to conventional visual observation. The special dynamics of unleashed mass movements produce a characteristic ground motion that can clearly be differentiated from other causes, such as earthquakes or quarry blasts. This specific seismic excitation is automatically recognised using modern, self-learning algorithms. The possibility of spotting mass wasting in real time can enable detailed, well-founded assessments of the risk level faced. Our research projects are geared towards enabling the recognition and swift characterisation of landslides, rockfalls and avalanches.

Foreshocks

In an effort to capture data on foreshocks, the SED fitted sensors to a thermal spring whose water comes into contact with a fault system. As a first step, the spring water was monitored continuously and magnetic sensors were installed for long-term electromagnetic monitoring. In addition to gathering data over the long term, this project is designed to accumulate experience regarding sensor reliability, maintenance costs and perhaps information on potential foreshocks.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Phénomènes induits par les séismes

Phénomènes induits par les séismes

Les tremblements de terre ne sont pas la cause unique des dommages sur les bâtiments et infrastructures : ceux-ci peuvent également être causés par des phénomènes secondaires induits, notamment liquéfaction du sol, glissements de terrain ou encore tsunamis lacustres déclenchés par des glissements immergés. Un des objectifs consiste à caractériser de tels phénomènes pour l’analyse sismique de l'aléa, ainsi que la détection précoce de mouvements de masse sur la base de signaux sismiques typiques. Un autre aspect est constitué par les précurseurs sismiques à court terme, provoqués par les processus au sein de la croûte terrestre qui peuvent émettre des signaux électromagnétiques et géochimiques.

Figure: Installation de la station de mesure en forage à Vips. Des capteurs de forts tremblements de terre, des capteurs de pression et ce qu’on appelle un shapearray ont été installés.

Liquéfaction des sols

Les argiles et sables saturés d’eau ont une tendance à ne pas se comporter de manière linéaire sous excitation sismique. Dans les cas extrêmes, ils se liquéfient et perdent toute capacité porteuse. Le SED caractérise de manière exhaustive les sites de ce type par des mesures géophysiques et les équipe, lorsque c’est possible, de capteurs permanents en puits de forage (projet Site Characterization Group). L’objectif consiste à mesurer les effets d’amplification et le comportement des matériaux dans le domaine linéaire et non linéaire, et de les comparer avec des modélisations numériques. Les résultats constituent une des bases importantes pour une évaluation réaliste de l'aléa en regard des effets de la liquéfaction du sol et du mouvement relatif du sol en profondeur.

Glissements de terrain et chutes de pierres

Les glissements provoqués par les tremblements de terre peuvent provoquer des dommages importants. Pour l’évaluation de la stabilité des versants, on utilise aujourd’hui des méthodes pseudostatiques qui cependant ne prennent en compte que de manière limitée les processus dynamiques d’un séisme. Dans ce contexte, les procédés de mesures sismiques basés sur l’observation des mouvements naturels du sol et des petits séismes peuvent apporter une contribution importante. L’objectif des travaux scientifiques est le développement et l’application de procédés économiques pour l’évaluation des zones instables et du volume de l’instabilité, ainsi que leur comportement dynamique. Un système test installé sur l’Alpe di Roscioro près de Preonzo dans le Tessin permet de surveiller de manière continue le comportement dynamique de l’instabilité.

Détection automatique des mouvements de masse

Le dépouillement des données sismiques offre une alternative précieuse aux observations visuelles classiques. La dynamique spécifique de l’écoulement des masses entraîne un mouvement caractéristique du sol qui se distingue clairement d’autres causes (tremblements de terre ou explosions). La détection automatique de cette excitation sismique spécifique est effectuée à l’aide d’algorithmes modernes d’autoapprentissage. La détection des mouvements de masse rendue possible par ces systèmes en temps réel permet une estimation détaillée et fondée de l'aléa occurrent. Nos projets de recherche visent à la détection et à la caractérisation rapides des glissements de terrain, chutes de pierres et avalanches.

Précurseurs de séismes

Pour détecter les précurseurs des séismes, le SED a installé des capteurs géochimiques sur une source thermale dont l’eau est en contact avec un système de failles. Dans une première phase, l’eau thermale a été observée en continu, et des capteurs magnétiques ont été placés pour une surveillance électromagnétique à long terme. Le projet vise non seulement à collecter une longue série de données, mais aussi à acquérir une expérience sur la fiabilité des capteurs et sur les frais d’entretien, et éventuellement à obtenir des informations sur des précurseurs possibles des séismes.