MENU
The page content begins here

Strong Motion Seismology and Site-Specific Effects

Strong Motion Seismology and Site-Specific Effects

In a bid to improve the analysis of the seismic hazard facing Switzerland, by 2019 the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) aims to have renewed its Swiss National Strong Motion Network (SSMNet). Each station will take geophysical and geotechnical measurements to determine the properties of the local geological underground, enabling us to interpret any features captured on earthquake recordings. To this end, we developed special measurement procedures, some of which are based on analysing seismic noise.

Illustration: Design for a free-field installation
 

Renewing the National Strong Motion Network

The Swiss Federal Council has approved funding for 100 new stations to measure strong ground motion (project Renewal of the Swiss Strong Motion Network). This network will also be expanded by other projects, e.g. in the Basel region and in Liechtenstein, and will serve to record strong earthquakes with a magnitude higher than 2.5. The stations in question will be in areas with a high seismic risk, especially in larger agglomerations and locations that have suffered earthquake damage in the past. At some sites, where soil liquefaction can be expected to occur, instruments will also be placed in deep boreholes, to calibrate numerical models.

The measurements taken will provide information on the local underground and thus prove useful for analysing seismic hazards. Amplification effects will be calculated after each earthquake, and the data will be used for microzonation and for verifying numerical models.

In the event of an earthquake, real-time data can be processed to produce ShakeMaps that serve to predict damage and brief the emergency services, and are also used by seismologists, engineers and insurance companies as a basis for assessing events and updating existing construction standards.

Influence of the Local Underground and Measurement of its Properties

Compared with solid, rocky ground, soft soil in river valleys can amplify seismic tremors by a factor of up to ten. Some water-saturated soils can also liquefy, losing their load-bearing capacity.

When selecting sites for measuring stations, their geology and potential sources of interference are considered, as is the variability of the geological underground in the target area. The underground's resonance frequency and S-wave profile are determined on site using passive seismic methods. If the properties of the underground prove highly variable, active seismic measuring techniques are also applied. Sites characterised by expected non-linear properties, such as soil liquefaction, are additionally investigated using geotechnical methods, such as cone penetration tests (CPTs). Knowing both the local geology and the wave field at sites for measuring stations is important for ensuring that the data collected there are optimally useful for hazard analysis.

New Measurement Methods When Evaluating Sites

Key parameters when evaluating sites are their underground shear-wave velocity, the thickness and composition of unconsolidated sediments, properties of the water table, and the topography of the rock surface and local terrain. All these factors influence wave behaviour and can amplify earthquake effects.

The most important aspects to consider when analysing seismic hazards are the resonance frequency of loose sediments and the underground shear-wave velocity profile. The values of these properties can be determined using active methods, like reflection and refraction seismics, or by taking passive measurements of seismic tremors generated by such phenomena as sea surf, wind or human activity. Since active methods can often not be applied in urban environments, passive alternatives play a particularly important role there. The SED has devised a number of measurement methods in the past and will continue to develop new procedures in the future, using naturally occurring seismic tremors to determine shear-wave velocity profiles in densely populated areas.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Mouvements forts et effets de site

Sismologie des forts tremblements de terre et influence du site

Pour améliorer l’analyse de l'aléa sismiques en Suisse, le SED rénove et étend le réseau de stations de mesure des forts tremblements de terre d’ici 2019. Grâce à des mesures géophysiques et géotechniques, les caractéristiques du sous-sol local de chaque station sont déterminées, ce qui nous permet d’interpréter les enregistrements sismiques obtenus. Pour ces mesures, des procédures spéciales ont été développées, basées entre autres sur l’analyse de l’agitation sismique du sol.

Figure: Concept pour une installation en champ libre
 

Rénovation du réseau des stations de mesure des forts tremblements de terre

Le Conseil fédéral a donné son feu vert au financement de 100 nouvelles stations de mesure de forts tremblements de terre (projet Renewal of the Swiss Strong Motion Network). Ce réseau de stations de mesure sera encore étendu par l’intermédiaire d’autres projets, notamment dans la région de Bâle ou au Liechtenstein, et servira à l’enregistrement des forts tremblements de terre (à partir de la magnitude 2.5). Les stations sont construites dans les régions présentant un risque sismique élevé, notamment dans les grandes agglomérations, et dans les régions ayant vécu des tremblements de terre historiques destructifs. Sur certains sites susceptibles de subir une liquéfaction du sol, des instruments sont également placés dans des forages profonds pour étalonner les modèles numériques.

Les mesures fournissent des informations sur le sous-sol local et participent ainsi à l’analyse de l'aléa sismique. Les effets d’amplification sont calculés après chaque tremblement de terre. Les données sont utilisées pour le microzonage et pour le contrôle des modèles numériques.

En cas de tremblement de terre, il est possible de tracer des cartes des mouvements du sol (ShakeMaps) en temps réel qui servent à l’évaluation des dommages et aident les équipes de secours à se préparer. Les données sont également utiles aux sismologues, ingénieurs et assurances comme base d’évaluation des événements et d’adaptation des normes existantes de construction.

Influence du sous-sol local et mesure des caractéristiques

Les ondes sismiques sont soumises à des amplifications dans les sols meubles, notamment au fond des vallées, pouvant dépasser un facteur 10 par rapport aux sites rocheux. Certains sols saturés d’eau peuvent également se liquéfier et perdre leur capacité porteuse.

Lors du choix du site des stations, on étudie la géologie et d’éventuelles sources de perturbations, ainsi que la variabilité du sous-sol dans la région concernée. Sur le site lui-même, la fréquence de résonance du sol et le profil d’ondes S sont déterminés par des méthodes sismiques passives. Des procédés actifs de mesures sismiques sont également utilisés pour des sols à caractéristiques très variables. Les sites sur lesquels on suspecte des propriétés non linéaires, notamment liquéfaction du sol, sont également étudiés par des méthodes géotechniques comme l’essai de pénétration au cône. La connaissance de la géologie locale et du champ d’ondes sur les sites des stations est importante pour pouvoir utiliser les données des stations de mesure de manière optimale pour l’analyse de l'aléa.

Nouveaux procédés de mesure pour l’évaluation des sites

Des paramètres importants pour l’évaluation d’un site sont la vitesse des ondes de cisaillement dans le sous-sol, l’épaisseur et la composition des sédiments meubles, le niveau de la nappe phréatique ainsi que la topographie de la surface rocheuse et du terrain. Ils influencent le comportement des ondes et sont responsables des phénomènes d’amplification en cas de tremblement de terre.

Pour l’analyse de l'aléa sismique les paramètres les plus importants sont la fréquence de résonance des sédiments meubles et le profil de vitesse des ondes de cisaillement dans le sol. Ces caractéristiques peuvent être déterminées par des méthodes actives comme la sismique de réflexion ou de réfraction, ou par des mesures passives des mouvements du sol provoqués entre autres par le ressac, le vent ou les activités humaines. Les méthodes actives étant souvent difficiles à mettre en œuvre dans les zones urbaines, les méthodes passives y prennent une certaine importance. Au SED, différents procédés de mesure ont déjà été développés dans le passé. À l’avenir aussi, de nouvelles méthodes vont être élaborées pour permettre de déterminer les profils de vitesse des ondes de cisaillement dans les zones urbaines densément peuplées par l’intermédiaire des mouvements naturels du sol.