MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Country Switzerland

With its monitoring network of more than 150 seismometers, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) records an average of between three and four earthquakes a day, or between 1,000 and 1,500 earthquakes a year, in Switzerland and its immediate neighbouring countries. 

Swiss citizens actually feel somewhere between 10 and 20 quakes a year, usually those with a magnitude of 2.5 or above. Based on the long-term average, 23 quakes with a magnitude of 2.5 or above occur every year. There is a roughly 1% probability of a catastrophic earthquake with a magnitude of roughly 6 occurring within the next year. On average, an event of that magnitude can be expected to occur every 50 to 150 years. The last earthquake of that strength occurred in 1946 near Sierre in the canton of Valais. However, such a quake can occur anywhere and at any time in Switzerland. Earthquakes with a magnitude of at least 5 occur every 8 to 15 years. The last earthquake to cause major damage in Switzerland had a magnitude of 5 and occurred near Vaz in the canton of Grisons in 1991. The strongest ever historically documented earthquake in Switzerland, with a magnitude of about 6.6, occurred near Basel in 1356.

The number of earthquakes recorded depends not only on seismic activity, but also on the density and distribution of monitoring stations. Regions where many seismic stations have been set up, such as the canton of Valais or Eastern Switzerland, record comparatively higher numbers of quakes, because even very small events can be recorded and analysed. Moreover, in principle there is more small-scale than large-scale seismic activity. For example, more than 700 of the 1,230 earthquakes registered by the SED in 2017 had a magnitude of less than 1.0. In recent years, the number of recorded microquakes has greatly increased, due to the steady expansion of the measuring network and improved analytic methods. It is important to record such events because this allows geoscientists to learn more about the structure of the subsurface and to draw conclusions about the seismic hazard.

Compared to other European countries, Switzerland has a moderate seismic hazard, but displays regional differences, the canton of Valais being at most risk, followed by Basel, Grisons, the St. Gallen Rhine Valley, Central Switzerland and then the rest of the country. Every region of Switzerland is exposed to some degree of seismic hazard.

Most of the earthquakes occurring in Switzerland are caused by collisions between the European and the African lithospheric plates.

Map of the instrumental recorded earthquakes between 1975 and 2015 with a minimum magnitude of 2.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

La Suisse des tremblements de terre

Avec son réseau de plus de 150 sismomètres, le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l’ETH de Zurich enregistre en Suisse et dans les pays voisins trois à quatre séismes par jour en moyenne, soit 1'000 à 1'500 par année.

La population n'en ressent elle que 10 à 20 par année. Ces séismes présentent en général des magnitudes de 2.5 ou plus. En moyenne à long terme, on observe chaque année 23 séismes d’une magnitude égale ou supérieure à 2.5. La probabilité d’un tremblement de terre catastrophique avec une magnitude de 6 ou plus est d’1 % pour l’année prochaine. Il faut s’attendre en moyenne à un tel évènement tous les 50 à 150 ans. Un séisme de cette force s’est produit pour la dernière fois en 1946 près de Sierre dans le Valais. Un tel phénomène peut cependant survenir partout et à tout moment en Suisse. Un tremblement de terre d’une magnitude au moins égale à 5 se produit environ tous les 8 à 15 ans. Le dernier séisme ayant provoqué des dommages importants en Suisse s’est produit en 1991 à Vaz dans le canton des Grisons, avec une magnitude de 5. Avec une magnitude d’environ 6.6, le séisme le plus fort documenté historiquement en Suisse s’est produit 1356 près de Bâle.

Le nombre de tremblements de terre enregistrés ne dépend pas uniquement de l’activité sismique, mais aussi de la densité et de la répartition des stations de mesure. Dans les régions équipées de nombreuses stations, par exemple le Valais ou la Suisse orientale, on enregistre comparativement plus de séismes, car des phénomènes très petits peuvent déjà être enregistrés et traités. En outre, il se produit par principe plus de petits séismes que de gros. Par exemple, parmi les 1230 séismes que le SED a enregistrés en 2017, plus de 700 présentaient une magnitude inférieure à 1.0. Au cours des dernières années, le nombre de microséismes enregistrés a fortement augmenté en raison de l’extension permanente du réseau de mesure et de l’amélioration des méthodes de traitement. Leur enregistrement est important, car il permet aux géologues d’en savoir plus sur la structure du sous-sol et d’en tirer des conclusions sur les aléas sismiques.

En comparaison avec d’autres pays européens, la Suisse est soumise à un aléa sismique moyen, avec des différences régionales : le Valais est la région présentant l’aléa le plus élevé, suivi par Bâle, les Grisons, la vallée du Rhin saint-galloise, la Suisse centrale et le reste de la Suisse. Il n’y a pas en Suisse de régions échappant à l’aléa sismique.

Les tremblements de terre observés en Suisse sont principalement la conséquence de la collision des plaques lithosphériques européenne et africaine.

Carte des épicentres de tous les séismes de magnitude supérieure à 2 enregistrés par les instruments du SED entre 1975 et 2017.