MENU
The page content begins here

Diemtigen 2014 - 2015

On 13 April 2014, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) registered two earthquakes near Diemtigen in the Berner Oberland, which later turned out to mark the start of an earthquake swarm, comprising a further 260 quakes in the region up to the end of 2014. Three of these (detailed below) were strong enough to be felt by local inhabitants, but no damage was caused:

  • 10 May 2014, 03:43, magnitude 2.7
  • 25 June 2014, 11:33, magnitude 2.6
  • 15 October 2014, 21:36, magnitude 3.2

The swarm started subsiding substantially in January 2015, disappearing almost completely over  the next few months before intensifying again in mid-July. This culminated in another palpable earthquake, with a magnitude of 2.7, occurring at 20:34 on 15 August.

The 'Diemtigen Swarm' is one of the most active earthquake swarms ever recorded by the SED, and between June 2014 and April 2015 it set up three mobile seismic stations in the region to investigate it more closely. Initial analysis indicates that the earthquakes occurred in a steep planar fracture zone measuring 400 by 700 metres roughly 9 kilometres beneath the Earth's surface. Highly sensitive instruments have detected earthquakes with a magnitude of -1.5 there. Between January 2014 and September 2015 around 2,300 microearthquakes were registered, providing an extremely detailed picture of the activity associated with the swarm (see frequently asked questions "What does minus magnitude mean?" and "What is microseismicity?".

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Diemtigen 2014 - 2015

Dans l'Oberland bernois, à Diemtigen, le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) a enregistré le 13 avril 2014 deux tremblements de terre qui, comme on l'a constaté plus tard, constituaient les prémisses d'un essaim. Jusqu'à la fin de 2014, plus de 260 autres séismes se sont produits dans la région. Trois d'entre eux ont été assez forts pour être ressentis par la population, sans toutefois provoquer de dommages :

  • 10 mai 2014, 3h43, magnitude 2.7
  • 25 juin 2014, 11h33, magnitude 2.6
  • 15 octobre 2014, 21h36, magnitude 3.2

À partir de janvier 2015, l'activité de l'essaim a notoirement baissé, et a disparu presque complètement au cours des mois suivants, avant de s'intensifier à nouveau à la mi-juillet. C'est ainsi que le 15 août, vers 20h34, un autre séisme perceptible s'est produit, avec une magnitude de 2.7.

L'« essaim de Diemtigen » est l'un des essaims de tremblements de terre les plus actifs que le SED ait enregistré depuis sa création. Pour l'étudier plus en détail, le SED a installé entre juin 2014 et avril 2015 trois stations sismiques mobiles dans la région. Une première analyse indique que les tremblements de terre se sont produits sur une faille présentant une extension de 400 m sur 700 m, à une profondeur d'environ 9 km. Un procédé très sensible permet de détecter les séismes jusqu'à une magnitude de -1.5. Entre janvier 2014 et septembre 2015, plus de 2’300 microséismes ont été détectés, créant une image très détaillée de l'activité de l'essaim (voir les questions fréquemment posées "Que signifient des magnitudes négatives?" et "Qu’est ce que la microsismicité?").