MENU
The page content begins here

Use of the Survey

Besides seismic-wave data recorded on various instruments, reports and descriptions of earthquakes from people living where they occur are the most important source of information on earth tremors in Switzerland. Information from the public on earthquakes strong enough to be felt by the local population is valuable on account of its sheer depth of detail as to a quake’s impact. However, the knowledge that a specific earthquake was not strong enough to be felt is just as valuable.

To the survey

Felt Reports

Until the invention of the seismograph, so-called macroseismic analyses – analyses based primarily on observations submitted by the public and on data from field studies – were the only systematic way in which to document earthquakes. However, information on what people feel or do not feel when an earthquake occurs is still of scientific value. Such reports can be used to estimate macroseismic intensity, a measurement of the surface impact of an earthquake in a particular village, town or district. The accuracy of any macroseismic analysis and the resulting estimation of an earthquake's intensity hinges first and foremost on the quality of the observations submitted: reports should detail any damage caused to buildings and objects, and provide a subjective description of an individual’s experience and its consequences.

By collecting and analysing (via a partially automated process) observations submitted to the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) by members of the public filling out an online form or responding to a printed questionnaire, it is possible to:

  • produce a swift assessment of the effects of and scale of damage caused by an earthquake;
  • calibrate earthquakes parameters of historical quakes based on macroseismic analysis;
  • characterise and document, from a macroseismic standpoint, any earthquakes that occur;
  • determine site-specific effects to support seismic microzonation;
  • bases for calibrating earthquake scenarios.

Population details are displayed on macroseismic maps. For each earthquake, a corresponding map is published on the SED website (see details of each quake).

Macroseismic intensity is a classification of the severity of ground shaking, based on observed effects within a limited area. Information on observations during an earthquake can be broken down into five categories – information on human beings, on objects, on buildings, on animals and on the natural environment – and these categories are numerically scaled. Several different systems are used worldwide: at present, the SED and many other similar organisations in Europe use the European macroseismic scale or EMS-98, so-called because it was introduced in 1998 (see Grünthal G., ed. 1998). An intensity scale provides a general indication of the impact of an earthquake, from the very weakest (with an intensity of I on the EMS-98 scale: 'Not felt') to the very strongest (with an EMS-98 intensity of X or more and classed as extreme). Each locality is assigned a single intensity. The resulting intensity map gives a comprehensive overview of the earthquake-impact pattern.

In principle, the subjective criteria used by the respective analyst also be factored in when assigning a site its intensity value. Consequently, it is important to document the evaluation procedure, declare any scope for interpretation and state any uncertainties. Accordingly, in practice the SED assigns each locality a range between a minimum (Imin) and maximum (Imax) value as well as a value with the highest probability (Iw), which serves as the basis for catalogue entries and maps.

 
Reference:
Grünthal, G., ed. 1998. European Macroseismic Scale 1998 (EMS–98), Cahier bleu published by the European Centre for Geodynamics and Seismology (ECGS), vol. 15, Helfent-Betrange (Luxembourg)

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Utilisation du questionnaire

À côté des enregistrements instrumentaux des ondes sismiques, les notifications et descriptions de tremblements de terre par la population sont la source d’information la plus importante concernant les secousses ressenties en Suisse. Des informations les plus détaillées possible sur un séisme que vous avez ressenti et sur ses conséquences sont aussi importantes que la notification que vous n’avez pas ressenti un séisme.

Vers le questionnaire

Felt Reports

Ce qu’on appelle l’analyse macrosismique, basée principalement sur les observations de la population et sur des études de terrain, était jusqu’à l’invention du sismographe le seul moyen de décrire systématiquement les séismes. Mais par la suite également, les informations sur la manière dont les tremblements de terre ont été ressentis (ou non ressentis) sont restées précieuses, et aujourd’hui encore. Ces données permettent de déterminer l’intensité macrosismique qui est une mesure pour les impacts d’un tremblement de terre en surface, dans une localité ou un quartier. La précision de l’analyse macrosismique et de l’évaluation d’intensité consécutive dépend surtout de la qualité des observations. Un compte-rendu doit comprendre des indications sur les dommages aux bâtiments et aux objets, mais aussi des observations subjectives.

La saisie et l’analyse partiellement automatique des observations transmises au Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) par la population via un formulaire en ligne ou sur papier ont les objectifs suivants :

  • L’évaluation rapide des effets et de l’ampleur des dommages d’un tremblement de terre
  • L’étalonnage des paramètres de tremblements de terre estimés des séismes historiques étudiés par approche macrosismique
  • La détermination des paramètres macrosismiques et la documentation du tremblement de terre
  • La caractérisation des effets locaux contribuant à la microzonation
  • Les bases d’étalonnage de scénarios de tremblements de terre

Les informations données par la population sont représentées sur des cartes macrosismiques. Pour chaque tremblement de terre, une carte est publiée sur le site web du SED (voir informations détaillées du séisme concerné).

L’intensité macrosismique en un lieu est déduite d’une évaluation/classification des mouvements du sol sur la base des effets observés en un lieu restreint. La classification se base sur les observations des effets, au sens large, de cinq catégories : personnes, objets, bâtiments, animaux et environnement. Des valeurs numériques sont attribuées en fonction de l’échelle d’évaluation. Il existe plusieurs échelles d’intensité actuellement utilisées dans le monde. L’échelle macrosismique européenne (EMS-98, Grünthal ed. 1998), introduite en 1998, est utilisée actuellement au SED et dans d’autres régions d’Europe. Une échelle d’intensité présente les descriptions générales des effets d’un tremblement de terre, en commençant par la plus faible intensité I (en EMS-98 : non ressenti) à la plus forte (intensité X+ en EMS-98 : extrême). À chaque localité est attribué un degré d’intensité. La carte d’intensité résultante donne une image globale des effets d’un tremblement de terre.  

Lors de la détermination de l’intensité, des critères subjectifs propres à chaque analyste vont jouer un rôle essentiel. C’est pourquoi il est important de documenter le processus d’évaluation et la latitude d’interprétation et d’indiquer les incertitudes. Ainsi, dans la pratique au SED, on indique pour chaque lieu une plage entre la valeur minimale et maximale (Imin et Imax) et la valeur de probabilité la plus forte (Iw). Cette dernière est la valeur indiquée dans le catalogue et cartographiée.

 

Source :

Grünthal, G. ed. 1998. « European Macroseismic Scale 1998 (EMS–98) », Cahiers du Centre Européen de Géodynamique et de Séismologie 15, Helfent-Betrange (Luxembourg).