MENU

Measures to Control Induced Seismicity

Various measures are applied with a view to monitoring and controlling induced seismicity in the context of deep geothermal energy projects in the best possible way.

A central element of the counteractive measures is to ensure the best possible knowledge of the subsoil. This knowledge is generally not available in advance and has to be acquired for a specific area, with the level of knowledge subsequently increasing over the course of a project. Seismic 3-D modeling of an area, for example, provides valuable information about a potential location. This can only be used to portray the larger structures, however, whereas the smaller structures, the stress levels of faults and the permeability of the rock cannot be portrayed reliably using these geophysical methods. A more accurate picture therefore only emerges once the first drilling is carried out and feedback is received from the subsoil following interventions.

Seismic risk assessments carried out in advance of geothermal energy projects should highlight the following points:

Natural seismicity in the region

The naturally occurring seismicity in a given region is an essential element of a risk assessment. In principle, the seismic risk is lower in geothermal energy projects in regions with lower natural seismicity over long periods.

Earthquake scenarios for the affected region

Earthquakes cannot be predicted. Historical data, however, enable a range of scenarios to be developed that portray various future seismicity rates.

Inclusion of local microzonation, identification of fault zones within a radius of 5 kilometers

The impact of an earthquake depends not only on its magnitude but also on the depth of focus, the distance to the epicenter and the local subsoil. Microzonation records the local geological and geotechnical properties of the subsoil in order to assess whether it weakens or strengthens the vibrations caused by an earthquake. The same information should also be taken into account in connection with risk assessments for geothermal energy projects.

Project-specific, probabilistic risk and hazard analysis

Due to varying local conditions and specific project designs, every geothermal energy project needs its own probabilistic risk and hazard analysis.

Monitoring and intervention concepts

The precise way in which the traffic light system should work must be defined in advance, and responsibilities allocated among those involved. In addition to these preliminary clarifications and the ongoing analysis of new information about the subsoil, a “traffic light system” is generally used as a measure to control induced seismicity.

Traffic light systems aim to avoid the negative effects of induced seismicity, or to control them as far as possible. The traditional traffic light system is based on the close monitoring of induced seismicity and involves various measures depending on the seismic activity registered. A traditional system of this kind was applied in Basel in 2006 and subsequently found to be unsatisfactory, while an extended, adaptive traffic light system was used for the geothermal energy project in St. Gallen in 2013 based on the experience gained. The observed seismicity serves as an indicator of the necessary measures, and predictions are also made as to its possible course. This is based on the anticipated impact of planned pumping procedures, the permeability of the rock and other factors. The example in St. Gallen, however, also highlighted the limits of this adaptive system. Although a yellow alarm was triggered, which would have required immediate termination of pumping work, the work had to be continued due to rising gas.

A great deal of research and development will be required in this area over the coming years, and the findings will need to be tested in future demonstration and pilot systems. Based on the current state of science and technology, it is difficult to assess the extent to which we will be in a position to prevent (or control) induced earthquakes.

MENU

Mesures d’endiguement de la sismicité induite

Plusieurs moyens sont utilisés afin de surveiller et de contrôler au mieux la sismicité induite dans le cadre de projets de géothermie profonde.

Le principal élément de ces mesures préventives consiste à avoir les informations les plus précises sur le sous-sol. Dans la plupart des cas, ces informations ne sont pas disponibles pour un site spécifique et il est nécessaire de les obtenir avant toute chose, bien qu’elles soient par ailleurs appelées à constamment s’enrichir au cours du projet. Par exemple, une modélisation en 3D d’un emplacement donne des indications importantes afin de localiser un site potentiel. Ce type de modélisation ne peut cependant représenter que les principales structures. Les structures plus petites, l’état de tension des failles ou la perméabilité de la roche ne peuvent pas être reflétés avec fiabilité par le biais de ces méthodes géophysiques. Pour obtenir une image plus précise, il faut attendre les premiers forages et se baser sur les retours du sous-sol consécutifs aux premières interventions.

Les études sur les risques sismiques menées en amont de projets géothermiques doivent éclaircir les points suivants:

La sismicité naturelle d’une région est un élément essentiel de l’évaluation du risque. En principe, le risque sismique lié à des projets de géothermie est moindre dans les régions qui présentent une sismicité naturelle réduite sur une longue période de temps.

Les séismes sont impossibles à prévoir. En se fondant sur des données historiques, on peut toutefois concevoir plusieurs scénarios faisant état des différents taux de probabilité sismique.

Les effets d’un séisme dépendent non seulement de sa force, mais également de la profondeur du foyer sismique, de la distance à l’épicentre et du sous-sol du lieu concerné. Un microzonage permet de saisir les caractéristiques géologiques et géotechniques d’un sous-sol donné, afin de déterminer si celui-ci est susceptible d’atténuer ou d’accroître les secousses causées par un séisme. Les informations correspondantes doivent également être prises en compte dans le cadre d’études de risques pour des projets de géothermie.

Une analyse probabiliste des risques et des aléas sismiques propre à chaque projet est nécessaire afin de tenir compte des caractéristiques de la zone en question ainsi que des spécificités du projet.

Le fonctionnement exact du système de feux tricolores doit au préalable avoir été défini, de même que les responsabilités de chacune des personnes prenant part au projet.Outre ces clarifications préalables et une analyse constante des dernières informations sur le sous-sol, on a habituellement recours à un système dit de «feux tricolores» afin d’endiguer la sismicité induite.

Les systèmes de feux tricolores ont pour objectif d’éviter les effets négatifs d’une sismicité induite ou de les limiter autant que possible. Le système de feux tricolores traditionnel s’appuie sur une surveillance étroite de la sismicité induite et prévoit différentes mesures à appliquer selon l’activité sismique enregistrée. Un système de ce type a été utilisé à Bâle en 2006, mais il a par la suite été jugé insuffisant. Le système de feux tricolores étendu et adaptatif mis en place à l’occasion du projet de géothermie de Saint-Gall en 2013 a été conçu en tenant compte de l’expérience acquise au préalable. La sismicité observée n’est plus l’unique indicateur, mais se voit complétée par des prévisions quant à son évolution possible. Ces prévisions reposent sur les effets envisagés des pompages attendus, sur la perméabilité de la roche, ainsi que sur d’autres facteurs. Là encore, l’exemple de Saint-Gall a toutefois montré les limites de ce système adaptatif. Le déclenchement d’un niveau d’alerte jaune aurait en effet dû entraîner l’arrêt immédiat des opérations de pompage, mais il a fallu maintenir celles-ci en raison d’une montée de gaz.

Il va être nécessaire, dans les années à venir, de mener des études dans ce domaine, de faire des progrès et d’en tester les résultats au moyen d’installations de démonstration et d’essai. En l’état actuel des connaissances et des techniques, évaluer le degré de contrôle que l’on peut avoir sur les séismes induits ou même dire si l’on pourra un jour les éviter est très difficile.