MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquakes on the ShakeMap

The ground vibrates, glasses clink, and ceiling lamps swing. Following the initial surprise, one wonders what has just happened. You can find out whether an earthquake was the cause of the shaking within minutes from our website.

For every earthquake with a magnitude of 2.5 or greater, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) publishes both a map of ground shaking and a ShakeMap. These provide an overview of the ground motion and associated impacts that can be expected from the earthquake. ShakeMaps provide considerably more information than standard earthquake maps, which typically show only the epicenter and the magnitude. The additional details are useful both to those affected by the ground shaking and to rescue workers who can use the maps as basis for further action.

ShakeMap 2
ShakeMap of the earthquake in Zug on February 11, 2012 at 23:45 with a magnitude of 4.2. The hypocenter was about 30 kilometers deep.

Strong earthquakes cause a great deal of human suffering and enormous damage to buildings and other infrastructure. Immediately following a large earthquake, it is difficult to gain an overview of the situation in order to facilitate initiation of the appropriate measures. ShakeMaps support crisis management during this phase by indicating which areas are especially hard hit. They thereby help authorities and rescue workers target deployment of their resources and serve as a useful source of information. They show where and how intensely the earthquake was felt, as well as whether damage is to be expected. ShakeMaps originated in Southern California and are now used routinely in many earthquake-prone countries.

The creation of a ShakeMap involves several processing steps: First, the epicenter and magnitude of the earthquake are determined from the real-time data recorded by Switzerland’s broadband seismic stations. This information is then combined with the observed maximum ground accelerations at the stations of the strong motion network and with values of the ground shaking based on historical measurements. Before the data is processed to determine macroseismic intensity (EMS-98), it is necessary to filter out local amplification effects. The models that are necessary for calculating ShakeMaps were calibrated especially for Switzerland.

Objectives and Components of a ShakeMap

A ShakeMap shows the ground shaking that can be expected by an earthquake at every point in Switzerland. The data recorded by real-time seismometers is transmitted to the Swiss Seismological Service in Zurich. There, the data is analyzed and following an earthquake, a ShakeMap is created within approximately five minutes.

The ShakeMap for the scenario earthquake near Basel with a magnitude of 6.6 is shown below. A similar earthquake occurred at the same location on October 18, 1356, resulting in enormous damage. On average, a comparable earthquake can be expected in the Basel region every 1,500 to 2,500 years. The star denotes the epicenter of the earthquake. The colors indicate how strong the ground shaking would be at certain locations and what possible damage would result.

The colors used in the ShakeMap are derived from the European Macroseismic Scale (EMS-98), which is used as a measure for comparing the impact of earthquakes across Europe. This scenario earthquake would reach an intensity of IX near the epicenter and cause destructive damage as well as panic among the local population.

How to read ShakeMaps 2
ShakeMap earthquake scenario Basel.

A map of ground shaking is created prior to the creation of the ShakeMap for every earthquake with a magnitude of 2.5 or greater. The colored circle on the map of ground shaking shown below from the 2012 Zug earthquake indicates the regions in which the earthquake was likely felt (yellow). The map of ground shaking is a simplified form of a ShakeMap and it may be produced faster than ShakeMaps. It indicates the area around the epicenter in which the earthquake is presumed to have been felt and suggests an initial damage estimate. Unlike the ShakeMap, the map of ground shaking takes neither the effects of the local subsurface nor the ground shaking actually measured by seismometers into account. It is based solely on the automatic earthquake location and the magnitude. The expected ground shaking is based on observations from past earthquakes in Switzerland.

How to read Maps of Ground Shaking 2
Map of ground shaking of the earthquake in Zug on February 11, 2012 at 23:45 with a magnitude of 4.2.

Note: ShakeMaps are generated automatically following moderate and large earthquakes. These are preliminary ground shaking maps, normally published within several minutes of the earthquake origin time. They are, at least initially, NOT checked by humans. Further, since ground motions and intensities typically can vary significantly over small distances, these maps are only approximate. At small scales, they should be considered unreliable. Finally, the input data is raw and unchecked, and may contain errors.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Les séismes sur la ShakeMap

Le sol vibre, les verres tintent et la lampe du plafond oscille. Une fois la première frayeur surmontée, se pose la question : que s’est-il passé? Grâce à notre site internet, vous pouvez savoir presque en temps réel si les secousses ont été produites par un tremblement de terre.

Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) publie une ShakeMap ainsi qu’une carte des secousses pour chaque tremblement de terre à partir d’une magnitude de 2.5. Il s’agit d’une évaluation rapide des mouvements du sol résultant d’un séisme et des effets qui y sont liés. Les ShakeMaps comportent bien plus d’informations que les cartes des tremblements de terre traditionnelles, qui ne donnent que l’épicentre et la magnitude. Leurs informations additionnelles sont non seulement utiles à la population concernée, mais elles servent aussi de base à l’action des services de secours.

ShakeMap 2
ShakeMap du séisme de Zoug du 11 février 2012 à 23:45 de magnitude 4.2. Le foyer du séisme se situe à une profondeur d‘environ 30 kilomètres.

Les séismes forts provoquent une grande souffrance humaine et des dégâts importants sur les bâtiments et les infrastructures. Immédiatement après un tremblement de terre majeur, il est difficile d’avoir une vue générale de la situation et, par conséquent, de prendre les mesures appropriées. Pendant cette phase, les ShakeMaps servent à la gestion de la crise en montrant les zones particulièrement touchées. Elles aident les autorités et les services de secours à utiliser de façon ciblée les moyens à leur disposition, et elles constituent une source d’information pour la population et les médias. Après des séismes faibles et modérés, elles montrent où et dans quelle mesure ils ont été ressentis, et s’il faut s’attendre à des dégâts. Les ShakeMaps trouvent leur origine en Californie du sud et sont aujourd’hui employées de façon routinière dans de nombreux pays subissant des séismes.

L’établissement d’une ShakeMap s’effectue en plusieurs étapes: Tout d’abord, il faut déterminer l’épicentre et la magnitude du tremblement de terre sur la base des données enregistrées en temps réel par les stations sismiques large-bande de Suisse. Ensuite, ces indications sont combinées avec les accélérations maximales du sol observées par les stations du réseau accélérométrique et complétées par des valeurs empiriques des mouvements du sol. Avant de pouvoir calculer l’intensité macrosismique (EMS-98) sur la base de ces données, il faut encore procéder à un ajustement en fonction des effets d’amplification locaux. Les modèles nécessaires au calcul de ShakeMaps ont été spécialement calibrés pour la Suisse.

Objectifs et éléments d’une ShakeMap 2

Une ShakeMap représente les mouvements du sol provoqués par un tremblement de terre en chaque point de la Suisse. Les données enregistrées à l’aide de sismomètres sont transmises en temps réel au Service Sismologique Suisse de Zurich. Elles y sont introduites dans un modèle géophysique qui établit automatiquement une ShakeMap en l’espace d’environ cinq minutes.

La ShakeMap ci-dessous se fonde sur le scénario d’un séisme de magnitude 6.6 survenant près de Bâle. Un tremblement de terre similaire, aux conséquences désastreuses, s’est produit au même endroit le 18 octobre 1356. Dans la région de Bâle, on peut s’attendre à un tel tremblement de terre en moyenne tous les 1500 à 2500 ans. L’étoile représente l’épicentre du tremblement de terre. Les couleurs reflètent l‘amplitude qu’atteindraient les mouvements du sol en chaque lieu et les dégâts potentiels qu’ils entraîneraient.

L‘échelle de couleur de la ShakeMap découle de l’Echelle Macrosismique Européenne (EMS-98), qui sert de référence pour comparer les effets des tremblements de terre à l’échelle européenne. Le tremblement de terre représenté par le scénario atteindrait une intensité IX aux alentours de l’épicentre : il produirait donc des effets destructeurs et sèmerait la panique au sein de la population locale.

 Aide à la lecture d’une ShakeMap 2
Shakemap d‘un scénario de séisme à Bâle.

Pour chaque tremblement de terre à partir d’une magnitude de 2.5, une carte des secousses est établie avant même la ShakeMap. Sur la carte des secousses ci-dessous, qui représente le séisme zougois de l’année 2012, le cercle coloré marque les régions où le tremblement de terre a probablement été ressenti (jaune). La carte des secousses n’est rien d’autre qu’une version simplifiée de la ShakeMap. Elle montre dans quel rayon autour de l’épicentre le séisme a vraisemblablement été ressenti et propose une première estimation des dégâts. Contrairement à la ShakeMap, la carte des secousses ne tient compte ni des effets du sous-sol local, ni des mouvements du sol effectivement mesurés par les sismomètres. Elle se fonde uniquement sur la localisation automatique et sur la magnitude du séisme. Elle fournit une estimation des secousses attendues sur la base d’observations effectuées lors de précédents séismes en Suisse.

Aide à la lecture d’une carte des secousses 2
Carte des secousses du séisme de Zoug du 11 février 2012 à 23:45 de magnitude 4.2.

Note: Les ShakeMaps sont générées automatiquement pour les tremblements de terre modérés à forts et ne sont pas immédiatement contrôlées. Les données d'entrée sont brutes et peuvent contenir des erreurs. Ces cartes ne sont donc pas fiables à petite échelle.