MENU
The page content begins here

In Europe

Earthquakes in Europe are essentially a result of stress in the earth’s crust. For naturally occurring earthquakes, the source of this stress is plate tectonics. The Eurasian plate encompasses much of Europe’s and Asia’s mainland, and moves with respect to the main neighbouring plates in the South (African plate), Southeast (Anatolian microplate), and West (North-America plate). In addition, there are a number of microplates between Europe and Africa. These make the tectonic picture particularly complex around the Mediterranean Sea including the Alpine region. Because of the microplates, earthquakes in Europe occur across a large area, not only along a well-defined zone.

Below we list and briefly describe the six main earthquake zones and their reasons in Europe.

This major plate with the most important effect on today’s earthquake picture collided with Europe about 65 million years ago. As mentioned above, several smaller plates and ocean basins between the two plates have caused a very complex pattern of seismicity all around the Mediterranean. Today Europe and Africa are in direct contact in Southern Greece, where Africa goes below Europe (subduction). To the north of this active subduction zone is the Corint Rift which is opening in a North-South direction. Greece is the country in Europe with the highest seismic hazard.

East of the Africa-Europe subduction zone is the Anatolian microplate, broadly occupying the area of Turkey. Its northern edge along Europe is known as the North-Anatolian Fault, along which several large earthquakes have happened throughout the 20th century (Magnitude larger than 7). A particularity is that these earthquakes in the past have happened progressively from East to West, approaching Istanbul.

Europe’s western neighbour is the North-American plate, regularly causing moderate size earthquakes at the bottom of the sea. The situation is more interesting in Iceland, where a hot spot on the plate boundary is creating an island and a complex zone of both tectonic and volcanic events. Iceland is not the only place where volcanic activity is present in Europe: Mount Etna and Mount Vesuvius are prime examples of this phenomenon.

West of the Africa-Europe subduction zone is the Adria microplate, broadly occupying the area of Italy. This plate was previously a piece of Africa, and it has been pushed by Africa into Europe, causing the rise of the entire Alps. A well-known piece of Adria is the summit of Matterhorn. The Alps are a short but very complex mountain range, with a broadly distributed earthquake activity in Italy, France, Switzerland, Germany, Austria and Slovenia. The largest known Alpine event is a historical earthquake in 1348 with a Magnitude of 7, located on the border between Italy and Austria, near Villach. The well-known Basel earthquake of 1356 (Magnitude 6.6) is particular because it is located at the junction of the Alpine realm and the Rhine Graben. The country related to the Adria plate with the highest hazard is Italy, not because of the Alps but because of the Appenines spanning all along the peninsula.

East of the Alps is a region with several small microplates and mountain ranges: The Pannonian Basin (today’s Hungary and neighbouring countries), the Carpathians to its North and East (Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania) and the Dinarides to its South (most of the Balkan Peninsula, all countries from Slovenia to Greece and Turkey). The movement of these plates has slowed down and the mountain ranges are moderately active today, except for the Southeastern corner of the Carpathians. This is known as the Vrancea zone, in Romania, where the last piece of lithosphere, which has not had place on the surface, is sinking to depth. In the 20th century there were four large earthquakes (Magnitude larger than 7) there, the latest in 1977. These put the city of Bucharest at risk and may cause tsunami on the Black Sea.

At the western end of the Mediterranean Sea is the Iberia microplate, broadly occupying the area of Spain and Portugal. This plate has also collided with Europe, causing the rise of the Pyrenees. Current earthquake activity is in the Pyrenees and in the southern edge of the Iberia microplate, near Africa. The well-known tsunami, which hit Lisbon in 1755, was likely an earthquake offshore Europe in the Atlantic Ocean.

Like in other parts of the world, earthquakes in Europe also occur in regions that are far from today’s tectonic boundaries, such as in Germany, the Czech Republic and United Kingdom. These events are primarily caused by remnant stresses from the geologic history. Some of them can be associated to moving fluids in the Earth’s crust, either naturally or artificially (see geothermal projects / fracking page).

Scientists produce seismic hazard maps based on computations on the probability of earthquakes happening in different areas of Europe. These maps must be regularly updated based on new methods that reflect the latest earthquake catalogues and recorded data. The current map highlights how seismic hazard should be an important consideration in the everyday life of many Europeans.

Seismic Hazard Map Europe
Seismic Hazard Map Europe

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

En Europe

Les tremblements de terre en Europe sont principalement le résultat de contraintes de la croûte terrestre. Pour les tremblements de terre naturels, la source de ces contraintes est la tectonique des plaques. La plaque eurasienne comprend la plus grande partie des continents européen et asiatique, et se déplace par rapport aux principales plaques voisines au sud (plaque africaine), au sud-est (microplaque anatolienne) et à l’ouest (plaque nord-atlantique). En outre, il existe un certain nombre de microplaques entre l’Europe et l’Afrique. Cela rend les caractéristiques tectoniques particulièrement complexes autour de la mer Méditerranée, notamment dans la région alpine. En raison de ces microplaques, les tremblements de terre en Europe se produisent sur des grandes régions, et pas seulement le long d’une zone bien définie.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez la liste et la brève description des six principales zones sismiques et de leurs causes en Europe

Cette plaque majeure, qui a l’impact le plus important aujourd’hui sur l’activité sismique, est rentrée en collision avec l’Europe il y quelque 65 millions d’années. Comme indiqué plus haut, plusieurs plaques moins importantes et bassins océaniques entre les deux plaques ont entraîné une structure très complexe de sismicité tout autour de la Méditerranée. Aujourd’hui, l’Europe et l’Afrique sont en contact direct au sud de la Grèce, où l’Afrique plonge sous l’Europe (subduction). Au nord de cette subduction active se trouve le rift de Corinthe, qui s’ouvre dans la direction nord-sud. La Grèce est le pays d’Europe présentant le risque sismique le plus élevé.

À l’est de la zone de subduction Afrique-Europe se trouve la microplaque anatolienne, qui occupe globalement la zone de la Turquie. Sa limite nord le long de l’Europe est appelée la faille nord-anatolienne : plusieurs gros tremblements de terre s’y sont produits au cours du xxe siècle (magnitude supérieure à 7). Une caractéristique particulière : ces séismes ont progressé d’est en ouest, en se rapprochant d’Istanbul.

La voisine occidentale de l’Europe est la plaque nord-américaine, qui provoque régulièrement des séismes modérés au fond de l’océan. La situation est particulièrement intéressante en Islande, où un point chaud sur la limite des plaques a créé une île et une zone complexe d’événements aussi bien tectoniques que volcaniques. L’Islande n’est pas la seule région volcanique d’Europe : l’Etna et le Vésuve sont de magnifiques exemples de ce phénomène.

À l’ouest de la zone de subduction Afrique-Europe se trouve la microplaque adriatique, qui couvre globalement la surface de l’Italie. Cette plaque a été un morceau de l’Afrique, et a été poussée contre l’Europe, provoquant la surrection de l’ensemble des Alpes. Un morceau bien connu de la plaque adriatique est le sommet du Cervin. Les Alpes constituent une chaîne de montagnes relativement courte, mais très complexe, avec une activité sismique largement répartie en Italie, France, Suisse, Allemagne, Autriche et Slovénie. L’évènement alpin le plus important connu est un séisme historique en 1348, de magnitude 7, situé à la frontière austro-italienne près de Villach. Le séisme bien connu de Bâle en 1356 (magnitude 6.6) est particulier, car il s’est produit à la jonction entre le domaine alpin et le fossé rhénan. Le pays concerné par la plaque adriatique avec le plus fort risque est l’Italie, non pas en raison des Alpes, mais à cause des Apennins qui s’étendent tout au long de la péninsule.

À l’est des Alpes se trouve une région présentant plusieurs microplaques et chaînes de montagne : le bassin de Pannonie (aujourd’hui la Hongrie et les pays limitrophes), les Carpates au nord et à l’est (Slovaquie, Ukraine, Roumanie) et les Dinarides au sud (une grande partie de la péninsule des Balkans, tous les pays de la Slovénie à la Grèce et à la Turquie). Le mouvement de ces plaques s’est ralenti et les chaînes de montagnes sont modérément actives de nos jours, à l’exception du coin sud-est des Carpates. Ce dernier est appelé la zone de Vrancea, en Roumanie, où le dernier morceau de lithosphère, qui n’avait plus de place en surface, est en train de s’enfoncer. Quatre séismes majeurs y ont eu lieu au xxe siècle (magnitude supérieure à 7), le dernier en 1977. Cette activité peut menacer Bucarest, et provoquer des tsunamis en mer Noire.

À l’extrémité occidentale de la mer Méditerranée se trouve la microplaque ibérique, occupant globalement la surface de l’Espagne et du Portugal. Cette plaque est également entrée en collision avec l’Europe, provoquant la surrection des Pyrénées. L’activité sismique actuelle se situe dans les Pyrénées et à l’angle méridional de la microplaque ibérique, proche de l’Afrique. Le tsunami célèbre qui a frappé Lisbonne en 1755 a été certainement provoqué par un tremblement de terre au large de l’Europe, dans l’océan Atlantique.

Comme dans d’autres régions du monde, les séismes se produisent en Europe également dans des régions éloignées des limites tectoniques actuelles, notamment en Allemagne, en République tchèque et au Royaume-Uni. Ces évènements sont provoqués principalement par des contraintes résiduelles de l’histoire géologique. Certains peuvent être associés à des fluides de déplaçant dans la croûte terrestre, soit naturellement, soit artificiellement (voir page projets géothermiques/fracturation).

Les scientifiques produisent des cartes de risques sismiques sur la base de calculs de probabilité de tremblements de terre dans les différentes régions d’Europe. Ces cartes doivent être régulièrement mises à jour à partir de nouvelles méthodes reflétant les derniers catalogues sismiques et données enregistrées. La carte actuelle souligne à quel point le risque sismique devrait être pris en considération dans la vie quotidienne de nombreux Européens.

Carte de l'aléa sismique Europe
Carte de l'aléa sismique Europe