MENU
The page content begins here

Engineering Seismology

Engineering Seismology

Engineering seismology lays the bases for calculating seismic hazard, and includes producing  catalogues of historical and instrumental earthquakes, reliable ground motion mitigation models and high-definition geological underground models and interpreting historical accounts. Engineering seismologists produce local seismic hazard maps (microzonation) and link the results to data on building vulnerability so that dependable risk assessments can be carried out.

Figure: A geophysical 3D model of Visp and recordings of a minor earthquake on the installed strong motion equipment (COGEAR project)

Origins

Whereas the focus in the past was on what to do after a catastrophic earthquake, nowadays attention is shifting more and more to prevention, comprising the implementation of measures designed to mitigate risks. To this end, engineering seismology aims to lay down and develop corresponding foundations and methods used to enable the assessment of site-specific seismic hazards. It combines the disciplines of historical seismology, strong motion seismology and location effectsnumerical modelling and earthquake-induced phenomena, and then crystallises that knowledge into basic practical guidelines for civil engineering, spatial planning and setting technical standards for construction.

Earthquake Catalogues and Seismic Observations

A robust earthquake catalogue provides a basis for making statistical statements about the probability of earthquakes occurring in a certain area. Historical details of the locations and strength of earthquakes are derived primarily from observations of their impact on nature, people and buildings. The consequences are described along with tremor's macroseismic intensity, the distribution of which serves to calculate the magnitude of historical earthquakes. Since having a comprehensive earthquake catalogue based on homogeneous magnitudes is an essential prerequisite for forecasting seismic hazards, gathering macroseismic intensity data is also an important task in the modern era of instrumental recording, because it helps us improve the calibration of historical quakes in the future.

Microzonation – Looking into the Local Geological Underground

Compared with solid, rocky ground, soft soils like valley floors, riverbanks and lake shores can amplify seismic tremors by a factor of up to 10 (in extreme cases). Consequently, in addition to producing seismic hazard maps showing regional differences in risk levels, the likelihood of site-specific underground tremors also has to be ascertained, in so-called microzonation studies. These studies entail the geological and geotechnical mapping of unconsolidated sediments, the analysis of slope stability and the potential for soil liquefaction, the use of geophysical measurements to predict amplifications of seismic waves, and numerical simulations calibrated to earthquake recordings. Several such studies have been carried out, concentrating especially on the regions around Basel, Lucerne, Sion and Visp in the canton of Valais, Bucharest in Romania and parts of the Egyptian capital, Cairo.

Risk Analysis – an Instrument for Planning Earthquake Mitigation

A medium earthquake risk combined with a dense population and high value concentration means that Switzerland faces a high seismic hazard. The quantification of the actual risk level is based on maximally realistic earthquake damage scenarios. Building vulnerability is also taken into account in so-called 'fragility curves' and combined with expectations about local seisms. Scenarios like this enable forecasts to be made about the potential physical and financial damage and numbers of fatalities, injuries and homeless people in the wake of an earthquake. Another key point entails the accurate factoring in of uncertainties when calculating damage scenarios. At the time of writing, all school buildings in the canton of Basel were being analysed using such a risk model, focussing in particular on issues associated with the cost-effectiveness of seismic retrofitting measures.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Sismologie de l’ingénieur

Sismologie de l’ingénieur

Les bases de détermination de l'aléa sismique sont apportées par la sismologie de l’ingénieur ; elles comprennent des catalogues de séismes historiques ou mesurés par des instruments, des modèles fiables d’atténuation du mouvement du sol, des modèles de sous-sol à haute résolution ainsi que des interprétations d’observations historiques. La sismologie de l’ingénieur élabore des cartes de l'aléa local (microzonage) et combine les résultats avec des données de vulnérabilité des bâtiments, pour pouvoir effectuer des études de risques fiables.

Illustration: Modèle géophysique 3D de Viège et enregistrements d’un petit séisme par les accéléromètres installés (projet COGEAR)

Origine

Alors qu’autrefois, l’accent était mis sur l’intervention après une catastrophe sismique, l’attention se porte aujourd’hui de plus en plus vers la prévention, c’est-à-dire l’exécution de mesures pour diminuer le risque. La sismologie de l’ingénieure s’oriente donc vers le développement de bases et de méthodes permettant d’évaluer l'aléa sismique local. Elle combine les domaines techniques de la sismologie historique, la sismologie des grands tremblements de terre et l’influence du site, la modélisation numérique, les phénomènes induits par les tremblements de terre et applique les connaissances acquises aux bases du génie civil, aux normes de construction et à l’aménagement du territoire.

Catalogue et observations des séismes

Un catalogue fiable de séismes donne les bases pour effectuer des prévisions statistiques sur la probabilité d’occurrence spatiale des tremblements de terre. Les informations concernant le lieu et l’intensité des tremblements de terre historiques s’appuient surtout sur les observations de leur impact sur la nature, la population et les bâtiments. Les impacts sont décrits par l’intensité macrosismique, dont la répartition permet de calculer la magnitude pour les tremblements de terre historiques. Un catalogue de tremblements de terre complet, basé sur des magnitudes homogènes, est une condition préalable indispensable à l’évaluation de l'aléa sismique. La collecte des intensités macrosismiques, également à l’époque des enregistrements instrumentaux, est une tâche importante pour pouvoir améliorer à l’avenir l’étalonnage des tremblements de terre historique.

Microzonage — un regard dans le sous-sol local

Les sols meubles, notamment fonds de vallée ou terrasses alluviales des rivières et lacs, peuvent amplifier les secousses sismiques dans les cas extrêmes jusqu’à dix fois par rapport à un sous-sol rocheux solide. C’est pourquoi il faut également déterminer localement la capacité du sous-sol à amplifier les secousses, parallèlement aux cartes de l'aléa sismique qui indiquent les variations régionales. De telles études de microzonage demandent différentes étapes de travail : une cartographie géologique et géotechnique des sédiments meubles, l’évaluation de la stabilité des versants et du potentiel de liquéfaction des sols, l’estimation de l’amplification des ondes sismiques grâce à des mesures géophysiques et à des simulations numériques qui sont étalonnées avec les enregistrements sismiques. Plusieurs études de ce type sont effectuées, notamment dans la région de Bâle, Lucerne, Sion et Viège dans le Valais, Bucarest en Roumanie et des quartiers du Caire en Égypte.

Analyse de risque — un instrument pour l’organisation de la prévention des séismes

Un aléa sismique moyen, combiné à une grande densité de population et une forte concentration de patrimoine entraîne un fort risque sismique en Suisse. Une quantification de ce risque se base sur des scénarios de dommages sismiques les plus réalistes possible. Pour ceci, la vulnérabilité des bâtiments est prise en compte par l’intermédiaire de courbes de fragilité, et combinée avec le mouvement du sol attendu. De tels scénarios permettent une évaluation des dommages et des pertes financières, ainsi que le nombre de victimes, de blessés et de personnes se retrouvant sans abri. Un autre point essentiel consiste à bien prendre en compte les incertitudes liées au calcul des scénarios de dommages. Actuellement, tous les bâtiments scolaires du canton de Bâle sont analysés à l’aide d’un tel modèle de risque. Ce projet se penche particulièrement sur les questions concernant le rapport coûts/avantages de renforcements parasismiques.